Customer Reviews


629 Reviews
5 star:
 (325)
4 star:
 (118)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (45)
1 star:
 (76)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


106 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than meets the eye
I bought this blacklight to charge glow in the dark fishing lures. I do a lot of night fishing and needed something portable and durable I could take with me and keep in my tackle bag. Fluorescent tube blacklights were out of the question. Too bulky and fragile. Cheaper 395 or 405nm LED flashlights take FOREVER to charge the glow, and the glow pigments used in most lures...
Published on November 4, 2011 by Dark Helmet

versus
113 of 119 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT actually 365nm
Purchased this item to test for NDT applications. Using our calibrated spectroradiometer, the LEDs put out UV-A at 375nm, not the 365nm as advertised. This disallows it from being used for fluorescent NDT inspections. Do not believe the specifications published or printed on the product.
Published 15 months ago by D. Geis


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than meets the eye, November 4, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this blacklight to charge glow in the dark fishing lures. I do a lot of night fishing and needed something portable and durable I could take with me and keep in my tackle bag. Fluorescent tube blacklights were out of the question. Too bulky and fragile. Cheaper 395 or 405nm LED flashlights take FOREVER to charge the glow, and the glow pigments used in most lures fades quickly. You spend almost as much time charging the glow as you do fishing. Not with this baby! It charges lures in seconds.

When you buy a 365nm blacklight, it's extremely important to understand what you are buying. 365nm is below the range of human vision. Ultraviolet LEDs have broad peaks in the spectrum of light they emit, so a little of the light is within the range we can see. That means the light from this flashlight LOOKS dim and weak. Unless you shine it within inches of your hand, you won't see the light at all if you're looking at it in normal lighting conditions. The light from this flashlight is very pale purple-ish blue, not the deeper purple of cheaper LED blacklights. But when you shine it on items that fluoresce, it makes them light up like crazy!

If you want maximum oomph on glow in the dark or fluorescent items, 365nm is definitely the way to go.

UPDATE: 2 years later and still going strong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 119 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT actually 365nm, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Purchased this item to test for NDT applications. Using our calibrated spectroradiometer, the LEDs put out UV-A at 375nm, not the 365nm as advertised. This disallows it from being used for fluorescent NDT inspections. Do not believe the specifications published or printed on the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ultra violet black light, October 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ledwholesalers 400 Nm Uv Ultra Violet Blacklight Flashlight 3 Aaa, 7301uv400 (Sports)
I bought this one to replace one that didn't seem to work for me. This one works fine. Definitely shows up where my cat had his "accidents" when he was sick. Even if it isn't pitch black in the room the glow shows up very well. Have never used one of these before but would say this one really did the job I needed it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


134 of 152 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as powerful as I'd of hoped., January 29, 2010
By 
Whitney N. Ledbetter (New Braunfels, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ledwholesalers 400 Nm Uv Ultra Violet Blacklight Flashlight 3 Aaa, 7301uv400 (Sports)
I ordered this UV light to look for traces of dog & cat urine in my home. I have tried everything from shampooing carpets to using all those dusty powders on them. I heard that a UV light can pick up on the stains of old & new traces of urine. While my bathroom glowed like a night light, my carpets did very little. I even took a potty pad that has fresh urine on it, took it into my bathroom & closed the door so there was absolutely no trace of light - & the spot never glowed atall. To use this light, or any other UV light for that matter, you need absolute darkness. There were spots in the bedrooms that glowed very faintly, but you basically had to get on your hands & knees to see it. Overall, for tile & wood floors, this light works amazingly - but as far as carpets, you're better off ordering something stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works great!!, October 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I put batteries in this flashlight and, it was a whole new world opened up.. Places I thought I cleaned would show smudges and stains that I cannot see under regular light. I even checked bills, it will tell you in a big hurry if your dollars are real or not. Its effective range outside is around 15 feet but other than that, works as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good light for cat pee, September 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ledwholesalers 400 Nm Uv Ultra Violet Blacklight Flashlight 3 Aaa, 7301uv400 (Sports)
I bought this to find spots on the carpet where the cat peed. It works well, but you have to wait until dark and turn off the lights. There were a few parts of the house that stank, but we couldn't tell exactly where the pee was. When we used this, we discovered that we had been spraying natures miracle in the wrong place. When we identified and sprayed the pee spot, the smell went away. A lot of things besides cat pee glow, but cat pee seems to glow with a yellowish color. I decided to spray the spots with the yellowish color that i saw on the litter granules or spots that smelled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blacklight Flashlight, July 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ledwholesalers 400 Nm Uv Ultra Violet Blacklight Flashlight 3 Aaa, 7301uv400 (Sports)
Works fine, does what I need it to do, It does not come with batteries but don't let that not be the reason to buy it, strong and durable, it works very well within a three to four foot area, any more then that you may need something stronger, overall a very nice item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value for the price, December 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ledwholesalers 400 Nm Uv Ultra Violet Blacklight Flashlight 3 Aaa, 7301uv400 (Sports)
Very good value long wave UV light particularly when compared with 395 nM 51 UV Ultraviolet LED flashlight Blacklight 3 AA, 7202UV395 which while more powerful emits quite a bit of visible light which reduces its effectiveness. This light is bright enough (in UV) to work moderately well in shaded daylight for pet stains etc and works well in a dark area. Does not put out much non UV light which is a plus. Excellent for close work looking at documents or currency. I would say it earned 4 stars for effectiveness and and extra one for value, as it is under $10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Black Light!, October 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This light is excellent if you are looking for a fairly cheap true black light. The light is barely visible but it illuminates a wide range of UV responsive materials well. I tested it with Ukraine and US currency and it glowed. The 365 nanometer light wave makes all the difference. Don't settle for anything more in frequency as you will lose responsible.
The housing was better than expected. I've bought things like this before and they usually broke quickly, had lose parts, or had LEDs burn out. This was not the case with this product. I'd buy form this place again. Hope this helps people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, March 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ledwholesalers 400 Nm Uv Ultra Violet Blacklight Flashlight 3 Aaa, 7301uv400 (Sports)
No complaints at all after owning this UV flashlight for over 3 weeks. I primarily use it to check ID's and high currency for their invisible markings. Would recommend it to a friend if they were looking for an inexpensive and reliable flashlight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.