Customer Reviews


617 Reviews
5 star:
 (477)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


173 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save the best for first...
This is Led Zeppelin's best CD. No other CD truly defines this band better than their self-titled debut. All songs on this album are indispensible. Dazed and Confused is a masterpiece, as is Babe, I'm Gonna Leave you. But the real heart and soul of this record are its blues tracks You Shook Me and I Can't Quit You Baby anchor the album. Zep was always at their...
Published on August 17, 2000 by J. Brittman

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: Lesser Quality Argentinian Import!
My review is 2 stars for the distributor and product (I would give 4 stars were I to review the album). The reason that these Zeppelin remasters are being sold so relativly cheap on Amazon is because the seller, MusicStore2000, is selling lesser quality imports from Argentina. First off, 2 of the 3 cases I ordered from this seller arrived broken and cracked (a real pet...
Published on February 18, 2011 by Mucosa


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

173 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save the best for first..., August 17, 2000
This review is from: Led Zeppelin 1 (Audio CD)
This is Led Zeppelin's best CD. No other CD truly defines this band better than their self-titled debut. All songs on this album are indispensible. Dazed and Confused is a masterpiece, as is Babe, I'm Gonna Leave you. But the real heart and soul of this record are its blues tracks You Shook Me and I Can't Quit You Baby anchor the album. Zep was always at their best playing the blues, just check out Since I've Been Lovin' You. Your Time is Gonna Come still gives me goosebumps, and How Many More Times is the hidden gem on the album. Zeppelin would never top the overall consistency of this album, it is a true landmark in rock history and should be in every fans' collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of a legendary sound, April 15, 2000
By 
Sal Nudo (Champaign, Illinois) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin 1 (Audio CD)
The short guitar bursts on "Good Times Bad Times" that open this firecracker debut in 1969 could be viewed as a forewarning of great songs to come, some of the most historic moments in rock and roll. These four guys were actual musicians who, as a collective unit, created a sound that was unmatchable at the time. And they didn't just blast away at their instruments, either. "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You" showcases gentle acoustic guitar at first, then later driving riffs that could inspire anyone to play air guitar. Even on their first record, Zeppelin weren't afraid to draw out their songs (some would say overstay their welcome), and four of the nine tunes last (and blast) for over six minutes. Like The Doors, Zeppelin had a keen interest in the blues; underneath all the raw rock on this album is a soulful, bluesy sound and aura with two Willie Dixon covers that the band "Zeppelinizes" to the max. Nothing, however, tops the segway from "You Shook Me" to the blazing "Dazed and Confused," which sounds amazing, raw and blistering. The organ work of John Paul Jones on "Your Time is Gonna Come" is truly beautiful, sounding like a church hymn on a rough-and-tumble rock and roll album. Undoubtedly, these British lads mixed sonic beauty and thrashing rawness to create an art form that still resonates today. "Black Mountain Side" is a busy acoustic ditty that sounds positively charming next to its follower, "Communication Breakdown," but that's Zeppelin's style in a nutshell -- heartlifting to raw in a matter of seconds. These rocking songs come off as urgent and passionate. Lyrically, the album is all blues as Plant wails majestically about one heartbreak after the other, moaning about his lost women and unabashedly feeling lonesome and sorry for himself. No matter, he'd have plenty of time to attain more women in the future. This is the work of a band ready to take on the world -- on its own terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin Remasters…Wonderful Packaging!!!, June 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well, there is no point for me to ramble on about the music, so on to the important stuff. On the remastering itself (at least on this Super Deluxe Edition) I personally enjoyed the sound of the vinyl more so than the actual CD or HD Download. Either way, the recordings sound cleaner than the previous remasters (I own the most recent "box set" of their released catalogue.) A couple things did jump out on first listen. On "Baby, Im Gonna Leave You," the guitar is on the opposite channel than where you'd expect, and there is extra reverb on Page's acoustic guitar. "Communication Breakdown" seemed a bit less punchy, as though the bass guitar is turned down a bit in the mix than before. The packaging is great!!! A lot better than The Beatles remasters about 5 years back! The vinyl is flawless and no pops (at least not on mine!) I didn't care for the "fiddling about" with those couple of songs, but overall I am impressed. I know I will buy the other two Super Deluxe Editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thundering Debut, August 27, 2001
This review is from: Led Zeppelin 1 (Audio CD)
"From the chunky, hard riff that opens "Good Times, Bad Times" (listen to how John Bonham triples up on his bass drum during the first verse) Led Zeppelin introduced the music world to something entirely new. The zest, fervor and passion that they'd put into thier final performances as the "New Yardbirds" was heightened on this first album, and perfected with relentless touring and concentrated studio time. "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You" perfectly showcases Robert Plants' staggering vocal prowess (remember he was still a boy of 21 at the time) and the groups' brilliant arranging and playing. The two sprawling, bluesy excursions these blokes take on have become classics in thier own right (the pummeling "Dazed & Confused" and the album closing "How Many More Times" give the album it's epic feel and are perfect examples of how the blues informed and influenced the band from the very beginning. The shorter songs are oustanding as well, the punkish attack of "Communication Breakdown" provides a quick burst of energy for the listener, while "Your Time Is Gonna Come" is perfect acoustic pop that still doesn't sound dated or contrived. "Black Mountain Side" owes a debt to the Beatles in the middle 60's experimental period with it's use of tabla, acoustic instruments and somewhat unusual arrangement (no vocals). The entire band seemed to really coalesce into a tight, ferocius and intuative unit in a very short time as this debut album is completely lacking in any of the awkwardness or timidity usually associated with a new band. Throughout, Jimmy Pages' guitar (electric and acoustic) whips and soars over the heavy blues rock like a bird in flight, he essentialy rewrites the book on hard rock guitar playing here. John Bonham (THE GREATEST ROCK DRUMMER EVER, PERIOD) and John Paul Jones are an astounding rhythm section incapable of ever losing the groove and they stretch out to wondrous effect here on several selections. Led Zeppelin were a true band who only got better with time. Though their sound became more streamlined with subsequent releases, they never lost the fire that they started with in '68. This is a classic whose influence has been far reaching , but the years have only made it sound fresher and more vital. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Reissue, June 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love everything about this set.

