Customer Reviews

36
4.4 out of 5 stars
Leadership and Crisis
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$11.18 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

125 of 137 people found the following review helpful
Format: Hardcover
People who are running for President perform a similar dance. Their every word denies interest in running while leaving the door open for the country to invite them to run. Another thing they do is write a book. They want to present an official version of themselves and their views and explain why the country needs them. Bobby Jindal has given us a very well done introduction into who he is, where he comes from, what he has done, and what his views are about where America can and should go.

He front loads the material you are most likely to be interested in. The first chapter discusses the BP Oil spill and what he tried to do to protect Louisiana and how the Obama Administration actively got in the way. The second chapter talks about who he is and how he became governor of Louisiana. He is a Christian son of Hindu immigrants and was raised in Louisiana. Later in the book he describes his journey to his conversion to Christianity and how he relates to his family's devout Hindu roots.

He shows flashes of humor in the book. He notes that his father told him that he could grow up to be any kind of doctor he wanted. He is also frank about the famously failed teleprompter speech responding to Obama. Frankly, given our current President's utter dependence on that machine, I find Jindal's lack of talent with it a positive quality. And he takes pride in being "the most boring Governor in Louisiana's history".

Jindal did well in school and has been an achiever all his young life. Right now he is only 39 years old. He demonstrates his willingness to stand up for his ideas all his life no matter what those in authority thought. While at Oxford he took on Richard Dworkin and at Harvard he asked Larry Summers about the lack of intellectual diversity. Summers' answer was shockingly similar to one you would have heard back in the 1950s about why Harvard had so few non-whites.

After the first few chapters Jindal backs up and tells us his life story and emphasizes the issues that matter most to him such as education, healthcare, and government that is both responsible and responsive. He shows why his life experience as the son of immigrants and as a high achieving student gave him a life experience that is ideal for life in the public service. He discusses how his family's experience during Katrina showed him exactly the kind of government that does not work. Personally, I find him very interesting and engaging.

The last half of the book engages his views on policies. How do we balance caring for those in need while not encouraging dependency or replace the sense of self-reliance with one of victimhood? He asks if we really want to be like Europe. He does not.

Another chapter talks about his views for bringing real change to our healthcare. I have to say I wish we didn't use that term and talked about medical care. I like most of what he says and his emphasis on reorganizing things so there is more competition and less bureaucracy in both the public and private sectors. His chapter on energy talks about opening our domestic resources rather than emphasizing the airy fairy (my term) expensive solutions put forward by our president administration.

He has another chapter on how to reform Medicare in order to save it. He discusses this with competence, frankness, and states that this is just the beginning of reform that is needed in all Federal entitlements (a term I really dislike - how can we be entitled to other folks' money?). He is also pro-defense and for a strong American foreign policy. And he comes down for a healthier national culture that will raise kids with the tools for doing well in life and equip them to form families and raise their own healthy kids.

The book is a good read, will help you get to know this very interesting man, and if he runs for President in 2012 or later you will be better informed about his views and what he has done with his life. So, I recommend that each of us read it.

Reviewed by Craig Matteson, Saline, MI
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on December 1, 2010
Format: Hardcover
This autobiography of Louisiana's Governor begins with an attack on President Obama for visiting his during the major oil spill and not once mentioning the spill. Obama discussed being asked to provide food stamps to those losing employment from the spill and was upset over public criticism. He felt Obama was more interested in having the press see him involved than actually providing solutions to containing the spill itself.

Jindal criticizes Federal plans on the oil spill. He thought the plan to burn marshes contaminated with oil was "crazy". He believes the Federal government failed to deliver enough resources. Jindal believes multiple actions are needed to control a spill, from placing sand bags to skimmers to constructing sand berms. He further believes the Federal government was slow to obtain funds from BP for containing the spill they caused. He further believes the Federal government failed to challenge the informaiton BP was providing and they should have been questioining their assertions.

Jindal concludes a central command from a remote locaiton can't properly oversee a crisis. This crisis led Jindal to create principals of leadership during a crisis. These principles are to learn from the front of the action, act quickly when urgency so dictates, get advice from those on the scene and familiar with the locality, advise the Federal government what is needed from them instead of stalling while they decide what they think should be done, inform the public with as much information as possible, when something doesn't work act quickly to make changes, require excellent and refuse to accept competence, work towards solutions regardless of their political consequence, consider historic responses and then "throw it out" and improvise new reactions, and prepare alternatives.

Jindal describes getting into politics, noting in Louisiana it is "Bible belt during the day, knife fighting after dark."

Jindal distrusts the national press. He argues that the issues concerning the people of Louisiana are their taxes, the condition of their infrastructure, and the state budget. The national press seems more concerned over hot button issues such as gay marriage, abortion, and creationism even though these are not issues facing Louisiana state government.

Jindal once gave the Republican response to a President Obama speech. He admits "I blew it". He states he has trouble reading off teleprompters.

Jindal was appointed the head of Louisiana's Health and Hospitals Department at age 24. He became head of the University of Louisiana eight university system at age 27. He was upset to learn universities were more concerned about attracting more students than in properly preparing students with good educations.

Jindal notes that spending on education has increased but results are not improving. He admits resources are important and spending per se makes little difference. He believes teacher pay should be related to their students' performances. As Governor, he led passage of a law allowing parents to choose any school, public parochial, and participating private, to send a child with 90% of the school allocation for that child going to the chosen school He believe competition among schools will force them to prove their educational offerings. He notes this will open up better private schools to students who otherwise couldn't afford to attend them.

When Jindal ran for Governor at age 31, he was one of 17 candidates. He polled at 3% in the first poll he took. His campaign ran only on radio with no TV ads due to its small budget. He proposed 20 reforms and ran on those. His proposals included more ethics, attracting businesses, and helping more small businesses. He faced two candidates who spent $10 million of their own money. He finished first in the preliminary round with 33% of the vote yet, since new candidate won a majority, Louisiana has a runoff between the top two candidates. He lost to Democratic Lt. Gov. Kathleen Blanco by 52% to 48%,

The next year, Jindal was elected to Congress. He found many members of Congress were arrogant and expected special treatment wherever they went. Legislation is complex, written by staff, and is not read by members of Congress. Congressional hearings were often for speeches and not for legitimate legislative inquiry. Congressional debate is usually for cameras before otherwise empty rooms.

Jindal notes that the 2009 Federal budget, when Bush left office, was almost as large as the entire 200 budget, Clinton's last year. Jindal doesn't mention Bush on this fact,

Jindal supports term limits, a part time Congress, a Federal balanced budget, a pay as you go Constitutional amendment, giving the President line item veto over budgetary items. He notes Louisiana cut its state budget by 14% in Fiscal Year 2010-11.

Jindal notes the Pennsylvania Constitution used to require legislators have a honest profession. This was so they wouldn't become career politicians.

Jindal is upset over the bureaucracy that hampered rescue operations of people trapped by flooding after the Katrina hurricane. Bureaucrats demanded stores close when they were needed to be open to sell supplies, Volunteers contributing food were turned away for food safety law reasons,

Jindal, the son of immigrants, favors secure borders while allowing immigration from highly skilled people and those escaping persecution from Cuba and elsewhere. He claims most low income immigrants remain low income and receive $10,000 more in government benefits over the national household average. He favors building a high tech fence along our Southern border. He also favors declaring English as the official language to urge immigrants to learn English.

Jindal campaigned for greater ethics. He sought to disallow legislaotrs, who are part time, from being employed by lobbying firms, requiring financial disclosures from legislators, disallowing being a government employee while owning, even partially, a business that has a government contract. He made ethics a top priority as Governor and ethic laws have been enacted.

Health care is a concern of Jindal's. He argues that health care decisions have become political and that the system has much waste. He notes the Federal government agrees it improperly spent $50 billion on Medicare in 2009. He believes health care spending should reflect outcomes, should involve consumers, and there should be more information provided on costs.

