Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars88
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$19.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 25, 2012
November 7, 1967 sent Lee Ellis, an Air Force fighter pilot, on a new adventure he hadn't planned and didn't desire. In a bombing raid over North Vietnam, here's what happened: "Suddenly, an explosion rocked our aircraft. A terrifying sound, like marbles in a blender, alerted me that the metal of our expensive flying machine was ripping apart. The cockpit was still intact, but it was rapidly filling with smoke. The control stick was frozen. . .and we were tumbling end over end through the sky."

Fortunately, Ellis ejected. Unfortunately, North Vietnamese combatants captured him. For five and a half years, he stayed at the now infamous "Hanoi Hilton," the sarcastic name applied to the prison camp that also housed the POW we would come to know as Senator John McCain.

After his release from the service, Lee Ellis started sharing the leadership lessons he had learned for survival. He has become a popular speaker and consultant for leading corporations. Now this gripping book makes his crucible-proven concepts about communication, morale, team building, and motivation available to a larger public.

I invite you to watch my brief video review of Leading with Honor.
77 comments17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An extraordinary story of courage, endurance, sacrifice, and survival in the face of unspeakable cruelty and deprivation. More importantly, a timely and sorely needed reminder of how seemingly insurmountable challenges can be overcome when qualities like honor, integrity, character, and sense of duty are valued more than personal gain, focus group surveys, and political expediency. Ought to be required reading in every high school and university and by all who either hold or aspire to public office.
11 comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2012
I could not put this book down. It was amazing to read the stories that so many men endured for our country. They not only survived but persevered to be men of great honor. Mr. Ellis and all so those imprisoned with him are truly heroes. I shared this book with my 17 year old son who is interested in the military. There were so many life lessons that he has to learn along the way and this book identified ways for him to develop those leadership qualities that seem to be missing in so many of our leaders today. Thank you for an incredible book on so many levels.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 14, 2012
Lee Ellis was imprisoned in the infamous Hanoi Hilton for five and a half years after he ejected from his crippled USAF Phantom jet over Vietnam in 1967. For eighteen months of that long imprisonment, John McCain occupied the cell next door. Like his fellow POW McCain, Lee Ellis has taken what could have been a crippling episode in his life and turned it an an opportunity for reflection, self-awareness and a post-military career of distinction and service to others.

In his new book, "Leading with Honor - Leadership Lessons from the Hanoi Hilton," the author digs deep into his soul and his history - both as a prisoner of war and as an executive coach and consultant - to extract lessons that are universally applicable to anyone privileged to lead others. The format is simple and deeply impactful. At the beginning of each chapter, Ellis shares recollections of his time as a prisoner of war, and reflects on leadership lessons he gleaned by examining his own behavior and the behaviors of other brave men with whom he was incarcerated. He then transitions to a section in which he applies that leadership lesson to a "real world" situation - often a business challenge. He cites a variety of examples from the many companies and leaders he has helped in his role as consultant and coach. Finally, he boils down the crucial point of the chapter into what he calls a "Foot Stomper" - a pithy, short paragraph that captures the essence of the leadership principle in question. The result is a compact book on leadership that is both powerful and practical.

The first half of the book deals with helping the reader to lead himself/herself. The second half concentrates on principles of leading others. Chapter 9 - "Develop Your People" - I found to be a particularly inspiring chapter. In his memoir section, the author recounts the extraordinary efforts that his cadre of prisoners undertook to pass their time constructively and to keep morale high under the most trying of circumstances, including physical torture. Within his cell, the prisoners took inventory of the areas of expertise that they possessed, and they created a curriculum whereby prisoners would teach other prisoners.

"Even though Camp Unity had much larger rooms - my cell measured about twenty-five feet by seventy - fifty-five of us were jammed in there like sardines,twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. . . In such close quarters, SRO [Senior Ranking Officer] Clower quickly realized that things could get dicey if we didn't have activities to occupy our time. So he asked Captain Tom Storey (USAF), an experienced educator, to launch a learning program. Tom listed several study options using the concrete slab floor as his blackboard and pieces of broken brick as chalk. The electives included math, calculus, science, history, Spanish, French, electronics, German wines and public speaking.

One track of courses was taught on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, and another on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. School was in session three hours in the mornings and two hours in the afternoons. . . Most cells had similar ongoing educational programs, and someone came up with the idea of organizing an officer candidate school for the only three Air Force enlisted men in the Hanoi POW camps. A number of officers developed a rigorous curriculum and volunteered to teach the various components of the course. When the three men returned home, the U.S. Congress approved the program and offered the candidates commissions as second lieutenants in the U.S. Air Force.

