Customer Reviews


201 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dynamic Duo kick the blocks outta Arkham's Worst!
If you liked LEGO Star Wars and LEGO INDY, then LEGO BATMAN is already in your Xbox....'nuff said. If you didn't like them...you won't like BATMAN...if you didn't try them, you should.

The LEGO games are fun for the whole family, young and old, the animated LEGO movie links to the gaming threads are wild & wicked and worth the purchase on their merits alone...
Published on September 24, 2008 by Kevin J. Loria

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batman
My five year loves this game. Well, he loves anything batman related. It's got great graphics and story. It is difficult for him at times (he's five) but we don't mind. It just gives us a chance to play it together as opposed to him sitting by himself! I would recommend this game for anyone with a little boy. It will definitely put a smile on their face and keep them...
Published on December 7, 2012 by LindsD


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dynamic Duo kick the blocks outta Arkham's Worst!, September 24, 2008
By 
Kevin J. Loria (New Orleans, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Batman (Video Game)
If you liked LEGO Star Wars and LEGO INDY, then LEGO BATMAN is already in your Xbox....'nuff said. If you didn't like them...you won't like BATMAN...if you didn't try them, you should.

The LEGO games are fun for the whole family, young and old, the animated LEGO movie links to the gaming threads are wild & wicked and worth the purchase on their merits alone. The format for Batman is much like the Lucasfilm game sets, just not directly connected to any particular movies...although (thankfully) the Danny Elfman music (circa 1989) runs throughout the game, the style is generic Batman via LEGO LAND. The villains have teamed up to escape Arkham Asylum and the Dynamic Duo must stop them...each villain has a story arc to unlock, before free play is possible in the related locations...so like the previous installments, replay value is high, you can return to the story setting later as several optional characters including the villians themselves in order to find hidden "trophies" to build in Wayne Manor (part of the Batcave hub, where menus, story progress and unlockables lie). This way the same tales have many variations for players to explore, collecting the coin-like "studs" as currency for upgrades and unlockables. There's roughly about 30 separate levels to play, 15 in the hero chapters and 15 levels i the villain chapters.

LEGO BATMAN characters have individual moves, Batman for example can put baddies in a choke hold and throw them. An exciting addition to LEGO combat is the BATARANG, which will lock on targets for distance attacks. Introduced also, are special suits for Batman and Robin, these make certain combinations of characters a necessity for passing stages or solving puzzles...For example, in true comic book fashion,Robin can get a Magnetized-suit to scale metal walls, I can't explain the pleasure that came from watching Robin lumbering and buzzing up surfaces (sound fx here are classic) Other moves are standard for the LEGO games: grappling hooks for platforms and punching and kicking.

The character design is great and Gotham looks good...there are lest characters to be unlocked here than in any other LEGO game so far and lest upgrades as well. But as for the characters there are so good choices from the Batman Universe....Joker, Penguin, Catwoman, Two-Face, Poison IVY, Mr. Freeze, Riddler, Killer Croc, Scarecrow, The Mad Hatter, even Bane.Like the heroes, each villain has their own special weapons and moves...I bet you can guess Banes.

Another LEGO staple is the mix and match at the hub, where you can customize a character for free play by swapping the pieces around.

No major complaints, it just seems smaller than previous efforts, maybe because no direct movie-tie-in was done...like the Trilogy format.
I do miss the "character quirks" introduced for LEGO INDY, like the fear of snakes and rats, effecting character behavior. Admittedly it doesn't work well with the superhero genre. Also, since this is a Traveler's Tales project with Warner Bros. and not Lucasfilm, don't expect to find any hidden Star Wars characters this time....sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet, in the outstanding lego series, October 7, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Batman (Video Game)
As a father of two and a long time gamer, I'm a huge fan of the Lego games. Lego Indiana Jones was not quite as good as the Star Wars installments, IMO, however the Batman game reigns supreme! Yes, the quirky AI issues that have plagued the series still exist but they are easy to tolerate given the engaging game play and fun spirited humor that has become a trademark of Lego Video Games. The ability to play as the Villains in Story Mode is a great addition. I also appreciate that the game does not follow any particular movie script.

This game is fun for both adults and children and offers an excellent co-op experience. Even my non-gaming Wife enjoys playing this with the kids. The bottom line is, Lego Batman does not disappoint. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basically a first timer to Lego games, and what a trip!, October 3, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Batman (Video Game)
I had only vaguely played the Lego Star Wars game, and Indiana Jones, well I had passed on that. But when a green haired lego Joker is staring me in the face, who am I to resist?

The game is quite simply a nostalgia overload of goodness. Everything you loved about Batman and everything you loved about Legos...all in one. The game features an original storyline, not a rehash of any Batman episode or movie you've seen. It combines all of the characters and villains that you know (Joker, Penguin, Riddler, etc) and a few that maybe you don't (Poison Ivy, Killer Moth). And they all become controllable characters as well. One of the best aspects of the game is the at times ingenious ways you combine the capabilities of the different characters to solve puzzles. One may have super strength while another has mind control and another can swim underwater. All the abilities need to be used in concert to get 100% of the experience in the game.

