Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent laptop well worth the price!
I don't often write reviews. Only if I feel an item is truly exceptional, and this laptop is! My primary uses for this computer is gaming, Handbrake (video converting), and typical stuff like web browsing, email, etc. Overall, this computer is attractive, versatile, sturdy, and powerful.

In setting it up, it has typical bloatware which wasn't hard to remove...
Published 7 months ago by Scion of Orion

versus
37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed thermal design
First of all, this laptop is a BEAST, it is really cheap compared to other laptops with similar processing power, however there is 1 huge problem.

The chassis of this laptop was designed for 2x 650M VGA and because of this the 2x 750M are having heat issues due to the higher voltage and clock speeds. The built in main 750M is okay for most models (however many...
Published 6 months ago by TInd


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent laptop well worth the price!, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p 59385820 15.6-Inch Laptop (Dusk Black) (Personal Computers)
I don't often write reviews. Only if I feel an item is truly exceptional, and this laptop is! My primary uses for this computer is gaming, Handbrake (video converting), and typical stuff like web browsing, email, etc. Overall, this computer is attractive, versatile, sturdy, and powerful.

In setting it up, it has typical bloatware which wasn't hard to remove. It shipped with Windows 8, and after doing initial updates FIRST, you can then go onto the Windows Store to download the update to 8.1. The update was prominently displayed within the store, and after clicking install, it took care of the rest. **WARNING**!!- BEFORE you update to 8.1, you MUST back up Windows 8 using a flash drive (at least 4-8 gb), and create an ISO (Google search how to create a Windows 8 ISO). This is for ANY computer using Windows 8. Windows 8 creates a dedicated file on the hard drive to refresh or restore the computer if it crashes (this is why there are no disks to install Windows 8 anywhere- you download it). But if/when you update to 8.1, those dedicated files become corrupted or deleted (not sure which but it doesn't matter). And if your computer crashes AFTER you update to 8.1, you'll have to either A) create the ISO from another Windows 8 computer (if you have access to one), or B) contact the MANUFACTURER (if you don't have access to another Windows 8 computer) for a restore disk (they'll send a flash drive). You may or may not have to pay for this restore flash drive depending on the manufacturer, as well as shipping. All this has nothing to do with the laptop, and has everything to do with the genius that is Microsoft. So if you have Windows 8, create a backup ISO flash drive right away, and then store it in a safe place. You WILL need it someday. Also, updating to Windows 8.1 is NOT required.

If you update to Windows 8.1, the 2nd graphics card in the Ultrabay becomes disabled. This is easily remedied by following these steps. 1) Go to Lenovo's official website 2) Download the driver update at the top of the page. 3) Go to your download folder, and locate the .exe file (should be the 4th one down with the little shield symbol on it). 4) Double click the driver update program. 5) A black window (your terminal) will open. Keep clicking enter every time it asks you what you want to do until it's finished and closes. 6) Restart the computer. 7) Right click the Windows button on the bottom left of your screen and select Device Manager. 8) Once the Device Manager window opens, right click on Display Adapters and select "Scan for Hardware Changes. If you don't scan for hardware changes at this point, it may only display one of your graphics cards in the drop down menu instead of both. Scanning will bring back the 2nd card if it wasn't already displaying. 9) Left click on the arrow to the left of Display Adapters. This will show both graphics cards underneath. The 2nd card will have a yellow triangle. Right click on it and disable it. Right click on it again and enable it. And that's it!- you're all set now and can close device manager out. Some of you reading this might feel this is a complicated procedure, but it really isn't. I never did anything like this before until now, and I did't have any trouble. Also, I did't have any step by step outline like I'm giving you. Once the initial setup was complete, it's now able to handle whatever you throw at it.

The build quality is truly solid. The chassis has no flex to it, and this is due to everything but the bottom being aluminum. The bottom is officially plastic, but is as hard as the rest of it. Again, NO flex. The keyboard is really nice. High quality, easy to type on, and almost completely silent. The red backlit keyboard isn't too bright, and has different intensity settings. The speakers produce a good sound, though there is no subwoofer like some laptops have. The weight of this laptop however, is heavier than average, but lighter than the average gaming laptop, which this definitely is. It might be a little heavy if you want to take this with you to campus, work, or wherever. But that's the consequence of having this kind of performance.

The i7-4700MQ processor is one of the top processors on the market right now! Combining that with 16gb of RAM, and it's ready to execute whatever commands at blinding speeds. However, the weakness of this laptop is the HDD at 5400 RPM. A 5400 RPM HDD is merely average. The HDD you'll find in any run of the mill laptop currently on the market. Although average, I haven't noticed any lag in performance, but know to fully unlock the potential of this laptop requires an SSD. After doing extensive research, I ordered the Samsung Electronics 840 Pro Series 2.5-Inch 256 GB SATA 6GB/s Solid State Drive MZ-7PD256BW, because it's the top one on the market right now. On the Game Debate website, the CPU is rated 10, the RAM is rated 10, and the GeForce 750M SLI-(Dual Graphics Cards) is rated a 9. All on a scale of 1-10. In terms of performance, this laptop is equal to or exceeds some Alienware (not the 17) gaming laptops which can cost hundreds of dollars more.

The Ultrabay on this laptop is a versatile luxury, but difficult to find the accessories at this time. I found a compatible tray on eBay for my soon to arrive SSD for around $20. It currently has the 2nd graphics card in it, but it's nice to be able to conveniently swap out for an optical drive, fan, or hard drive.

One of the most demanding things you can do on a laptop is video conversion using Handbrake. My old core two duo would convert at an average of 11-35 fps depending on the movie. This laptop has hit speeds of over 300 fps! With this laptop, I can convert movies from Mkv to MP4 in 20 minutes or less. And that's with the current 5400 RPM HDD. Once the SSD is installed, I'm sure it will be even faster.

As for gaming, I installed the three Bio Shock games, Metro 2033, and Metro: Last Night. There is absolutely NO issue playing any of these games! There hasn't been one glitch, freeze, or crash. The frame rate is excellent due to the twin graphics cards, and the display is exceptional! This laptop has an HDMI port, and is very easy to convert your tv into a monitor. I've taken advantage of this by connecting this laptop to my 65" Panasonic plasma screen tv. This laptop does a fantastic job! By joining the two, I'm able to effortlessly play my games on the tv just as if I were using an Xbox or Playstation. I also watch youtube and movies on the tv through the laptop. Previously, I had transferred a downloaded movie to a flash drive, connected it to my Xbox, and watched movies that way. It seems that movies are sharper and better looking using this computer than the Xbox. Very happy with the gaming/entertainment portion described above!

This laptop has turbo boost like many laptops with i5 or i7 processors. Turbo boost isn't "over clocking" like old processors could be tweaked to do, but accomplishes the same thing. No matter what laptop you buy- this one or any other, Turbo Boost is limited by temperature. Once your laptop's temperature gets high enough, the laptop will throttle back so as not to overheat and damage the hardware. Therefore, it makes incredible sense to buy a cooling pad to place under the laptop. By doing this, you're able to augment the laptop's ability to cool itself, which in turn enables Turbo Boost to continue longer or indefinitely when performing an intensive task such as gaming, video conversion/editing, or graphics designing. Also, a cooling pad will prolong the life of your laptop in general, and specifically your internal fan if it isn't working as much or as hard without the cooling pad. At around $30, a cooling pad is a great investment to protect a laptop costing over $1,000. As far as cooling pads go, one with two smaller fans is better than a pad with one large one. I have the Targus pad Targus Lap Chill Mat AWE55US (Black/Gray) and am really happy with it. It's very quiet, comfortable in may lap, and has a foamy covering on the bottom. It's also effective in reducing a laptop's core temperature heat. My old laptop ran VERY hot (my laptop's temperature gauge was almost maxed out when doing intensive tasks), until I began using this. It made a tremendous difference in temperature, and greatly reduced the stress placed on my old laptop. Since the one USB port on the right side of this computer provides non stop power regardless if the laptop is on or not, I plug the cooling pad into that port. Because if you shut the laptop off while it's still hot (or most any other fan cooled electronic device), the fans will shut off too, leaving the device to cool without help. The "always on" port allows aided cooling to continue, dissipate heat faster, and preserve the health of your computer. It's an investment worth protecting.

I absolutely love Ubuntu! When I decided to buy a new laptop, I began searching for a laptop ideal for Ubuntu. That's how I arrived at buying a Lenovo because Lenovo and Ubuntu play nice together due to their mutual utilization of Intel hardware. So when I tried to install Ubuntu, I found out it doesn't easily install like it did on my old laptop. I know it is possible, because I've seen it on youtube, but haven't really tried yet. From what I understand, due to the changes in BIOS and UEFI, the way Ubuntu needs to be installed is by creating a partition first. Bottom line: the installation we're all used to, using WUBI, is obsolete. So it's not this laptop's fault.

In general, all applications, browsers, documents, etc etc open virtually instantaneously, The battery life is as described. Lasting for only a few hours depending on what you're doing. The power brick for this laptop is massive and heavy. But that's because it draws a lot of power for the performance. This laptop is consistently rated as a top laptop for 2013 for a reason. It will be a long time before this computer's hardware is obsolete. It's construction is quality inside and out. And in different benchmarks, it's better than anything short of an Alienware 17 ($2,500). It even beats a Razor ($2,000) in some key benchmarks too. This laptop's performance to price ratio is unparalleled! I'm REALLY happy with the value I got, performance experienced, and price!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed thermal design, December 30, 2013
This review is from: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p 59385820 15.6-Inch Laptop (Dusk Black) (Personal Computers)
First of all, this laptop is a BEAST, it is really cheap compared to other laptops with similar processing power, however there is 1 huge problem.

The chassis of this laptop was designed for 2x 650M VGA and because of this the 2x 750M are having heat issues due to the higher voltage and clock speeds. The built in main 750M is okay for most models (however many are factory defective and does not have thermal paste applied properly), however the Ultrabay VGA may be a deal breaker for many people.

The 650M in the Ultrabay can operate on relative acceptable temps (max 176F-185F), however the higher clocked 750M (and also the 755M) with higher core voltage will reach 208F in a matter of minutes and starts to throttle with GPU intensive games, like Crysis 3, Bioshock Infinite, Witcher 2, etc.

The reason for this is that the Ultrabay in this model was designed for 650M, which means:
a) The fan is too small
b) Technically there is almost no point where the fan could take in air, there is only a small hole at the bottom of the laptop
c) There is an aluminium casing inside, surrounding the Ultrabay slot which will eventually overheat and retain the heat

I have to note that even though the Ultrabay VGA reaches throttle temperature, the ultrabay fan will not start to work on maximum RPM, currently the only way to use the fans on maximum RPM is to use the dust removal service in the Lenovo software. Running the fans on maximum would help the ultrabay vga, but Lenovo does not allow it, probably because the laptop would be too loud and people would complain because of that.

Repasting the ultrabay vga will not do anything. A notebook cooler can help to lower the cpu and built in VGA temp, but it will not help the Ultrabay VGA, it only makes it reach throttle temp slower.

In short: A beast of a laptop regarding speed, however the Ultrabay slot is not designed to hold a 750M/755M and the VGA inside it will overheat with any game that utilize 99% of the VGA.

It is okay with games like Skyrim and X-Com EU, but Crysis 3, Bioshock Infinite, Witcher 2, etc will fry the Ultrabay. Please keep this in mind when you purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Machine, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p 59385820 15.6-Inch Laptop (Dusk Black) (Personal Computers)
Just as all the other positive reviews have stated. This is a fantastic laptop. Looks great, feels strong and well built. The brushed metal finish is a nice touch, and nice to touch. Yeah it is a fingerprint magnet but that can be cleaned easily. The keys are soft and quiet. The touchpad is responsive, though this is perhaps the cheapest feeling part of the laptop. The sound is good, not great. But definitely better than most other competitors.

Inside? the dual graphics is a blast. Processor could be faster but nvm. The fans are on the sides, a feature I love after my last laptop that had the fans on the underside. Only issue is when playing games my wrists tend to fall in the path of the hot wind blowing from the fans! at last its good to know the heat is escaping. Not bothered about lacking an optical drive. Download games from steam so no need for a dvd. An external optical plugged into the usb 3.0 is good enough for watching movies.

The full HD screen is crisp & clear. Just how it should be. This is a gaming machine so not having a touch screen is irrelevant.

I would recommend this to anyone who wants to play games or work with photo / video editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite purchases, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p 59385820 15.6-Inch Laptop (Dusk Black) (Personal Computers)
I'm a programmer, an avid gamer, and a picky technologist.

Bottom line: this is a great buy. 2 graphics cards means great gaming (for games that support SLI, which isn't every game.)
What you are not getting (cons): no touch screen, no optical drive, a shorter battery life.
But to me, that's a brilliant trade-off for sheer unmistakable raw power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great PC; No M.2 Sata Port, 2 USB 3.0, Amazing Anti-Glare Display, Very quiet.HDD can be crap, USB & Fan layout little cumbersom, November 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p 59385820 15.6-Inch Laptop (Dusk Black) (Personal Computers)
Lenovo Y510p Amazon Review

Disclaimer: This is my second PROPER PC I've had in my life. I'm coming from a Dell XPS M1530 (2008 - @ 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo, Geforce 8600mGT GDDR3, 6GB DDR2, 320 GB @ 7,200 RPM, 1680 x 1050) and this review is heavily based on it.

Overall: 4.7/5
Edit: Owning it after 3 months: Full Review. Rating untouched. ;)
Heat: The heat is great and bad at the same time. Great, because even when overclocking, the machine won't go past the 75°C. Bad, because the vents can bother you a lot, since they are positioned exactly at your right and left hands. Meaning that when you are using mice to play games, you'll feel a very uncomfortable wind blowing to your thumb. Left handed people are the most affected, because the main card is positioned at the left of the computer. There are also small vents underneath the computer, and thanks to the lateral ones there isn't much air flowing through them allowing you to carry the computer to your lap, although doctors do not recommend that. Unfortunately, it isn't enough to putting the computers on a soft and puffy surface when playing graphical intense games.
Also, it is important to note, that extreme demanding games like Crysis 3 can get the number pad of the computer running warm-hot.
Screen: Anti-Glare 1920 x 1080. On outdoors, you can appreciate 80% of the screen. In my opinion is amazing. I can finally lay down and watch a movie, read PDFs, browse the web, or do some word processing outside. Yeah, gaming too. It also has vibrant colors.
It has a huge glossy bezel. It can get some fingerprints marked out, if you touch it too much. Furthermore, it will grab all the dust flying around. Fortunately, it doesn't take much to get rid out of the dust.
Contrary to Amazon's spec-sheet, the computer comes with 2 USB 3.0 and 1 USB 2.0 (The latter one, allows you to charge devices even if the computer is on sleep mode).
The keyboard is incredibly comfortable. It has spaced keys and feels good while typing. It has a cool red backlight with two intensities.
The camera works O.K. It's not that you won't be getting grainy images over Skype. You'll do, especially on dark places.
The Core i7 4700MQ allows me to encode a 25 min 720p video in just 6 mere minutes using MeGUI with all 8 threads. It's incredible fast (compared to my Core 2 Duo) and it won't bottleneck any of your games.
Battery Life is amazing, at least for me. Grabbing 3 full hours of full HD video using MPC-HC with MadVR enabled is an overkill for me. You can grab much more hours if you remove the Ultrabay port and install Intel's HD 4600 Drivers. Afterwards, install Optimus and you'll be bumping some more hours of battery life.

