Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $7.00 (70%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Learning German Through Storytelling: Genowrin - an interactive adventure for German learners (Aschkalon 1) (German Edition) Kindle Edition

3.3 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

Length: 148 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Language: German
  • Similar books to Learning German Through Storytelling: Genowrin - an interactive adventure for German learners (Aschkalon 1) (German Edition)

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"Genowrin is a German learning book that travelled back in time, drank a tankard of mead and immersed itself in a different world." - FluentLanguage.co.uk

From the Author

In my experience as a language teacher, what students often need is not more grammar exercises but practice. Many learners don't always have the opportunity to practice with native speakers and watching television series in German can be tricky, because they're often very fast-paced.
 
Let Go and Learn Effortlessly
 
Therefore, I have been specializing on creating stories for German learners - stories, which are not just thinly veiled pedagogic pedantries but can actually be enjoyed for what they are.
I believe that when a learner reads a story that he enjoys, the narrative takes precedence over the part of the brain which wants to "figure things out" and it's in that moment that effortless learning can take place.
 
Interactive Stories Set In a Medieval Fantasy Kingdom
 
Genowrin was born out of this necessity to provide learners with more authentic materials that are both accessible and enjoyable. After creating a number of detective stories, I wanted to try something new. This book is not only a story set in a fantasy world of medieval kingdoms, magic and sword fights, it's also my first attempt to bring more interactivity to the reading experience. Instead of being told what happens next, you can choose yourself!
 
Genowrin is the first part of the Aschkalon trilogy, it prepares the story-line, sets the tone and introduces the reader to the gameplay "mechanics".
 
This book is not for everyone, but if you're studying German on your own and are tired of yet another grammar worksheet, I invite you to step into the world of Genowrin and solve the mysteries of its kingdom!

Product Details

  • File Size: 1887 KB
  • Print Length: 148 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: learnoutlive.com (April 11, 2013)
  • Publication Date: April 11, 2013
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: German
  • ASIN: B00CBQT3QI
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #375,601 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

André Klein was born in Germany, has grown up and lived in many different places including Thailand, Sweden and Israel. He has produced two music albums, performed and organized literary readings, curated an experimental television program and is the author of various short stories and non-fiction works.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The story and illustrations are creative and fun......I find I can follow the story and expand my vocabulary. Not a substitute for a language class, but very good for someone like myself who has some working German and needs to practice reading in German.

I like the ways you can customize the story by choosing different paths...that is fun.
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
After having read other books by Andre Klein, Mord am Morgen, Spielers Tod etc, I was rather disappointed. I would have preferred to read a story without the interaction...I felt like I was going round in circles sometimes. For me a continuous story broken down into small chapters would have been better. But that's probably just my personal preference.
Having said that this is a book to help people learn German and the genre in which it is written, was to some extent, a good introduction into this genre in German. Personally I would have enjoyed it more without the interaction.
Comment 5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
This is my first interactive reading it was also my first purchase as a German language learner. So, far I am loving it and have bought the other books: Cafe in Berlin, Ferien in Frankfurt, Karneval in Köln, as well as Shanima! :D
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
What a fun and interactive way to practice a new language. Klein has really built on his tort books to provide readers with even more fun here. Plus it's a fantasy setting, so double win. Loved it and can't wait for the sequel.
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I am about halfway thru the text and the story is fun to read on a kindle. It kept me entertained while waiting for my car to be serviced, waiting to have my teeth cleaned and a few other mundane wait sessions. Its a good way to stay engaged in learning a language.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in