Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Promising Series
The Niteclif Evolutions: Legacy by Denise Tompkins is an action-packed book that kept me turning the pages. After the loss of her parents, Maddy needs to make a new start. She decides to head off to London with no real plan in place other than to see the stone circles that she keeps visiting in her dreams. After her arrival and an innocent wish, Maddy is thrust into a...
Published on October 20, 2011 by Jaidis Shaw

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of paranormal, a ton of romance
After losing her parents suddenly, Maddy has decided to run away to the UK. As soon as she gets there though, strange things start happening. Maddy soon discovers she is the Niteclif, a sort of supernatural detective for fairies, sprites, vampires, dragons, and the like. She's immediately involved in her first case, which naturally turns out to be way more involved that...
Published on November 15, 2011 by Lisa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Promising Series, October 20, 2011
By 
Jaidis Shaw (South Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legacy (The Niteclif Evolutions) (Kindle Edition)
The Niteclif Evolutions: Legacy by Denise Tompkins is an action-packed book that kept me turning the pages. After the loss of her parents, Maddy needs to make a new start. She decides to head off to London with no real plan in place other than to see the stone circles that she keeps visiting in her dreams. After her arrival and an innocent wish, Maddy is thrust into a strange new world that leaves her little choice as to her future. Not only is she unsure about how she will follow in her family's footsteps as the Niteclif, but she is the first female Niteclif and that in itself raises some questions as there has never been a female Niteclif before.

Bahlin is a dragon shape shifter who has waited for a very long time to meet the Niteclif. Left with a prophecy and a promise to watch over the Niteclif, Bahlin must decide if it is worth risking everything just to receive the one thing that he has ever longed for.

Maddy must learn that not everything that glitters is gold. With a power struggle surging, Maddy must master her new skills before her time, and life, are extinguished. Will she be able to walk away from the one thing her heart yearns for or follow the path that has been placed in front of her?

I am excited to see the path that Maddy, Bahlin and the other characters take in book two of this promising series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legacy, November 13, 2011
This review is from: Legacy (The Niteclif Evolutions) (Kindle Edition)
Maddy Nitecliff has found herself in a rather strange situation. After making a wish on Midsummer's Eve, she finds herself inundated with the supernatural. Apparently she has triggered an ancient legacy to be the ultimate crime solver for the paranormal realm in and around London. But she isn't alone in this life changing experience. The shape-shifting dragon, Bahlin, has appointed himself her guardian and teacher, doing his best to guide her and ease her way into her new life.

But Bahlin has more than just a little crush on Maddy, which only complicates their professional relationship. As he tries to show her his true feelings, he only seems to be making things worse when a spree of murders strikes the paranormal realm. Maddy finds herself on the case, with Bahlin at her side. She needs to find the murderer, stay alive, and figure out who she can really trust, because this time the entire world could be at stake.

As one of the books with a mystery aspect that I didn't guess the answer to within a couple chapters, this book scored major points. The story was so involving that I found myself following the characters instead of trying to predict what they would do or find solutions to their problems. Much like real people, they were a bit unpredictable. The way the paranomal world overlapped and meshed with then normal world as we know it was fantastic. The variety of creatures encountered kept me constantly wondering what I would get to see next.

There was a good chunk of romance, and it was done very well. Maddy was not the kind of person to let just anyone take her to bed. It was refreshing to see such a strong female role played out in a romance.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Story, October 19, 2011
This review is from: Legacy (The Niteclif Evolutions) (Kindle Edition)
Legacy by debut author Denise Tompkins is one of those rare stories that draw you in from the beginning and cause you to lose lots of sleep because you simply can't put it down. This fantastic novel is Book One of the Niteclif Evolutions, a story that centers on a lonely, confused woman named Maddy. When Maddy discovers the true meaning of the adage: "Be careful what you wish for," her life will never be the same as she is drawn into a magical world where she must unravel subtle clues and solve the mystery as to who she is and why she's there. Along the way she is pulled in several directions, never really knowing who she can trust with her heart or her knowledge until the suspenseful end.

I found myself deeply enthralled in the world the author creates, and I was mesmerized by how compelling Ms. Tompkins' voice was throughout the story. Her characters are unique and interesting as she builds a believable world that fades between reality and the magical. The story contains all the aspects I look for in a good urban fantasy: excellent writing, good editing, an interesting plot, strong characters, fantasy, mystery, magic, romance, and some unique and fantastical creatures thrown in for good measure.

