Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spare, intriguing, effective and clever!
What a fantastic and intriguing book! Raczka has accomplished something completely new to me, in these poems made up of letters from a single word. This may be as revolutionary and ground-breaking as Marilyn Singer's reverso poems, introduced in last year's poetry hit, Mirror, Mirror: A Book of Reversible Verse.

Raczka credits Andrew Russ for his introduction...
Published on June 16, 2011 by Madigan McGillicuddy

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I thought it was a book on how to write poetry. I was very disappointed in my purchase. Perhaps a better description would have been better.
Published on October 24, 2012 by Nancy E. Armour


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spare, intriguing, effective and clever!, June 16, 2011
This review is from: Lemonade: and Other Poems Squeezed from a Single Word (Hardcover)
What a fantastic and intriguing book! Raczka has accomplished something completely new to me, in these poems made up of letters from a single word. This may be as revolutionary and ground-breaking as Marilyn Singer's reverso poems, introduced in last year's poetry hit, Mirror, Mirror: A Book of Reversible Verse.

Raczka credits Andrew Russ for his introduction to this one-word poetry form and explains how each letter appears beneath the letter of the original word. The overall effect is that of looking at a stuttering typewriter, or letters falling down like rain, forming words. There's a look to these poems almost like concrete poetry, with the careful typography proving that no additional letters have snuck in. It also means that each poem is a bit of a challenge - words and sentences aren't necessarily spaced in a traditional way. I think kids will love puzzling out what each poem says. Each poem is presented in its' original format, with a 2-color (red and black) line drawing on one page, followed by a page in red with white type, deciphering the poem in a more traditional way.

Here is one of my favorite poems in the book:

Moonlight

hot
night

thin
light

moth
in
motion

Simple, spare, effective and so true! I think this book would work well in classrooms, and I'd love to see the kind of one-word poems that this book will inspire. I highly recommend this amazing work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raczka: one letter off from "crazy", May 12, 2011
This review is from: Lemonade: and Other Poems Squeezed from a Single Word (Hardcover)
The lady from Manhattan would like to register a complaint. The lady from Manhattan is aware, perfectly aware, that there are plenty of fabulous children's poets in a given year. The lady from Manhattan would further state that she likes many of these authors and would like to review them more often but she feels that her hand is forced, FORCED I say, to instead review the works of one Bob Raczka. This, in her opinion, is unfair. Mr. Raczka should do everything in his power to write significantly less interesting books of children's poetry. Perhaps he should consider a collection of bad limericks. That would certainly lower the bar enough for one to review his brethren with impunity. Instead, when a book like "Lemonade" comes across your plate, you have no choice but to review it. Brilliant and head-scratchingly insane by turns, Raczka writes one of the more inspiring books of poetry to come out in recent history. It really isn't fair in the least. The lady objects.

Take a word. Now find as many words as you can out of that word. Now take those words and make a cohesive, coherent, and downright good poem. Impossible? Not if you ask Bob Raczka. Inspired by poet Andrew Russ's "one-word poems", Raczka manages to find and write twenty-two such poems. Sometimes they are short (the poem "friends" really just boils down to "fred finds ed"). Sometimes they are longer than you'd expect ("spaghetti" starts with "papa has a pasta appetite"). And in each poem you have to read the letters as they appear under their starting words on one page, and then in order as a normal poem on the next. A clever literary technique yields even cleverer little poems. This is a premise that surpasses its initial gimmick.

There are few books I have encountered that give you the feeling that you're learning to read all over again. This is one of the few. Just reading a single poem, no matter how short, can be a challenge. Because the letters drop down to appear under their respective letters in the title, they do not fall into natural spaces or breaks. The result is that you might read the words "ivan in / ava in / ian in" instead as "ivan in a vain". It almost feels like code breaking after a while (a not unpleasant sensation). Another advantage of the format is that certain poems mimic their subject matter. The poem "moonlight", for example, mimics its subject, a moth, flitting in concentric circles down a page.

