Customer Reviews


776 Reviews
5 star:
 (697)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


280 of 293 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Zeppelinverse -- Warp 10 IS Possible.
I watched the Zeppelin DVD on the weekend. Absolutely amazing. You MUST get it. Of all the mind bending things on these discs, one of the most amazing has to be the Danish TV gig. It opens as a group of maybe 40 teenagers are ushered into a bare hall with no chairs in sight. The band is set up in a tight configuration in the middle of this empty room. The kids sit...
Published on June 2, 2003 by Graham Henderson

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RAW Zep with 5.1 mix center channel DEFECT
The center channel on Disc #1's Dolby 5.1 mix has a significant amount of static/crackling. I first thought it was my system but then i noticed that a few other audiophiles on this site complained about it too. Interestingly, I cannot find any way to contact the record company to ask about this defect. It doesn't seem to be a problem on the DTS mix, though. Perhaps many...
Published on June 29, 2003 by CR reader


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

280 of 293 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Zeppelinverse -- Warp 10 IS Possible., June 2, 2003
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (DVD)
I watched the Zeppelin DVD on the weekend. Absolutely amazing. You MUST get it. Of all the mind bending things on these discs, one of the most amazing has to be the Danish TV gig. It opens as a group of maybe 40 teenagers are ushered into a bare hall with no chairs in sight. The band is set up in a tight configuration in the middle of this empty room. The kids sit cross legged on the floor -- like in a high school gym. Imagine what must have gone through their minds. Having no idea whatsoever about what to expect. No frame of reference. Nothing. Here's this new band, been together for a few months...they are going to play you some songs from their new album. Then it comes, in a cascade, no, an AVALANCHE --- Communication Breakdown, then Dazed and Confused, then Babe I'm Gonna Leave You, then How Many More Times. At one point the guy on guitar whips out a violin bow and you start hearing sounds you've never heard in your life -- that you never thought were possible. And the guy on drums, he's hitting his toms harder than you thought it possible to hit a drum...to hit ANYTHING. And the bass player, lord god above, he's playing a melodic line in tandem with the guitarist which means that the guitarist can peal off at warp 9.99, no, let's just admit it, at Warp 10, into these solos where his left hand seems to do more playing than his right ("Captain, she can't TAKE warp 10. Yes, Scotty, she can -- it IS possible -- for we are in a universe where the normal rules of physics don't apply -- the "Zepellinverse"). Any sane person would have sat there and cast a thankful eye heavenward thinking -- "There IS a god after all...a benevolent god...a god who LOVES humanity...a god who has a little present for us..the greatest band EVER." The rest of the DVD is as brilliant, but I thought this little vignette might be helpful. BUY THIS DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hammer of The Gods Indeed....., June 16, 2003
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (DVD)
As a disc jockey at my school I still remeber listening to a pre-release issue of the first Led Zeppelin album and just sitting in shock at the sound coming into my headphones! From that day on I was hooked and and a few years later I would actually spend time on the road with Led Zeppelin.
After all these years I can honestly say that my initial viewing response to this incredible five hour collection brought tears to my eyes and joy to my heart.
Led Zeppelin live was something special. Robert Plant, Jimmy Page, John Paul Jones and John Bonham gave it their best every time they hit the stage. The Rolling Stones have always proclaimed themselves at the "Greatest Live Rock and Roll Band," but Led Zep can also make their claim for that title in this special 3 DVD set.
In 1970, where this muscial journey begins, video and sound recording was light years from today's digital revolution. This was a time when long playing vinyl albums sometimes were released in both a mono and stereo versions!
Jimmy Page and crew worked many months in restoring the video quality and remastering the sound to glorious Dolby Digital and DTS formats.
To just comment on a few songs in this incredible sonic document would be missing the point. Having witnessed their live performances at back stage, side stage and front stage I know that for any hard core Led Zep fan this is as good as it gets! For the casual fan of that time in history or the younger generation you can now see and hear what the fuss was all about.
The Led Zeppelin DVD collection validates the reason for having a home theater system!
These guys might have had the rock star swagger, but they knew they were great and we knew they were something very special.
