Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for those intimidated by learning French
I found this book to be an EXCELLENT resource for the beginning French student. It lives up to its subtitle fast and fun. In other words, it exceeds in its objective which is to give the absolute beginner the very basic grammar, vocabulary and phrases they need to develop confidence and competence in probable real-life situations. In short, it will not overwhelm even...
Published on November 8, 2008 by Patrick D. Goonan

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At least you would have fun
This book may be a lack of accuracy, more expencive than this value, and the CD is too fast to follow, not appropriately. If you are a serious French learner, forget about it.

However, if you are a just beginner of French or you would enjoy learning Frech rather than pressure of achevement, take it. You would enjoy a sense of humor in the dialogue and colorfull...
Published on September 26, 2005 by Miho Hirono


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for those intimidated by learning French, November 8, 2008
This review is from: Learn French the Fast and Fun Way (Paperback)
I found this book to be an EXCELLENT resource for the beginning French student. It lives up to its subtitle fast and fun. In other words, it exceeds in its objective which is to give the absolute beginner the very basic grammar, vocabulary and phrases they need to develop confidence and competence in probable real-life situations. In short, it will not overwhelm even the most timid and is an excellent launch pad to further study. Is it comprehensive.... absolutely not.... but it delivers on a very good introduction to basic french.

Along with this book, I would also consider buying Easy French Step-by-Step. This is a book for the more serious student and includes vocabulary introduced by order of frequency used, grammar, graded reading material, etc. If I was only going to buy ONE book... this would be the one and it will last most people a long time. I also recommend.... Easy French Reader. This is a popular, inexpensive, entertaining and useful reader to help integrate knowledge.

A difficulty for many people with french is pronunciation. I have found Pronounce It Perfectly in French with Audio CDs (Pronounce It Perfectly CD Packages) to be very helpful in this area. Another good audio program for pronunciation is SmartFrench Audio CDs Beginner Level. There are several levels of these and they are all very good. The more advanced you get the more you will appreciate the organization of the information.

Last, but certainly not least.... I HIGHLY recommend French I, Conversational: Learn to Speak and Understand French with Pimsleur Language Programs (Pimsleur Instant Conversation). There are many variations of this that contain more material, but this is the least expensive. Pimsleur was brilliant and if you really want to load things into long-term memory... dollar-for-dollar this will get the job done and improve your pronunciation and listening at conversational speeds.

Lastly, although it is QUITE expensive [[ASIN:B001AFD20E Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2 & 3 Set with Audio Companion] is a very fine resource. In my opinion, it's worth the expensive because it works... it works quickly and it is one of the most painless ways to get a new language under your belt. They also sell Level 1 and 2 separately and as a set, but I don't feel these are as good a value as the set. Also... I would try Pimsleur and seeing if you stick with it before you make this kind of investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't understand any complaints about this., October 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had two semesters or so of French in college years ago. This set has proven to help me pick up where I left off. If I had never had French at all, I can see that it would still be very helpful, though. Yes, it is for those who know only a bit of, or no, French. You really can learn in 15 min. or so a day, or learn more quickly if you choose to do so by going farther. It's a great start, but don't expect something very advanced at all and you won't be disappointed. It uses different modes of learning to help one retain what is being taught. Very helpful. You may be able to check it out at the library first to see if you like it. That's what made me want to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colorful diagrams and charts, coupled with relevant vocabulary and grammar exercises, September 14, 2009
This review is from: Learn French the Fast and Fun Way (Paperback)
It must be the colorful pages that pull a student into the French language. You'll be reading and writing basic French in no time, if you work with French the Fast and Fun Way. Most important is the treatment of regular and irregular verbs. Plenty of opportunities to practice their definitions and conjugations. Also comes with illustrated flashcards and a handy dictionary. Perfect for the beginner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At least you would have fun, September 26, 2005
This book may be a lack of accuracy, more expencive than this value, and the CD is too fast to follow, not appropriately. If you are a serious French learner, forget about it.

However, if you are a just beginner of French or you would enjoy learning Frech rather than pressure of achevement, take it. You would enjoy a sense of humor in the dialogue and colorfull images.

I think at the first stage of learning foreign language, you need fun rather than accuracy. You enjoy with this to get used French words, sound, and rhythm then may be go the next stage.

Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, no-brainer French for beginners review, January 19, 2008
This review is from: Learn French the Fast and Fun Way (Paperback)
This is a cute book for beginning French students. As an intermediate French self-study student wanting to review some vocabulary and basic grammar, I found it very easy to go through. I finished the book easily in a few days.

It's cute because it includes several humourous illustrations that allow you to associate words with their French equivalent. One benefit of this book is that it introduces you into basic conversation dialogues, which is a richer way to learn, as opposed to learning words or grammar only. There are also lots of exercises. I agree that this book eases you into grammar, but more serious students of the language should consider other sources for more background. (I like the Ultimate French Review Book, and French Reference Grammar).

Also, each word has a pronunciation guide printed above the word, which was useful since I didn't have the tapes (so I cannot speak on the quality of the audio tapes). It wasn't my favorite comprehensive book, but if you want a no-brainer beginning French text with lots of vocabulary, it fits the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful Phonetics, July 7, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Learn French the Fast and Fun Way (Paperback)
This takes one through each mot or word phonetically so one can overcome one of the biggest challenges in linguistic etudes. This is the pronouncement of words orally so one can make way in ordinary discourse as a tourist. Mispronunciation is construed as an insult to many foreigners albeit they might rate you an A for effort. The conversational contexts furnish a realistic arena for the situations in which another would find oneself. This is lacking in many texts. Steves uses a similar approach to Leete in his tour books. Still some conjugation schemes would abet to see the person changes one can encounter such as reframing a question to the second person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast and Fun Indeed, July 2, 2008
By 
This review is from: Learn French the Fast and Fun Way (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed learning from this book. I bought it so I can make conversational speaking in French for my coming trio to Montreal. It didn't disappointm. I was able to learn the fast and easy way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super fast and very easy!, June 10, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Learn French the Fast and Fun Way (Paperback)
I have this book in Spanish as well and these books are the fastest and easiest way to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast and Easy, April 2, 2010
By 
L. Jones (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent review book for someone with some knowledge of French. With the CDs it becomes a really good learning book. Lessons are easy to follow and the audio is great. I am not sure how easy it would be to learn from scratch with this book however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical language skills, May 14, 2014
By 
S. Howe (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Learn French the Fast and Fun Way (Paperback)
The local community college uses this book in their French for travel course. I had studied French decades ago, and wanted a clear, quick way to refresh my language skills, which had been completely forgotten! The worksheets, and straightforward way that the language is presented gave me a solid refresher before my trip to France this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Learn French the Fast and Fun Way
Learn French the Fast and Fun Way by Elisabeth Bourquin Leete (Paperback - January 1, 2004)
Used & New from: $2.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.