Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Giuliani is not the greatest writer, but his book is entertaining, and certainly provides a few good ideas, as well as insight into his personality. Worth the short time it takes to finish it.
Published 13 months ago by Cdilullo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confusing self-celebration with leadership...
This book does not provide any of the valuable insights in "Leadership" I was hoping & looking for.
It proposes very basic leadership principles in a highly unstructured manner.
Examples given to illustrate proposed principles are seldom of real value and often show-off, celebrating the pretended genious of the author.
Generally, examples given are a poor...
Published on October 10, 2010 by Tobias Baerlocher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confusing self-celebration with leadership..., October 10, 2010
By 
Tobias Baerlocher (Lausanne, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leadership (Paperback)
This book does not provide any of the valuable insights in "Leadership" I was hoping & looking for.
It proposes very basic leadership principles in a highly unstructured manner.
Examples given to illustrate proposed principles are seldom of real value and often show-off, celebrating the pretended genious of the author.
Generally, examples given are a poor choice.
The political leader R.Giuliani deserves many credits for his accomplishments before and after 9/11.
However, in this book, he sets up a one-man show from childhood to retirement as NYC mayor.
He is sharing many personal experiences that I might have found interesting to read about in his biography, but that are of no value to me in my business life. All is just too obvious...
A big disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leadership (Paperback)
Giuliani is not the greatest writer, but his book is entertaining, and certainly provides a few good ideas, as well as insight into his personality. Worth the short time it takes to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars review of Leadership by Giuliani, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leadership (Paperback)
It's okay; nothing to really brag about. He seems to be a second rate leader without true substance.

Very self serving, book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insights into Leadership from one of the masters, December 13, 2007
By 
Brian H. Phelps (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leadership (Paperback)
No matter what you may think of his politics Rudolph Giuliani's Leadership offers excellent insights into what it takes to lead a large and dynamic organization such as New York City. The mayor presents his experience in effectively leading New York City as culminating in the trial of handling the September 11th terrorist attacks and the organizing the recovery effort. Giuliani does not focus the book primarily on the events of 9/11, but rather lists other lessons he learned during his career and tenure as mayor that helped him lead from a position of strength during the cities darkest hour. Leadership begins with the mayor recounting how he made it a point to start every day with a morning meeting where the agenda for the day would be outlined with all of the cities top officials present so everyone was on the same page. As the book progresses, Giuliani discusses leadership traits in a hierarchal fashion, eventually addressing leaders that posses a higher purpose as their motivation. At times, Giuliani seems unnecessarily repetitive in his coverage of how he applied leadership skills during his time as mayor before 9/11, but then again Giuliani tells us one of the first elements of being a good leader is not to assume anything, so when Giuliani tells a story he starts from the beginning each time. This trait of Giuliani's is undoubtedly one of the things that allowed him to handle New York City's many crises so effectively. Leadership is not just a very long resume for Giuliani and those wanting to know more about the man as well as the mayor will be pleasantly surprised. Giuliani affirms how he, like all leaders, are not born but are created from their experiences where leadership can be taught, learned, and developed. Readers interested in the link between leadership and communication will also find extensive coverage of this topic in Leadership. The mayor describes how talking to the community made he and his staff aware of issues that might have otherwise gone unnoticed and they were able to tell the community how to help themselves. The mayor was also effective in getting the city government, and especially its upper management, working together as a unit again by organizing the cities commissioners into groups responsible for tasks. By eliminating the previously adversarial position previously adopted by city commissioners, Giuliani was able to make sure that the city's leaders were working for the city and not individual interests. At a time when many American's are feeling that the conversation in this country has stopped and 2-way communication between our leaders and the populace has broken down, Leadership is a refreshing discourse which reveals that are at least some leaders that still understand the basics of good leadership. If the mayor's presidential campaign bid is successful, we can only hope that he will remember the foundation that has allowed him to lead and hope he assigns Leadership as mandatory reading for all of the nation's leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book on Practical Leadership in Action, August 3, 2007
This review is from: Leadership (Paperback)
It's completely coincidental that I picked this book up during political season. I overheard someone say that this was a great book on leadership and being the leadership connoisseur that I am, I bought it and gave it a read.

This isn't your normal everyday leadership book detailing x number of leadership principles, checklists and how-tos. Leadership is really more of a biography of Rudy Giuliani's career specifically focusing on the leadership principles that helped him accomplish all that he has. It's not a complete story on his life, just the leadership highlights.

Giuliani's gives us real life example after example where his leadership principles were put to the test. As the man that "fixed" New York City from much of the crime and decay that was prevalent before he became mayor, and also kept it running after 9/11, we know that when it comes to the testing of leadership principles, Rudy's been through it.

Much of the book focuses on the aftermath of 9/11, but it's not a chronological narrative. Giuliani breaks the book into chapters, each outlining a leadership principle that helped him through his careers both as prosecutor and as mayor, and architect of the 9/11 recovery. Within each chapter Giuliani pulls stories from his life that show these skills in action and the result and accomplishments that followed.

Rudy isn't necessarily my man for the 2008 election but after reading Leadership, I have a newfound respect for the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Giuliani was involved in 911, October 22, 2007
By 
Christian Peper (St Louis Mo&North East) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leadership (Paperback)
Giuliani was involved in 911

I found this book to be cheap propaganda. 911 was an inside job coup and Giuliani was involved. The fascist neo-cons tried to put "their man" Giuliani in office but failed.

The book did not go into the truth about Giuliani or the truth about 911. This is why I did not like the book at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Leadership
Leadership by Rudolph Giuliani (Paperback - June 13, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.