Prime Music
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by AbundaTrade!
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All discs are inspected for quality. Item may have small stickers or notations.? Super-fast Shipping. Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Luis Leguia Plays Music For Cello and Piano By Composers From South America, Mexico and the Caribbean
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Luis Leguia Plays Music For Cello and Piano By Composers From South America, Mexico and the Caribbean

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, February 1, 2002
"Please retry"
$11.50 $1.84

Black Friday in Music Black Friday in Music

Product Details

  • Performer: Luis Leguia, Carmen Rodriguez-Peralta
  • Composer: Carlos Chavez, Juan Jose Castro, Washington Castro, Mozart Camargo Guarnieri, Edgar Valcarcel, et al.
  • Audio CD (February 1, 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Luis and Clark
  • ASIN: B00006FXAP
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #745,191 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Track 1-4 Suite Espanol Joaquin Nin
2. Track 5 O Canto Do Cysne Negro Heitor Villa-Lobos (Song of the Black Swan)
3. Track 6 Pampeana No. 2 Alberto Ginastera
4. Track 7 Triste Alberto Ginastera
5. Track 8-12 Peruvian Folklore Transcribed for cello and piano by Luis Leguia
6. Track 13-18 Pequena Suite Heitor Villa-Lobos
7. Track 19 Flor de Sancayo Edgar Valcarcel
8. Track 20-21 Ponteio E. Dansa Mozart Camargo Guarnieri
9. Track 22 Tango Washington Castro
10. Track 23 Cant Dell Ocells Pablo Casals (Song of the Birds)
11. Track 24 Arbole Arbole Juan Jose Castro
12. Track 25-26 Sonatina Carlos Chavez

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

This album by composers from South America, Mexico and the Caribbean includes works by Joaquin Nin, Villa-Lobos, Ginastera, Guarnieri, Casals, and Chavez which may be well-known to cellists, though they are certainly not over-recorded and David Moore of the American Record Guide says, "it is very nice to have them all on a single CD played with flair." The CD also includes Casals’ haunting ‘‘Song of the Birds’’. Perhaps the most intriguing piece and certainly the one receiving the most critical attention is an unknown and previously unrecorded work for solo cello, composed in 1984 for Leguía, by Peruvian composer Edgar Valcárcel, of which, David Moore in the American Record Guide said, "and in addition to being the most demanding work-out here for cello and cellist, it packs real musical variety into its seven-plus minutes."

It is also noteworthy to mention that this is the first recording ever made on a carbon fiber cello. Peter M. Knapp of the Patriot Ledger noted that "while made of modern materials instead of traditional wood, the carbon fiber cello Leguía has developed is no cold, high-tech instrument. Crisp, clear and even, its tone quality is outstanding.

"The cello’s stability and responsiveness are richly demonstrated in Argentine composer Alberto Ginastera’s ‘‘Pampeana No. 2,’’ a 1950 composition based on folk traditions of the pampa-dwelling Argentine Gauchos. Ginastera’s evocative rhapsody exploits the instrument’s full range, Leguía’s cello displaying a smooth and sonorous and that human singing quality in the treble that makes the cello so special."

Review impressive display of technique, satisfying collection of music.There’s nothing on here that isn’t worth hearing. -- James Miller, Fanfare July 2002

Leguia plays all this highly attractive material with warmth and virtuosity. -- David Moore, American Record Guide, July 2002

sheer delight start to finish, not only for the sound of the instrument itself, but for Leguias seductively tender playing. -- T. Medrick, Boston Herald, May 24, 2002

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on December 30, 2002
Luis Leguia has created a marvelous recording of rarely heard, but deservedly lovely and exciting 'cello pieces. What's even more astonishing is that he is not only an acknowledged, world-class master of the 'cello, playing with the Boston Symphony Orchestra since 1963, but he has designed and built a beautifully sounding modern version of the instrument using space-age materials! No mean feat for anyone, especially one who's background is founded in classical music training and performance at Julliard, not materials science! His Carbon Fiber design is robust. After a month of sitting derelict outside in the elements of a Berkshire summer in Western Massachusetts, the instrument had only "slipped about an octave" out of tune! It projects a wondrous tone and power which has received high praise from numerous other orchestral and solo 'cellist celebrities, worldwide.
As for this recording, it was made in Symphony Hall in Boston and is a beautiful introduction to the glorious sound of an often neglected solo instrument. In spite of the modernity of the "Carbon Fiber" 'cello, the program is filled with rarely heard but approachable, entertaining music of the last century from South America, Mexico, and the Caribbean. Resplendent playing in Mr. Leguia's hands, along with the glowing accompaniment of Ms. Rodrigues-Peralta at the piano, carries the composers' intended fire and romance from "South of the Border", as well as introspective moments of lilting lush beauty in these pieces.
If you are but moderately inclined towards the 'cello's warmth of tone, I heartily recommend this recording. If you are a student of the instrument, by all means investigate these glowing works, so lovingly attended to in these performances. And, if you are a serious 'cellist, be sure to investigate the reasonably priced, beautiful, and nearly indestructible instrument developed and nurtured in the hands of a truly talented master of his diverse crafts.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Monica Hesse on July 9, 2011
ALL I can say is Luis is a masterful cellist and inventor! The recording itself should have been done better. The ambience of the room and perhaps the miking of the instruments are lacking in some depth. But nevertheless the music is wonderful!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category