Customer Reviews


248 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


143 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD "Passed the Audition"
I know! You've heard these songs before. and are probably tired of all the "remastered" Greatest hits collections floating around. Frankly speaking, so am I.
However, this CD is different, and here's why. "Shaved Fish" was the first (or, should I say, Apple) greatest hits package. This was released in 1975. Needless to say, "Shaved...
Published on July 27, 2000 by J. GENIO

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Obviously a great compilation, but i have a suggestion...
While the songs on this album are obviously great, hence, a greatest hits album, i think that one would be better off buying an album which was actually artistically aranged by John Lennon. A good album to start out on would be "Imagine," or "Plastic Ono Band". These albums actually allow you to experience the music the way that it was originally...
Published on October 6, 2000 by Sgt. Pepper


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

143 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD "Passed the Audition", July 27, 2000
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon (Audio CD)
I know! You've heard these songs before. and are probably tired of all the "remastered" Greatest hits collections floating around. Frankly speaking, so am I.
However, this CD is different, and here's why. "Shaved Fish" was the first (or, should I say, Apple) greatest hits package. This was released in 1975. Needless to say, "Shaved Fish" is outdated and terribly incomplete. Next we have the "Imagine" sound track collection which ventures back into John's Beatle days and includes songs like Revolution, Help, The Ballad of John and Yoko, etc. This Imagine sound track collection falls into the same trap that hurt the George Harrison Greatest hits collection back in 1976 -- It included too many Beatle numbers.
Well, the Lennon Legend avoids all the pitfalls of the past. For openers, it is timely. This CD covers John's Apple years as well as the Dakota period. This CD includes the very best John has to offer as a solo artist. No, you are not going to be treated to any of John's Beatle numbers on this CD.
The sound quality on these "remastered" tunes are absolutely outstanding. John's voice and the instrumentation never sounded better. Those of us who still have vinyl immediately notice the difference in sound quality.
I do have one complaint about this CD. The Imagine Sound Track collection included John's version of Real Love. Listening to John's version of Real Love, you would immediately notice that the version the "reunited" Beatles included in Anthology 2 is different then the direction John was going with this tune. The Lennon Legend CD should have included John's version of Real Love to make this collection truly complete.
As it stands, this CD is definitely a plus for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Collection of Lennon Material, September 26, 2000
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon (Audio CD)
With over 75 minutes of outstanding post-Beatles material, I believe this is the best single-disc collection of Lennon's music available. Most of my favorites are here, including many selections with the Plastic Ono Band , and from his last album, "Double Fantasy." I, too, would have like a few more cuts from "Rock N' Roll" (1975), but, in general , there is something for everyone here: Lennon's genius is truly eclectic.
One caveat: On my sound sytems, there's some apparent distortion and the treble sounds a little noisy, especially on the older material. I recommend listening to the CD (if you can) before purchasing. On the other hand, it may just be my system, and an equalizer (or higher-quality equipment) might solve the problems on the (mostly older) songs where I heard this. I suppose there's some kind of audiophile debate between preserving the original sound and "cleaning it up," ultimately it depends on personal taste. For me, this was a bit of a problem., but check the other reviewers' comments (at least one of whom complimented the sound quality!)
Liner notes include 11 photos of Lennon in the studio and with Yoko, release date and format. Wish there was information on personnel, I'd like to know the drummer on the 1970 "John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band!"
But let's give due credit: This is simply an outstanding selection of songs from a multitalented genius. It's so good, in fact, that you may be wonder if you should have bought the recently issued 4-CD "John Lennon Anthology." If you're a big fan, and have the budget and the time to listen, I'd recommend this more complete set. But this single CD packs in over 70 minutes of Lennon's best music, from the intensely personal "Jealous Guy" and "Beautiful Boy," to rockers like "Stand by Me" and "(Just Like) Starting Over," to his political pieces ("Working Class Hero," "Power to the People," "Working Class Hero," "Happy Xmas (War is Over)," and "Give Peace A Chance"). Sentimental and tender, yet subversive and revolutionary, small wonder that era's FBI kept a file on him. By the way, I see from the Amazon catalogue that some remastered Lennon CDS are due soon, check these out when they're released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Obviously a great compilation, but i have a suggestion..., October 6, 2000
By 
Sgt. Pepper (Maple Valley, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon (Audio CD)
While the songs on this album are obviously great, hence, a greatest hits album, i think that one would be better off buying an album which was actually artistically aranged by John Lennon. A good album to start out on would be "Imagine," or "Plastic Ono Band". These albums actually allow you to experience the music the way that it was originally intended to be heard, not just a somewhat random compilation of hits. In my case, I bought this album first, became obsessed w/ John Lennon, and than I bought other Lennon albums, making this purchase totally worthless. My only warning is, for Lennon beginners, dont purchase something like "Two Virgins," The wedding album," or "Life with the Lions." If you purchase a "sound collage" album first, your odds of liking John Lennon are about as good as the chances of Marilyn Manson opening a day care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great single disc collection of Lennon essentials, November 19, 2000
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon (Audio CD)
Lennon's solo albums were always hit or miss affairs. Lennon Legend manages to collect most of Lennon's essential singles with much improved sound quality. What is a surprise, though, is the missing Move Over Ms. L. While it wasn't a hit (but then again neither was Mother or Working Class Hero)that particular rarity (which you can only find on The John Lennon Collection or the boxset)managed to funnel John's personal demons into a compelling 3 minute song.
On the other hand, this collection brings focus back to John's other important singles and album tracks that were left off of Collection (in favor of a healthy sampling from Double Fantasy). I was rather surprised to see the credit change on Give Peace A Chance (McCartney was always listed as co-writer even though he wasn't). Yes it does correct a mistake but it seems....petty given the circumstances.
The best tracks here remind me why I liked Lennon in the first place--his frankness and rock and roll spirit. If you're looking to have one album to represent Lennon this would be a fine selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent single-disc overview, August 27, 2004
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon (Audio CD)
"It's hard to believe that there wasn't a definitive compilation before this one", the editorial review states, and that is hard to believe indeed, so of course there was. 1997's "Lennon Legend: The Very Best Of John Lennon" replaces the now-deleted "John Lennon Collection" (1982), replicating almost all of that compilation (but not, unfortunately, the excellent B-side "Move Over, Ms L").

