Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid book for learning MonoTouch
I have been developing with MonoTouch for about a year and have looked through a lot of material on using it to make effective apps for the iPhone. One of the issues that are now being corrected is access to good learning resources on the MonoTouch tool and how it can be used. There are a few gotcha's using MonoTouch that you find out normally through a collection of web...
Published on December 5, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Code formatting on kindle is unreadable
Picked up this book based on the all 5-star reviews. Sadly the code formatting on the kindle is horrible, especially the objective-c examples.
Published on February 4, 2012 by Robert Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid book for learning MonoTouch, December 5, 2011
This review is from: Learning MonoTouch: A Hands-On Guide to Building iOS Applications with C# and .NET (Paperback)
I have been developing with MonoTouch for about a year and have looked through a lot of material on using it to make effective apps for the iPhone. One of the issues that are now being corrected is access to good learning resources on the MonoTouch tool and how it can be used. There are a few gotcha's using MonoTouch that you find out normally through a collection of web sites, code samples and the like and it is difficult to find them in one place.

Learning MonoTouch does a good job of collecting a lot of this knowledge together. Even after a year of MonoTouch and ten years of C#, there were good things that I found in the book that made a good difference to the stability of the app.

Michael does a good job of describing how to use the tools and explain how the C# interfaces with the Cocoa libraries on iOS effectively and some of the problems you come across and how to correct them. The tip about the NSAutoReleasePool with threads was some very welcome knowledge. I also liked his writings on custom UIViews. The code samples were quite elegant, used code instead of interface builder and explained it quite well. There is a good job outlining the core classes and UITableViewController. Good examples that are well documented.

The best chapters I found were on the Graphics and Animation and MapKit. I have all the other MonoTouch books and none of them explain how Core Graphics and Core animation work as well as this book. The examples here are extensive and have allowed me to do much more a lot quicker. The MapKit examples are also of a very high quality and the map annotations and region detection examples are good
quality.

The only downsides that I can think of the book is that many of the examples are done using the Interface Builder from XCode 3. Apple has XCode 4 and some examples of Storyboards would have been helpful. The two other things I would have like to have seen was an example of in-app purchasing and push notifications. These are hardly documented anywhere and I think they would have been just as relevant as the GameKit, probably more so. These may be more advanced topics, but I think these chapters would have rounded the book out nicely.

Overall a good book, and as its name suggests it's a `Learning' book, so it meets its objectives. If you get through this book, you should be able to work out the other things you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Code formatting on kindle is unreadable, February 4, 2012
By 
Robert Johnson "NotMyself" (Olympia, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Picked up this book based on the all 5-star reviews. Sadly the code formatting on the kindle is horrible, especially the objective-c examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book with good and detailed code samples, November 8, 2011
This review is from: Learning MonoTouch: A Hands-On Guide to Building iOS Applications with C# and .NET (Paperback)
We are working on a number of Monotouch projects and one thing I should say is that finding a good book describing monotouch framework is pretty hard thing.
In first chapters you will find Monotouch basics and tools and instruments you will need to use it. Next goes basic classes and iOS ideas that you will need.
One thing to note is that there are very detailed source samples and step by step instructions which help newcomers a lot. Every sample covers some real work task, so this book could be also considered as a cookbook for monotouch projects.
It would be better if Michael would add some information about using new XCode version 4 along with new Monodevelope 2.8. Right now this book covers only previous versions of this instruments.
But in general it's a pretty good tutorial I would recommend everyone who wants to start using C# on iOS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Examples, I use it often, August 25, 2011
This review is from: Learning MonoTouch: A Hands-On Guide to Building iOS Applications with C# and .NET (Paperback)
If you're starting MonoTouch development this is a great place to start. Lots of examples to do every foundational thing I can think of. I use it as a reference all the time whenever I can't remember something specifically and need a quick code sample. Well worth it and well written. Has something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great resource, August 9, 2011
By 
E.C. (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Learning MonoTouch: A Hands-On Guide to Building iOS Applications with C# and .NET (Paperback)
Great sample code. I was able to get my first app up and running pretty quickly. Overall an excellent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Please update for xCode 4, June 27, 2012
By 
S. Hoffman (Austin, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Learning MonoTouch: A Hands-On Guide to Building iOS Applications with C# and .NET (Paperback)
I'm completely new to iOS Development and found getting through the examples of this book a challenge because the examples target xCode 3. If you're already comfortable in xCode, then this won't be a problem. I however am still working my way through what feels like a foreign country, so the myriad of xCode icons haven't reached the point where they're intuitive yet. I would give this book a much higher rating if it were up to date with the currently available tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good starter book, May 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Learning MonoTouch: A Hands-On Guide to Building iOS Applications with C# and .NET (Paperback)
As an advanced programmer I expected more details and information. However, no other book out there had this type of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, but not 5 stars., March 24, 2012
This review is from: Learning MonoTouch: A Hands-On Guide to Building iOS Applications with C# and .NET (Paperback)
Firstly, I got to say this book is pretty awesome. I can't wrong the style of writing, nor the amount assumed programming concepts expected by the reader. This book is for a component C# developer learning to take advantage of his/her C# skills to develop iphone or ipad applications. It's been a breeze to get through mostly, but some tough moments were come across, as explained below.