If you're tired of the old haiku you could do worse than to try blackout poems where you take newspaper articles and black out with a magic marker everything but a few words. Or how about spine poetry, where you create poems out of the titles of books piled on top of one another? Raczka's one-sentence poems are inspired by a fellow by the name of Andrew Russ. Yet while Russ may have come up with the notion of making poems from common letters, it was Raczka who recognized the real kid-potential of the form. As a result, I suspect that "Lemonade" is not going to be the last one-sentence children's book of poetry we ever encounter in our lifetimes. It may, however, turn out to be the best.

The technique Russ has come up with is, in a sense, a kind of natural derivation of those school assignments kids are given in school where they are given a vocabulary word and told to make as many words out of it as possible (as a kid my husband was told that the word "id" would not count since "it wasn't a real word"). I imagine that schools still do this assignment, so how much harder would it be to follow in Russ and Raczka's footsteps and to take such assignments one step further saying, "Now turn those words into a poem"? Not hard at all.

The question of how to illustrate such a book is a puzzlement best left in the hands of capable editors. Considering that Raczka's last book was a collection of haikus ("GUYKU") and that this one is only slightly less sparse and spare, less may be more. The words are the star of the show here. Acknowledging this, the book places each poem with the black title and red poetry against a white background. Turn the page and the page becomes red, the words of the poem neat and orderly in little white rows. The illustrator tapped to fill some of these pages with art of her own is one Nancy Doniger, previously best known for creating the art for Sharon Taberski's "Morning, Noon, and Night" (another book of poetry) and "Gingersnaps" by Anita Alexander and Susan Payne. These books came out in 1998 and 1996 respectively, so it's clear that Ms. Doniger has had other things on her plate in the interim. In this book Doniger's palette is limited to black and red watercolor spot illustrations. The art itself keeps itself distinct from the poems. It never overpowers them or even, for that matter, really does anything to catch your eye. These pictures serve as mere filler, leaving the words the true star of the show. A person can read this whole book cover to cover and not remember a single image when they have finished. And that, quite frankly, is perfect for this kind of book.

When Poetry Month comes around kids get bombarded with the same haiku or the same limerick assignments over and over again. I like to believe that Mr. Raczka might do something to change all of that. His is a book that inspires. You almost want to take your own first and last name after reading it and make poems out of those letters yourself. So thank you, Mr. Raczka, for bringing to light a great new poetic format. For inspiring adults and kids alike to write and create. And for making my life all the harder, forcing me to throw laudatory compliments your way, just because you do what you do so well. For all that sir, I thank you.

For ages 4-10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all ages!, January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lemonade: and Other Poems Squeezed from a Single Word (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book of poems - some really made me smile! I enjoy that they display each poem in two different ways and gives the reader ideas of how they can go about creating their own Lemonade poems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lemonade, April 11, 2014
By 
Rhonda (Midwest, U.S.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Bob Raczka books! They stimulate thinking for my students and
encourages them to think outside of the box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun!, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the way Raczka makes the poems reflect his topic visually as well as verbally. These are lots of fun to read out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great example of Bloom's "create" level!, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The author does a good job using letters in the word "lemonade" to write descriptions about various topics. A great way to have students replicate the strategy to summarize and or describe phenomena.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Teachers!, April 26, 2012
This review is from: Lemonade: and Other Poems Squeezed from a Single Word (Hardcover)
A student of mine took this out from the library during our study of poetry. I had never heard of it before. I shared it with the class and ended up doing a great mini-lesson/bulletin board with it. Great book with endless possibilities!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art and literacy combine, May 17, 2011
By 
This review is from: Lemonade: and Other Poems Squeezed from a Single Word (Hardcover)
Lemonade is another great example of word play and artistic inspiration. Born from anagrams, rebus and concrete poetry, it is a whimsical adventure of words. If children did not find words worth looking at, they will now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, October 24, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lemonade: and Other Poems Squeezed from a Single Word (Hardcover)
I thought it was a book on how to write poetry. I was very disappointed in my purchase. Perhaps a better description would have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lemonade: and Other Poems Squeezed from a Single Word
Lemonade: and Other Poems Squeezed from a Single Word by Bob Raczka (Hardcover - March 15, 2011)
$16.99 $14.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.