Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Media components and study guide not yet released.
My instructor asked us to purchase the new edition. I would have purchased the 5th edition instead if I had known that the publisher has not yet released the Media and supplements that were described in the Preface of the book (I looked at a copy at the school bookstore. Dont buy this edition if you were planning on taking full advantage of online quizes, animations, etc...
Published 21 months ago by sig

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I love Lehninger...but 6th edition sucks. Buy the 5th!!
First off, out of the box, it looked like it had water damage because of the adhesive they used on the binding. The text book is so cheaply made, that within the first week of using it the cardboard cover is bowing- great "hardback"- and you would think with how heavy it is, they would have invested more money in a cover. The pages are so thin that the rip easily when...
Published 7 months ago by Anne Marie Wannamaker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Media components and study guide not yet released., January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry (Hardcover)
My instructor asked us to purchase the new edition. I would have purchased the 5th edition instead if I had known that the publisher has not yet released the Media and supplements that were described in the Preface of the book (I looked at a copy at the school bookstore. Dont buy this edition if you were planning on taking full advantage of online quizes, animations, etc. like I was, because they are not available for this edition and there is no release date so far.
The book itself seems to be well written, so far, but I cant justify the cost without any media features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is excellent for college level biochemistry, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry (Hardcover)
I actually really enjoy reading this book while taking my biochemistry course in college. It explains difficult concepts very well and the diagrams/figures are awesome for understanding different biochemical processes such as glycolysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I love Lehninger...but 6th edition sucks. Buy the 5th!!, March 22, 2014
This review is from: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry (Hardcover)
First off, out of the box, it looked like it had water damage because of the adhesive they used on the binding. The text book is so cheaply made, that within the first week of using it the cardboard cover is bowing- great "hardback"- and you would think with how heavy it is, they would have invested more money in a cover. The pages are so thin that the rip easily when turning the page. The print goes through the page so you can see the text from the previous page through figures on the next page. I haven't even made it through the semester and the cover is ripping off - this is not from misuse of the text just normal reading. The material inside yes is wonderful I highly recommend Lehninger as THE biochemistry book, but my 5th edition from my intro to biochem class is way better! I wish I didn't waste the money on the new edition...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars think of something fun then remove the fun., October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry (Hardcover)
It is biochem book for a college level course. How much more do you want? You want colorful pictures? Boom got it! You want a tome of big words about small things? Boom got it! You want a book that encourages complaining about work load? Boom got it! But honestly if you are reading you are already going to buy this book because that one chart on pg 64 is kinda useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, wholesome biochemistry textbook, September 18, 2014
By 
This review is from: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry (Hardcover)
Let me start out by stating that I am taking auto-tutorial biochemistry at my university. The book is essential to the course. We don't have a professor per se, but rather a test center and some online materials. I am so glad this was the book recommended for use. I did not do so well in organic chemistry. I certainly passed, but the concepts did not stick. This book explains the principles of biochemistry extremely clearly. It reinforces these principles over and over. The order is excellent. While most books immediately lay down foundations and work up, this book goes beyond. It lays the foundations, builds a layer, reinforces the existing foundation, builds another layer, and reinforces any cracks or holes that may have popped up in the foundation once more. The illustrations are clear. If you don't get Figure X-1, then Figure X-2 will likely clear things up for you. Each figure is clearly explained. All angles are approached. There are no holes for students to fall through and miss something, doomed to be completely clueless for the rest of the semester. A lot of textbooks have a habit of leaving traps in the forms of missed concepts, ideas that were not thoroughly explained, and when there is a hole in the foundation, the rest of the semester becomes swiss cheese. If you don't understand nucleophilic attack in organic chemistry, you will probably not understand SN1 or SN2 reactions, and if you don't understand resonance structures, you will not understand aromaticity. In this text, there is no swiss cheese. You will learn and understand biochemistry. You will read along and understand. Key terms are bolded. Figures are given in red text and explained in clear captions. Real-life important examples are given to help reinforce material. You don't have to do a hundred unit problems to reach the next level of understanding; they actually are there to reinforce, and it's actually more like ten problems. The text itself is enough to get an understanding of the principles. I recommend the study guide as well. It asks a lot of questions as you go along and can help diagnose where you've gone wrong if you don't understand something, if you somehow get to that point. I also don't understand why people are rating the quality of the binding. It is a textbook. Textbooks are expensive. You can use this heavy beast to smash a car in half if you wanted to, or stop a train that is in peril of running off a track. What is important is that you are going to learn your biochemistry principles whether you are an excellent student (who reads all the extra stuff on sickle-cell anemia and Alzheimers) or a poor student (who will appreciate idiot-proof figures and reinforcements of previous key principles). Marc Loudon and other big textbook writers should take note.

tl;dr: This is a great textbook for people who want to learn what they need to learn about biochemistry, especially in the first try, without much help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible print quality, September 3, 2013
This review is from: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry (Hardcover)
For a 160 dollar textbook, I expect much better print quality than this. The pages are extremely thin and made of cheap quality material. The ink of the words is not dark enough to create a nice visibility for easy and pleasurable reading. The diagrams and pictures in this book also look blurry and not vivid because of the cheap print technology used. Compared to most hard cover science textbooks, this book is not acceptable solely based on its pathetic print quality. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be a lot better, May 18, 2014
This review is from: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry (Hardcover)
I'm going to make this brief.

The figured and information was generally good, but there are some errors inexcusable for a 6th edition. Maybe they're just giving themselves an excuse to publish a 7th? The binding is really flimsy too, as if it were just going to come off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry (Hardcover)
The text is very clear, the diagrams are great, and the molecular are drawn out very well. I am keeping it as a reference book even after my class is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quality material, bad printing., September 2, 2014
By 
Brad Smith (Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry (Hardcover)
I agree with several other people. The content is there, and the book is written well, but the print quality is just horrid.
The text is USUALLY fine, but the pictures are usually not.
There are entire pages that are blurry, or the image colors don't line up. One page looked like a bad powerpoint 3d text font thing. There were shadows under every word on the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Well Written, October 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love that the text is written with the intention to teaching someone and not informing them of information they already know. It gives real life applications as well as key ideas right in the text. The images and figures are vibrantly illustrated and easy to comprehend with the figure captions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry
Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry by David L. Nelson (Hardcover - November 21, 2012)
$216.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.