Customer Reviews


395 Reviews
5 star:
 (282)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually Stunning, Emotionally Engaging Film
According to the ancient lore of Native Americans, there is a story within each of us; the story of a life often guided by some inner voice, which some hear with great clearness. Some live by what they hear-- and such people become crazy. They become legend. And so it was destined to be for a young man named Tristan Ludlow, who was born toward the end of the Nineteenth...
Published on June 20, 2001 by Reviewer

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Blu
This movie took a very long time to make it to Blu Ray. So when it did I couldn't wait to upgrade this film from dvd to blu. Imagine my surprise to find this elegantly written, and beautifully photographed film to be quite grainy, overly contrasty, and drab. At one point I actually put in my old dvd to compare. Although it was softer in comparison the blu isn't that...
Published on March 10, 2011 by Elle


‹ Previous | 122 23 2440 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THE MOST LOVELIEST,ROMANTIC DRAMA MOVIE EVER!!!, May 31, 1999
By A Customer
This movie really touches your heart and makes u want to cry like the tragedy of Brad's brother and wife , Brad Pitt was an excellent outrstanding actor in this film it is one of his best roles, u won't regret this movie. so, rent it today ,beleive me it will take your breath away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want a movie that literally has it all, pick this one, April 27, 1999
By A Customer
This movie is my favorite of all time. This movie really has it all. Outstanding acting; the best I've seen. It's got romance, suspense, fighting, and a little soap opera kind of twist mixed in. I have had much trouble finding fault with it. Just an all around fabulous film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbit DVD rules!, April 13, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Everyone else is reviewing the movie itself, so I'll review the Superbit DVD. In the past, whenever I had a collecter's version (with plenty of extras) versus say a DTS version (without the extras) I would choose the extras. In movies such as Apollo 13 and Saving Private Ryan I chose the collectors versions. I found over time that I stop watching the extras and just watch the movies over and over. SO, Legends of the Fall offers a great collector's version at half the price of the superbit version. So, why get the superbit? WEll, this is a BIG movie. The crispness of the picture and sound are stunning. I have over 50 DVDs and this one is right at the top with sound quality and picture quality. The separation of the surround sound in the dts is fantastic. A door opening, a dog howling in the distance, the battle sequence, the wind, and James Horner's music will be as clean and true as you can imagine. The quality of John Toll's amazing cinematography is a visual jewel. From the definition in the color of the faces to the divine imagery of the natural setting, you won't be disappointed. This film is as beautifully photographed as any I have ever seen. Now, is it worth double the cost of the loaded collector's edition? I don't know, but I bought the Superbit version and I couldn't be more pleased. The Superbit offers none of the extras that are in the collector's edition, just a breathtaking version of a gorgeous film. I kept finding myself thinking.. wow that's beautiful. This is a very emotional, moving film that the super-definition of sound and picture enhances into quite an experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must-see for everybody!, December 29, 1998
By A Customer
OMG! This was such an awesome movie, I cried my eyes out. Sir Anthony Hopkins' acting was absolutely wonderful, but so was the acting of all the other actors and actresses in this movie. I only regret the fact that it ended so tragically. Brad Pitt is unbelievably HOT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, February 24, 2004
By 
This review is from: Legends of the Fall (Special Edition) (DVD)
I love this movie its a wonderful love story, you can watch with your boyfriend, and he'll actually like it!It has just enough action in it and plenty of romance. If you can get it in the Target store its a few dollars cheaper

BUY IT ITS GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is a must see!, October 5, 2000
By 
s.premo (San Francisco, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legends of the Fall (Special Edition) (DVD)
Legends of the Fall is a very moving and emotional film about family, and how a family that was once together becomes broken apart by the miseries of war. I would recommend this film to anyone who loves those tearjerkers, and of course a great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Book!, July 16, 2001
By 
Jeff Jones (Redlands, California United States) - See all my reviews
The book is great, the movie is better. It explores the psychology of men in such a way that rivals even "The Godfather" (though the film itself does not). Brad Pitt is a mighty actor, and he completely melts into his part as Tristan. Wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love tragic love stories then Legends is for you., March 8, 1999
By A Customer
I rent this one at least twice a year. This is my all time most favorite movie. The story, the setting, the actors, the acting...Legends has it all. I like to imagine that Brad is just like Tristan...It's a must see for all Brad fans out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, old-fashioned family saga, February 24, 2007
By 
This review is from: Legends of the Fall (Special Edition) (DVD)
If you liked Brad Pitt before he began appearing on the cover of People magazine every week, this is the film for you. Set in the early 20th c., before and after WWI, it's the story of Captain Ludlow, a veteran of the Indian Wars, marvelously played by Anthony Hopkins, and his three sons. Brad Pitt is Tristan, the middle son, a loner and lover of the wild, incredibly sexy and the favorite. Beautiful Julia Ormond shows up on the arm of the youngest brother, Samuel, as his fiancée, and the seclusion that the Captain has enjoyed from the turmoil of the wars is shattered. All three brothers are smitten, but reality intrudes when the idealistic Samuel decides to go to Canada to enlist, and his devoted brothers go with him to protect him. Samuel's foolish decision sets off a train of events that leaves many victims behind, except Tristan, who in the end is "the rock against which all others break."

Brad Pitt is marvelous in this film--although a bit overwrought at times, he can convey love, sincerity, integrity and humor, as well as brutality and insanity. Aidan Quinn, who seems to do mostly TV these days, is the pained older brother, who does everything right but is never loved. This sweeping epic won the Oscar for cinematography, and the prize was well-deserved. Be prepared for a few tough WWI scenes, and some gratuitous gore along the way, but the story grabs you and doesn't let go--you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just love this movie. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 2440 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Legends of the Fall (Special Edition)
Legends of the Fall (Special Edition) by Edward Zwick (DVD - 2000)
$9.99 $5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.