Customer Reviews


293 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (51)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Six Principal DVD Versions
As of this review, there are now six DVD versions of this film, all of which I've purchased and closely examined.

1. Henstooth Video (July 2, 2002) listed 85 minutes.

Good picture quality, a nearly perfect print, save one spot where the underlying print has a skip, at 32:54, and one loses a word of the song: "[Here] the Sulphur River flows..." It is...
Published on May 26, 2012 by Poisoned Dragon

versus
29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Fouke Monster in Pseudo-Documentary
Although folklore suggests sightings as early as the 1850s, something has troubled the tiny town of Fouke, Arkansas since the 1940s right up to present day--and residents claim it is a tall, hairy creature with hands like a man and glowing red eyes. And after a series of somewhat spectacular sightings in the early 1970s, director Charles B. Pierce decided to make a movie...
Published on December 13, 2003 by Gary F. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Six Principal DVD Versions, May 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Boggy Creek (DVD)
As of this review, there are now six DVD versions of this film, all of which I've purchased and closely examined.

1. Henstooth Video (July 2, 2002) listed 85 minutes.

Good picture quality, a nearly perfect print, save one spot where the underlying print has a skip, at 32:54, and one loses a word of the song: "[Here] the Sulphur River flows..." It is this defect which makes the Cheezy Flicks print identifiable as being derived from the Henstooth. This one has a cute menu, featuring one of the Circes looking out the window; the window frame contains a small snatch of moving gifs featuring the Creature.

2. Sterling Entertainment (July 31, 2002) listed 85 minutes.

This print begins with the Cinema Shares International Distribution Corporation logo, something the others (except Beach) lack. The picture quality is a shade less than the Henstooth, and unlike the Henstooth, this one cuts off a couple of seconds at the end of the credits, which is maddening to a completist. Under the film title (5:40), the artifact "© 1975 Pierce Ledwell Productions" has been electronically added. In a few sections, the sound/picture timing is a couple of seconds off - one sees the cow startle and move before the Creature screeches (13:04). Very annoying when you're watching, once you've noticed it. These defects are also found in the Beach Productions version.

3. Education2000inc (February 2, 2002) listed 90 minutes.

No doubt about it - this is the worst version, hands down (or was, until the On-Demand DVD-R came along). Picture is grainy, color bluish-green, contrast very poor, and dark - one can't make out much in the darker scenes. The print has an old, scratched "Rated G" bumper at the beginning. But it has one thing going for it, which might make it desirable to someone with the technical know-how to digitize, computer-enhance and improve the print: It's widescreen. But just watching it, that's a quality one can't appreciate, because the screen is compressed to fullscreen; everything's skinny. There's a small white dot in the lower righthand side of the picture that maddeningly remains for the entire film. The description claims to be 90 minutes, but it's no different from the rest - all of the versions clock in around 87 minutes.

4. Cheezy Flicks Entertainment (May 6, 2008) listed 85 minutes.

This one uses the Henstooth print, with its same identifying quirks, but has enhanced the color, resolution, and contrast slightly. As far as watching copies go, it's probably got the best picture, if you don't mind the Cheezy Flicks artifacts it imposes just after "This is a True Story," and again at the end, during the credits. As a bonus, there are some very old B&W Drive In theater bumps on a menu selection called "Intermission Time."

5. Beach Productions (November 22, 2009) listed 87 minutes.

This one is a cheaper reissue of the Sterling, on a white paper-covered disc, with a color print copy of the case cover art.

6. Amazon Manufactured On Demand (March 28, 2012) 87 minutes.

This one is burned onto a DVD-R, with no frills whatsoever. It is the worst of the group, even worse than the Education 2000 version, for its picture is contained within a thick black frame that occupies fully one quarter of the available screen space; the picture itself is a small window in the center. Within that window, the picture is ostensibly full screen, but figures show that peculiar narrowing that denotes compression. The picture lacks resolution, so much so that most of the names on the end credits are unreadable yellow blobs. The sound is overloud, and lacks crispness; there is a lot of hissing and popping. This version does not have the Cinema Shares International Distribution Corporation logo at the beginning, but instead an ugly "Rated G" in poor condition. At 1:14:45 (panther tracks under the Ford house), there is traveling tracking static moving up and down the screen, revealing that this version was sourced from a VHS tape. Amazon ought to be ashamed, especially since there is a better version out there to use as a source - the free public domain version at Archive.org, in letterbox, no less. That was the version I'd hoped they'd dressed up, polished, and burned to a disc. I could not be more disappointed.

I hope these descriptions will help the would-be collector of this film to make an informed choice from the versions currently available. Of course, it's to be hoped that a future release, with anamorphic widescreen, subtitles, and special features will someday eclipse these. I know I'd buy it. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I ain't going in no woods never again!!!, February 16, 2003
By 
Brian Sullivan (Grover's Mill, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Boggy Creek (DVD)
I've had an interest in Bigfoot since I was a little kid, and BOGGY CREEK was one of the first experiences I'd had with Bigfoot Docudramas. There's a part in the movie where the narrator says "I was a boy when I first heard him scream. It scared me then, and it scares me now." Know what? It scared the bejeezus out of me too, and it still does! There's a lot of behind the scenes stuff about the making of BOGGY CREEK that makes me wonder about the integrity of its director, but personal politics aside, this is one fine example of why at 33 years of age I STILL won't go wandering around in the woods. Sure it's just a guy in a ratty monster suit, and the reenactments are sometimes on the cheezy side, but there's something about this movie that gets under your skin and stays there. If you like the Sasquatch like I like the Sasquatch, then throw away that godawful fourth-generation VHS copy and pick up this DVD. It's about as good as BOGGY CREEK is ever gonna look, and with it on disc you can jump right to your favorite scenes. Mine's the one where the monster grabs at the guy sitting on the toilet. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This is Where the Story Plays...", July 12, 2002
By 
Pat A Reinhardt (Louisville, KY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legend of Boggy Creek (DVD)
Okay, you can toss your bootlegs, the greatest Bigfoot Docu-drama of all time is -finally- available again, and in DVD for the first time (legit, anyhow.)
No, the print isn't fantastic, no it's not in widescreen, but it's THE LEGEND OF BOGGY CREEK, people! C'mon! You get to hear a guy wonder if maybe an orangutan was in his sweet potato patch! You get to listen to another guy who got part of his foot shot off in a freak boating accident! You get to ponder why so many people in Arkansas seem to be named "Crabtree"!!
And that way cool SONG! How many other bigfoot movies have a love-theme for the MONSTER?!! (And there's another song about...another guy named "Crabtree", but hey...)
In all honesty, I'd have LOVED to have seen this restored and released in widescreen. However, I share the opinion that a widescreen print of the film may not -exist- now. At any rate, the DVD is head and shoulders above any VHS copy that's been released to date. Some of the colors come in like gangbusters at the least expected times, and you can actually see the grain on the tree bark in the darker scenes, so this is the best transfer this film has ever had, without doubt. My biggest complaint is that annoying little white speck about halfway up on the right side of the middle of the picture. What the heck IS that?
"The Legend of Boggy Creek" is one of my absolute -favorite- films from my childhood. It has withstood viewing after viewing, it doesn't get old, it's just it's own sorta good, clean FUN. There's never been anything like it, before or since.
Gotta love that song...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what a difference, February 3, 2003
By 
H man (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Boggy Creek (DVD)
this dvd version of LEGEND OF BOGGY CREEK/Sterling Ent is the best transfer yet.
.., WOW, what a difference from the initial crummy release of this movie on dvd. Make sure you get this one, the picture is a hundred times clearer, the sound is so much better, I felt transported back in time, like I was watching it on the big screen. The shots of the monster are super clear. I can't express enough how this clear version makes a huge Total different watching experience then the first dvd release of this classic. For those of you who have the crummy first release of the dvd, with the mysterious white dot in the right corner of the entire movie...guess what....it's gone!!!
Sterling Ent dvd studio is the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He Always Travels the Creek..., April 18, 2005
By 
Monty Moonlight (Austin, TX, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Legend of Boggy Creek (DVD)
Fouke, Arkansas is a microscopic town located near Texarkana, by the Texas/Arkansas border. It's the kind of town you can drive through without even knowing you were there. People do it everyday. If they only knew what a mysterious place they were passing through, they might actually stop and look around for a while. Ya see, Fouke is said to be the home of "The Legend of Boggy Creek."

