Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic opener for new series
USAF pilot "Banzai" Maguire heads out over North Korean territory with her wingman Cam "Scarlet" Tucker on a UN sanctioned fly over mission. What should have been routine mission turns out to be a battle for survival when both of their F-16's are shot down. Captured by an over the edge scientist, Banzai and Cam are put into bio-stasis for what was...
Published on April 4, 2004 by runuts74

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay
I love many of Susan Grant's books, and I enjoy good sci fi/fantasy/romance, but this one was just okay to me. It just didn't do it for me, like the Star King series (which was great). The story had promise, but just fell a little flat for me. There wasn't enough interaction between the two main characters to really generate believable chemistry, in my opinion. Since...
Published on August 1, 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic opener for new series, April 4, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
USAF pilot "Banzai" Maguire heads out over North Korean territory with her wingman Cam "Scarlet" Tucker on a UN sanctioned fly over mission. What should have been routine mission turns out to be a battle for survival when both of their F-16's are shot down. Captured by an over the edge scientist, Banzai and Cam are put into bio-stasis for what was supposed to be a short-term experiment
In 2176, Ty Armstrong, U.C.E. SEAL commander and treasure hunter finally finds what has been a life long fascination, the legendary Banzai Maguire, still in stasis and alive after 170 years. Before he can revive her completely he is overwhelmed by the forces of Kyber Han, tyrannical ruler of the Kingdom of Asia, leaving Banzai in his hands and Ty a prisoner.
Ms. Grant has done it again, mixing a military style with romance in such a way that will have her readers marking calendars in anticipation of the four stories to follow in what promises to be a fantastic series. THE LEGEND OF BANZAI MAGUIRE is fast paced, with twists and turns guaranteed to keep you turning page after page. A riveting story to draw you into the 2176 series to come.
I CAN'T WAIT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, fab, FABulous book!!, April 7, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
One of the things about being a writer is that it's very difficult to read fiction as the result of your career. Fortunately, I've found a few authors who really know how to write, and thus I find their books well-crafted, entertaining and just down right fun. Susan Grant is one of those authors.
Banzai was every bit as wonderful as I expected it to be. Part Star Wars, part Buck Rogers, I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. Action, adventure and mystery--this book has it all.
If you, like me, wanted Princess Lea to end up with Darth Vader, and if you like a battle of good versus evil, this is the book for you. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, May 16, 2004
This review is from: The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
It was wonderful! I LOVED IT! It was well worth waiting for (even if I didn't like the waiting part too much)!
The action scenes are amazingly realistic. Coming from a hand-to-hand combat perspective, even the ground scenes are great. Very straight forward and easy to `picture' - no bizarre moves that could only happen with a really good special effects team. I tend to get a little frustrated by scenes that have the character backflipping and kicking someone in the head while shooting a semi-automatic (or better yet, let's just use a fully automatic) at some target that's so close that their weapon barely clears the space between them...
And the aerial/flight scenes are thrilling to read! Very intense. I could almost feel the sweat on Banzai's face!
SO, what I am trying to say, in my very jumbled way is...the book was so refreshing to read. The author makes the story come to life for her readers and I, for one, appreciate the effort she makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, April 19, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Usually the only "future" books I read are J.D. Robb's Death series. I took a chance on this just because I was looking for something a little different and I found it! I could not put it down and read it in one day. I'm looking forward to the rest of the series and can't wait for the end book by Susan Grant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the Red, White, and Blue, May 6, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book in a series of five. If all are as good as this, it will be great.
Bree (Banzai) Maguire is a fighter pilot in 2006. She is patroling the no-man's land between North and South Korea. She and her wingman, Cam (Scarlett) Tucker, are both shot down, captured, and placed in cryo-freeze.
Now 170 years later, she is awakened by a UCE (United Colonies of Earth) SEAL. Tyler Armstrong hunts for treasure when he is not busy serving his country.
Prince Kyber is the ruler of Asia. Bree was found by Ty but Kyber's men caught them before she was fully revived.
Who to trust? Nothing is as it was when she went to sleep. Both men want her, both hate each other, and neither knows how to bring peace to the world.
Bree wants to find Cam. That is her priority. She must choose. Following her instincts, she chooses Ty.

