Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
on January 20, 2014
Pros:
- Intel Xeon processor E3-1225 4 core, 3.2GHz, NO Hyper-Threading
http://ark.intel.com/products/75461/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E3-1225-v3-8M-Cache-3_20-GHz

- 5X SATA III Ports on M.B.
- 6X USB 3.0 Ports
- 2X Display Ports
- 4X DIMM slots supporting up to 32GB RAM
- 4X PCIe 2.0 slots + 1X PCI slot on M.B.
- Upgraded Intel P4600 Graphics on Xeon E3-1225 v3 CPU
- Onboard Realtec HD Audio Card supporting Surround Sound
- Remote Access with Intel 9000 chip.
- Hardware support for RAID
- Cables for 6X 15-pin SATA connections.
- Extra 3.5" Drive bay with Cooling Fan in 2nd. 5.25" Drive Bay.
- Half-Height CD/DVD O.D. 5.25" has 3.5" HDD bay included.
- 2X Case Cooling Fans (80mm.), 1X CPU Cooling Fan(80mm.), 1X 5.25" Drive Bay Cooling Fan (20mm.?) - Lots of Cooling.

Cons:
- ONLY 5-SATA III ports on the MotherBoard. If they would have put on
6-SATA III ports, You could keep the O.D. and install 4-HDD's/SSD's
for a nice RAID + 1 OS drive. There was a spot to put the SATA III
port on the board, it would have just cost a little more.
- HDD Drive Caddy's are flimsy plastic.
- Only 2X 3.5" Drive Bays included.
UPDATE (2014-11-25): New Versions have Total of 4 - 3.5" Drive Bays.
- Only 1X SATA III Connector Cable included with box - Not enough for the Drive Bays.

I have set up several of the i3-4130 version 70A4000HUX model of these TS140 servers so I already had the setup procedure and driver package ready to go. I have also set up several of the 70A4001LUX with Xeon processors. These are the best value for the money when they go on sale. I set up this box with the following in a couple hours:
- 12GB (3X4GB modules) pc3-12800 ddr3-1600 ECC UDIMM's
- LG Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Reader/Writer O.D. replacing the Half Height O.D.
http://www.amazon.com/LG-WH16NS40-Internal-Blu-ray-Rewriter/dp/B00E7B08MS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1416945769&sr=8-1&keywords=LG+Blu-Ray+burner&pebp=1416945771864
Update (2015-02-03): Installing the Blu-Ray burner eliminates one 3.5" drive bay that is under the half-height DVD Optical Drive.

- ICY Dock Duoswap 2.5"/3.5" dual drive bays in 2nd. 5.25" bay.
http://www.amazon.com/DuoSwap-MB971SP-B-Drive-Caddy-Docking/dp/B007Q4EZEA/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1416945705&sr=8-1-fkmr0&keywords=ICY+doc+duoswap
UPDATE(2014-12-11): It isn't really necessary to put in the ICY Dock Duoswap bay
unless you want to access the SSD/HDD from the front. You can put
the SSD in a 2.5" to 3.5" caddy in back of the 3.5" bay.

Update (2015-02-11): I have experienced 100% failure of ICY Dock Duoswap drive bays purchased after 2014-08-01. The drive bays fail when placed under continuous load (transferring 1+TB of data to/from a drive in the bay). If you have a OS drive in the 2.5" bay, the server will shutdown and you can loose any data being transferred at that time. Because of this, I do not recommend any new purchases of this ICY Dock Duoswap Drive bay. I also have found no other acceptable alternative that will allow either 2 - 3.5" drives or, 1 - 3.5" drive + 1 - 2.5" drive in a single bay.