The legend is known as the Fouke Monster, a huge, hairy, three-toed, red-eyed, bigfoot-like creature, and it's said that he's been sighted in those parts for over a hundred years. It was his rash of bold appearances in the 70s, however, that inspired director Charles B. Pierce (the man behind "The Town That Dreaded Sundown" and "Boggy Creek 2: The Legend Continues") to make this B-movie that is, in fact, a legend in itself. The film is a docu-drama of sorts; a collection of reenactments of some of the more recent and horrific sightings of the creature as experienced by residents of the area. Like the original "Texas Chainsaw Massacre," or similar films like "Just Before Dawn" and "Encounter With the Unknown," "The Legend of Boggy Creek" is saturated with a highly effective, eerie atmosphere that is enhanced by the low budget, the creepy setting, the amateur acting from average looking people, and the otherworldly decade in which it was shot. The surreal music, which includes two original folk songs that greatly add to this bizarre viewing experience (one sung by the director, himself), combines with the swampy locale to transport the viewer to a dreamlike reality that can quickly turn into a nightmare at a moment's notice. The film may seem tame by today's standards, heck, during the day it's almost relaxing, but the knowledge that the stories are supposedly true can still provide the viewer with some decent creeps when seen in the proper atmosphere and setting. Despite the bookend tale of the film's narrator character, the whole thing comes off as very sincere and convincing.

For cryptozoology fans and 70's B-horror lovers alike, "The Legend of Boggy Creek" is a must for the home library. The DVD presents the film in fullscreen format, and the picture and sound quality are less than perfect, but completely watchable. The photo gallery and production notes are nothing more than stills from the film, and the only other extra is a Filmography for director Charles B. Pierce. Still, "The Legend of Boggy Creek" is an affordable American classic that every true film buff should own! Don't expect fantastic camera work, gripping character dialogue, or mind-blowing effects, but if you're interested in hearing some spooky tales of what might be lurking out in the woods and swamps by day, and occasionally coming by your house to pay you a visit at night, this one's for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Folk Lore at its best, July 23, 2003
By 
ArtSpiker "pegasusblue" (above the delicatessan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legend of Boggy Creek (DVD)
I have recently started to revisit films I had seen as a kid, yet do not remember too well.
Forgotten classics I am anticipating in the mail include: Humungous, My Bloody Valentine, Prom Night, Zombie, The Gates of Hell, and eagerly waiting the re-release of Halloween 3 which I saw once as a child. Only to name a few. (I know some of you might not consider these "classics")
The first arrival was the DVD of "The Legend of Boggy Creek".
I grew up in a country house on the edge of some creepy woods in Kentucky. We had our own legend of the monster in the woods. Our monster would follow you in the woods as you walked down secluded roads that were surrounded on each side by forest. I recently revisited my childhood neighborhood and drove on that road where our beloved Bigfoot, or "White Thing" as he was named, dwelled in the woods.
All the locals still swear that he existed. Although sightings died awhile back. My distant relatives all had a story to share of their encounters. I remember a terrible thunder storm, and my father ran outside to see who was walking around our house looking in the windows. Defying his command to stay in the corner with my sister, I decided to get up and look out the window. I saw my father struggling with a figure, a man I could not make out, in the flashes of lightning. I know it was one of the most frightening things I can remember from my childhood. My father is long gone so I cannot really know what happened that night. But he would never speak of it. Could have been an intruder, and could have been our town legend too. My mother claims to have been grabbed by the creature once in the woods near the rail road tracks that ran through the woods.
Watching "Boggy Creek" took me back to those times as a child on that farm in the woods.
The film is a documentary based on fact, or supposed fact. It is set in the Arkansas swamps. The events are recreated by the town folk. Something is lurking in the woods in the little town of Fouke and scaring the locals, killing their animals, peeking thru their windows at night, pawing thru the windows at them, and howling in the woods. They believe it a bigfoot type creature. I am so glad I bought this movie. The only complaint I had was the cheap costume they used for the creature and the tedious folk song in the film. I can't help but to wonder if "The Blair Witch" was inspired from this film.
A definite great film, although cheesy in its own charming way. But creepy and moody.
It reminds me of my town as a child, and the creature that lurked in the woods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining "Half Truth" Psuedo-Documentary, July 2, 2005
By 
William R. Hancock (Travelers Rest, S.C. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Legend of Boggy Creek (DVD)
First off, let's deal with what's true and not true here. The first thing is the title, "The Legend of Boggy Creek".As anyone in that part of Arkansas can tell you, Boggy Creek had no more affinity with "The Monster" than any number of creeks or branches in the area. Nor was there any "legend" (explanatory backstory) applied to that creek (and no legend at all applied to the Big Hairy Monster...it was just around the county for no known reason). Charles Pierce, the producer , just simply took a fancy to the "wilderness"-sounding name of that one stream and hooked it up with "Legend" because it all went together for a "catchy" title that he thought would have box office appeal.

