Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Novel for Readers Young and Old
Santa Claus, also known as Saint Nick and Father Christmas, is the King of Forever, in a place called The Land of Immortals. He is known for giving presents to good girls and boys the world over. But one day, he gets a special letter from a young boy, asking him what he wants for Christmas, and instantly Santa Claus and his wife are blessed with a miracle: a little bundle...
Published on October 6, 2004 by Erika Sorocco

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I just Couldn't get interested....
I loved the cover. I requested this because of the cover. I picked it up several time but could never concentrate on it long enough to finish.

More…

Author: Brittney Ryan, Laurel Long (Illustrations)
Source: Open Road Media via Netgalley
Grade: DNF
Published 8 months ago by Gina Hott


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Novel for Readers Young and Old, October 6, 2004
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Santa Claus, also known as Saint Nick and Father Christmas, is the King of Forever, in a place called The Land of Immortals. He is known for giving presents to good girls and boys the world over. But one day, he gets a special letter from a young boy, asking him what he wants for Christmas, and instantly Santa Claus and his wife are blessed with a miracle: a little bundle of joy whom they name Holly Claus. But with the miracle comes danger, as well as a curse from an evil man named Herrikhan. For Holly Claus' heart is now frozen, and the gates to The Land of Immortals are locked, barring anyone from coming or going. Now, Holly Claus is a grown woman, and decides to break the spell that is holding her people captive. So, accompanied by her four faithful friends - a penguin, fox, wolf, and owl - Holly heads towards Victorian New York, where she encounters many different life-changing, yet dangerous, adventures.

Newcomer Brittney Ryan, has written a book that stands out against many of the children's/young adult books on the market right now. Her vivid descriptions, quirky characters, and wonderful storyline are absolutely amazing, while Laurel Long's black and white sketch illustrations are enchanting, and bring the story to life. THE LEGEND OF HOLLY CLAUS will capture the hearts of readers young and old, and eventually go down in history as one of the greatest fairy tales of our generation.

Erika Sorocco

Book Review Columnist for The Community Bugle Newspaper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Christmas Classic for all ages!, July 6, 2005
We read this story for a family read aloud and my daughters, then 4 and 5 really enjoyed the book. The only drawback from their point of view was that it was a bit long compared to our normal read (I wouldn't expect an average 4 yr old to maintain interest for this lengthy story). It is an enchanting tale that is sure to become a classic. I enjoyed all of the various mythical characters taken from different cultures that were woven together in this tale (there is even a sort of glossary in the back with background on the various characters). Very original. While I personally don't approve of exposing children to unnecessary violence, I really didn't feel that this was too frightening as expressed by another reviewer. I'm sure if it were to be made into a movie the scary parts would be overemphasized, but I felt the novel had a good balance. My 5 year old enjoyed this magical story and the fact that good triumped over evil in the end. There was a great mix of magic, mystery, humor, and even good values. The artwork is quite beautiful, as one would expect from this talented illustrator, and definitely contributes to the enchanting feel of the book. I highly recommend this to families whose children enjoy a potpouri of fantasy, love, and mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Christmas Carol, June 3, 2005
A Kid's Review
Holly Claus is the best book ever. The book is seasonal but it may be read during the summer. It is a gripping adventure about the only child born in the land of the immortals. The child happens to be the daughter of Santa Claus. But there is trouble there is a terrible curse cast upon her. This leads her to take a trip to earth at Christmas time. This is a splendid that will capture the heart of most readers. It teaches about kindness and generosity. It makes a wonderful Christmas gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STAR IS BORN - HOLLY CLAUSE, November 9, 2004
FINALLY, A CHILDREN'S BOOK THAT WILL NOT ONLY HOLD THEM SPELLBOUND, BUT ADD TO THEIR VOCABULARY, AND SENSE OF CREATIVE WORD PLAY. A BOOK THAT CAN BE "READ TO" THOSE WHO ARE STILL TO YOUNG TO READ, AND HAVE THEM ASKING FOR MORE AS EACH CHAPTER ENDS.

THE WRITING IS BEAUTIFUL - THE ILLUSTRATIONS FABULOUSLY 18TH CENTURY IN APPEARANCE

A TOTALLY ORIGINAL STORY, FILLED WITH FABULOUS CHARACTERS BOTH HUMAN AN IMAGINED. A LOVE STORY, AN ADVENTURE, A PAGE TURNER!

A BOOK DESTINED TO BECOME A CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL BOOK TO SHARE!, January 14, 2005
WHAT GREAT READ!! It is a wonderful tale that takes the reader to a place they could only imagine before, but can now see it through the eyes of Holly Claus. As a family, we read it as fast as we could to follow Holly through her exciting adventure. We then read it again, taking in even more of the hopeful inspiration it offers along the way. As the mother of an imaginative, nine year old girl,(and a real book hound!), I was so happy to find a book that offers such a wonderfully engaging heroine, with the values and morals that we try to instill everyday, yet so adventurous in spirit. The author, Brittney Ryan, has done that, without preaching, but with the wonderful voice of Holly Claus. We have given it to my daughter's friends as gifts., They too have enjoyed the story immensely. This book should be read as a family, there is something for all to enjoy! It is a family favorite of ours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, April 7, 2006
A beautifully written book. It is a true Classic. There are parts which are poetic melancholy to touch your heart,and other pieces of joyful energy to stir your soul.

The Legend of Holly Claus is masterfully crafted with incredible illustrations. I would recomend it for all ages.

J.Cass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The birth of a heroine who is destined to be an Icon., September 21, 2004
Holly Claus is a compelling character, and is destined to become a heroine, role model and an Icon to girls and young women, everywhere. Her goodness, virtue, selflessness, bravery and determination will make young girls believe that they can accomplish ANYTHING they are willing to work hard for. With the World, today, threatened by terrorists, it is wonderful to find such an uplifting story for children...of ALL ages. Holly, 'Santa's' daughter, along with Tundra, the wolf, and her other talking animal friends, will warm the hearts of everyone who reads this story. Author Brittney Ryan has captured, in Holly, a spirit of women's empowerment that will inspire greatness in our youth. And, the artwork, by Laurel Long, is breathtakingly beautiful. I highly recommend that any parent read this to their children....or...just read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift for the holidays, November 10, 2004
By 
The Legend of Holly Claus is destined to become a holiday classic. Being as the holidays are approaching, I thought it would be a good gift to give to children of my friends and family. But after reading it myself, turns out to be a gift for everyone both young and old. Brittney Ryans vivid imagery, along with Laurel Longs perfectly beautiful illustrations has brought this enchanting story to life. You can see everything happening right before your eyes.

A true love story where good triumphs over evil, love conquers all and "Love Conquers Time."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Holiday Classic That Invokes the Imagination, November 10, 2004
Brittany Ryan has written a beautiful novel for all ages. If you buy one book this year then make sure it is the Legend of Holly Claus!!!! The land of the Immortals is a world beyond imagination. This book is in a class of its own. Buy it, read it to your children or read it for yourself. The story is page-turning and the illustrations are majical. Move over Rudolph and Frosty, there is a new addition to the list of Christmas characters....Holly Claus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Values, morals and appropriate for all ages., November 10, 2004
The story is beautiful, one that I can recommend to anyone for reading enjoyment. It is a story of values and morals, good verses evil and love conquers. It is very descriptive and exciting. An excellent book to read and one that any personal library or school could have without reservations. This is a book that I feel that I could give as a gift and not wonder if the parent would feel they needed to read it first for approval.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Legend of Holly Claus
The Legend of Holly Claus by Brittney Ryan
$4.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.