Jindal calls for subsidizing private health insurance to get them to take on more risk. He does not favor expanding Medicaid to fill this role. He wants health insurance portability for when people move or change jobs, to permit voluntary insurance purchasing pools through an employer, union, or church, to reduce lawsuits against doctors, to increase the use of the tax free Health Savings Accounts, to provide discounts of health insurance for healthy life styles, to provide tax credits and tax refunds for insuring the uninsured,, and for educating people on reducing health care costs

Jindal favors nuclear energy and questions the reliability of solar energy, He calls the unreliability of nuclear power a myth that evolved from what he calls the Three Mile Island Effect.

Global warming is an alarmist theory, Jindal believes. He claims evidence refuting global warning has been repressed. He notes the reality is we will be using fossil fuels for now and for some time. He argues that closing polluting businesses in America will only lead to the industries moving to other countries where they will be able to pollute even more in countries with lower environmental standards, and they will take American jobs in doing this.

Jindal warns against taxing oil companies. He claims that taxing them is a major reason why domestic oil production has fallen from 9.2 million barrels a day in 1973 to 5 million barrels a day in 2007. He favors opening the Alaska National Wildlife Refuge to drilling. He believes offshore drilling should be an issues decided upon by each involved state.

Medicare is being finally supported by short term accounting tricks, according to Jindal. Medicare is complex, creating 10,000 prices in 3,000 counties with 130,000 pages of regulations, guidelines, rulings, etc. He favors Federal suppor of insurance premiums to connect the marketplace of insurance to performance. He argues this will encourage increases in quality and reductions in costs.

Jindal argues that moral issues are very important. He sees our nation united by common values.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on December 3, 2010
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
This is an outstanding book, well written with intelligence and humor and loaded with facts. It is no small miracle what Governor Jindal has accomplished in Louisiana in such a short time, but the emphasis of this book is about being an American and what that really means. If you love this country, read this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on November 27, 2010
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
In Bobby Jindal's new book, "Leadership And Crisis" he says this,
During political campaigns, both parties divide people's interests and concerns into neat little categories. Well-paid pollsters discern people's attitudes by splicing and dicing. They poll about healthcare, foreign policy, defense, the economy, and moral issues. Our political dialogue is conducted in much the same way. Pundits go on the cable networks and pontificate on some narrow subject, then give way to other pundits sharing their expertise on some other narrow subject.
But that is not how real life works. All these issues are interconnected. Like spokes in a wheel, they are all linked to one central hub: America's culture."
In other words: IT'S THE CULTURE, STUPID. Hello... is there anyone out there who can articulate a discourse where we begin to connect the dots. A deficit driven economy and abortion rights stem from the same source... THE CULTURE. To change the reckless path we're on, we MUST change the culture. How do we do that? Read "Leadership And Crisis".
Disclaimer: I have absolutely no connection in any way to Bobby Jindal. I didn't know anything about him before I picked up this book. Having read it, I can enthusiastically endorse it as one powerful read. I`ve also read Newt Gingrich's "To Save America". Newt should read Bobby. This could be one powerful team (in any order). I'm just sayin...
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on January 12, 2011
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
Gov. Jindal exposes the under belly of the current administration to the light of day. Gov. Jindal pulls no punches in sharing his personal experiences during the oil spill in the Gulf that threatened not only the marine life, but the livelihood of millions. I did not get the impression that this book was politically motivated. Rather, I believe it was written by someone sincerely frustrated with political correctness and those concerned with image over decisive action. I could quote from the book to support my comments, but I will refrain from doing that. I want you to enjoy reading this book as much as I did. If you only read one book this year...read Leadership and Crisis by Bobby Jindal.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on April 22, 2011
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Wasn't sure what I would find with this book...seems if you're going to run for office you're obligated to write a book, or at least pretend you wrote the book that has your name on the cover. Obvious that Jindal wrote this book, sometimes you can almost hear him speak. I have a new respect for a public figure I wasn't all that familiar with. Worth the read...we might see more of Governor Jindal in the future and that might not be a bad thing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2010
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
This book is outstanding. I didn't know much about Jindal except he's governor of Louisiana. This man should be our President. His book defines the problems our country has, and gives solutions!!! It's not a biography, although he does give his background which is very impressive. It's about how to get our country back on track! Everyone should read this book!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on December 7, 2014
Format: Hardcover
This autobiography of Louisiana's Governor begins with an attack on President Obama for visiting his during the major oil spill and not once mentioning the spill. Obama discussed being asked to provide food stamps to those losing employment from the spill and was upset over public criticism. He felt Obama was more interested in having the press see him involved than actually providing solutions to containing the spill itself.

