Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great B-Sides
This set has probably one of the best Pet Shop Boys b-sides of all time with "In His Imagination". The song should have been released on Elysium but if you haven't heard it you need to. It is such an amazing song. I would put it up there with some of the best they have ever done. I have been a long time fan and have just about every cd but I would seriously recommend...
Published 19 months ago by JT says

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
This is sloppy and sounds like a throw-away single for the Boys. The Winner single had three great tracks to back it but those here are PSB's By Numbers type songs. Have to admit that Hell is funny as...well hell!
Published 19 months ago by M. Chapman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great B-Sides, November 23, 2012
This review is from: Leaving (Audio CD)
This set has probably one of the best Pet Shop Boys b-sides of all time with "In His Imagination". The song should have been released on Elysium but if you haven't heard it you need to. It is such an amazing song. I would put it up there with some of the best they have ever done. I have been a long time fan and have just about every cd but I would seriously recommend getting this single even if just for that song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "In His Imagination" should have been a MEGA-hit!, September 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaving (Audio CD)
Leaving is great, and Hell is fun and tongue-in-cheek. But In His Imagination HAS TO BE one of the very best songs PSB have ever written! WOW! How it isn't/wasn't a MEGA hit is beyond me. Buy it if only for that. It's deep, catchy, and musically amazing!

The first time I heard it I liked it. But the more I listened to it - - - Wow, better and better. Buy it. Too bad it doesn't have an official video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, December 30, 2012
By 
J. Lia (Sydney,Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leaving (Audio CD)
Always love to buy PSB,s cd singles because they always add brilliant bonus tracks. These bonus tracks would have fit well into Elysium the album.
Definitely worth buying as is the Emil cd.
Now looking forward to their new d singles for their latest release.
Merry Chriistmas and Happy New Year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LEAVING BY PET SHOP BOYS, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaving (Audio CD)
HAVE ENJOYED LOOKING UP MC3 MUSIC AND TRYING TO FIND SONGS THAT I WOULD ENJOY DOWNLOADING TO MY MUSIC. THIS WAS A MUST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Nice, October 19, 2013
By 
This review is from: Leaving (Audio CD)
It's a bit downbeat in it's lyrics, but like the rest of Elysium, it's a beautiful piece of music, played and sung just perfectly. If you can find the remixes, they are great too, and really give the song a lift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chris Lowe looks great in black., April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaving (Audio CD)
That is the best song yet. rather touching i might add. Pet Shop boys are the best no matter what . Neil and Chris keep it coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still on top, January 21, 2013
This review is from: Leaving (Audio CD)
I absolutely love their new album Elysium so I know all the B-Sides will be amazing. To start off of course is Leaving from the album. A track of amazing emotion driven power. The track never fails to bring me to a stand still in it's cutting sincerity and relatability. Next being Hell which is a poignant history lesson in all the worlds most evil men including some serial killers whose names are fairly obscure to the general public. It still remains very amusing and fulfilling as they always do with their songs. In His Imagination is an amazing piece that all can relate too from something and sometime in their life. It always takes me away with it. Baby a 2003 demo is a wonderful track that has a really good beat to move to, and was also partly used in one track in their ballet The Most Incredible Thing. Worth it plain and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never leaving the Pet Shop Boys, December 9, 2012
By 
Westley (Stuck in my head) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Leaving (Audio CD)
"Leaving" is a highlight of the Pet Shop Boy's most recent CD, "Elysium," so I was very happy to see it released as the second single. The song is deceptively mellow and sounds rather simplistic at first listen. However, after repeated listens, the beauty of this song becomes apparent, as does the oddly slinky almost sexy nature of the music. I think it's one of their strongest singles in years. "Leaving" is about death and how we are influenced by loved ones even after they are gone. The lyrics are quite profound and lovely, perhaps even a bit uplifting. What really elevates the song, though, are the extraordinary background vocals (the video for the song cleverly places the singers on tv screens that really emphasizes their contribution). The song ends up reminding me a bit of "Before," although it is less danceable. (Grade = A+)

Along with this first-rate single, the Boys include three top-notch b-sides. As a huge PSB fan, I eagerly await the release of each new single primarily for these b-sides, and they have really given us some tremendous ones this time. First up is the best one - "Hell" - another clever play on a dark theme that only PSB could do. The song is about various low-lifes (i.e., various dictators and serial killers) throughout history roasting together in hell. The lyrics are at times stupendously funny (e.g., Lenin and Stalin "bitchin bout Putin") and the song manages to sound quite upbeat for such black comedy. It reminds me a bit of their brilliant b-side, "The Resurrectionist," released a few years ago. (Grade = A)

The third song is a tale about a Walter Mitty-type young worker. He has a thankless desk job for which he is told he should be thankful to have. He copes by escaping every day: "in his imagination, he's flying away." The song is a dead-ringer for 1980s OMD, from its tinkly synthesizer line to Neil's smoother than usual vocal. The song has a sweet ending replete with an angelic chorus. "In His Imagination" is sure to appeal to any dreamer and is perfectly attuned to the recession era. (Grade = A-)

The final track is a demo from 2003 for "Baby," which was given to Swedish dance group, Alcazar. The group apparently broke up before they could record it in 2003, but they subsequently reunited and released "Baby" on their 2009 CD. This song is arguably the weakest on this single, although it is a pleasant poppy tune that features great vocals from Neil. The lyrics are about a former couple who are leaving each other phone messages, perhaps with plans to get back together. I prefer the version by the Pet Shop Boys, although the lyrics actually work better with Alcazar's male and female vocals. (Grade = B)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaving (Audio CD)
This is sloppy and sounds like a throw-away single for the Boys. The Winner single had three great tracks to back it but those here are PSB's By Numbers type songs. Have to admit that Hell is funny as...well hell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Leaving
Leaving by Pet Shop Boys (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.