Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits Their Greatest CD
You can make a case that any artists greatest hits collection would be their greatest album, and Legacy is no different. The "Boyz" arent as popular as they were in the mid 1990's because they kept true to their work and didnt evolve with what music is popular today. However, its great to sit back and listen to these songs to remember why Boyz II Men has some...
Published on February 17, 2003 by Jim Rush

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a very good CD
Its not a very good cd only 2 songs r any good I would like to return it. Can I return it?
Published 21 months ago by PRich


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits Their Greatest CD, February 17, 2003
By 
Jim Rush (Huntington, WV USA) - See all my reviews
You can make a case that any artists greatest hits collection would be their greatest album, and Legacy is no different. The "Boyz" arent as popular as they were in the mid 1990's because they kept true to their work and didnt evolve with what music is popular today. However, its great to sit back and listen to these songs to remember why Boyz II Men has some (including the biggest) hits of all time.
MotownPhilly----This song is a classic, their first single release, by todays standards its kinda poppy and not very complicated musically by the standards of the rest of their work, but its rare to get such great voice harmonies on a fast song.
It's So Hard To Say Goodbye To Yesterday----This is my all-time favorite Boyz II Men song, their recore company said an a capella song would never get radio play, but this song became their first smash hit.
End Of The Road--This is the song that established Boyz II Men as one of the greatest artists of all time, it went to being the longest running song at #1 of all time, a total of 13 straight weeks, and while it no longer holds the top spot, it is definitely one of their best songs.
In The Still Of The Night--The "Boyz" recorded this song for "The Jacksons, An American Dream" movie and proved that It's So Hard... was not a fluke, and that a capella songs could be real hits in the 1990's.
Hey Lover--Nate, Mike, Shawn & Wan only sing backup and the chorus on this song with LL Cool J, but it did make them crossover favorites with rap fans.
I'll Make Love To You--After Whitney Houstons "I Will ALways Love You" surpassed "End Of The Road" for the #1 song of all time, Boyz II Men took their spot at the top of the all time charts back with this summer of 1994 smash that sat at #1 for 15 straight weeks on Billboards charts.
On Bended Knee--The follow up to "I'll Make LoVe To You" also went to # 1 on Billboards charts and enhanced the album "II" as Boyz II Mens biggest selling album.
Water Runs Dry--The "Boyz" explored accoustic R&B on this hit which was the follow up to "On Bended Knee" off of the "II" album.
One Sweet Day--This song now holds the top spot all time on Billboards charts. Boyz II Men and Mariah Carey were undoubtebly the two biggest selling artists of the 1990's, and its only fitting that their one duet stayed at #1 for an amazing 17 straight weeks.
Doin' Just Fine--I hate to say it but I have no idea why this song is even on a greatest hits CD, I think it would have been better replaced with "Thank You" or "I WIll Get There" or "Good Guy".
4 Seasons Of Lonliness--This song was the first single released from the "Evolution" CD and as of now is BOyz II Mens last #1 hit on Billboards Charts
Song For Mama--This is one of Boyz Ii Mens most beautiful songs ever. From the opening piano sequence to their unmatched vocal harmony, this song is what true R&B is all about.