The lack of books or outside resources did not limit our continuous learning in the POW camps. We relied on recall of past education, and where there was a lack of clarity on a subject, we tried to get a consensus of the best minds. . . Our investment in development has paid big dividends in the years since." (Pages 121-123)

Lee Ellis and his fellow prisoners were well ahead of the wave of "Crowd Sourcing" that has become so popular in this century.

The practical application of this chapter leads with the story of US Air Captain "Sully" Sullenberger and his "Miracle on the Hudson" landing of the crippled 737 with no loss of life. The point was that a life-long commitment to self-development, training and development at the hands of others had uniquely prepared Sully for this once-in-a-lifetime emergency situation.

Two different pilots of crippled aircraft - flying worlds and decades apart - each have a great deal to teach us about courage and leadership under duress.

Here is the "Foot Stomper for this chapter: "Authentic leaders engage in continual development. Knowledge alone is not enough; the only way to grow as a leader is to do things differently,and that requires change. Go first, and then take your people with you." (Page 128)

During this time of year when we thing about giving meaningful and thoughtful gifts, this book would be a welcome addition to the library of any leader or aspiring leader.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2012
Leading With Honor is two outstanding books in one. Not only is it an eye opening page-turner about the life of a prisoner of war - it is also full of invaluable life-lessons. It combines the incredible story of a man who spends more than five years in an unimaginable hell and then returns home to use that experience as a guide to live a life with honor.
Lee Ellis was shot down over North Vietnam in November of 1967 and remained a captive until mid-1972. He, along with his fellow POWs, survived conditions that stagger the imagination, but rather than living the rest of his life consumed by bitterness, Ellis decided to use the lessons he learned in the Hanoi Hilton to make himself a better man.
Each chapter in the book begins with a story from the POW camp and then evolves into a life-lesson designed to teach us how to "lead with honor". Life is not always easy and making honorable decisions can be difficult. Ellis and the rest of the POWs learned this the hard way, but they survived thanks to their mantra...when it's time to go home, return with honor.
Whether you are a corporate executive, a politician, a school teacher or a parent, you will find something useful in every single "lesson". I generally find "self-help" books boring, clichéd and formulaic - but this book stands alone. It is simultaneously riveting and inspirational.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2012
I was anxious to read the story of a former POW and how he survived a 5 year ordeal. Surprisingly, I also found a plethora of sound practical applications, in all leadership arenas, of collaborative listening, balance of humanity and profit and most importantly the courage to do the right thing even knowing the consequences may not be the 'pay off' one would desire. This should be required reading in every business ethics course in colleges and universities across the land. Hands down a great view of leadership executed under the worst of conditions.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
Today's leaders must possess the skills, knowledge, patience, fortitude and determination to produce the results and reach the goals that mark success. The ultimate test in life is to survive, to keep from being killed by others or dying due to your living conditions. American POWs held captive in North Vietnam were faced with surviving in the harshest of conditions by the most brutal captors ever minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day, for weeks, months and for those that did survive for many years. Lee Ellis, a former POW, learned what it takes to overcome adversity, constant setbacks, and the temptation to give up just to survive. He shares the lessons he learned to survive as a POW in his book "Leading with Honor." With this book, the reader is afforded the opportunity to do a self analysis, to question his own strengths and weaknesses and become a better leader. This book is a must read for those that want to be a leader and to those that are leaders now.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2012
"Leading with Honor" is a very impressive book on leadership, and I would highly recommend it for any person working in a supervisory role. The format of the book is one in which the chapter begins with an anecdote from Ellis's days as a POW, and the last few pages of the chapter discuss the leadership methods that can be employed supervisors at present. He also has his so-called "foot-stomper," which is the most important idea that the reader can take away from the chapter.

Overall a solid book on leadership, and it comes highly recommended.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2012
Lee Ellis's book is a practical coaching resource that more people that call themselves leaders need to review and understand. I am glad to read a leadership book where it is not about the "new innovative" way to become a leader but rather emphasizes the that there is no magical way to become a leader; it is about the authentic basics. The leadership lessons are straight forward and based on tried and true principles. True leadership comes when an individual puts the time and effort into knowing and leading themselves before they move to lead other. This book should be required reading for every college freshman to not only gain an appreciation of the consequences of war but as a guide on how to become a leader that will stand the test of time.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
This book is excellent. I had the pleasure of hearing the author speak at a luncheon and I immediately purchased the book. I was not disappointed. The book is very well written. He weaves his experiences as a Vietnam POW with his wonderful insights into leadership skills that are essential in today's world. Whether you are running a large business, a nonprofit organization, or chairing a committee as a volunteer at your church, this book will help make you more effective - AND give you a behind the scenes look at what really happened to our military personnel who were captured in Vietnam. I highly recommend this book!
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse