Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 24, 2013
As an advanced programmer I expected more details and information. However, no other book out there had this type of information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
With MonoTouch, you can write iOS apps using C#/.NET instead of Objective-C. But that's it. If you want your app to also run on Android or Windows7 or other devices, you can't. You have to rewrite your apps into other languages. This is because Apple chose to be a closed system. This is in conflict with the whole concept of Mono (Mono Project) and the .NET Framework that it should be Operating System Independent. If you want your app to work on multiple devices, there is Mono for Android. Unfortunately, this is still an immature technology.
66 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2012
I'm completely new to iOS Development and found getting through the examples of this book a challenge because the examples target xCode 3. If you're already comfortable in xCode, then this won't be a problem. I however am still working my way through what feels like a foreign country, so the myriad of xCode icons haven't reached the point where they're intuitive yet. I would give this book a much higher rating if it were up to date with the currently available tools.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2012
Firstly, I got to say this book is pretty awesome. I can't wrong the style of writing, nor the amount assumed programming concepts expected by the reader. This book is for a component C# developer learning to take advantage of his/her C# skills to develop iphone or ipad applications. It's been a breeze to get through mostly, but some tough moments were come across, as explained below.

Unfortunately after this book was released, as is with most young frameworks, updates/changes were made to the framework, IDE (monodevelop) and its default project structures. Furthermore, Apple has also made a release since then, and IB (interface builder - a tool used to in conjunction with monodevelop) has changed in appearance (and functionally to a certain extent I assume). This makes the code samples that are given with the book outdated, and in some cases not particularly useful. Due to the nature of the fast growth of this framework I think this cannot be avoided, even though it is sometimes very frustrating.

Regardless, it is possible achieve the same results as the author's examples with a bit of effort and digging around. Just my two cents.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2012
Picked up this book based on the all 5-star reviews. Sadly the code formatting on the kindle is horrible, especially the objective-c examples.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2011
I have been developing with MonoTouch for about a year and have looked through a lot of material on using it to make effective apps for the iPhone. One of the issues that are now being corrected is access to good learning resources on the MonoTouch tool and how it can be used. There are a few gotcha's using MonoTouch that you find out normally through a collection of web sites, code samples and the like and it is difficult to find them in one place.

Learning MonoTouch does a good job of collecting a lot of this knowledge together. Even after a year of MonoTouch and ten years of C#, there were good things that I found in the book that made a good difference to the stability of the app.

Michael does a good job of describing how to use the tools and explain how the C# interfaces with the Cocoa libraries on iOS effectively and some of the problems you come across and how to correct them. The tip about the NSAutoReleasePool with threads was some very welcome knowledge. I also liked his writings on custom UIViews. The code samples were quite elegant, used code instead of interface builder and explained it quite well. There is a good job outlining the core classes and UITableViewController. Good examples that are well documented.

The best chapters I found were on the Graphics and Animation and MapKit. I have all the other MonoTouch books and none of them explain how Core Graphics and Core animation work as well as this book. The examples here are extensive and have allowed me to do much more a lot quicker. The MapKit examples are also of a very high quality and the map annotations and region detection examples are good
quality.

The only downsides that I can think of the book is that many of the examples are done using the Interface Builder from XCode 3. Apple has XCode 4 and some examples of Storyboards would have been helpful. The two other things I would have like to have seen was an example of in-app purchasing and push notifications. These are hardly documented anywhere and I think they would have been just as relevant as the GameKit, probably more so. These may be more advanced topics, but I think these chapters would have rounded the book out nicely.