He was right. It did.

Nor was the "thing" known originally as the "Fouke Monster".

It's appearances had mostly been reported in a little community outside of Fouke called Jonesville, where area people referred to it as the "Jonesville Monster". In the early 70s, when there was a small flood of sightings out Jonesville way (particularly around the land holdings of an extended family named Crabtree),the local paper in Fouke began printing articles about the thing and these articles were picked up by news services. Because of the Fouke bylines in the press the "Jonesville" Monster soon got turned...against his will, no doubt...into the "Fouke" Monster.

And Charles Pierce saw the possibility of turning Mr. Monster a bright shade of "money green" in investment potential.

Factually, the "whatsit" never really did anything more than be seen by hunters (mostly assorted Crabtrees, as he showed a partiality towards their lands above others),harass dogs, get shot at, shot,stampede horses ( for "kicks"?), wander around screaming and screeching in the bottoms, and get spotted crossing the highway every now and then by motorists

and school bus drivers. Kinda scary? Yes, true enough...but apart

from an alledged hog snatching on one occasion...the thing never did anything aggressive that was known to anyone. "Ahhhh", you say," then what about the Searcy incident with the cat? And the attack on the two couples in the house?".

Well all that actually happened with Mary Beth Searcy and her family was that the thing seemingly came to the edge of the yard and watched them and she saw it through the window and was screamingly terrified by it. What did IT do? Nothing really. This is nothing more, really, than a little goose-pimpler of a story. Pierce "juices" the incident, however, with the inclusion of a purely fabricated fiction (Searcys say it never happened)about the family's new kitten being scared to death (literally) by the booger...with a freeze-frame in the movie of a dead cat's wide-eyed face. A clever touch, but misleading.

The big whoop-ti-do of the movie is, of course, the "night seige" of house of the two young couples, where the thing makes repeated appearances around the house and the home defenders have to rush out to defend themselves with shotguns. This sequence "makes' the movie, pretty much...and hangs a note of fear onto the image of the monster.

The truth, which the movie does NOT tell you, is much more prosaic. A local in the area had an old horse that was considered ornery and about half crazy. This horse was good about getting out of his pasture at night and running around the neighborhood raising a ruckus (snorts, squeals, etc.). He would get into people's flower beds and tear them up and do all sorts of things. Kept the neighbors complaining and irritated at his owner.

In any event, that basket-case horse got out that night and went on one of his rants over near the Ford place ( site of the "night attack"...where the young folks had to blast the Fouke Monster with a shotgun to save themselves). It became a known fact locally that the horse was out there that night...because they FOUND him there the next morning..fairly close to the house...dead of a shotgun blast.

But Charles Pierce (unlike Paul Harvey) is somewhat dishonestly disinclined to tell you "the rest of the story" in his movie. Heck, that would SPOIL the EFFECT!!! And might pull down the box office potential!

As a movie, "The Legend of Boggy Creek" is quite entertaining.The overall use of non-actors and real locations and the photography and editing make it look like a real documentary (as does the cooked up narration that makes it seem it is being told by some reflective local). And it IS at least a

documentary of sorts (all the Crabtree incidents are seemingly recounted pretty much as they occurred, and the same with Searcy except for the cat business). The "Night Seige" is largely true (except for the discovery of the dead horse), and DOES pretty accurately depict how adrenalin-pumping panic can work on the imagination at night. The people really were scared and really trying to defend thermselves from...something. It just appears from subsequent discovery that the "something' WASN'T the Fouke Monster. But presenting it as Pierce did, though, was GREAT cinema!!!