Everything the casual fan could wish for is here, really, including the delicate "Woman", the lovely ballad "Jealous Guy", Lennon's take on "Stand By Me", the seasonal classic "Happy Xmas", the scathing "Working Class Hero", and of course that most famous of piano ballads, John Lennon's only across-the-board standart, "Imagine".

It's odd that this song is so popular, actually, considering that it firmly denounces everything from God to patriotism, embracing instead an atheistic, socialist utopia. But it has been released as a single in the UK three times, and peaked in the top 10 every time, as well as going to number 2 in the US (even more odd). And it remains the single greatest succes of any former Beatle's solo career.

(I really like the irony, and I'm sure that John Lennon appreciated it as well!)

"Lennon Legend" collects virtually all the best from John Winston Lennon's years as a solo artist, and it is by far the best place for the casual admirer to get all of his finest songs.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The legend of Lennon carries on, December 4, 2005
By 
S. Sarhan "matured reviewer" (Dearborn, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon (Audio CD)
John Lennon was the founder of the greatest pop/rock group that ever walked the earth, The Beatles. He was also a genuine personality with a charisma that was irresistable, a wit that was heartfelt, and an outspoken nature that influenced a generation. Lennon's music is the main topic on Lennon Legend, but one cannot mention Lennon's songs without bringing up all of the above.

Songs like Imagine, Power To The People, Mind Games, and the powerful handraiser Instant Karma! are just a few of Lennon the revolutionary's signature songs that called for the rights and unity of the common man. Mother, Cold Turkey, and Jealous Guy, on the other hand, reveal Lennon the man and his vulnerability, the songs deal with his inner pains of losing his mother, kicking the habit, and hurting the ones he loved. Then, there's the side of Lennon the lover and his devotion to Yoko with songs like the mesmerizing Woman, which stands as one of the best love songs ever written, No.9 Dream, and the Ben E King cover of Stand By Me from his 1975 covers album Rock N Roll.

The album also includes the Dylanesque Working Class Hero, the epical Happy Xmas (War Is Over), the sweet lullaby Beautiful Boy (written for young Sean Lennon), and the posthumous Nobody Told Me (the best social commentary song of the early 1980's).

With the compilation released and many others before and after, Lennon's legend has and always will carry on.

