Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!
Excellent book! A must read for progressive line-level officers and aspiring police supervisors and command staff. The only practical book of its kind on the market. Although not red lights and sirens oriented, the book emphasizes ethical leadership skill development for frontline officers as well as police managers.

The book is well cited. The experts...
Published on July 31, 2007 by C. Clark

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A theoretical hodge-podge
I read this book as it was assigned for a promotional exam. While the bases which the authors cite is certainly solid, the organization of the books leaves a great deal to be desired. The first several chapters are an undifferentiated hodge-podge of theories and concepts on leadership and ethics. The problem is the book tries to be descriptive of a very broad range of...
Published on July 20, 2012 by Z. Becker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, July 31, 2007
Excellent book! A must read for progressive line-level officers and aspiring police supervisors and command staff. The only practical book of its kind on the market. Although not red lights and sirens oriented, the book emphasizes ethical leadership skill development for frontline officers as well as police managers.

The book is well cited. The experts cited lend support, credibility, and validity to the authors' position. As stated in the book, the goal is to deploy officers to the field who are self-contained ethical leadership agents capable of demonstrating effective communications, critical thinking and problem solving skills.

I highly recommend the Meese and Ortmeier book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A theoretical hodge-podge, July 20, 2012
By 
Z. Becker (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leadership, Ethics and Policing: Challenges for the 21st Century (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I read this book as it was assigned for a promotional exam. While the bases which the authors cite is certainly solid, the organization of the books leaves a great deal to be desired. The first several chapters are an undifferentiated hodge-podge of theories and concepts on leadership and ethics. The problem is the book tries to be descriptive of a very broad range of topics which can't possibly be covered in reasonable detail, leaving the reader somewhat bewildered. It's as if the authors consumed from a vast smorgasbord of theoretical literature and, finding themselves unable to fully digest the competing ideologies and theories, purged the slop onto the pages.

After a while the books becomes _somewhat_ more directed, organized and intelligible, with proper emphases on processes for organization, planning, strategic policing, etc. However, throughout they attempt to inject their rather nebulous creation of the principle of "ethical leadership" into the equation.

The problem is, the authors could have made a much more persuasive case if they had simply axed several chapters, quickly defined ethical leadership, and gone one to show by way of illustration and contrast, what they meant. Instead they take long ideological detours into a morass of unrelated dated theories of leadership which leaves readers stuck in the weeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nightmare, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leadership, Ethics and Policing: Challenges for the 21st Century (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
This book is a nightmare to read. He should have read his own chapter on report writing (concise, to the point, not excessively wordy) and used it for the rest of his book. Unnecessarily wordy (I shouldn't have to stop and use a dictionary to understand what you're trying to say) and overly lengthy drawn out sentences. Footnotes constantly interjected into the middle of paragraphs make it impossible to follow. Ever heard of an appendix?, or that footnotes belong at the foot of the page, which is why they are called footnotes. I doubt either of authors have any legitimate police service time or experience to call themselves "experts" either. A book written by politicians for politicians, not for the police.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste, April 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leadership, Ethics and Policing: Challenges for the 21st Century (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
If you are buying this it's probably for a a test, because there is no way anyone would read this on their own. Poorly written. Very wordy. Basic truths and facts are hidden in mountains of garbel. Definitions you are supposed to know are not spelled out. Anything worthwhile in this could have been surmised in a pamphlet. It's unethical that this book is pushed as mandatory for any testing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The author was trying to impress the reader with big words, January 20, 2014
This review is from: Leadership, Ethics and Policing: Challenges for the 21st Century (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I had to read this book for a promotional exam. While I did write the best test, I truly hated this book. It was obviously written to impress with big words, but the ideas basically mirror each other with some differences. This was a boring read and a waste of time for anyone not being forced to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A promotional exam must, December 30, 2010
This review is from: Leadership, Ethics and Policing: Challenges for the 21st Century (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
After reading several "leadership" books over the last year, I found this one to be the most straight forward, well cited, and applicable.
Unlike some authors who just like hear themselves repeat old theory, Meese and Ortmeir give fresh , modern perspectives. I wish more progressive police chiefs would read this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just okay, July 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leadership, Ethics and Policing: Challenges for the 21st Century (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
Its the same thing put out in other books. I think they all just rewrite a previous book in their own words. I had to read it for a promotional test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leadership, Ethics and Policing: Challenges for the 21st Century (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
A place where books come quickly & in amazing condition. A week before my biggest assignment my car was stolen and over 200 dollars of books were also taken, my professor had a no excuse policy so I had to buy them all over again and thanks to the student 2 day shipping my books were back and my work was less than a week late. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Leadership, Ethics and Policing: Challenges for the 21st Century (2nd Edition)
$91.80 $70.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.