Pass You By--This was supposed to be Boyz II Mens triumphant return, from the "Nathan, Michael, Shawn, Wanya" CD. However, it ended up being a bust and got very little radio play, however it does explore some deep harmonies and is one of Boyz II Mens best little played songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boyz II Men's finest!, February 25, 2002
By 
I. Allison (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Motownphilly" was the sound that introduced us to Boyz, other than their founder, Mike Bivins (of New Edition and BBD fame.) Their tight harmonies and unique sound made them THE ultimate quartet of the 90s (excluding Jodeci.) "It's So Hard..." was another song that showcased their harmonies best. This song was best used at funerals and the like. "End of the Road" was another song best known from the Boomerang soundtrack and also spent an amazing 13+ weeks at the top of the charts. "In Still Of the Night.." a nice cover of a classic. "Hey Lover" w/ LL Cool J was a hit for both-it appeared on Cool J's 1996 album "Mr Smith." "I'll Make Love..." was another big hit for the Boyz off their "II" album, as so was "On Bended Knee." "Water Runs Dry" was another single with a classical feel to it, graciously tuned by the sounds of the violin. "One Sweet Day" was a hit for them as well as Mariah, as it appears on her "#1's" album as well as here. "4 Seasons of Loneliness" appeared on their "Evolution" album, as did "A Song for Mama" which was first heard on the "Soul Food" soundtrack. Go and get this album, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Legacy, November 13, 2001
By 
F. Ashley (Puyallup, Washington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an absolute must-have for ANY Boyz II Men fan! It has (almost) all the hits (i.e.-End Of The Road; One Sweet Day; Bended Knee; Hey Lover; It's So Hard To Say Goodbye To Yesterday, etc.) that any Boyz II Men/R&B/music lover will love-guaranteed! Though their official website says there is 14 tracks, there's only 13, them being:
1. Motownphilly
2. It's So Hard To Say Goodbye To Yesterday
3. End Of The Road
4. In The Still Of The Nite (I'll Remember)
5. Hey Lover (w/LL Cool J)
6. I'll Make Love To You
7. On Bended Knee
8. Water Runs Dry
9. One Sweet Day (w/Mariah Carey)
10. Doin' Just Fine
11. 4 Seasons Of Loneliness
12. A Song For Mama
13. Pass You By
I recommend that any/everyone get this CD cause it is well-worth your money!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Fan, August 5, 2003
I have listened to Boyz II Men since i was a child and i always have liked their vocals and this cd is a collection so SOME of their greatest hits for their career. The best songs to me for the album are: End of the Road, Water Runs Dry, One sweet Day, Motown Philly, Donin Just Fine, and 4 Seasons of Loneliness. DON'T get me wrong i LOVE all the songs but for me those i just posted were the best because they displayed their vocals the best and showed the creativity of their songs and how you can actually feel the songs instead of just listen to them. Boyz II Men to me is just getting started and will definity be coming again with biggers and (Probably) better things and they will definity be around for a while. This is the best collection of their songs and abilities to show off their talents. YOU MUST BUY THIS CD IN ORDER TO UNDERSTAND THE START AND PRESENT DAY OF THEIR CAREER from what they started as to what they have become now,. This cd is worth every penny you spend and you DEFINITLY won't be sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boyz II Men shows why their legacy will live on., August 23, 2004
This review is from: Legacy: Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Absolutely this CD was worth the buck with disc 2. Disc 2 is all that I listen to with all of the remixes especially of "I'll Make Love To You" & "Water Runs Dry". To me what separates Boyz II Men from the rest of the pack besides a group like Intro is that they talk about love and life. That is something that is definitely lacking in today's music trend. Also, this group don't really have a lot of appearances by other artists that really makes this group special. Boyz II Men has set the bar for anybody to top what they did and I don't think that the way the music is going today that no one will come close to what they have accomplished. So guys, great job and great compilation!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Retrospective, October 15, 2002
By 
