Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Leica M: Advanced Photo School, 2nd Edition (A Lark Photography Book)
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$26.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 12, 2011
Aside from being pretty dated--and very elementary--this book is certainly not a photo school but rather a hodgepodge/hotchpotch of info which is available elsewhere is better form. I agree wholeheartedly with the other reviewer on the preferability of Brian Bower's books, which provide the best introduction to "the Leica experience" for amateur photographers: he does a good job of keeping it admirably clear and yet conveying information that is very useful even to someone who is fairly advanced. But nobody (else) in my opinion really has done a proper "photo school" on rangefinder handling in print.
The literature tends to be obsessed with technical details and equipment idolatry. If you want good information go to Erwin Puts's website: [...]. He is pretty much the authoritative source on Leica lenses--but has written extremely well on cameras too.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2011
As a long time Leica camera fan and user I am enjoying this new edition on the M Series magnificent cameras. The book is detailed and easy and fun to read. The important matter is the amount of fascinating commentary on each part of the cameras and the improvements made on each model.
To understand and thereby really enjoy the Leica experience, this book is your best bet.
Kenneth J. Miller
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2011
This is a definitive guide to Leica film cameras. It is also excellent if you want to know more about everything about Leica (except digital models).
A book for every Leica fans and it never gets old and outdated.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2011
Osterloh's book is the missing manual. Seriously. No one ever said that the road to rangefinder mastery was going to be an easy one, but Leica M: Advanced Photo School will take you a long way.

This book is somewhat famous among Leica M enthusiasts for being comprehensive and helpful. Whether you are new to Leica M or looking to expand upon your existing skills, I really can't think of a better book to recommend. For many years it was out of print and available only in libraries. Now that it's out in a new edition you'd be well advised to grab it. Happy reading, and happy shooting.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
I have been reading this book cover to cover and have learned a lot about the Leica M system incuding the M7 which is the camera I use. I find that it is well written and informative.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2013
I am a novice to using Leica. I find this book is a must has for every Leica collector an user. I use it every single. Even mmy friend need to red it efore buy new equipment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
Good reference book for introduction Leica M system. Although internet may have most of the details but you still can have all of them on paper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
The best book of Photo I ever read in my 50 years interest of photography.
It is very comprehensive and easy readable.
I only miss update of the latest lenses, ex. 21/1.4, 24/1.4 and so on.

I will recomend the book for all analog photographers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2011
Simply put, in my opinion this book should be worth having for all those that either have or are interested in Leica-m film cameras. During the past year, I added a Leica MP film body, to my collection of Leica M9, Leica M8.2, and numerous Nikon digital camera bodies; and, so this book fits in well with the other photography books in my library.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
typical German
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse