Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Soul Fighter is BACK!!!
Wow!!! It's hard to imagine that there's any rock and roll singer out there as smooth and as cool as Lenny Kravitz. His music is always off the wall and his style and bravado persona help create the total package. And now this cd helps to further ensure that that someday we WILL be hailing him as a musical legend.
Lenny's new album continues in the same vein as some...
Published on January 8, 2002 by KonLi

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, It's "Lenny".
It actually took me a long time to get into this disc, but once I did I found it just as good as the couple before it. "Dig In" is the big rocker here, and holds up well next to "Fly Away". "Stillness Of Heart" was another good track, and sounds similar to "Again" from his "Hits" album. I also really like the cool "If...
Published on June 22, 2004 by H3@+h


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Soul Fighter is BACK!!!, January 8, 2002
By 
KonLi (Denver, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lenny (Audio CD)
Wow!!! It's hard to imagine that there's any rock and roll singer out there as smooth and as cool as Lenny Kravitz. His music is always off the wall and his style and bravado persona help create the total package. And now this cd helps to further ensure that that someday we WILL be hailing him as a musical legend.
Lenny's new album continues in the same vein as some of his past releases. It's not necessarily ground breaking but that does not mean to say that it's not affecting. Kravitz can still write lyrics and craft songs that are so emotive that one can be easily overwhelmed. Through his vivid imagery and lovelorn lyrics Kravitz can still both move you and get a party started.
Standout tracks from this release prove to be the exciting and uplifting 'Battlefield of Love' which you will find yourself bobbing your head to immediately. In addition to this are the slow, soulful 'Stillness of Heart' and Believe in Me'. Not to be ignored are the equally impressive 'Dig In' and 'Pay to Play'.
In all, Kravtiz brought forth an ecletic impressive album. Though there's not a single as deeply moving as 'Again' and the the album itself is not as impressive as past Lenny releases such as '5', I reiterate that 'Super Soul Fighter is BACK!!!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not at his best but overall a good solid effort, December 1, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lenny (Audio CD)
I first became a fan of Lenny Kravitz two years ago with his 5 CD which was one of the most refreshing and best CD's I have listened to over the last five years. I have since purchased all of Lenny CD's and have become a huge fan. Lenny is one of the few artists that plays it straight from the heart which results in music that does not always sound the same from CD to CD. Lenny also is an artist that is not definable he does hard rock, soft rock, R&B, Funk, Blues, and Folk as well as Carribean music so he cannot necessarily be pidgeonholed into any category.
"Lenny" the CD kind of varies from this formula in that it is primarily a rock album with rockers like "Dig In", "Bank Robber Man" and "Battlefield of Love", soft rockers like "God save us all" and "Yesterday is Gone (My Dear Kay) and A Million Miles Away. All of the songs are solid and after a few listens you find yourself singing along to them. This album also has a spritual vibe of positivity throughout which makes it an uplifting experience. There is also songs on the CD where Lenny experiments with different sounds (Believe In Me, Pay to Play, and You were in My Heart). Overall while there is no standout breakout major hit on this CD (Dig in is probably the only radio hit on the CD, this is a good record that I highly recommend, if you are tired of listening to the standard radio fare like I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kravitz Mines the Usual Territory with Renewed Energy, August 25, 2002
By 
"jupiter48" (Gansevoort, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lenny (Audio CD)
"Lenny" offers all of the usual Kravitz stylistic flourishes-- sweet melodies drowned in guitar feedback with hooks that go on for days. It is, in the words of his harshest critics, retro in the style of his past records. Yet it is no surprise that Kravitz chose to title his latest "Lenny"; it is pure and unadulterated Lenny Kravitz, finally delivering on the promise of his greatest and most original songs, notably the recent "Greatest Hits" ballad, "Again". Fans of that song will find much to love on this record-- "If I Could Fall in Love" and
"Yesterday is Gone (My Dear Kay)" are beautiful and sincere love songs. The rockers of records past are certainly not gone-- the single "Dig In" and opening track "Battlefield of Love" are funky and ridiculously cool. He also displays a genuine spirituality in songs like "Believe in Me" and "God Save Us All". And any Kravitz album would be incomplete without the requisite '70s throwback song, here in the form of closing track "Let's Get High. "Lenny" is the perfect summer album. Throw it on the stereo and try not to think too hard-- just let it do its thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lenny rules, March 31, 2002
This review is from: Lenny (Audio CD)
Forget all this talk about 70's retro blah blah blah... all I know is that it's great music, especially the ballads which there seem to be lot of ("yesterday is gone", "believe in me", "stillness of heart", "you were in my heart"). A song is a song is song... who cares if he's a "throwback" the man has talent, can play the guitar and write great songs...isn't that enough? The only clunker on the cd is "pay to play" ...and I agree with another reviewer...the album title wasn't very creative... a million singers have done it...maybe he's next cd will be called "Kravitz"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lenny is going to rock your soul, April 7, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Lenny (Audio CD)
With "5", Lenny Kravitz gave us a super commercial yet funkingly genius record with a good amount of rock, soul, pop and even techno for good measure. The super freaky funk is gone, but the soul remains (just not sound wise). It actually sounds more like a mix of Lenny's older albums, with a focus on his spirituality, love, politics and perhaps, Lisa Bonet? Who is he talking about with "If I Could Fall In Love Again"? The sound of the record does, of course, go "retero" at times with the blues guitar on "Stillness Of Heart" yet also embarks on the modern with chilly keyboards on "You Were In My Heart". "Bank Robber Man" focuses in on his incidence with being flasey accused of a crime do to his race. This one is devoid of melody, which is strong on beautiful the "Yesterday Is Gone" among others, but has its roots in rock story telling and is great lyrically. This also is a huge spirtiaul disc for Lenny, with such tracks as "God Save Us All" and "Lets Get High". The best rockers will also probably be the biggest hits as well. "Dig In" is a inspirational upbeat rocker about living life to it's fullest and making a difference while "Battleflied Of Love" is super funky with blistering guitar.
I overall enjoy "Lenny", but it most certainty is not his most accessible work yet isn't necessarily a soul searching album. Then again, only Lenny really knows for sure. It seems like Lenny is just making a record, to make a record. Like he's Britney Spears (no offense to fans, but can't she take one year off?). Also, while the album flows nicely, it just seems to repeat itself a few times instrumentally. I love Lenny's playing but even Prince knew to get a band to help every so often. It's hard to argue with how technically perfect the record sounds (his vocals on "Stillness" are excellent) but Lenny is capable of going to some many different places (musically and lyrically) yet he doesn't. Spirituality rocks, but hopefully Lenny's album after this one will go into new areas like he is famous for. Trust me and get "5" first (I personally love "Circus" but it is too dark for some) but do get "Lenny" as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He no longer wears his influences like a badge, December 8, 2001
This review is from: Lenny (Audio CD)
Ever since he debuted in 1989 with LET LOVE RULE, Lenny Kravitz has taken immense critical heat for "ruining" rock & roll. True, his influences may only be as recent as the mid-1970s, but whoever said the best music was from the now. Plus, at the time he was better known as Lisa Bonet's husband, so his music wasn't going to be guaranteed a fair listen anyways. At least, not until he divorced Bonet & began establishing his own identity. Some may ask "what identity" with all the references to the past in his music, but Lenny still has every bit of a distinctive sound, believe it or not. His 1998 album 5 was the beginning of Lenny starting to live for today by actually incorporating such modern trends as techno & '80s power balladry. Thanks to the success of the '80s-sounding "Again" from his GREATEST HITS (2000) album, Lenny has expanded that "forward-thinking" philosophy on his newest album LENNY.
The simple title is appropriate for once again, Mr. Kravitz is starting to discover a sound that is distinctly his own even while still making some one-stop shopping at the oldies department store. One of the most obvious anomalies to Lenny Kravitz is the fact that he's Black (only half, though), yet he's playing more hard rock than R&B. Only occasionally does a soul brother emerge from Lenny (like on the Aaliyah-ish "Believe In Me"), but first & foremost, he's a rocker. This is proven right off the bat with the anthemic opener "Battlefield Of Love" & the Bad Company-derived "If I Could Fall In Love". Don't let the abundance of the word "love" in the titles throw you off; these songs are enough to have every listener digging out their best air guitar impressions. The same can be said for the first single "Dig In", "Pay To Play" (with its subtle hip-hop scratching) & "Bank Robber Man" (Lenny still has some Zeppelin riffs in him)
The success of "Again" & its pseudo-power-ballad sound is certainly shown on the closing "Let's Get High" (off of love, not drugs by the way), "Stillness Of Heart" (what an excellent title!), "Yesterday Is Gone [My Dear Kay]" & the prerequisite praying-to-the-heavens-for-redemption on "God Save Us All". But this time, Lenny manages to stop just short of preachy on songs like this.
12 years after he first arrived with LET LOVE RULE, Lenny Kravitz has travelled a long road towards musical respectablity (at least in the eyes of the hard-to-please critics) & chances are there still might be some doubts to whether or not he deserves it. But people have said that LENNY is his best album yet & really proof that he's allowing his influences not to control him as they did on much of his early work. I can agree with that for LENNY is truly a more mature, distinctive record than Lenny has done before. With him playing most of the instruments on this album (sometimes all on one song), that idea of musical independence is further indicated. After the creative recharging that was 5, LENNY shows once more that the newly-dreadless Lenny Kravitz is edging more & more towards becoming his own man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now It's Really the Seventies, November 6, 2001
This review is from: Lenny (Audio CD)
I bet Lenny Kravitz couldn't wait for the new millennium, so he could start the seventies again! In the 12 years of his career from 1989 to the present, Lenny has advanced approximately from 1972 to 1975. In his earlier albums, Lenny tried valiantly to be either Hendrix (not brilliant enough), Zeppelin (not heavy enough), the Beatles (not sweet enough), or even Prince (not insane enough). His most original moments were in his last studio album ("5") in which he dabbled in some lowdown funk and soul grooves. On this new album, Lenny has found that his true strengths are in the working-class raunch rock of Bachman Turner Overdrive, Bad Company, or the Guess Who. Despite the electronic beats and synths that pop up occasionally on this album, this is straight-ahead, no-nonsense seventies rock all the way. Lenny is still having some trouble removing the syrup from his ballads, but the rockers on this album are actually very good, in a just-stepped-out-of-a-time-machine kind of way. He's got some surprisingly swinging riffs in "Battlefield of Love," "Pay to Play, and "Dig In." The guy does know how to rock, without a doubt. To really keep the seventies alive, "God Save Us All" contains the exact same rhythm as Journey's "Lovin Touchin Squeezin" (I'm embarrassed to know that), and "You Were in My Heart" has a suspiciously Who-like synth line.
However, I implore you not to listen to the lyrics! This guy is 37 years old, and he should be able to come up with more than the standard-issue goodtime and lover-dovey lyrics he's got here. Note - the track "Let's Get High" is actually about getting high on love, happiness, and other hippie stuff like that. Lenny does come close to some good lyrics in "Bank Robber Man," which concerns his recent false arrest in a case of mistaken identity, but he doesn't exactly have deep thoughts, at least not as a writer. He didn't put much effort in to the title of this album either.
So while Lenny Kravitz still barely has an original idea in his head, you gotta admit that he's great at what he does, and he's one of the most enjoyable rock stars we have these days. So if you're in the mood to go back through a time warp to any year in the early to mid-seventies, slap on the quadraphonic headphones and groove to this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Lenny' see's Kravitz hit top form, October 30, 2001
This review is from: Lenny (Audio CD)
My review of 'Lenny'
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All the way from Sunny (NOT!!!) Scotland.What can I say about the new album apart from, I shouldn't really have it as it's not due out until later today, But my friend owns a record store and I pestered him for it on Friday and he gave up just to get rid of me and sold me a copy..WOOHOO!!!!!.
Anyhoo down to business.....
01: Battlefield of love.
Wow!!! when have you ever known Lenny not to kick off an album with a tune that just grabs your attention striaght away?. This song contains a superb riff and just ROCKS!!! another Lenny anthem is born, Definately a future live favourite to get your rocks off too and possibly a single. Great way to start.
02: If I could fall in love.
Don't expect a slow number here as this is a fast paced number with a really catchy chorus. A great song with a throbbing baseline and Lenny singing quite personal lyrics...Baring his soul, this is a song for those who have loved and lost.
03: Yesterday Is gone (my dear Kay).
This starts of with just Lenny and an acoustic guitar, A song that sounds really forlorn but then bursts into life, he thing about this song and a few others on the album for that matter, is that they would not be out of place on Lenny's classic first album 'Let love rule'. This is a mid paced number, that,to me is about looking forward and getting on with life, a hopeful song.
04: Stillness of heart.
A love song done the way only Lenny can, I love this song, It's possibly my favourite at the moment, it has a really yearning guitar riff that just gets you at the core of your heart, a really beautiful song, the kind of song you fall in love to, or even a song to remember the one that got away.
05: Believe In me.
The theme of this album is definately love and for a man who has dated some seriously gorgeous women, he seems to be eternally at a loss, This song is right up there with the best of his back catalogue, very forlorn with a bassline that at first you might think is out of place but it is just so infectious as is the song as a whole....tremendous and a real tear-jerker.
06: Pay to play.
