Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great science/math Leapster game!
Most of the Leapster games we have focus on reading and language skills, which is awesome, but this was a very welcome change. My son LOVES Phineas and Ferb, and I'm so glad Leap Frog made a science game involving their concepts. My son is five, and it really challenges him to think through addition, subtraction, shapes, material properties and even basic...
Published on July 31, 2012 by Amy Mcfarland

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but fairly repetitive gameplay
There are two main game plays. The main one where you have to help Phineas and Ferb collect the spare parts for their machine while avoiding the food that the robots fling at them. There are several levels on this mode but their are fairly similar in the way they played. The other play mode is a "Rube Goldberg"-like machine where you have to help Perry get into the hatch...
Published on September 27, 2012 by N. Savoiu


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great science/math Leapster game!, July 31, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Disney Phineas and Ferb Learning Game (Works with LeapFrog Tablets, LeapsterGS, and Leapster Explorer) (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Most of the Leapster games we have focus on reading and language skills, which is awesome, but this was a very welcome change. My son LOVES Phineas and Ferb, and I'm so glad Leap Frog made a science game involving their concepts. My son is five, and it really challenges him to think through addition, subtraction, shapes, material properties and even basic engineering.
There are several different games to play. In one, Phineas and Ferb drive around one of their creations while battling food-throwing robots that hurl meatballs and cheese sauce. To improve your craft, you do math problems. While my son has been reluctant and a bit grouchy about homework these days, he's all for figuring out addition, subtraction and multiplication if it means his robot car will have an inflatable bumper or a better water balloon launcher.
There is also a section on electricity - what conducts, what does not, what appliances around the house draw more power.
Our favorite section of the game is the machine builder. You are given different materials and an incomplete invention, and you have to create a path to roll a marble from the top into a can using different objects, like an incline plane, lever or pulley. It's just plain neat.
And of course, as Perry the Platypus, you can battle the evil Dr. Doofenshmirtz in his inator!
I would highly recommend this game to sneak in development of math and science skills. My son absolutely loves it. At five years old, it provides him enough of a challenge while still being fun, and I can see him still finding fun in it in the years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun & educational, July 26, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Disney Phineas and Ferb Learning Game (Works with LeapFrog Tablets, LeapsterGS, and Leapster Explorer) (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My seven-year-old daughter really enjoyed this Phineas and Ferb game. As a parent, I've noticed most games are geared towards reading and phonics. That isn't an area my daughter struggles with, so I especially like that this game focuses on science and math. She is reluctant to practice math facts, but while fighting off food throwing robots she was more than eager to solve the needed math problems. We played together in story mode and had a great time! I definitely recommend this for children who enjoy math and science, as well as those who don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but fairly repetitive gameplay, September 27, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Disney Phineas and Ferb Learning Game (Works with LeapFrog Tablets, LeapsterGS, and Leapster Explorer) (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
There are two main game plays. The main one where you have to help Phineas and Ferb collect the spare parts for their machine while avoiding the food that the robots fling at them. There are several levels on this mode but their are fairly similar in the way they played. The other play mode is a "Rube Goldberg"-like machine where you have to help Perry get into the hatch opening. There a several of these levels to play but they are fairly repetitive as well and there isn't a diversity of objects that can be used. All-in-all it's a reasonably fun game for the little ones but probably not for long lasting play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love Phineas and Ferb!, November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Disney Phineas and Ferb Learning Game (Works with LeapFrog Tablets, LeapsterGS, and Leapster Explorer) (Toy)
We purchased several Leap Frog games at the same time to go with my son's new Leap Pad. This one has been a definite favorite. He loves Phineas and Ferb, and this game holds his attention much longer than the other games. I also like that it goes up to age 8 and still challenges him a bit, because other games have become far too easy for him in a short period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, repetitive, some learning, high-priced, April 7, 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Disney Phineas and Ferb Learning Game (Works with LeapFrog Tablets, LeapsterGS, and Leapster Explorer) (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My children don't know Phineas and Ferb and yet they enjoyed this title. We got to hear it being played on a road trip, so we got to listen to the repetitiveness quite a bit. As a teacher, I'm always hard on educational programs like this from LeapPad, but it's better to have some learning squeezed in there than having no learning at all (i.e. Angry Birds).

