Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect song to end a perfect movie.
Wow, the Coen Bros. version of True Grit was an excellent film. Iris DeMent's rendition of Leaning on the Everlasting Arms was a perfect fit to the period of the picture. Composed in the 1880's the song closes the film with the right sense of the times.
Published on January 21, 2011 by Brian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Was better suited to the movie than to listen to in stereo
Published 17 days ago by drew kendall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect song to end a perfect movie., January 21, 2011
By 
Brian "Brian of Reno" (Reno, NV United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (MP3 Music)
Wow, the Coen Bros. version of True Grit was an excellent film. Iris DeMent's rendition of Leaning on the Everlasting Arms was a perfect fit to the period of the picture. Composed in the 1880's the song closes the film with the right sense of the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunted......, January 9, 2011
By 
This review is from: Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (MP3 Music)
its so beutiful. i am hip hop, metal, indie fan. i heard her singing on the true grit soundtrack. i watched the credits even-to find out who was singing. it felt like i got stabbed in my heart. it was so haunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great rendition of the old hymn, December 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (MP3 Music)
I first noticed Iris Dement in the 2000 film "Songcatcher," where she played an Appalachian Mountain girl and sang "Pretty Saro," an old English Folk ballad. The next time I heard her, she was singing "Leaning on the Everlasting Arms" in the 2010 film "True Grit." I had heard the old hymn dozens of times in church, but Iris Dement's rendition was so different and so mesmerizing that my wife and I stayed through the last of the credits to hear every word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leaning on the Everlasting Arms, December 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (MP3 Music)
A beautiful rendition of an old gospel song. It is inspiring in it's simplicity. It reminds me of my childhood when I would stand beside my Mother and sing at the Methodist church back home. Sounds just like her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great song from True Grit, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (MP3 Music)
As well as I liked the John Wayne version of True Grit, the Jeff Bridges version is better. Great cast, great story and great music, including this tear-jerker "Leaning on His Everlasting Arms" sung by Iris DeMent. It is a crassic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love this, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (MP3 Music)
i love this, i was really affected on how they used this in the theme music for true grit, a story about a girl who is brave and lives by leaning on the Everlasting Arms even in danger....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful haunting and addictive song... highly recommended!, December 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (MP3 Music)
Heard this at the end of True Grit and thought beautiful melody, bizarre and memorizing... highly recommended! It was a shame it did not come with the otherwise great soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leaning On The Everlasting Arms by Iris DeMent, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (MP3 Music)
This is a great old hymn and Iris DeMent does a great job. She has an unusual, distinct voice that may brimg you back to the 1880s. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are looking to be inspired, get this album, November 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (MP3 Music)
Beautiful, moving & awe inspiring. Old time, faith filled hym, that reminds us of the gentle arms that provide safety & security. Fantastic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect song to end True Grit, September 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (MP3 Music)
This song gets to me. A perfect song to end True Grit. (Jeff Bridges) I watch the movie just to hear this at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.