Recommended

A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "So long ago/Was it in a dream, was it just a dream...", January 11, 2002
By 
P. Nicholas Keppler "rorscach12" (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon (Audio CD)
If you ask me, the golden age of rock and roll started in 1965 when Bob Dylan went electric on Bringing It All Back Home and the Beatles expanded their sound on Rubber Soul and ended in 1980, when Led Zeppelin broke-up and John Lennon passed on. While Zeppelin kept hard rock ablaze after Cream, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix and the Doors all became history, Mr. Lennon kept rock's intellectual nature alive after the burnout or shift in focus of various 60s songwriters. Mr. Lennon's solo songs meant so much to rock music. He was the first songwriter to so fearlessly dive into the grimiest of social and personal issues on tracks like "Mother," "Working Class Hero" and "Cold Turkey." With songs such as "Imagine," "Instant Karma," "Happy Xmas (War Is Over)" and "Power to the People" he set the tone for the genre's sense of idealism after the dissolution of the hippie dream. Latter classics such as "(Just Like) Starting Over," "Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)" and "Nobody Told Me" showed that rock could settle into middle age with dignity and vitality. When Mr. Lennon was tragically murdered in December of 1980, the very soul of rock music was lost forever just as its sparkling fierceness never fully survived Led Zeppelin's break up in the same month (Listen to a majority of 80s metal for confirmation). There have been enjoyable moments since (I thoroughly enjoyed the rise of alternative rock and the reformation of the careers of Leonard Cohen, Neil Young and Bob Dylan), yet the fire of rock and roll was never more alive and the possibilities never seemed as endless as they did during those glorious sixteen years. Lennon Legend is an excellent collection of some of the most wonderful contributions John Lennon, as a solo artist, added to that magical era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you must have 1 Lennon CD, this is it!, October 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon (Audio CD)
Sure we've heard all these tune recycled in colection after colection...Lennon's other compilation fall short...Shaved Fish is naturally obsolete as it came out in 1975 and frankly is not worth the purchase...The John Lennon collection is great and a move in the right direction as it has his later songs and one rare b-side..and therefore worth holding onto....Imagine John Lennon soundtrack lost focus having to cover John's Beatle and post Beatle career...did we really need to have the double fantasy tracks..maybe "beautiful boy" would have been enough...anyway the value in that album lays in the opening track Real Love....Lennon Legend would have been wiser to have included that track by far, but what it does is include all the singles and select songs from plastic Ono Band all the way into Milk and Honey....all remastered...they have never sounded this good...this becomes the definitive hits collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's be rational now..., May 10, 2004
By 
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon (Audio CD)
Normally I disregard ignorant people who waste their time bashing artists in music review forums, as opposed to giving an actual concrete estimation of the album in question. I make an exception here.
To the person below who decided to use this space to rant about their hatred of John Lennon: grow up. Lennon never claimed to be a saint or a perfect person, and constantly made others aware that he had indeed made many mistakes. But who are we to judge someone and cast stones because of things that happened in their life that they may or may not have had control over?
Would it be right for me, for example, to call Kurt Cobain a useless heroin-addicted, self-centered idiot who took his life and gave no credence to that of his daughter's? No. And I wouldn't, because I don't know what the man was going through.
John Lennon was a very complex, brilliant man. His solo music, contrary to the claims of many, does not suck by any means. He wrote from his heart and from his soul, and many times he sounded angry or troubled or happy or lovey-dovey...but it was all him! He didn't mask himself, he didn't invent little stories, he said it like it was and he didn't deny his own mistakes.
I would also like to remind people that the man was only 40 years old when his life was taken from him. 40!!! When his first child was born he was 22. Sure, he could have been the devoted, doting father, but where would the Beatles have been? Hmm? Would we have had Hard Day's Night, Help or Rubber Soul or "Ticket to Ride", "A Day in the Life", "Norweigen Wood" or any of the other gorgeous music he created if he had stayed at home and become John the Loving and Devoted Father.
No. He was messed up in a lot of ways, and yes he left his first wife for Yoko, but he didn't hide it! He walked around with her and said, "yes I left my wife for Yoko, I love Yoko, my first marriage wasn't working, and c'est la vie!" If you ask me, in order for John Lennon to grow as an artist and a person, he needed to make all the mistakes he made. At 40 he seemed to have his life pretty much sorted and his son Julian and him were building up what would have been a pretty great relationship, according to Julian, but we all know what happened.
So go to your Nirvana board and preach about Cobain there. John Lennon was a genius and my favorite musician, yes, and I know he had flaws, strengths, angry days, happy days and lots of love. He was the personification of what it means to be a human being and accept that you have limitations, and admit them.
This is a beautiful album. I own it, don't listen to it much though...I have his other albums and I love to listen to all of them all the way through because, for me, his music is glorious. But for starts, get it! You'll learn a lot about a person who opened his life up, to be scorned or mocked, or praised...he had convictions and he lived his up until his death. So just back off and let him R.I.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginner to Lennon - Dream, Imagine, love, make peace!, July 6, 2004
By 
Nox104 (Raleigh, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon (Audio CD)
WOW..just WOW! I dont know how to describe the genius of Lennon. First off, I wanna call myself new to Lennon's solo works. I bought this CD for "Imagine" and "the hype". But only now I realize "the hype = Brilliance" of John Lennon. I am a young adult, who loves alternative and rock like so many other kids out there. I never thought I would buy into an old man music and his philosophies. But this is pure genius! This is the best mix of music and lyrics I have EVER heard.
Stand out tracks (although every track has its own merit):
1. Imagine - THE BEST song ever written. The simplest of melodies with such relevant lyrics.
2. Mother - I miss my mom now!
3. Jealous Guy - Such a cool melody..a very sweet song.
4. Cold Turkey - Rocks!
5. Dream - My favorite track after Imagine.. Lennon shows his genius again in simple harmonies with such nice lyrics!
6. Stand By Me - Really good acoustic track.
7. Beautiful Boy - Really sweet song.
8. Watching the wheels - About Lennon.
9. Happy Xmas - The Best Christmas song. ever.
Well these are my fave tracks. Ofcourse, you will have yours! This album is a MUST buy for any music lover. This is the epitome of music. You can't get better melodies and lyrics for your money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon
Lennon Legend: The Very Best of John Lennon by John Lennon (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.