This book easily earns a five star rating from me and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great fantasy (Urban or otherwise) to read. I look forward to Wrath, the second Book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Debut Release - Give me more Dragons, October 18, 2011
This review is from: Legacy (The Niteclif Evolutions) (Kindle Edition)
Legacy is a fantastic introduction to a world and series that will capture your heart and hopefully never let go. Denise's debut novel doesn't read like a first time author, and I LOVED it. I for one usually despise prologues, but I take back everything I have ever said about them. Legacy's hooked me from the start and demanded I read the book in one long sitting. I am so happy I did!
I love new and original worlds - and hers is it to a T. The storyline was VERY original. Yes, there was magic and supernatural. But Denise combined a well loved fictional character with a world you could get lost in and never want to find your way out from. Denise's writing made you imagine - think. She didn't lay it out for you, she expected you to pull things together before all was revealed. I loved it.
As fate took over Maddy, her character grew and developed to be a detective. She took what came at her in stride, yet if she was overwhelmed dealt with it. She was human in an inhuman world and believable at that. Amazing work Denise.
Bahlin- his character was heartbreakingly loveable and developed. When angry he went into a brogue. He fought his feelings yet put them on his sleeve at the same time. *sigh* Apparently there is a bidding war for Bay and I cannot have him - yet. He was attentive and helpful as her *ahem* sidekick.
There was mystery, suspense, violence, romance, sexiness, heartache and humor. What more could you as for in just one novel? I know of at least two more books coming in this series and I am eagerly awaiting them!
I flipped through the pages like they were my lifeline. I am utterly spent and my mind is blown. Wow.
Highly recommended for those lovers of fantasy and romance with a little Scottish brogue thrown in.
Be careful what you wish for, because you just may get it ... and a sexy dragon. *wink*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lessons, March 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legacy (The Niteclif Evolutions) (Kindle Edition)
For the first three quarters of the book, my thought was "Hum, not a bad book." Alpha male? Check. A pretty strong female character? Check. Hot sexy fun with a man who has a large... Dragon? Check. And then thought it wouldn't have been worth my time to write a review. BUT the last quarter of the book really hit me with it's best shot.

I might be missing a few crayons outta my 64-pack, but it seems like there's an author's side story to this publication. It feels as though the author has learned some of her own life lessons along the way and we get to reap the benefits from her experiences. If I'm nutso and it's just pure imaginative storytelling, then all I have to say is Ms. Thompkins is at the top of the class for making her characters just that believable. Bravo! Bravo! Encore!

Oh wait, there is an encore and it's called book two. Yipee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be Careful What You Wish For, November 7, 2011
This review is from: Legacy (The Niteclif Evolutions) (Kindle Edition)
Having recently lost both parents, Madeleine Niteclif was searching for connections and for some unknown reason she felt a compulsion to travel to the United Kingdom and visit the famed stone circle of Stonehenge. It's in this famed and mystical circle that her life takes a turn towards the magical. She is thrust into a world of dragons, fairies, vampires and other supposed mythical beings. She is also told that she is to be the supreme law of this supernatural world. It is her duty as the Niteclif, a calling handed down through genetics that must be heeded. She is not in this alone however, Bahlin Drago, a dragon shifter and High Council member and Tarreck, First Prince of Fairy are both eager to lend their assistance in whatever capacity Maddy desires. As her first duty, Maddy must find the culprit behind the recent murders in this magical realm and failure to do so means death. She has to learn quickly that her trust is not always well placed, and since her word is law, Maddy has to be certain she gets it right the first time.

The Niteclif Evolutions offers up a refreshingly unique concept into the paranormal romance genre. This book threw surprises at me right and left, and caused me to reevaluate some long held likes and dislikes. If you like a good 'who dunnit' mystery, you need to jump on board and get this book. Even after the culprit was revealed there were still " Say, WHAT?!?" moments. Told in first person point of view from Maddy's perspective , the reader takes the harrowing journey from grieving human to super cop of the supernatural world right along with the wonderfully snarky heroine. Legacy combines, Celtic and Norse legend together with Sherlock Holmes in a brilliantly executed story that makes total sense. Who'd think of that? Evidently Denise Tompkins. She also throws in some compelling characters full of energy, humor and a smidgen of lust.

