Customer Reviews


763 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (106)
3 star:
 (130)
2 star:
 (136)
1 star:
 (229)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars both my husband and myself really enjoyed this movie
Well, both my husband and myself really enjoyed this movie! I've always been a fan of the Hercules tale though. Some of these people need to realize that this is "fantasy". Then maybe they wouldn't be so critical. Too many people today expect perfection.
Published 23 days ago by Nance

versus
173 of 203 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Godless "Hercules"
Hercules has always been a popular subject for movies. So after Greek mythology-themed fantasy movies like "300," "Immortals" and "Clash of the Titans," it's not surprising that Hollywood would dredge him up again.

Unfortunately, they cast the meathead from "Twilight" as Hercules. And the terrible casting is only one of the problems in "The Legend of Hercules"...
Published 9 months ago by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

173 of 203 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Godless "Hercules", March 19, 2014
This review is from: Legend of Hercules (DVD)
Hercules has always been a popular subject for movies. So after Greek mythology-themed fantasy movies like "300," "Immortals" and "Clash of the Titans," it's not surprising that Hollywood would dredge him up again.

Unfortunately, they cast the meathead from "Twilight" as Hercules. And the terrible casting is only one of the problems in "The Legend of Hercules" -- it feels like a cheap TV movie version of an actual blockbuster movie, with claustrophobic sets, random eruptions of slow-mo and uber-cheesy dialogue. Even worse, it cribs from the earlier Grecian myth movies while lacking even a shred of their style.

Repelled by her power-hungry husband King Amphitryon (Scott Adkins), Queen Alcmene (Roxanne McKee) makes a deal with the goddess Hera: Zeus will have sex with her, and she will have a son named Hercules who will destroy Amphitryon. Yeah, because Hera was always okay with her husband boinking human women. Amphitryon, suspecting the baby isn't his, names him Alcides.

Two decades later, Alcides/Hercules (Kellan Lutz) is in love with Princess Hebe (Gaia Weiss), but she's betrothed to his wimpy brother Iphicles (Liam Garrigan). They try and fail to run away together, and Amphitryon punishes Alcides/Hercules by sending him off on an undermanned mission.

Of course, the undermanned mission gets slaughtered, except for Hercules and his buddy Captain Sotiris (Liam McIntyre), and they are quickly sold into slavery as gladiators... because yeah, they had LOTS of those in ancient pre-Romanic Egypt. Hercules' superhuman strength allows him to free himself and Sotiris, but he must somehow seize his father's kingdom before his brother weds Hebe... or something like that.

"The Legend of Hercules" really feels like a TV movie knockoff of a blockbuster movie, or maybe a halfhearted TV pilot. It certainly doesn't feel like a movie with seventy million dollars behind it -- everything feels very cheap and lackluster, especially since they apparently have no sets larger than my living room, and the special effects are mostly confined to bad lightning flashes.

Of course, director Renny Harlin doesn't help matters. After all, this is the guy who gave us movies like "The Covenant," "A Nightmare on Elm Street 4," "Cutthroat Island" and "Exorcist: The Beginning," so he directs like an amateur who has just figured out the mechanics of film.

For instance, the movie has random bursts of slow-motion -- not the climactic parts of fights, but horses leaping over logs or Hercules tossing a dead body away. It's like Harlin keeps dozing off and accidentally pushing the "slo-mo" button. He also rather blatantly copies the defiant-demigod-who-doesn't-believe-in-the-gods-because-they're-mean-until-he-totally-needs-their-help dynamic that was forefront in "Clash of the Titans" and "Immortals," which comes across as hollow and simplistic.

Admittedly some of the "Gladiator"-lite action scenes are decent, but the movie falls into lurching lethargy as soon as they stop. Both fights and romantic scenes are wooden enough to give you splinters, and the dialogue is the sort of tin-eared kitschy cheez that you would expect of... well, whatever the ancient Greeks had instead of chick-flicks ("In my mind's eye, where your face has been etched since the first day I saw you").

And Kellan Lutz... oh, Kellan Lutz. He speaks with the charisma of a dead seal and the intensity of a constipation victim. He looks like he's straining his acting talents whenever he's forced to speak more than five words in a row, and you can practically hear the wind whistling between his ears when he tries to be righteously outraged. This role needed a Chris Hemsworth, and instead we got an Emmett Cullen.

Most of the other actors are either blandly generic (Weiss), two-dimensional (Garrigan) or engaging in frothing scenery-chewing (Adkins, who seems to be channeling Nicolas Cage). The mighty and passionate goddess Hera is turned into a whining, crying wimp. The only person who gives a semi-decent performance is Liam McIntyre, who easily outshines Lutz.

