Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fills a much-needed niche
When I adopted this for the undergraduate course I offer for prospective teachers, I feared it might be too basic in its discussion of culture, or too peripheral to the concerns of future educators. All 26 of my students, however, rated it favorably this fall--several suggesting that in the future, I use it at the beginning of the course rather than the end. Strengths...
Published on December 29, 2010 by andrew mullen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars College Reading
Very slow-moving and dull. The examples from scripture give a good message, but are very thin and stretch the actual meaning behind the passage for a different purpose.
Published on March 20, 2012 by howty and the blowfish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fills a much-needed niche, December 29, 2010
By 
andrew mullen (Santa Barbara, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Learning from the Stranger: Christian Faith and Cultural Diversity (Paperback)
When I adopted this for the undergraduate course I offer for prospective teachers, I feared it might be too basic in its discussion of culture, or too peripheral to the concerns of future educators. All 26 of my students, however, rated it favorably this fall--several suggesting that in the future, I use it at the beginning of the course rather than the end. Strengths include memorable personal anecdotes, insightful discussion of selected passages of scripture, and an engaging style of narrative/exposition. An excellent resource for students and faculty to discuss prior to coursework or mission projects overseas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars College Reading, March 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Learning from the Stranger: Christian Faith and Cultural Diversity (Paperback)
Very slow-moving and dull. The examples from scripture give a good message, but are very thin and stretch the actual meaning behind the passage for a different purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book on Intercultural Relations, September 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was an amazing book! David Smith digs deep into cross-cultural relations and how they should be done and provides excellent insight into biblical wisdom as well. I had greatly enjoyed "The Gift of the Stranger" and was anticipating this book. It did not disappoint! A must for anyone involved in overseas NGO work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Learning from the Stranger: Christian Faith and Cultural Diversity (Paperback)
The book was not as good of quality as I thought it was going to be, but it is not bad. It is fair and useful. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learning posture is a necessary posture., May 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This text correctly and succinctly describes the necessity of becoming a learner of culture. It is only human to believe that your own culture is the best and should be the standard for all others. Learning for the Stranger helps us move beyond ethnocentrism to appreciate the "other".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, June 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Learning from the Stranger: Christian Faith and Cultural Diversity (Paperback)
Excellent book about how to live as a Christian in our culturally diverse society. As the title suggests we Westerners can learn from the stranger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Learning from the Stranger: Christian Faith and Cultural Diversity
$22.00 $17.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.