Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Larry the classic adult game from the 80's
Well what can you say about LS Larry? IT is an adults only game, because of content. It is a blast to play for us 40 somethings and at this price it should be on every adult with a sick mind and dirty sense of humor's computer! The game after installation needs you to print out the rather lengthy "Books" that go with it, because you will need to access them each time...
Published on December 24, 2006 by Janice M. Hamilton

versus
81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A+ for games, C for effort
The Leisure Suit Larry games are some of the best games that came out in the late 80s and early 90s, so a collection that contains all of them is certainly welcome. However, this is not that collection.

As the box says, there are only 5 games in the collection: 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6. Take note: they inexplicably only included the Larry 1 remake here, not the...
Published on September 27, 2006 by J. McCormick


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A+ for games, C for effort, September 27, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Leisure Suit Larry Collection (Video Game)
The Leisure Suit Larry games are some of the best games that came out in the late 80s and early 90s, so a collection that contains all of them is certainly welcome. However, this is not that collection.

As the box says, there are only 5 games in the collection: 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6. Take note: they inexplicably only included the Larry 1 remake here, not the original Leisure Suit Larry 1. That's fine if you just care about being able to play a version of Larry 1 but for a box that seems to want to emphasize its nostalgic value, to not include the original in all its blocky-graphics glory is inexcusable. The omission is even more glaring because they manual contains a section devoted to the original AGI version of the game.

The box also lacks Leisure Suit Larry 7, which unlike the more recent (and poor) Magna Cum Laude was one of Al Lowe's originals and should have been included, especially since an earlier Larry collection released by Sierra (before the soul was sucked out of the company) DID contain that game. I was especially annoyed that Larry 7 was not included, since it's the only Larry game I've never played. There was apparently also a version of Larry 6 with voice acting that didn't make it into this box. Again, inexcusable.

As another reviewer mentioned, they spared every expense on packaging - the disc comes in a white sleeve with no manual. Actually, it comes with a sheet of paper asking you to print the manual yourself, because you'll need it for the copy protection, which was annoyingly left enabled. They also left the age verification questions in there, which would have been fine if they weren't so period specific. There are ways around them (e.g., Ctrl+Alt+X in Larry 1) but as far as I can tell they weren't documented.

I do have a few positive things to say about the collection. It's nice to see an affordably-priced collection of these games available again, since the older collections are going for $100+ on Amazon. The games also come with a nice, easy installer and are set up to work without any extra effort on the part of the player. There's very little reason for a computer-savvy player who already owns the games to buy this collection, since it just uses DOSBox to make the games work, which is available online for free. But for anyone who is not so computer-savvy, the collection requires very little effort to get set up, which is nice considering that it tends to take some effort to make these games work on modern PCs.

All in all, the games in this collection are great, but the collection itself is a little disappointing, since it actually contains less than previous Larry collections did.

(If you are one of the [relatively few] who are not running Windows XP with an administrator account, see my technical footnote in the comments for this review).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Larry the classic adult game from the 80's, December 24, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Leisure Suit Larry Collection (Video Game)
Well what can you say about LS Larry? IT is an adults only game, because of content. It is a blast to play for us 40 somethings and at this price it should be on every adult with a sick mind and dirty sense of humor's computer! The game after installation needs you to print out the rather lengthy "Books" that go with it, because you will need to access them each time in order to get into the game-remember this is not a kids game and the questions are designed to keep kids out, but any kid who is good in history could get the questions correct so as a final step, the manufactor put in this fail safe-which means adults need to keep it away from kids so that they can't also download it.

