Customer Reviews


591 Reviews
5 star:
 (361)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (68)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


187 of 200 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Film Remains Slightly Better
This 1976 concert film is one Led Zeppelin item that really did deserve to be improved and expanded. In the November 2007 glut of new Zep products related to the film, this 2-DVD set is clearly the optimal purchase. (Note that this review was written after actually purchasing and consuming the item in question, which appears to be a real rarity so far.) The "Collector's...
Published on November 24, 2007 by doomsdayer520

versus
42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as its soundtrack, but still pretty cool.
This was clearly not the best performance that they were capable of, but what the hey- where else do you get to see Jimmy Page beating on his guitar with a violin bow?
Contrary to the opinions expressed by others, I sorta like the little dramatic bits inserted here and there throughout the movie. They can be cheesy at times, but the Jimmy Page / Hermit of the Tarot...
Published on March 3, 2000 by Stoner Smurf


‹ Previous | 143 44 4560 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, November 25, 2011
This is the review of the Blu-Ray version of the movie that i saw for the first time in theater a long time ago. There is a improvement of the picture quality compare to the DVD version, but nothing as good as a Blu-Ray of today. What is so interesting about this movie is that it's not only a music concert, it's a lot more. There is some fiction images throughout the movie along with behind the scenes and real day life action footage with each members of the band. The musicians played a role by illustrating the story of the songs like characters in a movie.

The movie starts with the arrival of the crew and the band in Manhattan by car. The city where the show has taken place has a important meaning to the movie. There is some entertaining behind the scenes footage, that had took place during the show. It's a real treat to see the manager takes on his crew members who had let circulate some pirates posters of the band. There goes down the drain the merchandising profits! And not only that, but we learned that the show's profits have disappear in what looks like a robbery!

Now for the actual live footage! To have footage of the legendary band is a rare historical moment and i have never been disappointed by the quality of the footage, a little dark with no visuals, because the music was so appealing to me. The idea of illustrating the show with a story is not a bad idea, but at times, i was missing the joy of seeing the band play their instrument, it's the case, especially during the song "The Song Remains the Same", who is one of the best Led Zeppelin songs, along with "No Quarter", simply because for me that's the songs that are the closest to Progressive rock with their nice atmosphere. Another highlight of the show is the 15 minutes drum solo of John Bonham, who is captured nicely by cameras.

The extras contains more songs, and more footage of the conference press talking about the robbery that i was talking earlier in my review. After 38 years, it's easy for me to give this a 5 stars, because it's still a great music to hear today despite some flaws on the quality of the footage, but put in the context of the 70's and restore on Blu-Ray, it's nice to watch. The 5.1 mix also add a new dimension to the whole experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, September 26, 2014
Great Vid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
nice item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all time best band ever,,,bar non!!, February 5, 2002
By 
pjimino@tampabay.rr.com (spring hill, fl United States) - See all my reviews
this flick speaks volumes about the seventies ,and the rock and drug culture! also exposes these rock gods for what they are,,,the alltime best ever band !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, November 12, 2008
By 
This review is from: Led Zeppelin: The Song Remains the Same (Two-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
Been into Zep since I was a kid.I remember back in 73 when Zep did this show at MSG in NYC. For years I was not happy with this. Thank god Jimmy Page decided to remaster and add the additional songs and a new 5.1 mix the way Zep played on stage. This is a must for Zep heads and a great look back at the mighty Led Zeppelin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 3, 2014
This review is from: Led Zeppelin: The Song Remains the Same (Two-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
GREAT !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SICKTASTIC, April 30, 2006
this movie is thight if your a zep fan like me. one bad thing is the weird little movie things they show in the middle of the songs. A really cool thing is the scenes behind the stage. there is some cool stuff. i totally recomend it though!!! it captures tru zeppelin though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 143 44 4560 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Led Zeppelin: The Song Remains the Same (Two-Disc Special Edition)
$20.97 $14.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.