As Baseball Hall of Famer Dizzy Dean once said "It ain't bragging if you can do it!" and I think this sums it up nicely for the Hammer of The Gods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer Of The Gods, June 9, 2003
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (DVD)
Led Zeppelin's self-titled DVD is a treasure chest for all fans of the band. Nearly four hours of never before seen concert footage is spread out over two disks that feature performances from every era of the band's career. It is a real eye opener for fans who never experienced the band live to see the sheer power and magnetism of the group at the height of their powers. The best aspect of the collection is the brilliant sound and picture clarity. Jimmy Page spearheaded this project and although surviving members Robert Plant and John Paul Jones contributed, Mr. Page is the lifeblood of the work. The remastering of the footage's sound and picture is breathtaking. One only need to view the four songs from the Madison Square Garden concert to see the first rate work. This is footage from a concert that was filmed for the band's 1976 film, The Song Remains The Same. In viewing that movie, the picture is somewhat grainy and the colors blurred, but on this disk, the picture is sharp and clear. Led Zeppelin sold tons of albums in the 70's, but it was their legendary live performances that made them rock gods and this collection brings that view into focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the material, 1 star for the editor, June 9, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (DVD)
Let's get it out of the way- this is an absolutely fantastic set and shouldn't be missed. The video quality is excellent, as is the sound, and it's an absolute bargain given the 5+ hour running time. Buy it now.
So why only four stars? Well, the production team couldn't just stop at a masterful restoration of the deteriorated masters- they had to 'improve' it.
Bootleg videos of the vast majority of this material has been floating around for years, and having seen much of it, I can vouch for the astounding restoration work this set represents. On the other hand, they saw fit to reedit nearly all the sequences to a 90's MTV aesthetic. Where the original may show a 10 second shot of Page's hands playing a solo, this version will feature 4 or 5 fast intercuts to footage of Plant clapping (culled from earlier in the set), digitally fuzzified and pseudo-shakycam versions of the original shot of Page's handwork, an audience shot culled from another show, another shot of Plant digitally slowed down in an attempt to make his clapping sync with the audio, etc., etc., ad infinitum.
In some instances it's apparent that this was done to cover minor glitches (probably unrestorable) in the video, but the vast majority of the embellishment is in sequences with excellent quality. The fuzzy faux-shakycam treatment is particularly galling, since it's such a cliche in recent MTV fare and obscures some truly lovely passages. I'm not expecting an historical document, so I have no problem with the usual monkeying with the set order or the merciful editing of Plant's traditional lengthy (and quite stoned) patter between songs, but every time one of these 'improved' segments kicks in I'm left longing for the beautiful set that would have remained had the producers stopped after the restoration process.
Sometimes less is more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


250 of 298 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mother lode of live Led Zeppelin, March 10, 2003
By 
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (DVD)
Well, this 2-DVD set is yet to be released but I'm still rating it at five stars. The press release put out by Atlantic Records describes the set and the accompanying 3-CD live set as the "mother lode of Led Zeppelin live recordings"!
Slated for a simultaneous May 27 release, this marks the first-ever official release of rare and legendary performances spanning Led Zeppelin's entire career.
But the DVD and CD sets contain entirely different material so there is no overlap between the two releases.
Clocking in at nearly five-and-a-half hours, The "Led Zeppelin DVD" has been culled from just a handful of performances ever filmed during the band's lifetime.
Guitarist Jimmy Page explained: "We were never really part of the pop scene. It was never what Led Zeppelin was supposed to be about. Our thing was playing live. In that sense, Zeppelin was very much an underground band. The fact that it became as successful as it did was something that was almost out of our control. We actually shunned commercialism, which is why so little official footage of the band has ever been seen before."
Featured on the DVD are performances from London's Royal Albert Hall in January 1970, just a year after the release of their debut album, their five-night run at London's Earl's Court in May 1975 and their record-breaking shows at England's Knebworth Festival in August 1979, just a year before drummer John Bonham's death led to the band's dissolution.
Also included are songs from New York's Madison Square Garden in July 1973 that were not included in "The Song Remains The Same" concert film, the only previously released live Zeppelin footage.
Other highlights on the DVD are extremely rare television appearances, among them a performance for Danish television in March 1969; promotional clips; TV interviews; behind-the scenes material and even a bit of bootleg footage shot by fans.
The DVD has been painstakingly restored, remixed and remastered in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, DTS, and PCM two-channel stereo under the personal supervision of Jimmy Page and director Dick Carruthers.
Carruthers recently told reporters that the DVD set is intended as a definitive statement of all that is fit for release, though that quality threshold was set very high by surviving Led Zeppelin members.
While Carruthers collected film and video material, Jimmy Page and Kevin Shirley assembled surround mixes from Page's huge archive of live recordings.
The DVDs present the material in chronological order and the supplementary material consists of early European TV appearances on the first disc, and interviews and 1990-vintage promos on the second, including the only decent interview footage of the late John Bonham.
The Albert Hall footage is from a two camera 16mm shoot and the second disc reportedly has a stunning version of "The Immigrant Song" for which footage could not be found. So some Super 8 footage from Australia has been edited promo-style to accompany it.