Jindal criticizes Federal plans on the oil spill. He thought the plan to burn marshes contaminated with oil was "crazy". He believes the Federal government failed to deliver enough resources. Jindal believes multiple actions are needed to control a spill, from placing sand bags to skimmers to constructing sand berms. He further believes the Federal government was slow to obtain funds from BP for containing the spill they caused. He further believes the Federal government failed to challenge the informaiton BP was providing and they should have been questioining their assertions.

Jindal concludes a central command from a remote locaiton can't properly oversee a crisis. This crisis led Jindal to create principals of leadership during a crisis. These principles are to learn from the front of the action, act quickly when urgency so dictates, get advice from those on the scene and familiar with the locality, advise the Federal government what is needed from them instead of stalling while they decide what they think should be done, inform the public with as much information as possible, when something doesn't work act quickly to make changes, require excellent and refuse to accept competence, work towards solutions regardless of their political consequence, consider historic responses and then "throw it out" and improvise new reactions, and prepare alternatives.

Jindal describes getting into politics, noting in Louisiana it is "Bible belt during the day, knife fighting after dark."

Jindal distrusts the national press. He argues that the issues concerning the people of Louisiana are their taxes, the condition of their infrastructure, and the state budget. The national press seems more concerned over hot button issues such as gay marriage, abortion, and creationism even though these are not issues facing Louisiana state government.

Jindal once gave the Republican response to a President Obama speech. He admits "I blew it". He states he has trouble reading off teleprompters.

Jindal was appointed the head of Louisiana's Health and Hospitals Department at age 24. He became head of the University of Louisiana eight university system at age 27. He was upset to learn universities were more concerned about attracting more students than in properly preparing students with good educations.

Jindal notes that spending on education has increased but results are not improving. He admits resources are important and spending per se makes little difference. He believes teacher pay should be related to their students' performances. As Governor, he led passage of a law allowing parents to choose any school, public parochial, and participating private, to send a child with 90% of the school allocation for that child going to the chosen school He believe competition among schools will force them to prove their educational offerings. He notes this will open up better private schools to students who otherwise couldn't afford to attend them.

When Jindal ran for Governor at age 31, he was one of 17 candidates. He polled at 3% in the first poll he took. His campaign ran only on radio with no TV ads due to its small budget. He proposed 20 reforms and ran on those. His proposals included more ethics, attracting businesses, and helping more small businesses. He faced two candidates who spent $10 million of their own money. He finished first in the preliminary round with 33% of the vote yet, since new candidate won a majority, Louisiana has a runoff between the top two candidates. He lost to Democratic Lt. Gov. Kathleen Blanco by 52% to 48%,

The next year, Jindal was elected to Congress. He found many members of Congress were arrogant and expected special treatment wherever they went. Legislation is complex, written by staff, and is not read by members of Congress. Congressional hearings were often for speeches and not for legitimate legislative inquiry. Congressional debate is usually for cameras before otherwise empty rooms.

Jindal notes that the 2009 Federal budget, when Bush left office, was almost as large as the entire 200 budget, Clinton's last year. Jindal doesn't mention Bush on this fact,

Jindal supports term limits, a part time Congress, a Federal balanced budget, a pay as you go Constitutional amendment, giving the President line item veto over budgetary items. He notes Louisiana cut its state budget by 14% in Fiscal Year 2010-11.

