Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little guitar for your toddler! Read my last sentence if this is a gift.
We have both this guitar and B. Toys' "Woofer" guitar (in the shape of a dog) and have really been enjoying them both (especially the ability to control the sound volume on each - ha!). The LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar is the smaller of the two, and instead of "real" strings, it uses a touch sensor when you "strum" your fingers over the illustrations of the...
Published 21 months ago by I <3 Baby Toys

versus
33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to clean?
I ordered this guitar for my three year old niece because, like all kids, she loves music and messing around with levers and switches and whatnot. Right off the bat, I was disappointed when I opened the box to find a flat decal on the face of the guitar. The whole thing is activated by 'touch' sensors, so there are no protruding buttons on the guitar! Lame! It looked...
Published on August 23, 2012 by Don Walton Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little guitar for your toddler! Read my last sentence if this is a gift., November 14, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We have both this guitar and B. Toys' "Woofer" guitar (in the shape of a dog) and have really been enjoying them both (especially the ability to control the sound volume on each - ha!). The LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar is the smaller of the two, and instead of "real" strings, it uses a touch sensor when you "strum" your fingers over the illustrations of the strings (which causes the guitar to play different chords corresponding to the song selected). There is enough variety in the songs so it seems like you're never hearing the same song for too long (unless your little one falls in love with a song and switches through the circle of songs to replay her favorite over and over...) - with a variety of children's classics and Leapfrog original songs (which are a chilling mixture of catchy and annoying - but they grow on you and you'll find yourself humming them in the elevator at work...). The B. Toys Woofer guitar seems to be a sturdier build (and much heavier) and the songs have funnier lyrics - and the "real" strings are a plus and a minus. The Leapfrog guitar is very easy to hold and "rock out" with - and the feature of a "clap" button has been a huge hit with our little rock star (as she likes to make it cheer for her after each song). The guitar sound effects are fun as well (but ask me again two months from now...). At fifteen bucks on Amazon, this was a really great deal -- and I think your child will really be happy with either this guitar or the B. Toys version, which runs about twenty two bucks at target. I prefer the B. Toys one for it's creativity and the quality of the chord sounds - but only by a small margin, and the lightness of the Leapfrog guitar and the "clap" button might swing me in its favor once I've had them both for a longer period to judge. You really can't go wrong with either (as long as you have built up enough "electronic toy sounds" tolerance). Note - this frustration free package version really did come in truly frustration free packaging - but it lacked the Leapfrog box, so might not be the best choice if your gifting the item (unless it's to a close family member).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to clean?, August 23, 2012
By 
Don Walton Jr. (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I ordered this guitar for my three year old niece because, like all kids, she loves music and messing around with levers and switches and whatnot. Right off the bat, I was disappointed when I opened the box to find a flat decal on the face of the guitar. The whole thing is activated by 'touch' sensors, so there are no protruding buttons on the guitar! Lame! It looked like fun with all the different buttons and effects, but it looks more like one of those Paper Jamz guitars you get at Walgreens. LeapFrog recently launched a line of Touch Magic toys, with this guitar being one of the first items in the series.

The actual sound is pretty good. There are options for drums, crowd noise, vocals on or off, and guitar solos and flourishes. A nice range of options. It only comes loaded with 10 songs, but 10 is a lot better than just one song, over and over and over.

The flat face is the biggest letdown, but it is easy to wipe down. It also comes with a nice little guitar strap, and it is very lightweight overall. I'd say the general length of the guitar is about 18", just right for a small child, and its fairly thin, not bulky at all.

The original MSRP was $39.99 for this item, which I would say is outrageous, but at half that price, for a kid who loves playing with musical toys, it's not a bad deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar (Toy)
I read another review that talked about the flat front of this guitar. I didn't think it would matter to my 2 year old, so I bought this anyway. Well, turns out it's a pretty big deal to her. There are no strings to pluck, so it feels a little too fake. Kids recognize fake, they're cool like that. This was just too far from feeling like she was playing anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to LeapFrog's usual standards, October 25, 2012
By 
Aderyn (Small-Town Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This was not nearly the hit with my 4-year-old that I thought it would be. She loves to play with musical instruments and recently suggested that we acquire enough to have "a real marching band," but it doesn't look like the Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar will be in the regular lineup.

It has an enticing, colorful appearance, and she couldn't wait to get it out of the package and strap it on (loves the strap!), but soon found that the flat buttons made it hard to play, so she kept laying it flat on the floor to use it. She might learn the buttons without having to look eventually, but at this point it doesn't look like she'll play with it often enough for that to happen. The instructions say to "touch" the buttons, and they do respond well to a light touch, but not as well to the heavy touch that a rockin' toddler uses, resulting in unintended repeats and skips. There is also somewhat of a lag in the response time with the buttons that momentarily makes it seem as if the button didn't do anything, creating more unintended repeats. So much for the featured "exploration of rhythm and tempo."

She was also disappointed that it does not have any strings and is not very guitar-like, really. She enjoyed singing along with the songs but didn't think accompanying them with electronic sound effects or strumming added much (the strumming, in fact, tends to drown them out), and she was disappointed that we couldn't queue up the songs to play her favorites in a specific order (you can only move "next...next..next" with the selector button).

In my opinion, LeapFrog is really pushing the definition of "educational" with this toy, as well. For example, the instructions emphasize that children will learn social skills by singing along and taking turns, which is not only pretty elementary but also pretty incidental to this toy (the songs "Having Fun Together" and "Taking Turns" are supposed to promote this; they were greeted with a few moments of listening and then ignored), and that playing "You're a Rock Star" will "strengthen children's understanding of the world." Seriously? And while we're at it, is the rock-star lifestyle actually the world view you're hoping to strengthen in your child anyway?

