Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to personalize the toy with first letter of your child's name
You can program the toy to say "That's the first letter of your name!" when they click on the corresponding letter. Cute!

Here are the instructions from the website to personalize the toy:
1. Turn off the toy
2. Hold down the "L" and "M" buttons simultaneously while turning the toy back on.
3. Follow the audio to enter the first letter of your...
Published on January 2, 2012 by Meadows

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, a few important caveats
Got this as a gift. My 22 month old son loves to press a button and dance to the music, over and over again. We've got quite a few of these battery-powered sound-and-music toys, but this has probably been his favorite for the past few months.

But as some other reviewers have noted, the software inside the toy apparently crashes pretty often. The toy will...
Published 9 months ago by J. Kale


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daughter loves it! But I think we got a dud..., August 22, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Lettersaurus (Toy)
My 16 month-old loves this toy. She loves hearing the ABC song and dancing to it. I like that on the song mode, there are 26 unique songs and they are surprisingly pleasing melodies for a children's toy. I also like that there's a letter and color setting to mix things up a bit.

But I'm pretty sure our Lettersaurus is past his prime. We've had issues with him from day one. Sometimes, my daughter will be in the middle of playing with him and he'll just start making this obnoxious steady beep which only goes away if you turn him off then back on. Lately, he sounds like he's gagging at times, "ruh ruh ruh ruh ruh ruh ruh ruh". I checked the batteries, which are fine. I find that letting it sit and "cough it out" (aka sit there and make obnoxious noises for minutes by itself) usually remedies the problem for the a while.

I do have to give this toy some credit, though. He's always getting dropped and thrown on our hardwood floors and he's still in one piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool little toy, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Lettersaurus (Toy)
This is a cool little toy with a nice variety of options. However the buttons are small and have to be pushed down just right (not so easy like some kids toys with buttons). So my kiddo doesn't really get how to use it just yet (14 months).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not great but..., April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Lettersaurus (Toy)
not terrible either. It is very cute and colorful but at random times it gives off a loud buzzing sound that really scares my 17 month old son. Not sure what causes it but if I push another button it stops the noise and goes back to normal. Very weird! Would not purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Educational but hard to use for an infant., February 9, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Lettersaurus (Toy)
We bought this toy for our 8 month old daughter for Christmas and she really likes it. She absolutely loves to push the dinosaur's head and listen to him sing the alphabet song. It's also very cool that the dinosaur can be customized to tell your child which letter is the first letter of their first name. However, the letter buttons on the dinosau's back are very small and are pretty hard to push for an infant's small fingers. My other issue is that 1/2 of the buttons are on 1 side and the other 1/2 are on the other side - so the dinosaur has to be facing away from your child to access the 2nd half of the alphabet. The dinosaur also teaches colors and plays songs but your child has to hit those same small buttons to access those options. This would be a great toy for infants if it were easier for them to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed....nobody in this house is!, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Lettersaurus (Toy)
This toy provides little entertainment for my 15 month old....we play it together and she presses a button or two and walks away. She plays with other toys....so it is not that she just doesn't play...the letters are VERY small to see and pressing the button can be a challenge for a little one learning how to press a button without hitting 2 at the same time. There are other LeapFrog products worth buying, this is just not one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great learning toy!, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Lettersaurus (Toy)
We love this and cannot wait to give it to our daughter for her first birthday. It has the whole alphabet (goes to back of dinosaur) and the different settings are perfect. The volume is really good and the words are very clear so its perfect for learning! We love LeapFrog so this just adds to her growing collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful learning toy, April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Lettersaurus (Toy)
Wonderful toy , make interacting with my granddaughters slot of fun . The really like it and it's a great learning toy but you really need to play with it with them because that's the whole concept of the toy . I did end up buying two for the grand girls because they are personable . Even more great !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lettersaurus, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Lettersaurus (Toy)
My niece (2 years old) enjoyed the music but the buttons were a bit small and a little tricky for her to push on her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good product, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Lettersaurus (Toy)
The product was definitly good and loved by my grand daughter. She just would not let go.and enjoys playing with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're looking for a gift, this one gets 5-stars across the board - Great Alphabet learning tool, May 22, 2012
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Lettersaurus (Toy)
This was a gift from an aunt for a 2-year old. The challenge was, our daughter loves dinosaurs but it's very difficult to find one that's not scary (big teeth, etc).

But this is also a great educational tool, and helping our 2-year-old learn the alphabet. This would definitely be appropriate for a 1-year-old, especially if they like pushing buttons. And hopefully they would grow into the phonics/alphabet educational components (which are really geared for 24-36 months).

The dinosaur features the alphabet song (when you touch the head), and it has alphabet buttons along the back & tail to help you learn all the letters & has corresponding songs. Even if your child is too young for the alphabet, the songs are fun to dance to, and it's not too loud or obnoxious. After birthday parties a lot of parents get stuck with LOUD obnoxious toys - it's kindof a joke among parents, that the friends & grandparents don't actually have to live with these toys! But not to worry - this one has a volume control, and even turned all the way up it's pleasant, upbeat, fairly soft music.

Additionally, this is very durable - it's been dropped many times and still looks & plays like brand new. And the battery life is excellent.

Only two complaints: First the songs are a little fast - wish they were just 10 or 20% slower so the child could follow along a little easier. Second, the dinosaur only sings the alphabet song - the other 26 songs (one for each letter) are just music, no lyrics. Someone really has to be there to teach the child the words to the song.

Bottom Line: An excellent product from Leapfrog, great value for the price (currently $14 on Amazon), great gift idea for 12-36 months. I rarely give 5-stars for kids toys, but this one gets 5-stars across the board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LeapFrog Lettersaurus
LeapFrog Lettersaurus by LeapFrog Enterprises
$29.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.