Poor Maddy stands up well against these fearsome creatures of myth. Keeping her wits about her, she wields her sharp tongue like the deadliest of blades as she untangles the myriad threats of deceit and treachery surrounding her in this strange land. I can't wait to see what happens next to this fledgling sleuth and her hunky sidekick. There is still a prophecy hanging over their heads and Maddy has made some nasty enemies in her short time on the job. It promises trouble for Maddy, but a good book for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to the next installment, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legacy (The Niteclif Evolutions) (Kindle Edition)
Maddy Niteclif has a big job to do, she the Sherlock Holmes of the supernatural world. She also has some serious personal problems, which causes her romantic relationships to suffer. Fortunately, the men in her life are very persistent, so she has some choices to make.
This is a smart, funny novel with plenty of romance and suspense. I am looking forward to more in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Legacy, December 24, 2012
This review is from: Legacy (The Niteclif Evolutions) (Kindle Edition)
This book is absolutely phenomenal! I was searching for a good read over my winter break and stumbled upon this treasure. I could not stop reading this story. The mystery and romance melded together to create a sensational story. At the end, I had to look up when the next book would be available and I purchased a kindle just so I could read Wrath (book 2). If you like mystery, romance, and becoming completely engrossed in a story. . . then this is a book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great new series, June 18, 2012
This review is from: Legacy (The Niteclif Evolutions) (Kindle Edition)
Wow! This book is off to great start with this new series. Maddy is a detective in the supernatural world, direct descendent from Sherlock Holmes. She just lost her parents and was compelled to come to the Emerald Isle. Maddy is trying to deal with her grief, a whole new world she never new existed and what is means for her to be the Nightcliff. Maddy's partner is A dragon and she is very attracted to him. Maddy is called to the fareie mounds because several beings have gone missing.
Denise has done a fabulous job with the world building. I am in love with this new series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very neat new series, great paranormal romance!, April 3, 2012
This review is from: Legacy (The Niteclif Evolutions) (Kindle Edition)
What if you found out your great-grandfather really was Sherlock Holmes? And that you're supposed to take up his legacy of sleuthing? For most people, it might sound like a dream come true. For Madeleine "Maddy" Niteclif, it's only one of a series of surprising revelations that the world she thought she knew will never be the same. Her journey into paranormal investigations makes for one compelling story.

Legacy, by Denise Tompkins, is the first book in The Niteclif Evolutions, and it is definitely the story of Maddy Niteclif's metamorphosis into a special kind of criminal investigator. Maddy's story begins at the end of her old life, when she's ripe for a change.

Maddy doesn't even know why she is driving around England in the dark, compelled to find Stonehenge. She's not sure why she felt compelled to splurge her vacation money on a trip to England in the first place. What she does know is that she is weighed down by grief at the loss of both her parents in a car accident just a few short months previously.

This trip is her attempt to shake off her crushing depression. But driving around southern England in the dark, on the "wrong" side of the road, directly after getting off a trans-Atlantic flight, trying to find Stonehenge mostly without a map, is not the way to find anything except exhaustion.

Maddy finds a stone circle. She believes its Stonehenge. Except she is able to walk right up to the standing stones. She's certain Stonehenge is fenced off, but this just feels right. Inside the circle, under the stars, Maddy asks, wishes, prays for a changed reality. She wishes to be her old self again; strong, quick-witted, adventurous. And for love to find her. As soon as the wish leaves her heart, she feels the stars spin, and a voice comes out of the darkness, whispering in Gaelic, "Let it begin".

It begins indeed. Maddy makes her way back to London, only to be confronted by two men as soon as she falls asleep. Bahlin and Tarrek invade her dreams. Either or both are more than charming and sexy enough to be her dream man, but two of them?

When Maddy wakes, she discovers that her dream introductions were real! Bahlin Drago invades her room, and her life. Drago for dragon. Bahlin is a shapeshifter, and a member of High Council that governs supernatural creatures.

Confused? So was Maddy. She was having a hard time believing everything that Bahlin had to tell her, both before and after he magically opened the door of her hotel room. However, it was necessary that Maddy believe. Why? Because her family wasn't just Niteclif, she was THE Niteclif, the office responsible for investigating crimes among supernaturals, and between supernaturals and humans.

That was how great-grandad got to be Holmes. He was the previous Niteclif investigator. Now it's Maddy's turn. As soon as she figures out what she's supposed to do. And how she's supposed to do it.

Bahlin is more than willing to help her. After all, he played Watson to her great-grandfather's Holmes.

But there's this one tiny problem. Maddy is the first female Niteclif to take up the office. And there's a prophecy about whichever male member of the Council manages to get her into his bed, he'll become the Head of the High Council.

There's that old saying, you know the one, "Power corrupts". So is Bahlin courting Maddy and being so wonderful because he genuinely wants to help her, or because he wants to be Head of the High Council?

And then there was that other dream man. Tarrek is a fae prince and also on the High Council. What game is he playing?

It's not just Maddy's life on the line, it's her heart.

Escape Rating B+: Maddy's late evening drive through the English countryside made for a slightly strange start, but once she hit that hotel bed and started dreaming, the story had a breakneck pace with lots of compelling twists and turns. Reading how an author starts with a prophecy and then has the characters subvert it instead of going meekly to their fate is angsty but makes for great reading.

I did figure out who one of the bad guys was long before the end, but not the other one, nor did I get quite how far around the bend things were. I always give "points" for fooling me. I got caught up in the romance and missed some of the clues about the evildoers. Excellently done!

Originally published at Reading Reality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Legacy (The Niteclif Evolutions)
$4.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.