The packaging is perfect. The vinyl is flat (all 3 records) heavy and quiet. The CDs are carefully packaged inside a rice paper inner sleeve, then a white paper 2nd inner sleeve, then the actual outer (mini LP) sleeve.

The book is beautiful, with nice photos....many I've never seen. Great replica press kit. Nice litho of the album art, numbered.

The big deal here is the John Davis/Jimmy Page remaster. Perfectly done, and well balanced.

I have the original Diament mastered CDs, original vinyl, 90's complete recordings cube box, SHM Japan CDs, last mini LP replica black box, Classic Records 200g vinyl, and 2 other reissue vinyl cuts.

I rank this master right up with, if not better than, the Piros cut vinyl and the Classic Records vinyl, and ahead of the Diament original cd, and miles ahead of everything else.

I love the Olympia recording. I thought I knew what to expect here, but actually feel that it sounds better than any of the bootlegs of this that I've heard and better than what I own. It's a great historical document, and what we have here is a performance restored to the best level it can be.....and, IMO, an improvement over what has circulated.

This is a top notch and complete reissue that gives this 2 channel, lifelong Zep fan everything I could have wanted and more.

At the Amazon price protection guarantee of 111.00, this is an absolute steal, and the most excited and satisfied I've been regarding a reissue, ever.

I am very familiar with this recording, own it in several forms, and have owned it in several others (cass., 8 track, etc..)

An absolute must own set, IMO, for a fan of Led Zeppelin.

Thank you Jimmy Page, for a wonderful gift in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best debut ever, August 3, 2002
By 
ChiefSanch (New Hartford, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Led Zeppelin 1 (Audio CD)
That just it, it's the best debut album ever. Led Zeppelin used this phenomenal fusion of rock 'n' roll and the blues and turned themselves into the Gods of hard rock. They are the best hard rock band ever and they can easily fight with Black Sabbath as the fathers of heavy metal. They were never critics favorites, but screw the critics because the fans knew the real deal. Good Times, Bad Times features every band members specialty, the fade out gutiars are stellar. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You is the template for all of their epic rock classics like Stairway and Kashmir, long and loud. You Shook Me and I Can't Quit You Baby are flawless blues covers, phenomenal range in musical talent. Dazed And Confused is the best song on here, one of their best and most popular and the one that has become part of our everyday vocabulary. Your Time Is Gonna Come is kind of bluesy but more fist pumping rock and has a great beat. Black Mountain Song is a fabulous first instrumental. Communication Breakdown flat out rock, fast and hard. How Many More Times is another one of those beat driven epic of Led Zeppelin's many. In the end, this is the best debut and one of THE best albums of all time. This is incredible rock 'n' roll and it receives my highest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same old Zep over and over again? Not Quite, June 5, 2014
By 
George Springer (Derby, KS United States) - See all my reviews
I have read a lot the reviews on this and several make very good points. How much better are these Remasters to any other recording can be debated forever. For the casual listener who converts the CDs to MP3 and plays them on an IPOD, don't waste your time. For those with an average pair of speakers/turntable and already have a copy of these albums, again don't waste your time. For those who do not have this album yet & for those who want to feel like they are in the studio while they were recording (aka audiophiles) this may be the closest we ever get. To strive for that perfect sound may appear like money milking, but I feel this mix takes a lot of the dating out if and brings it closer to present day. Should the Original master tapes in some way get lost or ruined, these remasters can be the new source.

Something I have not really seen yet is a review on the HD Download. I downloaded the FLAC files for all three box sets and was able to burn all the songs (53) onto a Dual Layer DVD as FLACs. I have an OPPO BD-95 which views the disc as a data disc and plays all the songs as a FLAC. I am extremely satisfied with the sound quality to include the concert, definitely the best sound quality of these albums I own. The only complaint, which is no fault of the box sets, is the songs that run into each other, when played as separate FLACs, have a pause between songs.