Ty and Bree escape Kyber with the help of the Shadow runners. Who they are, we don't know yet.
When they are attacked by a SEAL that Ty knows, they make a decision to fight for freedom and to find the shadow voice.
This is an exciting, futuristic, adventure. I loved this book. Susan Grant has yet to write a bad book. I look forward to the next one in the series Day of Fire, by Kathleen Nance. NO 3, The Shadow Runners, by Liz Maverick. No 4, The Power of Two, by Patti O'Shea. No 5, The Scarlett Empress, by Susan Grant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Action/romance series/line starts with a bang., May 10, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
When Bree 'Banzai' Maguire and her wingman Cam 'Scarlet' Tucker are shot down over North Korea, their fight for survival takes a strange turn. A deranged scientist has shot them down strictly to use as guinea pigs in a cryogenics experiment. Something goes wrong and Banzai is not awakened until the year 2176 by a treasure hunting SEAL name Ty Armstrong. But things do not go as planned and Banzai winds up the affectionate prisoner of an arrogant, yet gentle, prince. Some romance fans may grumble that action and world building take a front seat to the romance, then again this is the first of a five book series, so the world needs to be very well developed to hold the stories to come. Undoubtedly most futurist fans will love it, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, April 7, 2004
By 
Merline Lovelace (Oklahoma City, OK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
That's all I can say about Banzai Maguire - wow!!!! I thought Susan Grant's Contact was great -- this book is even faster, hotter, and more action packed. I can't wait for the next books in the series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Journey Begins..., May 9, 2004
This review is from: The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the story of Bree "Banzai" Maguire and the beginning of a wonderfully written futuristic series by four astronomical authors.
The story begins in the year 2006 where Bree and her wingman (wingWOman in this instance) Cam are preparing for a routine flight. Bree has a feeling of "impending doom" where Cam is concerned but talks herself out of acting on it. As Bree and Cam are flying, they get shot down and captured by a mad scientist, then frozen for 170 yrs.
2176: Bree is awakened by man #1, Ty Armstrong, and then almost immediately stolen by man #2, Prince Kyber, where upon the plot thickens.
Will she Choose Ty, the one who makes her heart pound with excitement everytime she thinks of him, or will she choose Kyber, the one who has protected her and forced her to face her weaknesses since the moment they met? To find out read the book.
I really enjoyed this book. With its action packed story line and the battle over one woman, it is a page turner. Keep Bree in mind because she and the "Shadow Voice" are the keys that keep the other four books melding together.
The ending made one think "I wish the other ones were already out," and leaves you begging for more.
Once again, this is a wonderful and exciting beginning to a new action packed, futuristic series of books.
This series is DEFFINATELY destined for my personal library shelves, in other words, the series is a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting military science fiction romance, March 27, 2004
This review is from: The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
In 2006 Captain Bree "Banzai" Maguire and her wingman Cam "Scarlet" Tucker fly a sortie over North Korean when both of their F-16 jets are shot down by surface to air missiles. A fanatical scientist apparently not associated with the North Korean government captures both American aviators. He injects the duo with some sort of experimental elixir.
In 2176 United Colonies of Earth SEAL Commander Tyler Armstrong tries to rescue two Korean War pilots allegedly still alive due to a cryobiology experiment. Tyler knows the danger of entering the Kingdom of Asia, but firmly believes the credo that the military never leaves anyone behind. An added impetus is that he is already half in love with the legendary Banzai. He succeeds in finding his Sleeping Beauty, but not her wingman Scarlet. Before Tyler can flee with Banzai, soldiers of the Kingdom of Asia's ruler Prince Kyber catch him. As Kyber and Tyler compete for the affection of a now awake Banzai, the two men reassess their values and patriotism influenced by the twenty first century legend that will soon shake a world.
This is an exciting military science fiction romance tale that readers will enjoy immensely. The story line is action packed yet allows the audience to see deep into the personalities of the romantic triangle. The superpower rivalries (there is at least one more) are cleverly designed, but the key to this terrific tale is Ms. Grant enables readers to observe life in 2176 as fans along with Banzai will know what its like to fall through the rabbit hole. Hopefully Scarlet's tale is told shortly.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fighter Pilot Wakes up in the Future and Finds herself in a Dangerous Love Triangle, December 28, 2005
By 
Dakota "daxydakota" (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
THE LEGEND OF BANZAI MAGUIRE by Susan Grant is the first in a five-book futuristic romance series written by four different authors. The gist of the story is that U.S. air force pilot Bree "Banzai" Maguire is shot down over North Korea, captured, and put into bio-statis. But when she wakes up, she discovers it's 176 years later, and two hunky men - one a prince, the other a treasure hunter - are fighting over possessing her.

I really enjoyed the author's description of the future, as well as her realistic and fascinating tidbits about military life. I also thought the story was engaging and attention-grabbing, especially when the love triangle was thrown in. It was fun reading!

However, a couple things kept me from giving the book 5 stars. For one, the initial set-up (in which Bree and her wingman are shot down and captured) takes 50-plus pages to describe. For another, the "legend" part wasn't clear to me. If the legend was supposed to be about pilots gone missing, then wouldn't the legend be about them both, not just Bree? Also, Bree hadn't done anything before being shot down that merited hero-worship status. Nor did she think to question anyone as to why they were hero worshiping her, which frankly I thought odd. Finally, the ending was too abrupt to satisfy and the epilogue actually detracted me. I'd WANTED to read the next book immediately ... until I read the epilogue. Now I'm not so excited.

Anyway, it's still an interesting book ... but ONLY IF you are prepared to read the rest of the books in the series, because THE LEGEND OF BANZAI MAGUIRE definitely doesn't stand alone as a "happily ever after" romance.

***The "2176 series" includes book #1 THE LEGEND OF BANZAI MAGUIRE by Susan Grant, #2 DAY OF FIRE by Kathleen Nance, #3 THE SHADOW RUNNERS by Liz Maverick, #4 THE POWER OF TWO by Patti O'Shea, and #5 THE SCARLET EMPRESS by Susan Grant.***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1)
The Legend of Banzai Maguire (2176 Series, Book 1) by Susan Grant (Mass Market Paperback - April 1, 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.