Track listing:
Disc 1
Live at the Royal Albert Hall (1970) 1hr 42 mins
We're gonna groove
I can't quit you baby
Dazed and confused
White summer
What is and what should never be
How many more times
Moby Dick
Whole lotta love
Communication breakdown
C'mon everybody
Something else
Bring it on home
Disc 2
The immigrant song
Madison Square Garden (1973) 23:24 mins
Black dog
Misty mountain hop
Since I've been loving you
The ocean
Earls Court (1975) 49 mins
Going to California
That's the way
Bron Y Aur stomp
In my time of dying
Trampled underfoot
Stairway to heaven
Live at Knebworth (1979) 51:41 mins
Rock'n'roll
Nobody's fault but mine
Sick again
Achilles last stand
In the evening
Kashmir
Whole lotta love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was there really any doubt?, May 27, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (DVD)
Worth the price just to see the Royal Albert Hall Performance.
Biggest surprise...Knebworth 79. Even the best boots don't do it justice. Bonham is a freakin' machine! Earl's Court is wonderful as I think most have anticipated.
Once again, they've got the midas touch.
Video and Sound quality are unbelievably outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why we became musicians..., June 11, 2003
By 
Paul Sherrill (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (DVD)
Before purchasing this DVD set, you must ask yourself this simple question: "Am I a true Led Zeppelin fan or do I just like a few songs I hear on the radio?"
If you are just a casual fan who likes the cuts they hear on the radio and may own an album or two, this DVD is definitely not for you. This DVD is for the hardest of hardcore Led Zeppelin fans. For those of us who weren't fortunate enough to be around during Zeppelin's heyday, then this DVD is a dream come true.
For years I had heard all the stories about how amazing Led Zeppelin's live shows were. Of course I've seen "The Song Remains the Same" countless times and have a few bootlegs that are just good enough to tease. After completing just half of the first DVD, I felt that I had finally found the Zeppelin Holy Grail.
The performances on this DVD don't completely live up to the hype, but they sure do come close. While the performances themselves are amazing, it's the little things that really turned me on. Watching how the band communicates through their improv sessions, the fact that John Bonham sung backup on Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp, seeing John Paul Jones playing the mandolin parts that I always thought were Jimmy's, and countless other little bits that make it all worth the watch.
I'm not going to state that all the performances are perfect, because they certainly are not. The reason Led Zeppelin's live shows were so legendary was because of how much improvisation they emphasize in the performances. It's extremely rare to see that in a Rock and Roll band outside of the Dead. I believe the band maintained the ethic that sure it may not be perfect, and sometimes downright messy, but when they get into a groove, it's truly lightning in a bottle. These improvised jams tend to be something that only musicians with jazz or blues backgrounds tend to understand. That's exactly why Led Zeppelin was in a class all their own.
I personally tend to disagree with those that make Led Zeppelin out to be the fathers of heavy metal. True, they were a major influence then and now, but it's got too much of a base in blues and jazz to be compared to Metal. I think we're better off leaving that title to the likes of Black Sabbath. After seeing and hearing some of the material on this DVD it just re-emphasized this thought. The concert at Royal Albert Hall is just one blues jam after another with hints of their songs thrown in to give it a sense of cohesion.
For all of those musicians out there who idolized Jimmy Page as I did, you will not be disappointed in the slightest. To see how he communicates with the rest of the band as he goes through his wild improvisations is simply amazing. While it is true that Jimmy tends to be a very sloppy guitarist, it doesn't change the fact that when he's on, he's REALLY on. To me the term "sloppy" is kind of silly. No he's not precise like your Joe Satriani's or Eddie Van Halen's, he is however extremely musical. To be as improvisation oriented as he is takes a lot of talent, knowledge, and well...balls. Something that many of today's guitarists simply don't have.
While I love going to rock concerts to listen to my favorite bands, I always feel a bit ripped off because what is being performed is almost identical to what you were just listening to on the radio coming to the show. This can never be said about Led Zeppelin's live performances. Every night is its own experience.
That is captured, for the most part, throughout this DVD. As I have repeatedly stated, these performances are more jams than just song after song. If you watch this DVD over and over again, sure you will find tons of musical mistakes. However, if you take it for what it is, a single moment in time, then you can't deny its power. Led Zeppelin was one of the gutsiest, energetic, and awe inspiring live bands in the history of music.
If you are a musician and don't find this to be a major educational and emotional experience, then in my humble opinion, it's time to re-evaluate what music is to you. To me music was always a way to convey an emotional state through your performance. If you limit yourself to a pre-existing structure, then you've just taken away the essence of what the music was meant to be.
Essence. That is what this DVD is. The essence of the music, culture, and time that was all Led Zeppelin's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a concert record worthy of Led Zeppelin!, May 29, 2003
By 
Joe Niedbala (Watertown, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (DVD)
After years of bootleg audio ranging from murky to almost passable, and the band's official if generally self-dismissed The Song Remains the Same, Led Zepplin have culled through their archives and given the fans a true audio-visual glimpse of their live power.
And what a blinding and deafening glimpse it is!