Jindal notes the Pennsylvania Constitution used to require legislators have a honest profession. This was so they wouldn't become career politicians.

Jindal is upset over the bureaucracy that hampered rescue operations of people trapped by flooding after the Katrina hurricane. Bureaucrats demanded stores close when they were needed to be open to sell supplies, Volunteers contributing food were turned away for food safety law reasons,

Jindal, the son of immigrants, favors secure borders while allowing immigration from highly skilled people and those escaping persecution from Cuba and elsewhere. He claims most low income immigrants remain low income and receive $10,000 more in government benefits over the national household average. He favors building a high tech fence along our Southern border. He also favors declaring English as the official language to urge immigrants to learn English.

Jindal campaigned for greater ethics. He sought to disallow legislaotrs, who are part time, from being employed by lobbying firms, requiring financial disclosures from legislators, disallowing being a government employee while owning, even partially, a business that has a government contract. He made ethics a top priority as Governor and ethic laws have been enacted.

Health care is a concern of Jindal's. He argues that health care decisions have become political and that the system has much waste. He notes the Federal government agrees it improperly spent $50 billion on Medicare in 2009. He believes health care spending should reflect outcomes, should involve consumers, and there should be more information provided on costs.

Jindal calls for subsidizing private health insurance to get them to take on more risk. He does not favor expanding Medicaid to fill this role. He wants health insurance portability for when people move or change jobs, to permit voluntary insurance purchasing pools through an employer, union, or church, to reduce lawsuits against doctors, to increase the use of the tax free Health Savings Accounts, to provide discounts of health insurance for healthy life styles, to provide tax credits and tax refunds for insuring the uninsured,, and for educating people on reducing health care costs

Jindal favors nuclear energy and questions the reliability of solar energy, He calls the unreliability of nuclear power a myth that evolved from what he calls the Three Mile Island Effect.

Global warming is an alarmist theory, Jindal believes. He claims evidence refuting global warning has been repressed. He notes the reality is we will be using fossil fuels for now and for some time. He argues that closing polluting businesses in America will only lead to the industries moving to other countries where they will be able to pollute even more in countries with lower environmental standards, and they will take American jobs in doing this.

Jindal warns against taxing oil companies. He claims that taxing them is a major reason why domestic oil production has fallen from 9.2 million barrels a day in 1973 to 5 million barrels a day in 2007. He favors opening the Alaska National Wildlife Refuge to drilling. He believes offshore drilling should be an issues decided upon by each involved state.

Medicare is being finally supported by short term accounting tricks, according to Jindal. Medicare is complex, creating 10,000 prices in 3,000 counties with 130,000 pages of regulations, guidelines, rulings, etc. He favors Federal suppor of insurance premiums to connect the marketplace of insurance to performance. He argues this will encourage increases in quality and reductions in costs.

Jindal argues that moral issues are very important. He sees our nation united by common values.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 15, 2011
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
This was a delightful book about an individual that I knew nothing about. He is intelligent ambitious and a great leader for the state of Louisana. I would like to see him remain in government.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on December 27, 2013
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
Jindals's book points out the common sense requirements to get our democracy working for us again. From recommendations such as a balance budget amendment to term limits for members of Congress, Gov. Jindal explains how our democracy has changed over the last 60 years and why some changes to our mode of working also need changing. Althougn I understand the efficiency of the line-item veto, I believe it to be unconstitutional, and this is one point I disagree with Jindal in his recommedations. The president should not have the unilateral power to change laws passed by the people's representatives. Again, I understand how it can be used to do good (i.e, remove pork) but it can also change the intention of a law in dramatic ways.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
No Apology: The Case for American Greatness
No Apology: The Case for American Greatness by Mitt Romney (Hardcover - March 2, 2010)
$25.99

Unintimidated: A Governor's Story and a Nation's Challenge
Unintimidated: A Governor's Story and a Nation's Challenge by Marc A. Thiessen (Paperback - August 26, 2014)
$12.20

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.