I find it strange how quickly Boyz II Men have seemed to fade. They had some of the best 90's pop and R&B and some of the biggest hits of that decade. Most are represented here. Their first album was a smash and included some of their best songs "Motownphilly," "It's So Hard To Say Goodbye To Yesterday", and "In the Still of the Nite." They also had a huge hit with "End of the Road" in 1992 from the Boomerang soundtrack. Their 2nd album is their undisputed "super album" and launched one of the biggest singles of all time, the fantastic "I'll Make Love To You" along with "Water Runs Dry" and one of my personal favorites "On Bended Knee." Then Boyz II Men reached their peak as they along with Mariah Carey *another fantastic pop artist* contributed to the biggest single of all time "One Sweet Day." Then, that's when things started to fade for the supergroup. Their 3rd album launched the beautiful #1 hit "4 Seasons of Loneliness" along with another equally good song "Doin Just Fine" but it had nowhere near the success of their previous albums. Then their 4th album did lesser still and is only represented here by "Pass You By" which is still a good song. It's a shame that Boyz II Men aren't getting the attention they once did. They offer some good material and deserved all the success they got in their prime which was the mid-90's. This is a definite first rate purchase for anyone who wants to experience their music that might have missed it the first time around. Also, if you like this, I recommend the Backstreet Boys. Another very talented group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boyz II Men at their best!, October 19, 2005
By 
Brittany Bordelon (Denham Springs, LA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was an avid fan of Boyz II Men when their CDs were still being released and at one point I owned every single one of them. As time passed by I realized that I had no idea what happened to all of them. I would get one of their songs stuck in my head and couldn't find the CDs anywhere. So instead of buying all of their albums again, I figured I would just get the greatest hits. I'm glad I did! This album captures the finest work done by this group. All the best songs are on here and you can't help but enjoy yourself while listening. Would recommend to any Boyz II Men fan or anyone who wants some great R & B music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Skip Legacy - Get the Millennium Collection, September 29, 2003
By 
Pat Kelly (Here, There & Everywhere) - See all my reviews
As of October 2003, you will be better off getting the cheaper and better Boyz II Men Millennium Collection. Search Amazon for B0000CERLF - it'll take you right there.
You lose two tracks from Legacy: Hey Lover with LL Cool J, and One Sweet Day with Mariah Carey, but there are plenty of Carey collections with the latter song.
But you gain the #1 song "Thank You", plus "Uhh Ahh" and the gorgeous acapella track "It's So Hard To Say Goodbye to Yesterday".
And you save a coupla bucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The True Legacy, February 17, 2004
This review is from: Legacy: Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Finally a double disc that is worthy of Boyz ii men's true legendary status, unlike the 1st version which was only for the Curious. This is true value for money especially for people who missed on the Remix collection in 95. The 1st Disc is a compilation of all charted boyz ii men songs and is great for those who are just getting introduced to their music, or for collectors who felt shy to pick up one or more of their CDs. The 2nd Disc is really gold esp. for fans, diehard, cursory, or just those looking to hear the best music in the world. There are some wholly new remixes. I especially love the jazzy version of Vibin. It is also a compilation of songs that could previously only be found in other artists CDs: One Sweet Day with Mariah, Hey Lover with LL Cool J, Not me(previously unreleased), Visions of a Sunset by Shawn Stockman (Mr. Holland's Opus soundtrack), I will get there (Prince of Egypt soundtrack) and Your home is in my heart with Chanté Moore(How stella got her groove back soundtrack).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There Legacy, April 16, 2004
By 
Chris (St.Louis,MO) - See all my reviews
This is a great collection 0f Boyz II Men hits and I will give you a review by review of this album this is a great one.
1.Motownphilly-This is there 1st song R&B/Hip Hop 10/10
2.Its so hard to say good bye to yesterday-For Daryl Kile 10/10
3.End of the Road-Broke a 38 year record #1(13)weeks 10/10
4.In the still of the night-Great singing 9/10
5.Hey Lover-A nice smooth love rap song for ya 10/10
6.Ill make love to you-Probally there best song solo 10/10
7.On Bended Knee-sounds like Incomplete by Sisqo 10/10
8.Water Runs Dry-song beautifully 10/10
9.One Sweet Day-My #1 or #2 song of all time #1(16weeks)10/10
10.Doin just fine-I guess it is OK 8/10
11.4 Seasons of Loneliness-There last #1 Hit this is great 10/10
12.A Song for mama-This was also a great song 9/10
13.Passin me by-Should have been a big hit but its great 10/10
Lyrics 10 Production 10 Music 10 Style 10 Voice 10
Overall=50/50 This album is perfect for Boyz II Men fans
This simply a must buy in R&B or pop music get it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.