Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buyer beware
Funny writing I guess. Buyers of these cars probably are not laughing. He defines lemon as the whole line, not just an unfortunate accident off the assembly line. Yes it is possible to build an entirely horrid car. And an expensive one with a famous name. Yes the yugo and Trabant are here but so are Ferrari, Rolls Royce, Maserati, Cadillac and Jaguar. Just because it...
Published on December 27, 2005 by santa cruz woman

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
A very short book, short little blurbs about his idea of a 'lemon'....there are MANY more cars that come to mind. Obviously British, as most of the cars here we have never seen in the USA. Didn't take long to read and you're done. Not a book you'll look back to, kind of a one-time thing. Expected more pictures, writing. At least I got a used copy, not too much...
Published on December 9, 2009 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buyer beware, December 27, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures (Paperback)
Funny writing I guess. Buyers of these cars probably are not laughing. He defines lemon as the whole line, not just an unfortunate accident off the assembly line. Yes it is possible to build an entirely horrid car. And an expensive one with a famous name. Yes the yugo and Trabant are here but so are Ferrari, Rolls Royce, Maserati, Cadillac and Jaguar. Just because it offers mink seats doesn't mean it runs as well as a Hyundai. Engines fall apart in 12,000 miles, cars rust in a few months, exhaust pipes set the carpet on fire. One can say ...happens but did some of these designers ever drive a car? Lacking a back entrance would anyone want to take out all the seats just to put their groceries in the back? Why would you want a car that you had to turn the engine off and then turn it on again to shift into reverse? Or lacking a door need to crawl over the side. Did they think anyone would trust a car that shed doorhandles and wipers or in the case of the jagxjs that had a carpet that slid away to reveal a mass of wires and plastic pieces? Didn't the Jensen-Healey makers notice that parking the car on a slope caused the gas to slop into the sump? Rust, pealing and fading paint, dashboards turning green in sunlight....it goes on. Fun to read and hard to stop reading. Would make a good gift for the guest room but it is hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Would Actually Recommend His Newer Book You Must Be Skidding! Which is a Combination of Lemon and its Sequel, September 18, 2007
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures (Paperback)
Lemon is a great look at 60 makes of car which have with the benefit of hindsight turned out to be massive mistakes (in the author's opinion). Even without hindsight you wonder how some of these manufacturers actually believed these cars would sell, especially with their safety or non practical designs.

Cars from all over the world are covered, this is one of the factors which makes this book great unlike a lot of author competitors that seem to think the world revolves around just their own country. A fair few of the cars in here actually sold a substantial number of vehicles so there will undoubtedly be a fair amount of debate, especially from those who purchased them as to weather they should be in this book or not. This is the case in all of these types of books and Tony Davis does explain why each car mentioned is here and does acknowledge the ones which have sold well.

I would however if you are only going to purchase one of this type of book recommend purchasing the later written book You Must be Skidding which is a combination of Lemon and the sequel Extra Lemon! It is written in a bit lighter tone to appeal to those who aren't so much into cars and also children and is a lot funnier. At the time of this review though the only book of the three Amazon sold was this first book Lemon so you may unfortunately have to check elsewhere to obtain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick fun read about automotive failures, January 20, 2010
This review is from: Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures (Paperback)
I had my library obtain both this book and Crap Cars through interlibrary loan. I have to say Lemon! is a far superior book. Each junk car is usually profiled in 2-3 pages plus a photo. A few cars only get a paragraph. However, this author explains what made each car a failure. He didn't single out one failing, but conveyed all the failings of the car. The author of "Crap Cars" was very abrasive, snarky, and did a poor job of explaining what made a car bad. There is a bit of sarcasm and snark in Lemon!, but it isn't as acerbic. Lemon! was a fast and fun read. It took me down memory lane and also taught me a few things I didn't know about these automotive failures. Lemon! informs. "Crap Cars" was just mean-spirited criticism. Perhaps I have a different sense of humor than most, but that book was crude and not at all funny or informative. Lemon! does refer to some European cars that did not make it to the US, and there were also references to some Australian market cars. However, I thought the book had a good balance of cars from around the world. In summary, Lemon! will be a fun informative read. Don't know that I would buy it, but I definitely recommend reading it if you are a car buff or just enjoy reading about market failures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining romp through the wasteland of consumer naivete, corporate hubris, and generally misconceived notions!, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures (Paperback)
I found out so much more than I expected to. With models like the ZiL, Aston Martin Lagonda Saloon, and the inimitable Edsel paving the way, I found myself uncontrollably chuckling and sadly shaking my head all at once! Must truly read to appreciate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BUT if you have not yet committed to purchase this book, check our Naff Motors instead, January 6, 2014
This review is from: Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures (Paperback)
Naff Motors contains many more articles than Lemon does, and includes almost all of the cars from Lemon. Either book is highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Comic Chronicle of Failure., November 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures (Paperback)
The book covers 60 notable lemons - from the Pinto to the Trabant to the Tucker. Some of the cars were great sellers, but were complete garbage, others were just complete failures in design and the market.

The book is written with a bit of an edge, and there are comic elements. This is a history and business book, however, not a joke book. The author does a fine job of explaining why each of the cars are in the book, and the design, marketing and financial errors that underpin each lemon.

Each car has at least one photo, and the narrative on each ranges from 2-3 well written, concise and entertaining pages. If you have interest in the subject, the book is worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Book, November 7, 2005
By 
Kelly Schittenhelm "ldympr" (Seward, Alaska United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures (Paperback)
What a fun book! I enjoyed it very much, I may not agree with some of the automobiles, but it is a fun look into history. I recently went to an Auto Museum and a few of these cars were there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, December 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures (Paperback)
A very short book, short little blurbs about his idea of a 'lemon'....there are MANY more cars that come to mind. Obviously British, as most of the cars here we have never seen in the USA. Didn't take long to read and you're done. Not a book you'll look back to, kind of a one-time thing. Expected more pictures, writing. At least I got a used copy, not too much expense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures, June 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures (Paperback)
Since I'm very interested in cars, a great read for me! Sorry I'm not better at writing reviews. This will have to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures
Lemon!: Sixty Heroic Automotive Failures by Tony Davis (Paperback - October 10, 2005)
Used & New from: $2.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.