- Sabrent 75-in-1 Multi-Card reader/writer in 3.5" exterior bay.
- 4X Seagate 4TB HDD's
- Crucial M500 480GB SATA III SSD for O.S. and Programs
- Intel i350-T2 Gigabit PCIe Dual Port Ethernet Adapter Card

http://www.amazon.com/Ethernet-Server-Adapter-I350-T2-Full-height/dp/B005ATA16Y/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1416945840&sr=8-1&keywords=i350-t2&pebp=1416945842463

- Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner PCIe Card

http://www.amazon.com/Hauppauge-WinTV-HVR-2250-WINTV-HVR-2250-C-CARD-Express/dp/B0071N06G2/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1416945895&sr=8-6&keywords=Hauppauge+WinTV-HVR-2250+Dual+TV+Tuner+PCIe+Card

UPDATE (2015-01-25): I do not recommend these Hauppauge internal tuners anymore.
Unless you already have one that works in a PCIe 2.0 slot (model
#88061) they are a lot of hassle. It is much easier to install
an external network tuner like the SiliconDust HDHR-3US, HDHR-4US, or HDHR Prime tuner in your
network and connect to the server through Ethernet rather than running RJ-36 Coax cable to the
card on the server.

http://www.amazon.com/SiliconDust-HDHomeRun-Definition-Digital-HDHR3-US/dp/B004HO58SO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1416946169&sr=8-1&keywords=SiliconDust+HDHR-3US&pebp=1416946205296

When using Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit OS I get the following WEI scores:
Processor: 7.7
Memory: 7.7
Graphics: 6.7 (with the P4600 CPU Graphics)
Gaming Graphics: 6.7
Primary Hardisk: 7.9

cpubenchmark.net has information about the relative performance and cost of the CPU's.

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_list.php

Here are some processor benchmarks for comparison:
AMD Turion II 2.2GHz -Dual Core -1405 score -(HP Proliant N54L G7 Microserver)
i5-2520M 2.5GHz -Dual Core -3549 score -(HP Elitebook 8460p Laptop PC)
i3-4130 3.4GHz -Dual Core -4801 score
Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz -Quad Core -6998 score
i5-4570 3.2GHz -Quad Core -7073 score

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare.php?cmp[]=2015&cmp[]=1993&cmp[]=1896

The cpumark score is important if you are trying to stream high quality videos. According to plex.tv forums, a cpumark score of 1500, or higher, is needed to stream a single 720p video without hangups. A cpumark score of 2000, or higher, is needed to stream a single 1080p video without hangups. The i3-4130 can effectively stream 2 - 1080p videos simultaneously and the Xeon E3-1225v3 can effectively stream 3 - 1080p videos simultaneously without hangups. You would have to go to the i7-4770 CPU or the AMD FX-8350 CPU (will not work on the LGA 1150 M.B. of a Lenovo TS-140) to get better streaming capability. The AMD Turion II processor in the HP Proliant N54L struggles to stream one 720p video. I own one of those and have built others for clients. They are a nice compact data server but, they are outdated and very difficult to upgrade.

I ran some Transcoding tests comparing the i3-4130 CPU to the Xeon E3-1225 v3 CPU version using the freeware program Handbrake to transcode ISO files into .m4v files. Using the same iso file and the same transcoding parameters, I got the following transcoding rates:
AMD Turion II - <1frames/second
i5-2520M - 9frames/second
i3-4130 - 29frames/second
E3-1225 v3 - 59frames/second

The Xeon with its quad core was twice as fast at transcoding as the dual core i3-4130. The HP Proliant Microserver N54L can take literally days to transcode a full length movie iso file.

Update (2015-02-03) - Handbrake ver 0.10.0.6534 has a new transcoding profile [H.264(Intel QSV)] optimized for Intel multi-core processors. I have transcoded .iso files with that profile using the high quality profile with quality settings at 15 and achieve frame rates in excess of 425 frames/second. I didn't see any significant difference in the transcoding speed between the i3-4130 and the Xeon E3-1225 v3. A 120 minute video will transcode in under 15 minutes where it would take several hours using the H.264 settings. The price for using the new settings is the completed .m4v files size is 25%-50% larger than completed file size when transcoding with the H.264 profile at very slow speed. Also, CPU utilization goes up considerably (amount depends on file and CPU) when streaming videos.

