Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Learning by Heart: Teachings to Free the Creative Spirit
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 24, 2009
Corita Kent was one of the great American artists of the XXth Century. She made hundreds of works of art in her lifetime, designed books and posters and was a legendary teacher. She taught at Immaculate Heart in Los Angeles in the 1960's. In this concise and wonderfully illustrated book her teaching lives on for many new students and readers to enjoy. This is a real treasure and the exercises that Corita Kent and Jan Steward have put together in this book make it valuable and inspiring.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2009
Corita was an artist who was so ahead of her time. She, virtually, invented the whole concept of teaching with a multicultural, cross curricular approach. She used poetry, prose, folk art and film and tapped into mass media to teach her students.
Corita used techniques to teach her students and left a mark with her own art work, influencing advertising with her use of caligraphy and popular media slogans.
This book describes her approaches and tries to give the reader a philosophy to use when approaching art. This is not just a how to do art book, but more of a how to think about the world and art.
The messages in this book by the author, Jan Steward, make this book worth reading.
It will wake up the artist inside of you.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2011
This book is pretty amazing, as was Sister Corita. I love her approach and reflections on art, the nature of art, and the creative spirit. It is such a rare and refreshing experience to come across an art book that carries with it so much truth, power, and depth. The exercises are taken from ones that she actually taught to her students and going through them really does free the spirit to experience the simple yet blessed joy of not only creating, but observing creation as well. I come back to this book every so often when I feel like I need to fill the well and it never disappoints. I am so glad this was republished, grab it while you can before it disappears again!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2009
Everyone with a mind is creative. Now in a newly updated and expanded second edition, "Learning by Heart: Teachings to Free the Creative Spirit" is a guide to embracing the creative energies within everyone, and unleashing them to create whatever it is they seek to create. With a focus on the visual arts, "Learning by Heart" is a step by step guide to the many aspects of art and will do much in educating and inspiring readers to push forward. "Learning by Heart" is a top pick for those seeking a creative outlet.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2010
After being out of print it is pure joy to have this fine book available again. It is written to engage and guide new artists into the wonder of creating art and at the same time it will inspire mature artists to reach deeper and stretch their artistic wings.
After Sister Corita's death Jan Steward labored with great love and determination to finish the book they had begun together. She is to be thanked for bringing the brilliant teaching methods of Corita Kent to the rest of us.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2013
A Jewish Proverb states- "A wise teacher makes learning a joy." Sister Corita Kent's teachings live on- and the result is joy. As a teacher of Art, I am always thrilled to find methodologies from gifted teachers. Learning by Heart is a treasure, to both teacher and student. Filled with practical lessons, this book is a reminder that the imagination of God abounds in nature. We have but to look.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2013
Sister Corita Kent is absolutely amazing. She writes about art and creativity in a very encouraging and spiritual way.
Look her up and read her rules for life written with John Cage. This book is a must. If you're looking into starting to work on creative projects or are an artist who is in a total rut, I highly recommend this book!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2013
My old dog eared copy I left in Nepal. Corita Kent was a visionary. All the goodness that is currently in play in early childhood education stems from her gifts. This book is an arts educators' holy book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
GREAT INSPIRATION AND EXAMPLES OF DESIGN PROJECTS TO SHARE IN YOUR CLASSROOM. I TEACH DESIGN AT A LOCAL COLLEGE AND WILL SURELY INTRODUCE SOME OF CORITA'S ASSIGNMENTS TO MY CLASS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2016
I am happy to have this book. It is pretty comprehensive and interesting. We inherited two of Corita King's prints and this book and another about her are on the table nearby!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse