Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 101 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good GameCube port of a surprisingly-fun game
This GameCube version of Lego Star Wars was released a full six months after the PlayStation 2 and Xbox versions of the game, an odd decision considering the frequently-assumed target audiences of the different consoles. Even so, this delayed port is nevertheless a very solid one, and gamers who have Cubes can pick this one up knowing it looks and plays just as well on...
Published on November 5, 2005 by J. Johnston

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Play Lego Star Wars before Lego Star Wars II
Lego Star Wars is a fun game, though a bit short. Its main weakness to me is that I played Lego Star Wars II first. LSW2 is far better than the first; the developers clearly learned and improved on all the strengths and also removed the weakest aspects.

If you've played LSW2 already, you might pass on this one. But if not, start here. And when you've finished...
Published on September 15, 2007 by David


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 101 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good GameCube port of a surprisingly-fun game, November 5, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Star Wars - Gamecube (Video Game)
This GameCube version of Lego Star Wars was released a full six months after the PlayStation 2 and Xbox versions of the game, an odd decision considering the frequently-assumed target audiences of the different consoles. Even so, this delayed port is nevertheless a very solid one, and gamers who have Cubes can pick this one up knowing it looks and plays just as well on this console as it does on the others.

Lego Star Wars is a game that is forgiving enough that children will enjoy it (i.e. a character who gets "killed" is simply resurrected nearby). At the same time, also has a few challenges that will give adults a share of fun. The game features a VERY large number of unlockables and extras that can only be completed by collecting certain items and collecting large enough numbers of the game's currency (known as bits). Some of the levels are not terribly difficult to beat - but can be challenging to beat with sufficient numbers of bits, some of which are lost when a character dies.

Of note, Lego Star Wars also has an easy-to-use cooperative feature, which is a great deal of fun regardless of the age of the people you are playing with.

The presentation of this game is outstanding. The graphics are beautiful and glossy and portray the "Lego" and the "Star Wars" both wonderfully. The cutscenes are funny and capture well the storyline of the first three episodes even though there is no voicework to speak of. John Williams soundtrack is here and the game even has the appropriate tracks for each level. Hearing that trademark "Darth Maul" anthem during the duel with the Sith is a real treat.

There are only a few drawbacks to the game. One, it's a bit on the short side - an adult could probably plow through the entire campaign in 6-8 hours. That being said, each level has hidden items and unlockables that are only accessible after you've beaten that level in the regular story mode, so there is a lot of incentive to go back. Two, a couple of the levels might actually be a bit hard for kids, such as the podracing level... perhaps all the more reason for an adult to sit down and enjoy the game with them. :) Finally, a couple of the platforming sequences have some odd camera angles that can result in excessive deaths the first time through, but this is less of a hassle considering the fact that it's impossible to die completely in the game.

Overall, though, this is one of those unusual games that is easily recommendable to both older Star Wars fans and younger kids... and is all the better if your household has both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of two worlds, December 16, 2005
By 
Simon (Brampton, ON) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Star Wars - Gamecube (Video Game)
If you like Star Wars and you like Lego, this is really a no-brainer purchase. The difficulty level would suggest this game is aimed at kids, but really its just so much fun for anyone to play that it's easy to come back to over and over. My favourite feature is the drop in/drop out function, which like an arcade booth allows someone to walk in, play for a bit, then drop out and do something else without interrupting your progress. I wish more games could implement this idea.

The graphics are solid, interpreting Star Wars into Lego and occasionally using the silliness for humour. The game is also backed by the usual John Williams score, so you get a full Star Wars experience. There's no voice, but voice would feel odd for this kind of game.

Really, I'm so glad this made it to Gamecube. It's relatively cheap and packed with fun and unlockables. Plus, how can you say no to Lego and Star Wars?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Game, December 2, 2005
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Star Wars - Gamecube (Video Game)
Lego Star Wars is a great game which I play very often. With over 30 different characters to chose from, you will almost never get tired with this game! You can accumulate all of the characters by collecting blue, silver, and golden lego studs. You can also cash them in for extras which make the game even more entertaining. It includes levels based on the first three movies, and an extra bonus level after you complete the main game. I would say it is for ages 7-13, since it has no extreme violence, but still appeals to those of an older age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just For Small Children, November 26, 2005
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Star Wars - Gamecube (Video Game)
I recently played this game at my friends house and we had a blast. He had just bought it and right out of the box it was loads of fun.

The Lego theme probably throws off a bunch of older children, but believe me, this game is fun! I'm 12 years old and I think this game is awesome.

GRAPHICS-9/10

Good graphics, they make the enviornment look great.

GAMEPLAY-10/10

This game is extremely easy to learn! Within the first couple minutes of the game you'll have the basics mastered.

SOUND-9/10

Great sound, lightsabers hum, and the Star War's theme plays the whole time.

FUN VALUE-10/10

THis game is just loads of fun. In Dexter's Diner you can watch Jar Jar and Qui-Gon fight. Watching battle droids fall into bricks never loses it's novelty, and the game just overall excells.

What are you doing? Go out and buy this game now. NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COOLEST GAME EVER!, November 15, 2005
A Kid's Review
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Star Wars - Gamecube (Video Game)
I love this game! You get to be all sorts of lego star wars people! you can be any one from Anikin and Darth Vader to and Padama and Jar Jar Binks. With the first three episodes, even episode III: Revenge Of The Sith! I'd say if you have a Game cube and like star wars this is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY!!, November 17, 2005
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Star Wars - Gamecube (Video Game)
I have been so upset because this game was not available for Game Cube, especially since the target audience for Game Cube is perfect for this game. My son has wanted this game and we were considering getting a whole other system eventually just so we could have this game. Imagine my happiness when I saw this finally available for Game Cube!

This is absolutely the cutest thing you'll ever see. The sound effects are wonderful, as is the music. The characters are precious, even Darth Maul! My son is five and crazy about Star Wars, but as parents, we find this game fun to play as well. We keep away from some of the more violent games, but this is great because even if you get someone with your light saber, it is just like a lego and falls apart into blocks. No blood or anything. Another great thing about this game...there is really no losing involved, so my son can continue to play even after his points run out. Adults and older children will enjoy working your way through the story, from Episode I to III, but little ones will simply enjoy getting to be Qui Gon, Obi Wan, or other characters and weilding the light saber. This is the best game we have bought for our Cube and I am tickled to death that it is finally available. CUTE CUTE CUTE and TONS OF FUN TOO!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fun is in the perfection., August 29, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Star Wars - Gamecube (Video Game)
You get unlimited lives, so getting through all three episodes isn't too taxing (although I found myself uttering a plethora of swear words during the pod race level.)

The true challenge comes from collecting lego blocks and unlocking new characters and cheats (because, really, shouldn't everyone be carrying a purple lightsaber?)

Tons and tons of playability. Plus, you can import your characters into Lego Star Wars II!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining for a Lego game, December 9, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Star Wars - Gamecube (Video Game)
In Lego Star Wars, you play the first three (four if you unlock the bonus level)episodes of the Star Wars saga as Legos. When I bought this, I expected it to be an okay,cheesy Lego game. I was wrong. The game is full of adventure and has lots of goals, so that once you beat all the levels, there's still something to do. Overall, I thought this was a great game for all ages and will entertain you for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Fun - Even For Adults, March 1, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Star Wars - Gamecube (Video Game)
My 9-year-old son literally begged me to let him buy this game, "I'll even use my own money". This was a surprise because he is usually very tight with his money. We have dozens of games we bought him that he never plays and we were concerned that this one would end up in the big pile destined for a yard sale. We were wrong!

This game is just plain fun. The missions are generally not too challenging (other than the Pod Racing), but they are very engaging. The cooperative mode is great and allows for some quality family gaming time.

Pros:

Very Fun

Can't Die (good for younger players)

Nice Extras

Cons:

Standard missions end too quickly (but replay is also fun)

We highly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go on you know you want to, November 30, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lego Star Wars - Gamecube (Video Game)
First off, this game is the coolest. I bought it under the impression that it was going to be fun. My roommate on the other hand repeatly told me that "that looks so stupid, why did you waste your money" Well his tune changed once we started playing! This game is so much fun.

So who when there were little and played with legos didnt think about what it would be like to be a lego. You know live in your lego house dirve your lego car...well now you can!

The gameplay is great, its you and a friend or just you. you battle it out in many differnt worlds, which by the way are very interactive. there is always a little something extra, even if its just to watch some chairs dance.

the only thing that bothers me once in a while is the camera angle...but hey thats the camera angle. it can be overlooked...and overlooked it shall be!

The graphics are good, very true to the legos they are supposed to represent. And the cut seens are short and some are funny. There is no dialog to listen to so it makes them keep it short. The puzzels will keep you guessing from time to time..and some will leave you scraching your head. There is endless replayablity, as you can go back through each world in "free play" and choose different characters to be on the level. you actualy have to do this if you hope to beat the game.

really, what more could you ask for. you have a great toy, lego, you have a good system, the cube, good story, star wars, whats not to like! dont be afraid to try this game...even if you think your too old. I wasnt to old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lego Star Wars - Gamecube
Lego Star Wars - Gamecube by Eidos Interactive (GameCube)
$19.99 $18.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.