This is a great setup for a Media Server, HTPC, DVR, Data Server, or moderate Gaming PC. You would have to add in a high end Graphics card to make this perform any better for 3D graphics simulations or high end gaming but those take too much power for the 280 Watt power supply. There are PCIe 2.0 slots for the card if you need it. I put in a Radeon Saphire 6450 card just to check out the performance and the Graphics & Gaming Graphics scores dropped down to 4.9 on the WEI.

The Power supply is only 280 watts so you would have to upgrade that in order to meet the demands of a high end Graphics Card. Be sure to look at the graphic card specification sheet for the power supply capacity rating needed to run the card at full load. A 280 watt PS is insufficient for even moderate graphics cards. Lenovo does have a 480 watt P.S. in their parts list but there appears to be some difficulty in getting that OEM P.S. from them. Bigger P.S. are available many places. The power supply in the TS-140 has custom pin out configurations so it would be somewhat difficult to swap out a aftermarket power supply.

Update (2015-02-03):If you are considering this as a gaming PC, be aware that the BIOS does not support overclocking or any changes at all to CPU or RAM voltages. Also, there are no adjustments for CAS Latency on the RAM and there are a limited number of RAM profiles in the stock BIOS firmware. Along with the lower capacity PSU, this precludes a lot of the tweaking that many gamers do to increase performance of their systems. The Xeon E3-1225 v3 does not support hyper-threading which also limits the graphical performance for many modern high end games. That is the reason I state this computer is probably limited to moderate gaming applications. Gaming is not my area of interest or expertise. Go to sites like Tom's hardware guide or Anandtech to get more in-depth evaluations of CPU's, Motherboards, CPU coolers, and more technical evaluations for high-end gaming.

As an FYI - The M.B. slots are PCIe 3.0 and 2.0 (Depending on which slot you are accessing). I had difficulty in using cards I previously used in these TS140 boxes. None of the PCIe 1.0 cards worked in these boxes even though PCIe 2.0 is supposed to be backward compatible with PCIe 1.0. If you are planning on putting a Hauppauge TV Tuner card in this box, be sure that it is a model 88061 to work. The 88041 or 88021 do not work with PCIe 2.0.

Similarly, the Ethernet Adapter cards are also picky. Lenovo only recommends the Intel i350-T2 or i350-T4 cards. I tried a Intel PRO/1000 gigabit 4-port adapter card that was PCIe 1.0 and it would not even post the BIOS. Other reviewers have been able to make the PRO/1000 work in the TS-140 by loading the correct drivers. So far, none of the drivers I found worked for me. I tried a DELL i350-T4 and that one also failed. There is a procedure to jumper the card and erase the Firmware to allow that card to be used in the Lenovo TS-140. Unless you are very hardware savvy and comfortable with this type of procedure, I recommend that you use only Intel Branded or Lenovo branded Ethernet Adapter Cards to avoid the hassles.

Update (2015-02-03): I have had great success with Chinese manufactured i350-T4 ethernet cards available from an alternative auction site. Those cards come with Intel branded Driver Installation CD's and behave exactly like the cards that have Intel printed on the card. Price on those cards as of this update is less than US$70 with free shipping.

