Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Similar play style to Lego Battles
My son loves all things Lego, so we try pretty much every Lego game that comes out. He says this game is a lot like Lego Battles, and equally if not more fun. Lego Battles and Ninjago are games of strategy and planning, they are not at all like Lego Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Harry Potter, etc. where you collect points and bricks. When my son was younger he loved those...
Published on May 6, 2011 by M

versus
60 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT typical Lego game and NOT typical RTS game, but still fun
First of all, this is NOT a standard Lego game--anyone who reads the description should know this. It is described as a real-time strategy (RTS) game and that label is slightly more accurate. However, the game is not very similar to Lego Battles, which is closer to what you would expect for RTS--in the older Lego Battles game, you would have to build farms to support a...
Published on April 13, 2011 by RY


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT typical Lego game and NOT typical RTS game, but still fun, April 13, 2011
By 
RY (New York) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
First of all, this is NOT a standard Lego game--anyone who reads the description should know this. It is described as a real-time strategy (RTS) game and that label is slightly more accurate. However, the game is not very similar to Lego Battles, which is closer to what you would expect for RTS--in the older Lego Battles game, you would have to build farms to support a population and then choose whether your people would be soldiers, builders, etc.; the prior game was obviously geared towards children and was good for teaching resource management and strategy. In this newer Ninjago game, there is less strategy involved. In the warrior class, you can only have one of each type so there isn't much room for choosing how to deploy your forces. You just have to make sure to collect enough bricks to build as many individual ninjas as you can. The game is also somewhat unbalanced--it seems impossible to beat some levels unless you equip special "red bricks" with power-ups like "regenerating health" but then the battles can often go from impossible to too easy. The battles can also be somewhat action-oriented--there are some where the only way to survive appears to be running around avoiding swarms of re-spawning enemies until the timer runs out (at which point, they stop re-spawning and you can gradually eliminate them).

Parents: the paragraph above should tell you whether this the game you think it is and whether your child will like it. It is NOT like Lego Batman, Star Wars, etc. Consider yourselves warned.

People who liked the first Lego Battles: you may find this version disappointing. I liked the first game and wish that this game retained more of the RTS flavor. There is more story to this game and it is still fun, though. I just wish there was more room to build different weapons and such--I miss the dragons, catapults, ships, etc. I am about 75% of the way through the story mode and will update this, if there are new things to build in the last chapters of the game. By the way, you no longer have to collect those annoying blue studs--there are currency studs everywhere and you just need enough per level to get the "true ninja" status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Even though the Ninjago Brand is for small children... This game is not..., September 12, 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
This game could be the greatest game ever made, but its to complicated, and shouldn't be marketed/targeted or to my 5 year old, or probably any child under the age of 10 or 12...

After seeing the commercial during the Ninjago Cartoon, my kid had to have this for his birthday. This game has the Rated E on the front, which I thought would make it playable for all ages, much like Lego's other games that can be played by younger audiences, Lego Star Wars, Lego Batman, etc... Its not, After purchasing and then reading some other reviews... its a RTS- Real Time Strategy game, a thinking, actionless and slow paced game, not a run around button masher like smaller kids CAN play.

So again, it could be the greatest game ever made, but it shouldn't have been Branded with the Lego Ninjago Brand, which smaller children will really want to play... but simply can not understand

Hope this review helps Parents with children in the 5 to 10 or 12 age range from purchasing this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Similar play style to Lego Battles, May 6, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
My son loves all things Lego, so we try pretty much every Lego game that comes out. He says this game is a lot like Lego Battles, and equally if not more fun. Lego Battles and Ninjago are games of strategy and planning, they are not at all like Lego Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Harry Potter, etc. where you collect points and bricks. When my son was younger he loved those games, but as he's gotten older he enjoys the Lego Strategy games better, and I think they are better geared towards older kids. If your child liked Lego Battles they will probably like Ninjago. If not, I wouldn't get this, or wait until they are older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensei says..., April 15, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
this game may contain Ninjas, Dragons, and Skeletons but make no mistake, this is a RTS (Real Time Strategy) game... the use of one's brain is required. if your kid dreams of becoming an architect or is interested in leadership, this title is worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 10 and 8 year old love it!, June 28, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
If you have a lego lover in your house, than they will definitely need this! My 10 and 8 year old boys love this game. It also feed their desire to play with the Ninjago figures as a game instead of just using them as role=playing figures. We were very happy with this game and are definitely getting our money's worth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False advertising, April 1, 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
My five year old loves Ninjago, and this one looks exciting based on the cover art and description. Wow, couldn't have been more wrong. They should warn you not to buy this for kids under 12. Someone should inform the game designers that the brand is Lego Ninjago, not Starcraft. Why they would turn a product aimed at little kids into a convoluted RTS game is beyond me. It's like buying a Smurfs game and finding out it has the rules and mechanics of Civilization. I can't imagine this game would be fun even for older kids... I played for ten minutes and wanted to throw my DS in the garbage. $25 down the drain and a highly disappointed kid. Thanks for nothing Nintendo and Hellbent Games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Son did not like it at all... boring, December 29, 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
Santa brought this game for Christmas as requested. He got a Ninjago lego set for this Birthday and was so excited at first.

There is a lot of reading and fowling instructions which is too advanced for him. He is not a strong reader yet and tried to play by skipping over the pop up dialog parts, it doesn't work. This is not a game in which you have to travel from one level to the next like Mario or Monster tail. Unless your child has someone to read and direct him while they play, I would wait until they were at least 12 or 13 years old.
Even trying to help him play didn't help much. I think he has played it less than 5 minutes and is not interested in giving it another chance. I agree with the other parents who didn't like this game either. Not fun and very frustrating for my child
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW FROM A 13 YEAR OLD, July 16, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I like Lego Battles Ninjago because it wasn't short, has ninjas with powers, and it wasn't too easy or too hard. This is a real time strategy game (RST). This game took about 7 hours to complete the game. Lego Battles is more strategized than Lego Battles Ninjago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, November 1, 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
My son got this game for his birthday and was so excited. Once he started playing it he was no longer excited at all. It was very difficult for him to move the characters around. You have to highlight the ninjas and then point on the screen where you want them to go. If you drag the stylus at all you have to go back and re highlight your ninja. It became irritating. There is also no real battling so far in this game. Once you get your ninja near the enemy you point at the enemy and the ninja automatically fights it. we have only had this game for two days. I hope it gets better but am not sure it will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Never gets played with., November 25, 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
This game is too hard for a 6 year old to navigate. Even I had trouble with it and it was just NOT FUN. There is ALOT of reading involved so may be better for older kids that are really familiar and interested in Ninjago. 6 months later, this game is never played with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS
Lego Battles: Ninjago - Nintendo DS by Warner Bros (Nintendo DS)
$19.99 $13.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.