Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series
LOVE this series! Anyone who enjoyed The Hunger Games or Divergent series will LOVE this - and I'm a 32 year old grown woman. The boxed set looks really nice - it would make a great gift - for you or someone else!
Published 11 months ago by S. Trieb

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in lots of ways!
I want to preface this review by saying I WILL NOT be giving away any plot points, so this review may seem a little surface, but I don't want to take away from anyone's experience who may decide to read these books (even though, I'd say "pass")

I was SUPER excited to read this trilogy-the other reviews were amazing and it has been touted as a trilogy...
Published 5 months ago by M. Rodriguez


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, December 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legend Trilogy Boxed Set (Hardcover)
LOVE this series! Anyone who enjoyed The Hunger Games or Divergent series will LOVE this - and I'm a 32 year old grown woman. The boxed set looks really nice - it would make a great gift - for you or someone else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing series!, November 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legend Trilogy Boxed Set (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this series and I was so happy when my Legend Trilogy boxset arrived in the mail. The boxset contains all 3 books in The Legend Trilogy (Legend, Prodigy, Champion) plus the novella, Life Before Legend which was previously only available as an ebook. All 3 of the books are absolutely gorgeous and this boxset looks absolutely exceptional on my bookshelf. I definitely think this boxset is a great gift for fans of the series, as well as newcomers who loved The Hunger Games or Divergent. With the release of this well-designed, amazing boxset there's no better time to start The Legend Trilogy! I highly, highly recommend buying this trilogy and it's a perfect gift for the upcoming Holiday season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in lots of ways!, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legend Trilogy Boxed Set (Hardcover)
I want to preface this review by saying I WILL NOT be giving away any plot points, so this review may seem a little surface, but I don't want to take away from anyone's experience who may decide to read these books (even though, I'd say "pass")

I was SUPER excited to read this trilogy-the other reviews were amazing and it has been touted as a trilogy that "Hunger Games" lovers would love.

Legend is the first book in the series. It is VERY hard to get into. It starts with a chapter from the first person point of view by a girl who is the youngest to ever attend the Republic of America's elite military training school. She is smart, but also a bit of a daredevil. Our typical strong, teenage girl. The next chapter is from the point of view of a boy who has been wronged by the Republic and as a result has taken to the street. He has become a vigilante. This is how the book unfolds. The girl (our Prodogy) after the boy (the Legend). Of course when they meet there is chemistry, etc.

Prodogy is the second book in the series. NOTE: you HAVE to read the first book, or this one will be lost on you completely! It picks up exactly where the first left off, which is nice. No time has passed in the story, so the action picks up right away. The second book is much more interesting than the first. The every-other character voice format continues in this book. The story gets more intense. The internal struggle, romantic tension, and looming war are pretty good. Overall, this one was the best of the trilogy.

Champion is the final book in the series. This book left a bad taste in my mouth. There are scenes and situations in this book that I don't really feel were appropriate for a YA novel. I was disappointed to see that the author choses to have our protagonists sleep together. Still 15 and 16 years old. I know that kids do this, but I don't really think putting it into the story was necessary. It also become a large focus in the last third of the book, which really takes away from the amazing things that are unfolding in the war.

Overall, after reading this, I am not anxious to read it again and if it ever is turned into a movie series, I will not be seeing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, December 24, 2013
This review is from: Legend Trilogy Boxed Set (Hardcover)
This series is absolutely fantastic. Very close to being on par with the Hunger Games, and in my opinion better than the Divergent trilogy. Marie Lu's writing is very well thought out, and the end game, while leaving the readers satisfied, also leaves a lot to the imagination. The characters are well thought out, and multi-dimensional. I would highly recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST READ, December 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legend Trilogy Boxed Set (Hardcover)
mind=blown.....loved the series...loved the characters...loved the writing.....still speechless. 3 books in 3 days....that's
how good this series is. Marie has won over another fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Dystopian trilogy., January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legend Trilogy Boxed Set (Hardcover)
I read all three of these books in less than 6 days, from the very beginning of legend you're on the edge of your seat and you're there till the very last sentence of Champion. The books are split up in two views. Days and Junes, For example it goes Chapter Day. Chapter June, Chapter Day. Chapter June and so one. Which gives you a good perspective of both characters. Legend introduces you to all the characters and paints a great picture for each one, you get to know the republic and the kind of world these characters live in. You live in that world while you're reading these books, so many plot twists and details, even devastation. A lot of the emotions can hit home for a lot of people which creates for an amazing story. The ending seems horrible and saddening but it's all in good time for the characters. You come to love every single character in these books and it breaks your heart when anything bad happens to them. They become family and you just want them to succeed in everything. These books are great for anyone who loves future set dystopian books with a lot of action and some romance en-tied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, September 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legend Trilogy Boxed Set (Hardcover)
If you like Hunger Games, Divergent or Matched Trilogies, you'll like Legend as well. Again, same utopian subplot and the need to change by the younger generation. There's a love story, of course, but what makes this set different is how Marie Lu writes it. It's in the perspectives of the main characters, which of course is nothing new in the literature world, but it gives a different view into the minds of these characters, which is different from HG or Divergent. HG and Divergent were story telling (and great stories they are - I'm a huge fan), but Legend allows the readers to know what the main characters are thinking or feeling of. Simple story in comparison and the ending was not too much of a surprise. Classic Asian drama scenarios throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Storytelling, Compelling Plot, and Beautiful Set!, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legend Trilogy Boxed Set (Hardcover)
I was really excited when this arrived in the mail. I have seen many pictures of Legend on Tumblr and wanted to give the trilogy a try and I absolutely loved it! Marie Lu's style resembles Susan Collin's cliff-hanger-per-chapter narrative technique. The Legend trilogy, although exploring similar themes, is distinct in its dual point of view format, with two very different protagonists. Although, I think I preferred the ending in this trilogy to Mockingjay, simply because Marie Lu devastates us with a realistic scenario for the possible fates of both characters, through chronological acceleration. It is simply a trilogy that all young adults should try and read because its lessons are both eternal and enduring. =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Havnt gotten to read it yet but be warned about prodigy not being made properly, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legend Trilogy Boxed Set (Hardcover)
I have found the front blue page in prodigy is stuck up higher in the book and hence it has started tearing and is kinda coming unstuck! Otherwise I am very happy with this book set but am going to have to be very careful reading this book so it doesn't get more damaged.

As someone obviously hasn't stuck the cover properly so to cover this they have stuck the next page down onto the cover of the book where the main colored page should be.

Just wanted to let people know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but disappointing too, February 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Legend Trilogy Boxed Set (Hardcover)
I was really happy when it arrived, being a fan of the legend series and all. But i am disappointed when i saw that the box is dented. The cover of prodigy is peeled up at the sides (the bottom and the top part) and i don't really like the paper design in the pages of prodigy which are jagged at the edge. Champion and Legend are okay though. So that's why I only rate 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Legend Trilogy Boxed Set
Legend Trilogy Boxed Set by Marie Lu (Hardcover - November 5, 2013)
$54.97 $31.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.