Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good beginning to what will surely be a long conversation
not all of the essays were good. there were a couple whose insights were nowhere near worth the trouble of wading through the academic language the authors use. but most of the essays have interesting things to say, and the eulogies that divide up the book are beautiful. the one by george saunders is especially good. if you're a wallace-head, this will be an enjoyable...
Published 21 months ago by J. Castillo

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'm guessing we'll need to wait a while for actual DFW scholarship
This book is simply unfortunate; DFW deserves better scholars. Virtually all of the articles read like particularly tedious grad student term papers ... the essay on DFW and Nietzsche's concept of oblivion was soul-crushingly terrible, so clearly a case of overreaching; similarly for the "literary" analysis of DFW's journalism. The DFW-isms in the editorial introduction...
Published 2 months ago by P.H.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good beginning to what will surely be a long conversation, March 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legacy of David Foster Wallace (New American Canon) (Paperback)
not all of the essays were good. there were a couple whose insights were nowhere near worth the trouble of wading through the academic language the authors use. but most of the essays have interesting things to say, and the eulogies that divide up the book are beautiful. the one by george saunders is especially good. if you're a wallace-head, this will be an enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Wallace's Strongest Fans, December 2, 2012
By 
Stephen (Batavia, Illinois) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legacy of David Foster Wallace (New American Canon) (Paperback)
The target for this book is primarily scholars, but it also offers much to those like me who simply love Wallace's work. As sometimes happens with scholarly analyses, the prose in some of the essays is turgid, with some jargon. But one can work through that and find great insights and ideas. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Many Followers of David Foster Wallace's Work and Brief Life, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legacy of David Foster Wallace (New American Canon) (Paperback)
Anyone interested in David Foster Wallace's work should read Samuel Coen's thoughtful look at Wallace's life.The picture presented here is critical in the best sense, compassionate, informative, heartbreaking. Cohen gives one a fuller picture of Wallace that many of us, devoted followers of his work, may or may not have had. We see his long struggle with mental illness, his early years, his college years, his development as a writer, his friendships, his dedication to his students, his generosity of spirit, and his work, always the work, the work. . . With Wallace there is so much more one would like to know, the absurd desire to speak to him that accompanies out sense of loss. And so this consideration of his legacy is a treasure to be placed beside The Pale King, our last amazing gift from the writer himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'm guessing we'll need to wait a while for actual DFW scholarship, October 10, 2014
By 
P.H. (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legacy of David Foster Wallace (New American Canon) (Paperback)
This book is simply unfortunate; DFW deserves better scholars. Virtually all of the articles read like particularly tedious grad student term papers ... the essay on DFW and Nietzsche's concept of oblivion was soul-crushingly terrible, so clearly a case of overreaching; similarly for the "literary" analysis of DFW's journalism. The DFW-isms in the editorial introduction are just headache-inducing, and my general feeling while reading the book was "how did a bunch of DFW fanboy grad students in their late 20s manage to actually get this book published?", before I remembered that publication requirements for tenure have led to thousands upon thousands of terrible books that no one really reads. At least the included Delillo and Saunders eulogies (from DFW memorial services) were good, I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, August 23, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Legacy of David Foster Wallace (New American Canon) (Paperback)
The collection offers insight into the man and his most important work. Consider it essential reading for all true Wallace fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Legacy of David Foster Wallace (New American Canon)
The Legacy of David Foster Wallace (New American Canon) by Samuel Cohen (Paperback - April 15, 2012)
$19.95 $15.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.