Now as to the game-poor loveable LS Larry is exactly as you remember him-a born loser with women, who with your help will over come his problem. The game is hysterical with its cheesy animations and gags. Nothing high tech here, just your basic 80's game reconfigured so it works with the newer versions of windows. It is a great game full of dumb laughs and sight gags. If you are looking for a no brainer game to play that causes laughter this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Fix if Windows Launcher Will Not Start Games, March 28, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leisure Suit Larry Collection (Video Game)
Leisure Suit Larry Collection
I tried installing this collection in two computers running Windows XP Service Pack 3. The Windows Launcher did not allow starting the games. Also, if I tried to start DOSBox-0.63 by itself, the DOS window only flashed on the scree but would not stay started. So, I implemented the following fix:
----------
28 March 2010 Modification by me:
DOSBox-0.63 did not allow starting the (6) lsl programs when using the "SierraLauncher"
and also, DOSBox-0.63 by itself would not start. The DOS window would only
flash on the screen.
Fix: I downloaded DOSBox-0.73 (latest version) and installed at "C:\DOSBox". Then
I uninstalled DOSBox-0.63 that was installed in the "C:\Program Files\Sierra\Leisure Suit Larry Collection(TM)"
folder and pasted the new "DOSBox-0.73" folder into the Leisure Suit Larry Collection(TM) folder. In order to make the
"SierraLauncher" work, the "DOSBox-0.73" folder was renamed to "DOSBox-0.63".
Note: The lsl6 program folder has an sierraw.exe program file that will run under windows in addition to the sierra.exe
program file.
----------
I am happly with the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as I remember, February 23, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leisure Suit Larry Collection (Video Game)
Everything seems the same as I remember...except I used to play on the old macs...Easy to install on my windows 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leisure Suit Larry Collection, September 28, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leisure Suit Larry Collection (Video Game)
I had some of these games for my Apple IIe and they are still as fun as what they were back then. I was pleasantly surpriesed when even LSL 1 ran under Windows XP. Installation was easy and quick with just one click. The drop down menu lists all six games so there is no huntinf for each one. I was a good purchase on my part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ah! The nostalgia!, April 24, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leisure Suit Larry Collection (Video Game)
I remember playing this series back in the late 80's/early 90's, along with Space Quest, Police Quest, etc. I decided to relive those good old days with this collection. I received the game and used the autoplay installer to get things running. This was a mistake. The version of DOSBox included is old, and on my Win7 x64 system the graphics were scrambled so bad it was almost unplayable. With a little help from my old friend Google, I found an updated installer for the game, along with just about every other Sierra adventure game out there, at sierrahelp.com. I uninstalled the game and reinstalled using the new installer and everything works perfectly.

Using the newer installer will also eliminate the copy protection questions that some people seem to be annoyed by.

If you are expecting a game with great graphics and sound, you might want to go buy something newer as these are very old games. These are old VGA games. They're not going to be mind-blowingly pretty. They are, however, just as I remember them from when they first came out, and I was surprised by how much I actually remembered about the games (have to fall off the fire escape to get the left handed hammer out of the dumpster in LSL1, or throw away the spinach dip and wear the wig when you get into the lifeboat in LSL2, for instance). I completed the first two games the first day, and started on the third.

Again, if you are running on Win7 (or Vista, very likely) you will need to get the updated installer for the graphics to work right in DOSBox. Other than that, this collection is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leisure Suit Larry Collection (Video Game)
Larry is a classic. Just as much fun today as it was many years ago. I truly miss Sierra and their games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larry is Back, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leisure Suit Larry Collection (Video Game)
One of my favorite sierra games series along with space quest, king's quest, and so many more which made me laugh&have loads of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leisure Suit Larry Collection (Video Game)
it's perfect in every way perfect nostalgia rating, price was wonderful, shipping time was fast... I have not found one thing bad about this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast from the Past, November 18, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leisure Suit Larry Collection (Video Game)
This game is for those who remember the classic Sierra titles, from back when there were only a few production companies and you had to order your products from a paper catalog or visit Electronics Boutique!

Larry was one of the first games I encountered when I got my first PC at the age of 9 (okay, maybe not the most appropriate game for a 9 year old, but it was fun!). It was a copy my dad "borrowed" from a friend at work (sorry about that Al, but I've purchased 4 or 5 copies of the game since then!).

Like many Sierra fans, I was crestfallen as I watched Sierra go through several acquisitions which resulted in a hemorrhaging of seasoned Sierra developers and production of cookie-cutter games. Over the years, I held on to my old Sierra floppies and played them straight up until Windows couldn't support them anymore (and my trusty 486 with the 5 1/4" drive finally gave out). DOS emulators did an okay job of starting the games up, but they were mostly unplayable. Once Vivendi started rereleasing the games with DOSBox I started picking these classic games up again. They've done a great job of packaging these games into a playable format for XP and Vista (just make sure you play it in XP compatibility mode).

For you Larry fans, check out Al Lowe's web site at [...] where you can read jokes, sign up for his CyberJoke 3000 e-mail list, and learn all about Al's insight on Magna Cum Laude and Box Office Bust.

----------------------------------------------------------

Update July 2013: For those of you that are Larry Fans, Al Lowe and Josh Mandel teamed up to create Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded (available from Amazon). It's definitely worth the $19.99 to check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Leisure Suit Larry Collection
Leisure Suit Larry Collection by VIVENDI JEUX PC (Windows XP)
$19.99 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.