The Hard drive, can become a huge bottleneck in performance when doing some data transfer work (since it's 5.4 KRPM). It doesn't come with an mSATA port, so you'll have to look for an SSD, and put the original hard drive on an external case (or other computer).
Trackpad is horrendous. It gets better if you can do the workaround, which enhances its usability and stability. FPS is almost impossible, because it doesn't allow you to right click and left click at the same time (There are people claiming that they could, I just haven't done enough research to do that). There are also many times in which the trackpad would stop working for a couple of seconds; I would have to wait around 15 secs for it to react. Do not know why that is. No, it doesn't have native middle click. You can assign it through the driver page.
Windows Experience Index (Win 8.1 using Winaero WEI Tool): Overall: 5.9
Processor: 7.6
RAM: 7.8
Graphics: 7.9
Gaming Graphics: 7.9
Primary Hard Disk: 5.9

Gaming: Such important part. Most demanding games run at the highest settings with ~40 FPS.
There is something VERY VERY important to note. The computer WILL NOT RUN at its maximum potential while it's NOT plugged in. It matters not if you put the laptop at high performance, if it isn't connected to an AC outlet, forget about gaming semi-intense - very intense graphical games.
Games I've played, their settings and FPS:
1. Crysis 3:
High Settings with 2X Anisotropic Filter and SMAA @ 2x:: 35 - 41 FPS. 1080p. Can Throw 26 - 29 FPS @ Ultra Settings With 16X Anisotropic Filter and SMAA @ 2x.

2. Assassin's Creed Revelations: 1080p With Max settings and max filters - 60 FPS.
3. Assassin's Creed 3: 1080p With Very High Settings. And Very High Filter 33 - 48 FPS.
4. Titanfall Beta. Only a single card has been enabled. I can throw 26 - 33 FPS at Insane settings. I believe that the textures aren't finals, and that the game will hog down the PC. So better wait for official framerates.
5. League of Legends. Single 750m GT can throw over 75 FPS.

Sound is loud and clear. It's a pity that it doesn't have 3 headphones jackets, which would have allowed support for 5.1 or higher surround sound with that output. Even though, It does support 7.1 DTS via HDMI. The speakers have very high volume levels, so you won't be having problems listening to music far away from your PC.

Feeling of the machine: As others have said, the machine feels sturdy, durable and well built. The only minor thing is the trackpad that feels cheap plastic.

Computer chasis and layout: The layout can be improved. It does have the ventilation over the sides, which lots of people like. It has the big disadvantage that it blows hot wind through them, so you'll be needing to put the laptop on a place if you'll be using kb/m combo. The USB ports aren't spaced correctly. The 2 USB 3.0 are too close to each other, they could have separated them a little bit more, so you can plug bigger USB devices in them. Spacing is similar to Macbooks. The headphones jack are on the right side front-most part of the computer. It comes with the big inconvenience of creating conflict with your hand when having a mice at your right hand and have a reduced space. It will bump most of the time with the cable. The same happens with the USB ports and you're using a mice next to them. It can conflict with you a lot by bumping to the device's connector (If you are placing the laptop on a reduced space). I believe the same happens on the left side.

Power Brick: It's huge. That is because of the two video cards that it needs to support. The size is similar to a 30 Slim power brick, but a little slimmer. So you'll be thinking twice before throwing everything together to the laptop.
Software: What I really liked about the bundled software was the dust removal and the battery manager. The first one will spin as fast as possible the built-in fans to remove inside dust. The second one will give you the option to stop charging your battery at 60% (Perfect for days that you won't be moving around much with your laptop) and the battery will live for longer.

Wireless connectivity: CRAP! Yes. The Centrino N2230 suffers from sudden wireless drops. There is a way of flashing your Bios to support other cards, but I'll encourage you to wait Intel for a newer AC card.
RAM: Usually stays around the 4GB due to Windows' nature. Never had RAM problems, and the max it had gone, has been around 8 GB.
Conclusion: Excellent machine, well built, powerful settings and a bargain for the price. Nice screen. It does attract dust and fingerprints, but they are easy to remove. Keyboard is comfy. Gets warm to hot during intense graphical demanding sessions (Especially on the number pad when the game runs SLI). Hard drive is crap for data intensive tasks.

