Buy Used
$3.99
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Used, but looks brand new. Only very slight signs of use. Cover and binding are undamaged, and pages are crisp and unmarked. Unbeatable customer service, and we usually ship the same or next day. Over one million satisfied customers!
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Legend of Spud Murphy (Eoin Colfer's Legend Of...) Hardcover – September 14, 2004


See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover, September 14, 2004
$0.01 $0.01

100%20Children%27s%20Books%20to%20Read%20in%20a%20Lifetime


NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Top 20 Books for Kids
See the books our editors' chose as the Best Children's Books of 2014 So Far or see the lists by age: Baby-2 | Ages 3-5 | Ages 6-8 | Ages 9-12 | Nonfiction

Product Details

  • Age Range: 7 - 11 years
  • Grade Level: 2 - 6
  • Lexile Measure: 580L (What's this?)
  • Hardcover: 96 pages
  • Publisher: Miramax-Hyperion; First Edition edition (September 14, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0786855010
  • ISBN-13: 978-0786855018
  • Product Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.7 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,188,539 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 2-4–This hilarious offering is the first in a new chapter-book series. When their parents become fed up with their boisterous behavior during summer vacation, Will and Marty Woodman are forced to do something educational: "Reading. It's perfect. How can you get into trouble reading a book?" The brothers will spend time at the library, despite their worries about the librarian, Mrs. "Spud" Murphy, who is feared by all children. According to the rumors, she uses a gas-powered gun to shoot potatoes at kids who make too much noise. When Mom drops them off later that afternoon, Mrs. Murphy leads them to the children's section and warns them that they are not to venture off of the carpet. Readers will immediately pick up that Marty has a problem following the rules and trouble ensues when he steps off the rug to cause some mischief. However, he has met his match in Spud, who silently appears on the scene like a "ninja librarian." The cartoon illustrations enhance the funny mood of the story. Youngsters, especially reluctant readers, will laugh out loud at this clever book, which can also be read aloud. A good choice for fans of Dav Pilkey, Jon Scieszka, and Ian Whybrow.–Christine McGinty, Albany Public Library, NY
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Eoin Colfer (pronounced "Owen") (born May 14, 1965) is an Irish author. Eoin Colfer grew up in Wexford, Ireland, along with his four brothers, Paul, Eamon, Donal, and Niall. He first developed a passion for writing in primary school, reading viking books inspired by his history lessons at the time. His father was a primary school teacher, as well as an artist and historian. His mother is a drama teacher. In 1986, Colfer became a Primary School teacher, but continued to write in his free time.

More About the Author

Eoin Colfer (pronounced Owen) is the New York Times best-selling author
of the blockbuster Artemis Fowl series as well as Airman; Half Moon
Investigations; The Supernaturalist; Eoin Colfer's Legend of... books;
The Wish List; Benny and Omar; and Benny and Babe. He was born in
Wexford on the southeast coast of Ireland in 1965, where he and his four
brothers were brought up by his father (an elementary school teacher,
historian and artist of note) and mother (a drama teacher). He first
developed an interest in writing in primary (elementary) school with
gripping Viking stories inspired by history that he was learning in
school at the time.

Eoin got his degree from Dublin University and qualified as a primary
school teacher, returning to work in Wexford. He married in 1991 and he
and his wife spent about 4 years between 1992 and 1996 working in Saudi
Arabia, Tunisia and Italy. His first book, Benny and Omar, was published
in 1998, based on his experiences in Tunisia; it has since been
translated into many languages; a sequel followed in 1999. In 2001, the
first Artemis Fowl book was published worldwide to much success -
shortly thereafter he left teaching to concentrate fully on his writing.
To this day, Eoin has written 6 Artemis Fowl books which have sold over
12 million copies worldwide.

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 14 customer reviews
This was a fun book to read with my 10 year old.
Theresa S. Rogers
If you like humorous fiction or Diary of a Wimpy Kid, you are going to love this book!
Kelli Gunn
Definitely a great boy book, but should be enjoyed by girls,too.
Working Mom

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful A Kid's Review on December 26, 2006
Format: Hardcover
I was looking on-line at the library webpage and my Dad requested this book and the other on about the pirate's teeth. I read the one about the teeth because I like Pirates of the Caribbean and other stories like that. I didn't care for it. Then I read this one and begged my Dad to let me stay up so I could finish it.My Mom is a librarian so it was funny to hear about Spud Murphy the librarain with the potato gunand is a sneaky librian.This book shows the readers and the two boys (in the book)that reading can be fun and don't believe evrything you hear. So if you're a girl with nothing to read try this book out!!! - Rachel Balzano
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By LonestarReader VINE VOICE on October 14, 2004
Format: Hardcover
What a funny book! Marty and Will have been sent to the library because it is educational. They are horrified because they have heard the stories of Mrs. "Spud" Murphy, the librarian and her gas-powered spud gun. Their worst fears are confirmed when Marty tests the library limits by moving off the carpet in the children's section. "She appeared without a sound, like a ninja librarian." Her revenge is total and she wields her library stamps with flair.

This will make a great read-aloud, I can hardly wait to hear the reaction to the stamp on Marty's arm.

Boys, especially will enjoy it. It sounds like this is the first of a new series.

Colfer is best know for his Artemis Fowl and fantasy books. His humor is always wonderful. It made me laugh out loud.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By F. Pabst on January 24, 2006
Format: Hardcover
I have two boys - my oldest is in third grade and is a capable reader but just does not like to pick up a book! This one book is the exception - he loved it and could not stop laughing - I highly recommend it for any 8+ year old boy. Even as a parent I thought it was an enjoyable and funny book to read. We just ordered his sequel to this book and have high hopes for it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Pop Bop TOP 500 REVIEWER on May 7, 2012
Format: Hardcover
I picked this up on a whim, and am delighted that I did so. I'm familiar with Eoin Colfer and have had mixed feelings about his books. I'm in the minority, in that I don't really see the appeal of Colfer's most famous creation - Artemis Fowl. But I do like books like "The Supernaturalist".

Well, this series, following the adventures of the two older Woodman brothers, (ages 9 and 10), is honestly funny, good natured, subtle, and full of warm insight into the minds of 9 and 10 year olds. It is similar to the Wimpy Kid books, in that most of the humor is not intended by the narrator, and comes from his thoughts and actions, his casual observations, and his sometimes tone deaf interactions with others.

From the wise and funny parents, to the three younger brothers who serve as a sort of silly Greek chorus commenting on the action, the characters are well conceived. The hijinks are mild, the plots are simple, the messages are low key, and the whole book just reads like innocent fun. The two brothers really sound and feel like real brothers, which is quite a feat in itself. That said, the vocabulary and the quality of the writing are way ahead of most chapter books, and I would expect a young reader to feel very satisfied after reading this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Working Mom on May 12, 2008
Format: Paperback
What a fun book! My 9 year old finished half of it yesterday and on a whim I snuck into his room and read it this morning with my coffee. Hilarious! Definitely a great boy book, but should be enjoyed by girls,too. Parents can read this out loud to reluctant readers and will enjoy it as much as their children (I know I did!). Thank you Mr. Colfer.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
Two boys who can't keep themselves amused at home are packed off to the library by their mother. They sit bored on a scrap of carpet in front of a bookshelf; this is the junior section. They don't dare get up to mischief because Spud Murphy, the librarian with the infamous spud gun, will get them if they do....
Ths is a great short tale and it shows how, if you read books, you can actually be entertained.. one way or another.
Go get it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Any story that can make me laugh out load is always a good read. This read gives you a break from your everyday life.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?