Was there/is there a "creature" there in Miller County? I'd say so. Such things are seen from the Florida Everglades on across the Gulf states to Texas ( The Big Thicket country is the "stomping ground" of "Ol' Mossyback the Wildman" and the Honey Island Swamp Monster in Louisiana MAY be kin). A big

something ran around South Carolina's coastal Fripp Island back in the 30s and 40s. Called "Old Salt", it ran through a Coast Guard barracks staffed with beach patrollers one night...in the front door, out the back...and had all those worthy gentlemen in agitated excitement. From Pennsylvania to West Virginia, on to Wyoming, Idaho, and the Pacific coast, the sightings have occurred.

People pay more attention to this enigma now, and for a lot of them this stems from seeing "Boggy Creek" on the silver screen years ago. It is an intriguing movie, cleverly assembled, and it can still raise the hackles a bit when you watch it. Definitely worth a look, for nostalgia value...and for for mental chew-food on what may or may not be out there in the "real" world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A late night favorite, August 7, 2001
I don't give this movie so high a rating because it is a piece of cinematic art. On the contrary, "The Legend of Boggy Creek" is a grade B movie at best. The four stars above are based on the fact that "The Legend of Boggy Creek" has stood the test of time for this viewer. I first saw this "docudrama" about the Fouke, Arkansas member of the bigfoot clan on TV as a kid. Repeated viewings over the years have not dulled the late night enchantment of that first time.
Produced in the early 1970's, "The Legend of Boggy Creek" is the documentary reminiscence of an unnamed and perhaps fictional narrator. The cast of unknowns and real people lend an air of credibility to the dramatizations of supposed actual encounters with the smelly, three toed, hairy hominid said to have stalked Boggy Creek. When it comes time to reveal the monster to the camera, the film makers were savvy enough to make most of his shots shadowy and/or distant. You know it is a man in a suit but you may find yourself wondering if there was (or is) an actual creature out there in the bottom lands of Arkansas.
If you have not already seen "The Legend of Boggy Creek" you may want to look for it on TV before buying. It may not hold the same charm for you that it does for me unless you are a fan of "psychotronic" film or, perhaps,a cryptozoologist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This is where the story plays...", July 12, 2002
By 
Pat A Reinhardt (Louisville, KY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legend of Boggy Creek (DVD)
Okay, you can toss your bootlegs, the greatest Bigfoot Docu-drama of all time is -finally- available again, and in DVD for the first time (legit, anyhow.)
No, the print isn't fantastic, no it's not in widescreen, but it's THE LEGEND OF BOGGY CREEK, people! C'mon! You get to hear a guy wonder if maybe an orangutan was in his sweet potato patch! You get to listen to another guy who got part of his foot shot off in a freak boating accident! You get to ponder why so many people in Arkansas seem to be named "Crabtree"!!
And that way cool SONG! How many other bigfoot movies have a love-theme for the MONSTER?!! (And there's another song about...another guy named "Crabtree", but hey...)
In all honesty, I'd have LOVED to have seen this restored and released in widescreen. However, I share the opinion that a widescreen print of the film may not -exist- now. At any rate, the DVD is head and shoulders above any VHS copy that's been released to date. Some of the colors come in like gangbusters at the least expected times, and you can actually see the grain on the tree bark in the darker scenes, so this is the best transfer this film has ever had, without doubt. My biggest complaint is that annoying little white speck about halfway up on the right side of the middle of the picture. What the heck IS that?
"The Legend of Boggy Creek" is one of my absolute -favorite- films from my childhood. It has withstood viewing after viewing, it doesn't get old, it's just it's own sorta good, clean FUN. There's never been anything like it, before or since.
Gotta love that song...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nightmare city, November 12, 2001
By 
Huedez (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
I saw this in the theatre/drive-in back in its initial release. Talk about obsession, after seeing this nightmarish screamfest, I made my folks pass through Fouke, Arkansas and I had them take a picture of me by the welcome to sign. We drove around that small town and the woods there are definetely SCARY!!! This movie is like Blairwitch in that there are no special effects, you dont get to see the creature that often and mostly you the viewer are put in the situation. Not recommended for young children!!!! Very atmospheric, real creeeeeeepy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Legend of Boggy Creek
The Legend of Boggy Creek by Charles B. Pierce (DVD - 2008)
$7.95 $7.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.