This song has every instrument and the kitchen sink kicking off in it, It has a weird chorus that is almost a chant, there is so much going on in there it's hard to describe, Lenny's voice is different on this track, it's as if he is singing through a megaphone at bits, funky tune though .
07: A million miles away.
this song reminded me of David Bowie's 'Space oddity' when it first started, it goes from an acoustic beginning into an almost Beatlesque song, very tuneful as well and a lot of Layers in there vocally, I love the way the cymbals and drums sound on this track . Another classic
08: God save us all.
Another song that would sit well on Lenny's debut album, This is a mid-paced rocker of a number, i think i can detect a lovely wee bit of strings in there. It also has a really good guitar solo in it, Lenny the master axeman....and the rest...God save us all indeed. Great song, you'll be humming this on your way to work or whatever, it's so catchy, almost hypnotic.
09: Dig In.
At first i couldn't believe this was the single, it seemed a strange choice, especially after the wealth of classic potential singles that have gone before, but it is such a grower, Lenny reminds me of Bob Dylan at certain points of the vocal...I don't know why, he just does ???. This song is a real grower with a really funky guitar hook.Great tune...especially for driving to (as is track one).
10: You were in my heart.
A very moody song, kind of in the vein of '5'. Lenny using synths and so on, it is such a dark sounding song,much like something you would find on a soundtrack to a thriller or a tragic love story (lol). This is another grower but will be a firm favourite with everybody.
11: Bankrobber man.
This is a full out angry song (like Mr Cabdriver on speed) Very rocky with a great beat in it, the guitars are pushed to the back and the drums are to the fore (My kind of tune). This actually sounds like it was a jamming session that turned into a song. A bit of a protest song, I heard the story about the origins, ouch..prejudice still lives....YUK!!. Well done Lenny for putting it into words and rocking us with it.
12: Lets get high.
Indeed, lets all get high and salute Lenny for producing an album that consistantly delivers, a great anthem to end the album with. This is a very personal album,one of his most soul-bearing. The thing that strikes you about it is that after listening to it you find yourself humming to basically every song, thats the mark of a great album, If it doesn't get you right away,believe me it will grow on you big time.
I think this album is Lenny taking us on an emotional rollercoaster. It starts of at a rush and takes us through many a memory before leaving us on a positive note telling us to get high. I seriously believe that the fans will love this and come to regard it as his best work to date.
I haven't had it off the cd player since i got it and I bought 4 other albums at the same time and they are still lying there, untouched and unlistened too.
All I can say is sit back, listen and enjoy the masterpiece that is Lenny.
Cheers
Will
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Premier Rocker Of New Millenium: LENNY KRAVITZ, October 30, 2001
By 
Hugo (HOUSTON, TEXAS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lenny (Audio CD)
LENNY KRAVITZ has established himself as the Premier American Male Rocker of the new millenium. He's THE MAN! The ultimate musician at his very finest is evident throughout "LENNY", his greatest all around studio album to date. Yes, he has proudly and bravely worn his influences on his sleeve throughout his musical career, but he has always maintained his own distinct and identifiable sound. During the past month of October 2001, several long awaited new cd-albums by Bush, Live, Incubus as well as others have been issued and though they're pleasant and at times satisfying, this new "LENNY" KRAVITZ release is the ultimate best, most musically fulfilling and thoroughly consistent of the entire bunch! "LENNY" easily blows all the rest away from an artistic and musical point of view and reference. On his new album, Lenny Kravitz explores the musical mind and gifts of "LENNY" himself to spectacular results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Consistent Yet Creative, March 14, 2002
By 
G. J Wiener (Westchester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lenny (Audio CD)
Lenny Kravitz is one creative musician. This especially shows up on his latest CD, Lenny. This CD is rooted in rock n roll but offers touches of many styles. Believe In Me, Pay To Play, and You Were In My Heart offer a creative hip-hop influence while Yesterday Is Gone and Million Miles Away display the tender acoustic side of Mr. Kravitz. Of course there is plenty of hard core rock n roll. And the siren effect is so real on Bank Robber Man, I thought there was a police car or an ambulance after me when I listened to it for the first time while driving in my car.
Lenny Kravitz also displays his usual brand of passioante vocals, heartfelt lyrics, and searing creative guitar solos. Just listen to each of the many tracks and Lenny adds a different texture to every guitar solo. And the songs are all well written. There is no filler on this release as all the songs are well written if not overly spectacular. The vocal tone does not vary too much from song to song but the passion behind it makes me overlook this slight drawback. Overall, though this is a quality release for Lenny Kravitz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lenny
Lenny by Lenny Kravitz
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.