At times, the game feels a little hack-and-slash, but somehow it never gets old. The constant quest for the latest unlockable, trying out a new character, or solving a perplexing puzzle...it just keeps driving you. And rest assured there is a lot to find in this game. It can definitely keep you busy for a while.

I don't know if all the Lego games are this good, but if you're like me, you won't regret making Lego Batman your first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batman, December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lego Batman (Video Game)
My five year loves this game. Well, he loves anything batman related. It's got great graphics and story. It is difficult for him at times (he's five) but we don't mind. It just gives us a chance to play it together as opposed to him sitting by himself! I would recommend this game for anyone with a little boy. It will definitely put a smile on their face and keep them occupied!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a perfect 5!, September 24, 2008
By 
dirt55 (United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Batman (Video Game)
This game is incredibly fun! I love how creative, colorful, and plain wacky this game is. This is the first Lego game I have bought and I'm surprised how expressive the characters are despite being blocks who don't talk, but just make gestures instead. I played it both single and co-op and both are very fun. It was so close to 5 stars except two things: #1 No online co-op? Really? In this day and age where you can play a $5 XBL title co-op online??? This game is a natural fit for online! #2 Not being a Lego gamer before I was kind of confused at first what the bits were for that you pick up and how to smash things and how to open other things you KNEW could/needed to be open. I read the manual and it was pretty non-informative. What bothered me the most was that I was at the options screen and wasn't sure what some of the audio/video settings would do or what some of the unlockables would do if you enable them in the options menu...and what does the manual say about them? Nothing, Zero, Nada. Seriously? I don't need full explanations about my health bar or the characters...explain the stuff that's actually confusing. Despite these two things this game is great and very recommendable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic game, but not for kids that are too young, July 6, 2010
By 
This game is destined to become a classic. The graphic are good, and it is fun to play for almost any age. The one problem is that it is difficult for young children without help. Yes, the controls are simple, but sometimes what you need to figure out to progress is simply to difficult for kids, between 4-10. They can still play it, but be warned that they will need your help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here we go again..., September 24, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Batman (Video Game)
You'd figure that with two Lego Star Wars games and Lego Indiana Jones already under their belts, Travelers Tales' Lego games would be getting kind of stale. Well, you'd figure wrong. Lego Batman features everything that was enjoyable with the aforementioned games, and slaps the Batman license on it to boot. Playing as the Caped Crusader and his sidekick Robin, you traverse a Lego-fied Gotham City and take on the usual rogues gallery of baddies. Fans of the Batman comics will be happy to see plenty of familiar faces: Joker, Nightwing, Batgirl, Hush, Bane, and plenty more are all here for your amusement. If you've played any of the previous Lego-based games, you should already know what to expect here, as Lego Batman offers up plenty of funny and comical moments supplemented with tons of unlockables and bonus characters to boot. The game looks good and even offers Danny Elfman's classic Batman theme, rounding out the presentation. The only downsides to Lego Batman are the same flaws that were apparent in previous Lego games: the difficulty is simple to say the least, and the game isn't that long at all. Still, with the hordes of unlockables to find, you'll keep playing, although it would have been nice to have some online co-op features by now. All in all, Lego Batman is a fun and family friendly diversion that anyone can enjoy and easily pick up and play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can you say amazing, Batman?, September 23, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Batman (Video Game)
From what I have played so far, this game is great. It has all the great Lego-ness about it. The levels are fun to play. There is more hand to hand combat in this compared to start wars, but so was Indy. The bat suits are great and the typical Lego humor is there. I am a huge fan of the Lego series and have all the games so far and like this the best I think. It has all the same features as the other games, but a few tweaks here and there making the game feel more polished. It is hard to describe, but it feels refined. Certainly worth the money. Great if you have kids at home too. I bet they would like it as much as any adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "CREATIVE, COLORFUL, ENTERTAINING!", December 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lego Batman (Video Game)
This game has several advantages, and we love to play it together as we become different characters. We collect Lego games now, and this one is fun-filled, with lots of activity. You can be Batman, Robin, or select one of many villains. My daughter enjoys the challenges, and rewards.

It has several moves to learn and master, and there are many different weapons. We enjoy building the Batmobile, and other vehicles. This game provides hours of fun, and entertainment.

A great gift to Lego lovers, creative, colorful, and exciting. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for young boys and girls, October 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lego Batman (Video Game)
Great game! My boys ages 4 and 5 love playing together as Batman and Robin! And my 9 year old girl loves playing it with her friends too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lego Batman
Lego Batman by Warner Bros (Xbox 360)
$19.99 $14.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.