Overall a good book, and as its name suggests it's a `Learning' book, so it meets its objectives. If you get through this book, you should be able to work out the other things you need.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2011
We are working on a number of Monotouch projects and one thing I should say is that finding a good book describing monotouch framework is pretty hard thing.
In first chapters you will find Monotouch basics and tools and instruments you will need to use it. Next goes basic classes and iOS ideas that you will need.
One thing to note is that there are very detailed source samples and step by step instructions which help newcomers a lot. Every sample covers some real work task, so this book could be also considered as a cookbook for monotouch projects.
It would be better if Michael would add some information about using new XCode version 4 along with new Monodevelope 2.8. Right now this book covers only previous versions of this instruments.
But in general it's a pretty good tutorial I would recommend everyone who wants to start using C# on iOS.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2011
I've been working with MonoTouch off and on over the past year and this is one of the best MonoTouch resources I've come across so far.

A couple of things help this MonoTouch book stand out. Firstly a chapter which shows how to build the same app using MonoTouch and XCode is a great way to show off the power of MonoTouch and help the developer to understand how to convert ObjC to c# (which is a vital skill). There is also a great section on building a custom view in code which is something rarely covered. Finally the Graphics and Animation chapter provides a solid introduction to CoreGraphics and CoreAnimation that is not well documented elsewhere.

The biggest problem (and this applies to any resource covering MonoTouch) is that the examples presented using InterfaceBuilder are out of date due to the latest MonoTouch integrating with XCode 4 (which is an entirely different beast).

This aside its a great resource to help getting started building iOS apps in MonoTouch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2011
Learning MonoTouch provides a solid foundation of information specifically for .NET programmers looking to write apps for the iOS platform. The conversational and tutorial style is easy to read and follow. With a stated audience of .NET/C# developers, it assumes a familiarity with the C# language and the .NET framework. At the same time, it addresses that audience with an eye on building on the familiar and bridging over to new concepts presented by iOS.

Chapter One walks you through the process of getting your development environment set up and gives you the essentials needed to get started with MonoTouch. Chapter Two presents an introduction to the iOS SDK and uses a comparative technique showing examples in both Objective-C and MonoTouch to help get new developers up to speed quickly. Chapter Three introduces the Model-View-Controller (MVC) design pattern and how it applies to developing for iOS.

Chapters Four through Six detail how to use common iOS classes, UITable and UITableViewController, and Core Graphics. These chapters present most of the functionality you would need to develop a wide variety of applications for any iOS-based device. Chapters Seven and Eight go through the use of Core Location and MapKit to build map-based apps.

The next step beyond the basic applications presented in the early chapters is connecting to Web services over the internet in Chapter Nine and to other devices in Chapter Ten. Managing data for local storage is a necessity for many applications. Chapter Eleven shows you how to use several different approaches to solving the local storage problem. The last chapter adds the iPad as a target device and discusses the things you should take into consideration if you want to develop specifically for that platform.

Overall the book does a very good job of mixing examples with information to help the experienced .NET developer make the transition to mobile app development for iOS. There's just enough lead-you-by-the-hand information to get you over some of the early humps while not boring you to tears. You'll definitely want to pick this book up if you want to develop for iOS and need a little help making the leap from your .NET roots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2011
I've been using MonoTouch for 18 months, and I grabbed this book as I get a lot of requests from people wanting to get up to speed with MonoTouch and iOS development.

TL;DR: Excellent coverage of the basics and the main more advanced topics. Recommended.

I found it really good, with great coverage of the basic topics, including the obligatory hello world, good basic coverage of Objective-C and the Model-View-Controller pattern(both of
which you will need to be aware of if you want to do iOS development) and things like UITableViews, which is what the Settings app - and most other list-based apps - is built with.

Mike has also covered the much needed non-basic topics well, too - maps, location, animations, and networking. The writing and code samples are clear and easy to read and follow.

The book has excellent coverage for iOS4, however it does not cover iOS5 or MonoTouch 5 - which is a downside of the speed of the mobile market, and how long it takes to write and print
a book. Even with this downside, there is more than enough in here to get someone who has not used MonoTouch up to speed with it.

Recommended if you know .NET/C# and want to get into iOS development using MonoTouch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.