"The Legend of Hercules" leaves you pining for Kevin Sorbo or longing for The Rock -- a cheap-looking, inept disaster of a film that fails in basically every way. Only watch it if you've already bought the Rifftrax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good for a laugh I suppose, April 7, 2014
Before I get into the mess that makes this movie so dang terrible, I have to give it credit for one thing; it made me laugh. I do not believe I have ever laughed so hard in an action movie before this film, or for such a random reason. The sword fights, which have the whole "look how powerful we are swinging these weapons around" vibe and sound effects, often hit the floor and just sort of stop and wobble. It's also worth a laugh when you first see the Nemean lion. I mean, just look at the truly awful CG lion. I doubt that you would believe that the budget for this film was $70 million after seeing it.

Unfortunately, that is where the fun really ends. There is no Hercules mythology present in this film at all. In fact, I wonder why the film is even called the Legend of Hercules, considering all the borrowed myths and legends from other sources. Let me give you a few examples; at one point, Hercules brings down two pillars that he was chained to after praying to the Greek god Zeus. A few minutes after this, he summons lightning from his sword to become an electrical whip to use against his enemies. These sounds awfully close to the Biblical Samson legend and the Norse god Thor's lightning ability. In fact, Hercules only rarely (and by rarely, I mean like three times in the entire film) demonstrates his legendary strength. Hercules also apparently is not a mortal enemy of the goddess Hera, despite all mythology saying otherwise. I realize that the director can take some artistic liberties in their film, but to call this the "Legend of Hercules" and then use nothing from the Hercules myths...that's just wrong. In the end, you'll just be left with a bad taste in your mouth if you watch this film with the hopes that it will be a good Hercules film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 82 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Action Entertainment on a simple level, but still fun with nice 3D:, January 22, 2014
Legend of Hercules hit certain marks of what I was looking for before going in to see it.
1. Does it have Action? Yes. And lots of it. The action scenes clearly take heavy inspiration from 300's slow motion effect, so if you like that, the only thing missing here is the blood, as this is a safe PG 13.
2. Does it have a story of some kind that is understandable with interesting characters? Done. Is it great? That depends on what you compare it to. Honestly, the story could use refinement, but this movie is about the action first.
3. Some scenes showing Hercules' trademark strength? Yes. Just watch the final act and a lot of the fights.

If you can look past the simple, familiar plot and just enjoy the action, this movie is worth a look. The 3D effects are outstanding with lots of stuff popping out and a cool sense of depth.

Action Scenes:
Intro Sword Fight and War.
Fight against a (comical Computerized) Lion.
Fight against a small army of archers in a cave.
Fight in a big arena with a pit with rocks and two fighters (Hercules and Spartacus) against some bad guys.
Fight against 6 warriors versus Hercules. Guess who wins?
Fight against some village goons using a pair of stones.
Fight against an army with an electrical sword.
Fight against the main bad guy King to save the princess.

Scenery: Good scenery.
Cinematography: Good.
Acting: Beginner actors, among one or two accomplished actors. Could have been better.
Story: Not brain science; about rescuing a princess and stopping an evil King and brother.
Does it make sense? There are some errors and comical sequences, but it still makes sense most of the time.
3D: Outstanding.
Action: Fun and easy to watch. Best parts of the movie and the reason to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend that you DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE!!!!, July 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legend of Hercules [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie has to be the absolute worst movie that I can recall seeing in many, many years. I cannot even adequately describe how incredibly bad this movie was. There were several things contributing to this monstrosity- the atrocious special effects, the horrible storyline, the speed of how things happen without any inkling as to the concept of time, as well as the sheer ridiculousness of it all. My husband walked away from it less than 30 minutes into it, & I truly wish I had done the same. But instead I watched it through to the end & lost roughly an hour & a half or so of my life that could have been spent in much better ways. My advice- do not waste your time by watching this movie- it is an utter waste of your precious time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful..., May 21, 2014
This review is from: Legend of Hercules [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Even on the parts where you were supposed to cheer, i.e. speeches and fight scenes; you just didn't. the lead actor had to really force his speaking accent. I love the whole "greek/roman mythology" type of movie, but this just didn't do it for me. I literally fell asleep during the ending scenes... you know the ones when you're supposed to be the most intrigued? No disrespect, but this one was just bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Laughably bad, June 11, 2014
By 
Julie Doe (Sierra Nevadas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legend of Hercules (DVD)
A friend and I rented this the other night because we were looking for a cheesy action flick, and we were not disappointed. I am reminded of a phrase that I read in a Rolling Stone review years ago that described someone’s acting as “so wooden you would have to edit it with a chainsaw”. That phrase could be applied to much of the acting in this movie, particularly by Kellan Lutz and Gaia Weiss (Liam McIntyre would be a notable exception to this; he did a good job with a poorly written part). Lutz really needs to learn how to move his facial muscles because the bland stoic pretty-boy look really doesn’t work for most scenes.