Unfortunately after this book was released, as is with most young frameworks, updates/changes were made to the framework, IDE (monodevelop) and its default project structures. Furthermore, Apple has also made a release since then, and IB (interface builder - a tool used to in conjunction with monodevelop) has changed in appearance (and functionally to a certain extent I assume). This makes the code samples that are given with the book outdated, and in some cases not particularly useful. Due to the nature of the fast growth of this framework I think this cannot be avoided, even though it is sometimes very frustrating.

Regardless, it is possible achieve the same results as the author's examples with a bit of effort and digging around. Just my two cents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Intro to MonoTouch, October 28, 2011
This review is from: Learning MonoTouch: A Hands-On Guide to Building iOS Applications with C# and .NET (Paperback)
I've been working with MonoTouch off and on over the past year and this is one of the best MonoTouch resources I've come across so far.

A couple of things help this MonoTouch book stand out. Firstly a chapter which shows how to build the same app using MonoTouch and XCode is a great way to show off the power of MonoTouch and help the developer to understand how to convert ObjC to c# (which is a vital skill). There is also a great section on building a custom view in code which is something rarely covered. Finally the Graphics and Animation chapter provides a solid introduction to CoreGraphics and CoreAnimation that is not well documented elsewhere.

The biggest problem (and this applies to any resource covering MonoTouch) is that the examples presented using InterfaceBuilder are out of date due to the latest MonoTouch integrating with XCode 4 (which is an entirely different beast).

This aside its a great resource to help getting started building iOS apps in MonoTouch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learning MonoTouch Lays it all out, October 25, 2011
This review is from: Learning MonoTouch: A Hands-On Guide to Building iOS Applications with C# and .NET (Paperback)
Learning MonoTouch provides a solid foundation of information specifically for .NET programmers looking to write apps for the iOS platform. The conversational and tutorial style is easy to read and follow. With a stated audience of .NET/C# developers, it assumes a familiarity with the C# language and the .NET framework. At the same time, it addresses that audience with an eye on building on the familiar and bridging over to new concepts presented by iOS.

Chapter One walks you through the process of getting your development environment set up and gives you the essentials needed to get started with MonoTouch. Chapter Two presents an introduction to the iOS SDK and uses a comparative technique showing examples in both Objective-C and MonoTouch to help get new developers up to speed quickly. Chapter Three introduces the Model-View-Controller (MVC) design pattern and how it applies to developing for iOS.

Chapters Four through Six detail how to use common iOS classes, UITable and UITableViewController, and Core Graphics. These chapters present most of the functionality you would need to develop a wide variety of applications for any iOS-based device. Chapters Seven and Eight go through the use of Core Location and MapKit to build map-based apps.

The next step beyond the basic applications presented in the early chapters is connecting to Web services over the internet in Chapter Nine and to other devices in Chapter Ten. Managing data for local storage is a necessity for many applications. Chapter Eleven shows you how to use several different approaches to solving the local storage problem. The last chapter adds the iPad as a target device and discusses the things you should take into consideration if you want to develop specifically for that platform.

Overall the book does a very good job of mixing examples with information to help the experienced .NET developer make the transition to mobile app development for iOS. There's just enough lead-you-by-the-hand information to get you over some of the early humps while not boring you to tears. You'll definitely want to pick this book up if you want to develop for iOS and need a little help making the leap from your .NET roots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Learning MonoTouch: A Hands-On Guide to Building iOS Applications with C# and .NET
$44.99 $34.29
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.