Thank you Jimmy for striving for excellence!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: Lesser Quality Argentinian Import!, February 18, 2011
By 
Mucosa (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin 1 (Audio CD)
My review is 2 stars for the distributor and product (I would give 4 stars were I to review the album). The reason that these Zeppelin remasters are being sold so relativly cheap on Amazon is because the seller, MusicStore2000, is selling lesser quality imports from Argentina. First off, 2 of the 3 cases I ordered from this seller arrived broken and cracked (a real pet peeve of mine). As for the disc itself, the printing on the actual disc is kinda sloppy. The disc appears to be of lower quality than the other Zep remasters I already own. The sound quality is acceptable...I do think the disc does contain the '94 remaster. Overall, I would say this disc is on par with the ones you get from those 12-for-a-penny record clubs...slightly inferior to the store bought versions. What bothers me the most, though, is that nowhere on the Amazon sales page does it say you are getting Argentinian imports. I would not have bought them had I known ahead of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great debut from Page, Plant, Jones and Bonham, March 5, 2003
By 
Jack Fitzgerald "JFD" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin 1 (Audio CD)
This is not my favorite Zep album, nor do I think it's their best, but it's a great debut and sign of things to come from Jimmy Page (guitar), Robert Plant (vocals), John Paul Jones (bass/keys) and John Bonham (drums).
Led Zeppelin was one of those rare groups that combined musicianship, live performance, charisma, myth and decadence into an enduring legend. The critics may have hated them, and detractors may still rip on them, but this band recorded a decent catalog of material.
These guys were also very eclectic with their musical styles, with straight-ahead rock/metal, white blues, acoustic folk, and eastern-tinged raga all showing up on different tunes. They may have shamelessly ripped off classic blues, call it sampling, but they were unafraid to push the boundaries of rock music.
"Good Times Bad Times" is a crunchy opener, with its guitar rhythm puzzle, outstanding drum fills, and excellent bass riffs.
"Babe I'm Gonna Leave You" has a nice acoustic guitar ballad feel, but rises and falls with varying dynamics. The lyrics are pretty standard 'my woman done me wrong' but Plant turns in a good performance.
"You Shook Me" is a slow-burn blues tune. Great organ solo. Interesting guitar/vocal interplay between Page and Plant.
"Dazed and Confused" is a signature tune for Led Zeppelin. My favorite thing about this song is the timing of the rhythm section, especially John Bonham's drumming.
"You Time is Gonna Come" begins with cathedral-like organ playing by Jones before breaking into an acoustic/rock number. More lyrics about 'woman done me wrong.'
"Black Mountain Side" is an instrumental featuring acoustic guitar and tablas. I like Dread Zeppelin's version for humor.
"Communication Breakdown" revs things up with more crunchy rock, with a great bassline and blistering guitar solo by Page.
"I Can't Quit You Baby" is another slow blues burn, with plenty of tasty guitar licks by Page.
"How Many More Times" has a nice swinging rhythm groove, wah guitar, and probably Plant's best vocal performance on the disk.
All in all, this is a solid effort, although the slow tempo tunes bog it down at times, and Plant is definitely still developing as a vocalist here. Still, this is a fine debut and well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zeppelin's First Flight, April 17, 2001
This review is from: Led Zeppelin 1 (Audio CD)
Jimmy Page was a member of the seminal English blues group, The Yardbirds as well as a heavily sought after studio musician (He played on The Kinks' "You Really Got Me" and The Who's "I Can't Explain" to name two). After the band's demise he recruited fellow studio ace John Paul Jones to play bass in a newly reformed Yardbirds. He went out to the English country and found a teenaged Robert Plant to be his lead singer. Mr. Plant suggested an old friend of his John Bonham to play drums. On their initial tour they were dubbed The New Yardbirds. After Keith Moon saw them he reportedly told Mr. Page they would go down faster than a lead balloon. Renaming themselves Led Zeppelin, they entered the studio to record their debut album in late 1968. The resulting self-titled album is an amazing combination of blues and psychedelic sounds that would spawn the heavy metal sound of the 70's rock scene. The band showed they could play short blasts of manic power like the machine gun barrage of "Communication Breakdown" or howl and wail on extended blues jams like "You Shook Me" and "I Can't Quit You Baby". Mr. Page played crunching guitar riffs and he could work magic on the acoustic guitar by incorporating them into songs like the pile driving "Babe, I'm Gonna Leave You" and the instrumental "Black Mountain Side". Mr. Jones plays a heavy and pumping bass as well as provide great keyboard work on songs like the airy "Your Time Is Gonna Come". Mr. Bonham plays the heaviest drums in the history of music and his fierce backbeats provide the album with its foundation. Mr. Plant perfected the role of the rock lead singer as a sex god and his vocal pyrotechnics have been often imitated but never duplicated. The song that is the centerpiece of the album is the trippy "Dazed & Confused" which incorporates a sound that made Led Zep famous, a wall of guitars, pounding drums and bass and shrieking vocals. The album only made number 10 on the charts in the spring of 1969 but it introduced America to a band that would dominate the album charts and arenas for the next decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Led Zeppelin 1
Led Zeppelin 1 by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.