Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars25
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 21, 2012
I am usually a fan of Debbie Macomber's writing; but this book leaves an annoyance and frustration when I had finished reading it.

First, unless you buy this in person AND open the book to read her introduction there is no clue that this book is a reissue. This has become a huge frustration and irritation in reading many books of this genre. These are two stories: `A Friend or Two' published in 1985 and `No Competition' in 1987.
The second exasperation concerns the characters in the stories. The plot line constantly moves back and forth because of the ladies extreme stubbornness - really beyond all reasonableness.

The first story `a Friend or Two' is about a girl from a very wealthy Boston family. She goes to San Francisco and falls in love, both with the city and a man. Yet she cannot tell him she is wealthy - why? Even after they have become close and she loves the city she still says to herself she has to return to Boston. No reason is ever given. It never makes sense that revealing her wealth even after they profess their love will ruin their relationship. She keeps saying she'll lose him if she tells him. He of course has a secret too.

The second story `No Competition' tells the tale of an artist who has a twin sister. They are not identical. The sister is beautiful, but the artist is good looking too; but in the way she acts one would think she was repulsive. Even after she falls in love she cannot believe the man who has proposed to her really loves her and not her beautiful sister. It doesn't make sense except to lengthen the plot and storyline.

These are two stories that are more irritating than entertaining. However the biggest irritation is the fact that publishers continue to blatantly mislead the buying public by publishing books that have been issued before with no obvious disclaimer or warning.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
There is two stores in here for 2 for the price of one and she write so nicely, not a lot of graffic love explainations, she smooths them over so you sort of know it happened. i'm a big fan of her books since I read Blossom Street books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
I had already read it. There were two books in one and I had read one of the two. Don't like it when there are two books in one but didn't realize it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
Outside of a mental institution, I don't believe you will find characters who act the way these characters do. The first half is the story of Elizabeth, a rich girl whose only problem is that she's afraid to tell this guy, Breed, that she has money. (Does anyone in the real world actually name their sons "Breed?"). And this is actually not one book, it's actually two old retreads cobbled together to look new. As bad as the first half is, the second was WORSE. For reasons never stated, Carrie is falsely convinced that her twin sister, Camille, is the only woman any man would want and that she herself is apparently a grotesque pig. Someone apparently beat all the self-confidence out of the girl and how that happened might've made an interesting and sympathetic story. But the reader is never given that much in the way of background. We simply pick up somewhere in the middle with this neurotic fool who does things flee in tears when she sees her own artwork displayed or tries to cancel dates because her eye makeup smears. Her love interest, Shayne, is no better because he keeps coming back for more for reasons that completely elude me. Oh excuse me, it's because of her "paradoxically sophisticated innocence." Yes, Macomber actually uses such clumsy, inept phrases. As someone who usually likes Debbie Macomber’s work, I truly don't know how she got these two dogs published. Don't waste your time!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2013
Debbie Macomber is a great writer & once again I enjoyed the 2 stories in this book..ALL her books are great & would recommend them to anyone..they are easy to read & down to earth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2013
Debbie never disappoints, this was a terrific Summer read. Light interesting and
she takes me out of the everyday into the possiblilities of loving with an open heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2013
Again I enjoyed Debbie Macomber's book. I think I have read everyone she has written and always look forward to her next one.

Marilyn Duvall
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
Debbie Macomber is an awesome Author! I love all her books! Her cover pictures are so inviting also. I become part of the books as I read them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
books are cd are better when on the run. I think Debbie is a great writer and I would totally recommend her books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2016
Great Debbie Macomber book as always!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.