Should you buy this PC now or wait? That's a decision you'll have to make. Nvidia will be releasing its new video card lines around May. Intel around June. So it's up to you waiting or not before making the jump. This is a very good PC and will game you for this year and the next with decent graphical settings. But, buying a better computer model from this year is much better than buying last year's.

There is also the thing with "External Video Cards". Google them for more info. I had totally forgotten about them when I purchased this laptop. They could help you save several hundreds of dollars and bag weight if you decide going with the External route.

Old Review here:

This is a beast in terms of performance (Please see the hard drive part for info). Almost everything I've thrown to it, has been able to play it at max settings without much of a hassle. The screen is an Anti-Glare Display Full HD - 1920 x 1080 with vibrant colors and excellent backlight. It does pretty well outdoors. Contrary to the specs, it does come with 2 USB 3.0 and 1 USB 2.0 (The last one enables you to charge devices without turning the computer off). Battery life, for me, is amazing. I get 3 hours of watching Full HD videos with MadVR enabled in MPC-HC, power management in balanced and screen at mid-brightness settings, and SLI disabled. (This PC does not come with Optimus, but there are Internet workarounds for that)
Hard drive, can become a huge bottleneck in performance when doing some data transfer work (since it's 5.4 KRPM).
Trackpad is very tedious to use with DEFAULT drivers. There is a workaround (Look for it below) which enhances its usability and stability. FPS is almost impossible with this trackpad, so it's better having an external mouse with you. Speakers are loud and have nice bass effect.
The computer can get warm to hot in demanding gaming sessions.
The ports layout can be very uncomfortable; USB ports are positioned very close to you from the sides, meaning that your hand can bump USB connectors when using mice
Details:
Processor: The processor is an Intel Core i7 4700MQ 4 cores Clocked @ 2.4 Ghz. Coming from a 5/6 year old Core 2 Duo @ 2.4 GHz, the performance increase is astounding. I'm able to do lots and lots of tasks without the computer going down.
Windows Experience Index (Win 8. Win 8.1 deprecated this): Overall: 5.9
Processor: 7.6
RAM: 7.8
Graphics: 7.4
Gaming Graphics: 7.4
Primary Hard Disk: 5.9

USB Ports:
M.2. Sata port:
Video Card.
Gaming
Heat
Keboard
USB 3.0 ports.
Speed
Touchpad:
- Cumbersome without proper tuning.
-
Power Brick
Network Adapter and disconnections
Bios Version
Display
Initial State and Crapware:
The computer comes with Windows 8 64-bit (Non Pro version) and a plethora of programs (most of them crap/bloat ware or programs that you don't need and that occupy space)
Hard Drive:
- Will do mediocre work in heavy data operations:
o VM will slow down the computer when performing installation tasks such as installing the OS or installing a gazillion updates (Did this with Win 7 64-bit on Virtual Box).
Small details:
- I have started to really appreciate my old laptop. At least on its hardware features. You see there are these details that aren't necessary for your daily life, but it will help a lot during certain scenarios:
1) It does not have a playback pad. This means it does not have dedicated buttons or function keys which enable you to play/pause videos. It DOES have a function key for turning the volume up or down. It DOES NOT have a function key to turn the volume off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but looks great and performs great., December 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p 59385820 15.6-Inch Laptop (Dusk Black) (Personal Computers)
This laptop has great specs for the price. The dual GT 750M does run most games on very good settings (new high-spec games will not be running full power, and never off triple monitor). The keyboard is excellent, and the backlight is fairly stylish (you CAN NOT change the color, however).

