Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly authentic tab
This book is for real, unlike the "Complete?" book which is tabbed incorrectly. I've been playing now for 17 years and this book will give you all the intricacies of the songs chosen. With one technical exception: and this is for true authentic players, the tab to "bron-y'aur stomp" is presented as a capoed song in open F. On the Led Zep DVD however, Page plays this...
Published on November 3, 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry - but bad book
I'm learning with a professional guitar player who actually plays in a rockband for a living and knows Led Zeppelin inside out.
The transcription for HeartBreaker is poor - It is totally wrong in many parts.
This is not just because my teacher said so, but by actually listening to the song using a slow down software it is obvious that there is no match between...
Published on March 12, 2011 by Y. Naveh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly authentic tab, November 3, 2005
This review is from: Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab) (Paperback)
This book is for real, unlike the "Complete?" book which is tabbed incorrectly. I've been playing now for 17 years and this book will give you all the intricacies of the songs chosen. With one technical exception: and this is for true authentic players, the tab to "bron-y'aur stomp" is presented as a capoed song in open F. On the Led Zep DVD however, Page plays this uncapoed in open G.

All others seem to be right on. Well worth the money.

I highly recommend this book. And it has the complete solos too.

Doug
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Deal, Good Luck Playing, May 21, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab) (Paperback)
This is a great book for someone looking to learn every note the great Jimmy Page played on this set of songs. The tabs are accurate and include all the various parts played by acoustic and electric guitars, as well as mandarins. This includes solos too!
This is not for the faint of heart, so beginner's should probably procrastinate on purchasing this one. Unless you want to practice til your fingers and eyes bleed. And more power to you if you do.
I give it 5 but I could wish for a few more songs. Honestly, for me, some of the songs were beyond my skill level, so what's the point? Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Advanced Guitar Players, November 16, 2004
By 
This review is from: Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab) (Paperback)
The book is beutifully designed with the most intricate notes possible. When looking at it, you feel as if an entire orchestra can be created from it. They did a brilliant job with making it as close to the real sound of Zeppelin as possible. However, it is certainly not for begginers. if you are a great musician already and want to play Led Zeppelin, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Classics on 256 pages! A Zeppelin must-have!, July 25, 2006
This review is from: Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab) (Paperback)
I only wish this book contained ALL the songs! The tablature is outstanding and truly what any major Zeppelin guitarist fan is looking for. The solos are included, and unlike "Led Zeppelin Complete," this is a reliable, well-put-together arrangement of GREAT Zeppelin songs. The only bad thing about it is that the fabulous maker of the book did not transcribe MORE songs! At $15.72, this is the best deal for classic Zeppelin tabs, BELIEVE ME! "Dazed and Confused" is soooo intricate, giving me MORE than I asked for! And when I flipped to "What is and What Should Never Be," I realized just how much sense this book really makes. Definitely for experienced guitar players with ears "experienced" in the sound of LED ZEPPELIN. This book will help you to better understand the music behind the madness of this quartet. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED--grab this gold before it is gone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zeppelin, April 15, 2006
This review is from: Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab) (Paperback)
All I have say is "Wow" this book is incredible. I've been playing guitar for about 3 months now, and I'm a HUGE Zeppelin fan so I decided to get this book. I think I might have bit off a little more than I can chew. I can play the riffs from a few songs, but that's about it. But, as they always say "Practice makes perfect." If you're experienced with a guitar, I would HIGHLY recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, June 12, 2008
This review is from: Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab) (Paperback)
What can I say. I got this book for my wife and she loves it. Even her guitar instructor wanted to steal it. A book two with other of the Led Zeppelin's songs would be nice :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry - but bad book, March 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab) (Paperback)
I'm learning with a professional guitar player who actually plays in a rockband for a living and knows Led Zeppelin inside out.
The transcription for HeartBreaker is poor - It is totally wrong in many parts.
This is not just because my teacher said so, but by actually listening to the song using a slow down software it is obvious that there is no match between what the book says and what Jimi Page plays.
It is not just about positions on that neck, but wrong transcription.
e.g.: In page 176, the whole solo part is 100% wrong. The real playback reveals that it should have been a traversal on the A Major scale from the 5nd string down to the octave below in 2nd string.
And there are other examples.
Also we tried a few versions of the song just to verify (live, studio) - not even close.

Another issue is that the transcriber does not seem to know Jimi Page's licks and playing styles - He had kind of a charming sloppy way of producing notes which cannot be ignored. Playing the 'correct' notes would sound like DATA from StarTrek trying to play Led Zeppelin. i.e. The transcription is mechanical and ignores the artist. For other bands (playing simple monotonic chord progressions) maybe this would have passed, but for Led Zeppelin it does not.

Not 100% waste of money, because there are lyrics and the paper can be used a notebook so the real correct chords and notes can be written instead..that's why I gave it 2 stars instead of one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reference which is short on accuracy, December 29, 2007
By 
Customer (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab) (Paperback)
This is a good reference for assisting in the composing many of Led Zeppelin's works. There is music notation for vocals, lead guitar and rhythm guitar. The accuracy is questionable in many areas but it does a fairly good job as a starting resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab) (Paperback)
My son was very happy with his purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab), December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab) (Paperback)
Very happy with the book. My grandson plays the guitar and he loves Led Zeppelin. He will be very excited when he opens the book on Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab)
Led Zeppelin Classics (Authentic Guitar-Tab) by Led Zeppelin (Paperback - July 1, 2000)
$24.95 $19.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.