Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important tool in a church leader's toolbox, June 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As the title reflects, the book should be a required purchase for all leaders in the church, not just the pastor. If you are searching for an ordination gift, consider giving this book. The book links the leader's own spirituality with how he or she leads the group. In building an awareness of strengths and weaknesses, pitfalls and potential pitfalls, the leader can become aware of how these influence the larger group in both positive and negative ways. This book is an excellent tool for a leader at all stages of their career, from beginner to veteran. The questions at the end of each chapter provide both discussion starters if you are using the book in a small group or training setting and also provide guidance as journaling starters.

The authors combine a love for the Church and the Church's leaders with a committment to training leaders who can continue to build a strong relationship with the God who has called them and with the community in which they serve.

This is a must read for all leaders. More uniquely, this book is a tool that can be used over and over again. Because it can be used in a variety of settings and continues to speak to the readers over their career, this book should be viewed as a tool to create strong local congregations and strong leaders equipped to serve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leading the Congregation: Caring for Yourself While Serving the People (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the book and felt the authors accurately described change with a Christian undercurrent in a secular organization without overplaying both hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You Lord for these authors, August 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book lives up to it's title. If only every minister of the Gospel could receive the encouragement I experienced reading this material. I had read the first edition years ago and when I found out the revised version was out I reread it in the new version. This book will go into the short list of books to reread annually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure for all Leaders!, June 22, 2012
This book isn't just for pastors but for all Christian leaders. It is the best book on Christian leadership I am aware of. The authors weave principles of spiritual growth throughout the book to produce leaders who are truly Christlike. You will be able to mine this for riches for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great book., July 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leading the Congregation: Caring for Yourself While Serving the People (Kindle Edition)
The authors do a superb job of explaining that leadership is a team effort within the Christian religion. Their cross cultural inclusion is refreshing although not as defining as it relates to each culture that embraces the "Christian" religion. This is however, a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leadubg the Congregation, November 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Outstanding, using this book to teach our Leadership Class at Church. Most churches should institute this book in their church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found this book very infomative and very reader friendlly! It was required for class but I am glad I got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, May 5, 2011
For anyone who is looking to lead in ministry or in life this book is a must read. It carefully and prayerfully articulates what caring for yourself looks like so that your life can become a living and breathing parable as you invite others to follow you as you follow Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.