If this software was 1/2 or 1/4 of the retail price, it would be a good choice, but at this price-point, there are a lot of places to get better educational bang-for-your-buck.

As far as educational value, there are some good science and math concepts contained in the game that your children will be exposed to. They were too easy for my kids (6 and 7), but they played it anyways and seemed to have a good time. I'd say that it would be great to challenge a 5 year old, possibly with a parents help at first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Granddaughter loves it, April 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Disney Phineas and Ferb Learning Game (Works with LeapFrog Tablets, LeapsterGS, and Leapster Explorer) (Toy)
I purchased the Leappad 2 for my granddaughter for her birthday and she loves it and this game.plays with it as often as mom will allow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 7 year old son enjoyed this one MORE than any Explorer cartridge I've EVER bought him!, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Disney Phineas and Ferb Learning Game (Works with LeapFrog Tablets, LeapsterGS, and Leapster Explorer) (Toy)
How well was it received? Real world impression...
My son thoroughly enjoyed this Explorer game and didn't want to put it down! His eyes and mouth were smiling as he told me that he completed ALL of the Levels. I can tell you he has never been so excited over a Leap Frog Explorer game.

What does it teach?
This games focuses on teaching physical science, concepts of engineering regarding electricity, circuits, and basic machines. Some of the machines used are levers, screws and pulleys, wedges, and wheels. It also teaches math like multiplication, addition and subtraction.

Summary:
Part of the story line includes Phineas and Ferb building a water balloon launcher so they can cool off. It's a wonderful way to teach some great math and basic science skills while hanging out with one of my son's many favorite characters. Ages listed are 5-8 years, and Kindergarten to second grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning While Playing!, December 6, 2012
By 
JJ "avid reader" (Meridianville, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Disney Phineas and Ferb Learning Game (Works with LeapFrog Tablets, LeapsterGS, and Leapster Explorer) (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a really fun game with the beloved Phineas and Ferb characters. But this game is not all just fun....it is also educational. It is great to encourage kids who are reluctant learners when it comes to math and science. This game sneaks math and science in while the kids are having fun at the same time. They are learning without really realizing it. There is a section on electricity and simple machines and several math problems. This game seems to work well with 5 to 7 year old kids but the maturity of children differ so younger or older may enjoy also. Very good game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, November 15, 2012
By 
Michael L. Knapp (Placerville, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Disney Phineas and Ferb Learning Game (Works with LeapFrog Tablets, LeapsterGS, and Leapster Explorer) (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
We run a preschool/daycare. While we don't let the kids watch tv or play video games during the day, we do let them for the last 1/2 hour at pick up time. We've had a LeapPad but after a while the kids got bored & prefered watching a video. The we got the Phinius & Ferb LeapFrog Learning Game. With this they have completly forgotten about Shawn The Sheep & Dinosaur Train. We feel better about them using this instead of watching because not only is it interaqctive but also gives them a learning experiance to boot. The funny thing is that none of the kids really like to watch the Phineas & Ferb TV show much so it's a testement to the fun factor of the game that it can stand on it's own without a product tie in. All in all a very worthwhile toy. Highly recommended. Thanks for providing our guys with hours of educational fun!!!1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, October 24, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Disney Phineas and Ferb Learning Game (Works with LeapFrog Tablets, LeapsterGS, and Leapster Explorer) (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I have 5 and 7 year old boys who love Phineas and Ferb and so they love this game. We wanted to get the LeapFrog Explorer for them instead of a traditional game system. It satisfies the video game want in them and yet the games have a redeeming quality of learning.

They really like the Phineas and Ferb game, it teaches logic and reasoning skills but still packs a fun amount of video gaming so they are happy and entertained and I feel better about it too.

Their other favorite game is LeapFrog Explorer Learning Game: SpongeBob SquarePants: The Clam Prix (works with LeapPad & Leapster Explorer). They can play for hours with that if I let them. These are definitely their two favorites.

Highly recommend this and the whole LeapFrog Explorer system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.