Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $1.50 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Legacy: Klaus Tennstedt conducts the Boston Symphony Orchestra - Bruckner: Symphony No. 7 (2012)

Tennstedt , Boston Symphony Orchestra , --  |  NR |  DVD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

List Price: $24.99
Price: $22.98 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
You Save: $2.01 (8%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, Sept. 2? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

Legacy: Klaus Tennstedt conducts the Boston Symphony Orchestra - Bruckner: Symphony No. 7 + Mahler: Symphony No. 4 / Mozart: Symphony No. 35 - Boston Symphony Orchestra / Tennstedt
Price for both: $47.97

Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Actors: Tennstedt, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Bruckner
  • Directors: --
  • Format: Multiple Formats, Classical, Color, NTSC
  • Language: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: ICA
  • DVD Release Date: March 27, 2012
  • Run Time: 66 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • ASIN: B006VOX7O0
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #347,271 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Special Features


Editorial Reviews

This rare material represents some of the
earliest concert footage that exists of Klaus
Tennstedt from this key chapter in his career
and has been restored using the greatest care
and state-of-the-art techniques. It is of
exceptional musical interest and historic value.
This concert took place just 3 years after
Tennstedt made his dramatic US debut with the
BSO performing Bruckner 8 - a newspaper
headline the following day described the
experience as 'once in a lifetime'.
Tennstedt formed a very special relationship
with the BSO, conducting it regularly for
10 years. They covered a great deal of the
core Austro-German repertoire that suited
Tennstedt so well.
This DVD is only the second instance of a
performance featuring Tennstedt with the
BSO having been made available to the public
and represents some of the earliest concert
footage with this great conductor.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tennstedt's Timeless Bruckner June 16, 2012
The legendary Klaus Tennstedt (1926-1998) leads a riveting, intensely lyrical performance of Anton Bruckner's most popular and immediately appealing symphony. Tennstedt's tempos, at least in the first two movements, are somewhat slower than the norm. The second, for example, stretches out to a leisurely twenty-two and one half minutes. But the conductor's dramatic gift ensures that each episode commands our undivided attention. Moreover he manages Bruckner's often abrupt changes of mood and color with uncommon skill and sensitivity. Indeed this splendid performance alone would guarantee Tennstedt a place in the pantheon of great Bruckner interpreters from Wilhelm Furtwangler to Christian Thielemann.

The video reveals that Tennstedt conducts with his entire body--particularly his hands, elbows, shoulders, and head. Gestures range from the tiniest motion of the tip of the baton to broad, sweeping movements of the conductor's arms which slash the air wildly and bring forth volcanic eruptions from the great Boston Symphony. According to the booklet, Tennstedt was so nervous and insecure in 1974 that he very nearly cancelled his first appearance with this orchestra. Here, just three years later, he exudes tremendous confidence and exercises total command of his forces. Nonetheless he is not afraid to smile when warranted by the music and to even dance a bit in the joyous scherzo.

It is unclear from the booklet which edition of the score Tennstedt employed for this performance. However the controversial cymbal crash in the slow movement, restored by Leopold Nowak in 1954, is included.

This DVD captures the Boston band at very nearly the peak of its considerable powers.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category