We have several other much-liked LeapFrog toys, but this one is a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter loves it!, August 16, 2012
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My 3 year-old daughter absolutely loves this guitar. It was an instant hit! She has a Sesame Street Elmo guitar which is more for younger toddlers. This one actually responds to the strumming and has a great variety of songs, which is music to my ears. It is very lightweight and easy for her to hold. She is having fun playing along side Daddy's guitar (and guitar hero!) This is super cute for the little musician in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good music toy., August 11, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This guitar toy is a great entertainment for kids 3-5 years old. My friends' kids played for quite long time and had fun. They especially liked the fast strumming option- they laughed a bunch hearing chipmunk like singing voices.
Also there are so many buttons and options for different beats and kind of music that kids will be busy if they like music.

My under 2 years old son obviously didn't play like a real guitar, but was hitting the buttons and enjoyed music anyway.

At first I thought that it is kind of weird that guitar has no strings, but for young kids it is better, since toddlers could break them. There will be a time for a more realistic guitar when they grow older.

Also the toy is lightweight and has a strap to wear it on the shoulder which is very convenient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Annoying Musical Toy, September 12, 2012
By 
Timothy Walker (Orlando, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Smart parents do their best to avoid "the toys that make the noise" but somehow they still wind up in the house, whether from unwittingly malicious gift-givers or from the parents themselves after swallowing the bitter pill that little Timmy will not stop crying until Mommy buys him a guitar. At the end of the day, all parents can hope for is that the toy has at least some educational value and that listening to it non-stop for days will not drive them completely insane.

The LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar scores well on the first point... as to the second, your mileage may vary. The construction is surprisingly sturdy (more plastic than paper) so the 3+ age recommendation need not be considered set in stone. As to the functionality, the guitar plays one of ten educational or traditional children's songs selected by a simple button push; additional buttons and gestures allow the child to make sound effects like drumming or applause play over the song.

Bottom line: if the kid demands a guitar and has the motor skills to hold one, this is an excellent choice. Just remember after listening to a three-hour remix of "Pop Goes the Weasel" that you were warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar (Toy)
plays different songs but it doesnt look as realistic as the picture does online. the touch screen feature is nice which prevents it from being broken. It would've received a higher rating if i were able to adjust the the straps. This guitar only works for a right handed child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Paper thin guitar that no longer works after 45 days, July 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar (Toy)
I wish I had read the reviews before I bought this toy. When I received it, I was shocked! It didn't look like the picture at all and was nothing like what I was expecting. Reading some of the reviews now, I see I wasn't alone in the disappointment. As one reviewer mentioned here, the guitar is made of paper thin, flat plastic and has touch buttons not real plastic buttons the kids can press on. And to top it all off, it stopped working after only 45 days and it wasn't even 45 days of continuous use! Such a waste of money honestly!! I alwasy read product reviews before I buy things but this time I was impressed with the star rating and just went ahead and bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for annoying the neighbors, January 10, 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar (Toy)
The "Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar", from LeapFrog's range of educational toys, is every bit as annoying (to adults) as its name suggests. Supposedly designed to introduce pre-school age children to the delights of music-making, it consists of a plastic moulded "instrument" in the shape of a guitar, with a series of touch sensitive buttons (not buttons at all really but rather just touch sensitive areas) which trigger or control various musical sound effects. A "song" button triggers the playing of one of ten pre-recorded nursery songs, while additional buttons trigger percussion instrument sounds: bursts of applause of various kinds; a couple of guitar effects; numerous silly sound effects, etc, whilst the play-back speed (and pitch) of the song can be altered by varying the strumming speed of the "string" area. In addition, the "guitar" features an irritating (to me) squeaky child-like voice which doubles as instructor and as vocalist in each of the built-in songs.

As a toy, the "Guitar" is reasonably well made: it is of fairly robust construction with a smooth, wipe-clean playing surface and having few moving parts to wear out or be damaged through rough treatment from young hands; which is perhaps just as well, as its character and mode of use encourages some fairly rough treatment overall. It will undoubtedly amuse most 3 - 5 year olds who enjoy making a lot of noise; they'll get hours of fun, especially two or more of them together with it. Whether their parents have as good a time as the young one is somewhat more open to doubt! It is also probably a great way to annoy the neighbors, if your walls are at all on the thin side.

I have severe reservations about the device as an educational toy, though. The actions the "guitar" permits are very few and permit almost no control, beyond that of providing the ability to affect the tempo; it doesn't matter how the buttons are touched they do the same thing every time without variation (except some trigger a random static effect from a pool of available such effects.) As such, there is little that the toy can teach a child about tactile control or even about music-making. In fact, there is the grave danger that the toy can inject the notion into young minds that music-making is principally a button-pressing activity, rather than one which requires not only the development of ear, but also an understanding that musical and sonic utterances from physical, acoustic (as opposed to electronic) instruments arise as a direct response to the physical handling they receive, with different handling producing different results, often in subtle and unexpected ways. In not allowing youngster to explore this aspect of sonic production, there is a very real danger that this toy will create exactly the wrong idea of what "play" means with regard to musical instruments and may, in fact, stifle creative musical exploration of the world of physical objects.

I can't help thinking that there are much better ways to spend $20 to introduce a child to the making of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar
LeapFrog Touch Magic Rockin' Guitar by LeapFrog Enterprises
$29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.