Spanning their entire career, we are treated to marvelously sharp film and video matched with absolutely crystal clear audio that will literally slam you back into your livingroom couch. The balance between the instruments so lacking in the numerous bootleg CDs floating about is replaced with Jone's tight basslines, Bonzo's crackling drums, Plant's soaring vocals, and Page's trancendent guitar tones. At points, this could be mistaken for stripped down studio basic tracks, but the spontaniety of Zep's live performances assure us that this is the real deal.
TSRTS was a mediocre testament, that was always obvious. For any other band to be playing at the level depicted in that film, it would be a great document of their live act. But this is Zeppelin, and we always knew that they were at their very best live. Sure, there are moments in that film that pushed the blood through your veins like no other concert film before (the unbelievable sprawl of Dazed and Confused, for instance, and the title song), but when compared to this new DVD, it pales, pales, by comparison. Here you will find far superior versions of many of the songs included in that film. The new version of Moby Dick alone, with Bonham playing at blistering speeds that, even when seen and heard, cannot be believed, is worth the price of this DVD.
What makes these discs special for me are the versions of some of the less frquently heard songs. Trampled Under Foot, Sick Again, these have always been favorites of mine, and to hear them live, well...
As for a tried and true classic, the 1980 version of Kashmir from Knebworth is crunchingly heavy with it's huge lurch of a riff. It shows a band that, despite signs of age in the lines of Plant's face and Page's painfully thin drug wasted physique, was as good, if not better, then they had ever been. Absolutely.
The albums have always testified that Led Zeppelin was the most powerful rock band ever. Memories, especially 70's ones, fade and die away. This DVD set is the band's legacy as the greatest live act ever.
Immortal Gods, live at last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for any Led Zeppelin fan, March 6, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (DVD)
This 2DVD set will be monstrous. If you're one of the millions of Led Zeppelin fans worldwide who have always regretted the small amount of available footage of the band that's been made commercially available, then this set is a dream come true.
Comprised of material from both before and after the Madison Square Garden shows in New York City at the end of the 1973 American tour captured in the film "The Song Remains the Same", this collection will include material from the band's home country of the UK in 1970, 1975, and 1979, as well as from Australia in 1972 and Denmark in 1969. Many other surprises (including extra footage from the MSG 1973 shows, and some U.S. 1972 footage) are also in store!
Don't expect note-for-note recitations of the album tracks. This set will be so much more than that! These DVDs will showcase the wild improvisational genius that Zeppelin displayed in the era long before click-tracks, pre-recorded backing tracks for live situations, etc. This DVD set will vividly display the work of four guys who walked up on stage, grabbed their instruments, and let it freaking RIP!
You can't expect visual content of a quality to rival that from concerts recorded in the last few years, but the 5.1 audio mix added to large amounts of material on the DVDs will go a long way toward compensating for the age of the footage. If you don't have a surround sound setup yet, and you're a big Led Zeppelin fan, then this release will probably be enough reason for you to go ahead and take the plunge.
Also, don't miss "How the West Was Won", the 3CD set compiling the two white-hot Led Zeppelin shows from Long Beach and Los Angeles, California on the brilliant 1972 American tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, June 25, 2004
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (DVD)
Be you a die hard fan or just someone curious about Zeppelin, this two DVD set will absolutely blow your mind. For only the second time EVER, Zeppelin has allowed the release of footage from their concerts to be put onto DVD and distributed. The results are stunning, showing clearly the intimacy between the band members as they played, and the almost electric atmosphere they created as they played to fanatic crowds.
On the first DVD, a 1970 concert including songs from I and II is shown, including Page's famous and utterly amazing violin bow act during "Dazed and Confused" and possibly the best drumming in history from John Bonham in Moby dick, which includes an absolutely mind-blowing 15 minute solo that will have your jaw dropped to the very end.
The second DVD includes concerts from the mid to late 70's featuring songs from III, IV, and beyond. Page is stunning, Bonham shows an energy and talent unmatched to this day, Plant shows his array of talent, from slow meaningful songs such as "Goin to California" to energized lyrics as in "Rock and Roll", and John Paul Jones, although terribly understated, delivers some of the greatest base performances of all time.
If you've never seen Zeppelin, but love their music, this is an ABSOLUTE must but. If you've loved Zeppelin all your life, been to dozens of their concerts, and followed their every step, this is an ESENTIAL to your collection. This DVD shows up close, as if you were on stage with the band, the utter talent and genius of the band, and the unique chemistry between them. The DVD's also include the very few and very rare interviews that the band agreed to do.
5 stars: YOU HAVE NOT EXPIRIENCED ZEPPELIN UNTIL YOU EXPERIENCE THESE DVD'S
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Led Zeppelin
Led Zeppelin by Dick Carruthers (DVD - 2003)
$29.99 $22.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.