The plot? Well, the names of three of the characters--five if you count the Nimean Lion and Hera as characters--come from the common Hercules mythology, but other than that, the writers have taken great liberties and concocted a new story completely. Which wouldn’t be bad if the story were good. But it’s not. And the action is a combination of CGI, wire work (perhaps), and weird stop-motion almost-cartoonish action similar to that seen in the movie 300 (which was an excellent movie). Really, old-fashioned clay-mation (think the original Clash of the Titans) would have fit the tone of the movie better.

That said, if you’re into silly movies, this is the one for you! We got it from a Redbox so we were only out $1.20 for it, which is just about right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maybe he is just too pretty and too sensitive for this roll, October 19, 2014
By 
K. Thomas "KPJ" (Sterling Heights, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really. Would give it zero stars if I could. Maybe he is just too pretty and too sensitive for this roll? But wait...... He was much better in Twilight and maybe should stick to that whole vampire thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It was horrible I mean horrible to the point one would walk ..., August 1, 2014
Anyone who gave this movie a higher rating then one really makes me worry about their taste in movies. It was horrible I mean horrible to the point one would walk out if you actually paid money to see this movie at the theater. I love action movies and just because a movie has action does not make it a good movie. Good action along was a intriguing plot line does. The plot line was not horrible but was not good and should have been better put together. It was not enough details to many parts that needed it. It was frustrating when your watching it and it goes in to the next scene and time has passed but your clueless to what happened in between. Just seemed like it was rushed together and needed some more time in developing it. This should have been a good movie instead of one of the worst movies I ever seen. After the first !5 minutes I was done and I looked at my boyfriend and said " Now I know why they needed to make another one with the Rock because this is garbage".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly done., May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had really high hopes for this film. Unfortunately I came away very disappointed. The story is a painfully lazy ripoff of Gladiator with the writer or writers making a very half ass attempt to slip in the fact that the main character is Hercules. There is absolutely no character development throughout the movie.
Now what really destroys this movie is the horrible special effects. I'm still waiting for Hollywood to abandon the 3D fad, but for now we have to deal with a handful of poor attempts to wow audiences with random objects flung at the screen. Very few movies, if any, manage to pull off 3D effects with any level of success without looking silly. And this movie is not one of them. Right from the start, this film suffers from an obviously small special effects budget. The giant lion that Hercules kills looks like a cartoon character. In fact, much of this film looks like a cartoon It seems as if they spent all the effects budget on the few 3D effects and somehow managed to get those terribly wrong. The blocks of stone that Hercules rips from the pillars he is chained to, look incredibly stupid as they are flung at the viewer. Those chains must be magic because while they appear to be about 6 or 7 feet long when Hercules is standing between the pillars, they suddenly grow longer and longer as the scene progresses. Did I mention how stupid this whole scene looked?
And then there is the acting. With so many scenes involving actors attempting the sort of "over the top" acting that worked so well in "300", but just comes off cheesy and stupid in this film. Scott Adkins attempts, very poorly, a king Leonidas impersonation in virtually every scene that he is in. Pretty much screaming every line he has. As for Kellan Lutz, all I could think of throughout the entire movie was the Planet Fitness commercials with the muscle head who kept repeating "I pick thinks up, and put them down". It's difficult to tell if he was instructed to act as if Hercules was an idiot, or if that is the only way he knows how to act.
There is just too much wrong with this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars and a story that is mediocre at best, this incarnation leaves everything to be desired demonstrating ..., October 11, 2014
This review is from: Legend of Hercules (DVD)
This is just one of many recent interpretations of the "Superman" of the Greek demi-gods origin stories that have invaded the silver screen within the last year. The other, more renowned version stars such acting prowess as the likes of the "Rock," Dwayne Johnson. If this film is any indication of how the trend will go, it will be a long, arduous road for the son of the Zeus. With the only element of Greek tragedy being the ridiculously sub-par acting, dated and clunky special effects that hover just a step above a SyFy channel production, and a story that is mediocre at best, this incarnation leaves everything to be desired demonstrating that some movies just don't need to be made. Director, Renny Harlin is known for his hit and misses and this is definitely the latter. 0 out of 5 Kernels: a flick worthy of the throne room of Olympus, that is, if by throne you mean the porcelain kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Legend of Hercules [Blu-ray]
Legend of Hercules [Blu-ray] by Kellan Lutz (Blu-ray - 2014)
$29.99 $18.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.