The speakers are also pretty nice quality. However, in the same vain, my particular laptop has some really wacky sound card issues involving the audio-in. It will toggle between volumes, and pretend like I don't have my headphones plugged in and play through the speakers AND the headphones. I have to replace the plug a couple times to get the audio to play properly. (Now I'm using a bluetooth pair of headphones, so it's not as big a deal)

The "bezel" (the front edge of the laptop) is sharp edged, so it's not as comfortable for typing, snags on fabrics, and also has a minor gap that slowly collects small amounts of dust and sediment.This weird dust-like material started on the top of the screen that had a strange fuzz-like feeling to it.

The metal is extremely nice looking. Unfortunately, it is not the anti-fingerprint variety, so I have to wipe off the surfaces I touch every single day to keep it looking in top shape.

Lastly, and worst of all, the touchpad is absolutely atrocious. It's a no-button touchpad but you still have to "sink in" the bottom left or bottom right corner to click. You wish you had buttons, trust me. If you plan on getting a laptop without using mouse, this is NOT the laptop for you. $300 laptops have better touchpads. I'd have preferred not even having a touchpad considering how terrible the quality is. Absolute garbage. If they intend for this to be a mobile desktop-replacement gaming laptop (or multimedia) then they shouldn't have even included a touchpad in the first place if the touchpad they give you is going to be this awful.

(luckily, I planned on using a mouse with this thing from the get go)

Conclusion: as long as you don't mind disabling the touchpad and using a mouse, this laptop will meet your portable gaming needs very well for a very fair price. 4/5 stars, minus one only due to some of the minor issues. (Like certain new games are not SLI compatible and thus you've only got half your power (Planetside 2, Battlefield 4))

If I had to buy another laptop again, I would probably choose another model, but I still don't regret my decision enough for me to brood. This was a good choice among the many lemons and false decisions you can make. As a gamer, I would advise avoiding laptop SLI if you can and you might want a less oil-visible material so it doesn't look like you rubbed pizza all over it. While I don't really care about the touchpad being absolutely garbage, it more frustrates me that they even included one because it brings down the professional feel of the whole package.

So, there is a lot to love with the SLI aside from the gaming issues. You can make your battery last a LOT longer than most laptops of equal power since you can essentially shut off one of the GPUs. It has two 3.0 USB and one always on 2.0 USB, and they come in handy.The build quality is high (aside from the touchpad), and the look is excellent. Overall a great buy, and clear why it is constantly recommended on sites like Reddit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, November 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p 59385820 15.6-Inch Laptop (Dusk Black) (Personal Computers)
Simply put this laptop is great. It was fast out of the box and after dropping in a 500GB SSD, it is blazing.

I bought the model 59385820 which comes with both of the graphics cards and was curious about the additional SSD. Here's the deal with it, the 1TB hard drive has a 8 or 16GB SSD built in for caching, there is not a separate drive in the computer (Which is what I was hoping for).

The only thing I don't like about this computer is that my battery dies extremely fast when just doing everyday work (I am a web developer). So with a full charge, I may get 90 minutes of batter time which is just ridiculous to me, but I've read that it is the hidden myth about SSDs.

Either way, great computer and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice, fast laptop that plays games (I play Guild Wars 2) incredibly well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laptop - Great! .. Trackpad - Garbage..., January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p 59385820 15.6-Inch Laptop (Dusk Black) (Personal Computers)
As far as the laptop is concerened, the keyboard feels great and the overall build quality of the laptop is very sturdy and nice. The quality of the screen is also very nice! Overall performance is ASTONISHING! My single complaint is that the trackpad is complete garbage and unworthy of a 300 dollar Walmart laptop...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great machine, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p 59385820 15.6-Inch Laptop (Dusk Black) (Personal Computers)
i had been using a low powered toshiba for about 3 years and had problems constantly ive had this machine for about a month and the only problem ive had is i cant seem to stop using it. the HD screen displays images very well it runs games flawlessly and it is light enough to be transported with ease.for the money it was worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than a MacBook Pro, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p 59385820 15.6-Inch Laptop (Dusk Black) (Personal Computers)
This is an amazing machine for the price. Performs well with any game I've thrown at it, works great as a music production machine, and handles programming IDEs flawlessly. I sold my MacBook and bought this, and I would choose this over the MacBook without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.