I have little experience in these TS140's with other card mfg. like SYBA. I installed the following card and had some problems with Jumbo Frames (MTU9000 is not supported). Depending on your application, this may, or may not, work. The price differential between these cards and the i350-T4 cards from China is too little to make it worth the hassle of using another card.

http://www.amazon.com/Syba-Ethernet-PCI-express-Controller-SY-PEX24028/dp/B00965J4TS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1416946561&sr=8-1&keywords=syba+ethernet+adapter+card&pebp=1416946564484

If you are planning on adding RAM, take into account the following parameters:
- ECC is OK. Buffering/Registered is NOT. ECC + Buffered/Registered RAM will NOT work in these servers. I tried a couple brands and they would not even post the BIOS. Lenovo sends Hynix or Samsung ECC UDIMM's with the machines.
- The TS140's BIOS is NOT adjustable for RAM frequency or CL. If you install RAM that is outside std. parameters, it will default to something that is probably slower than you expect and you cannot change it.
Example: Lenovo set parameters are A. PC3-12800 CL 11 Voltage 1.5 volts or B. PC3-10600 CL 9 Voltage 1.5 volts
If you put in RAM that is PC3-12800 DDR3-1600MHz CL 9, 1.5 volts, it will default to PC3-10600 DDR3-1333MHz which is slower... even though the RAM is higher performance than specified.
- Non-ECC is OK. Just do not buy Buffered/Registered RAM.
- I have used Hynix, Samsung, Crucial, and G-Skill modules in the TS140 server with good success.
- Crucial's ECC server memory modules are a decent price here at Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-1600MT-PC3-12800-240-Pin-CT2KIT102472BD160B/dp/B008EMA5VU/ref=pd_cp_pc_3

- The Lenovo Forums for the TS-140 now indicate that there are Kingston
Memory kits that work.
- SuperTalent has ECC UDIMMS that some people have stated work in the
Lenovo TS-140.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/221327478531?_trksid=p2060778.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Update (2015-02-03): Syba HyperDuo 4-port PCIe Card
http://www.amazon.com/Syba-HyperDuo-Port-PCI-e-SD-PEX40054/dp/B009LIPHNC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1422988766&sr=8-1&keywords=syba+4+port+pcie+card
I installed this card in a TS-140 to get more SATA III ports for internal Memory Storage. My results were mixed in that I had difficulty installing the card, even after pre-installing the latest drivers from the SybaUSA website. Also, I was not able to access the card BIOS after installation. I also had problems accessing the server BIOS after installing this card to prevent the server from booting from the eSATA ports. Only one of the eSATA ports can be used with port multiplication at a time (read all the reviews of the card to get that information). Installing the card also significantly increases the boot time. The card does work to provide more SATA ports along with eSATA ports. So far, I have not found a better card than this at reasonable cost.

If you are interested in using these as real servers that run VM's on different platforms other than the Windows server family, there is a growing amount of information on sites like homeservershow.com or smallnetbuilder.com but the Lenovo website forum is still lacking. Lenovo.com has a growing # of driver sets for many OS's. Check there frequently for updates. The installation CD's that come with the TS-140 have been updated. The last date I saw on a server shipped in November 2014 was from May 2014. The websites have drivers that are newer than that. Lenovo does not send out notices of updates so you have to check for them yourself (HP sends out notices of what updates are available to registered users).

If you are looking to build a modest server or high end HTPC, I think this is an excellent deal. The features are better than the HP Proliant G7, G8, or even the 300 series servers and beat the heck out of the Lenovo PC offerings which are much higher priced.
3535 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
on February 11, 2014
Great quality, and low price (at $399). Frankly, I never thought a Xeon processor-based Windows server can be had for so little money. One could use it as a regular desktop by installing Windows 7 or Windows 8, and be plenty happy. This thing is so fast. It could easily last 5-10 years without feeling the pressure of having become outdated.

BASICS

You must install at least the following: a hard drive and an operating system. That's all you need to have this thing running for basic computing.

You may either install Windows Server OS to run it as a server, or desktop version as a home computer system. An SSD is recommended for installing the operating system only, leaving room for a large hard drive as a data drive.

It comes with 4GB memory installed. Additional 4GB-28GB memory is recommended, making the maximum 32GB. Because I intend to run virtual machines using the server, I maximized the 32GB memory slots.

I installed a pair of 1TB disks configured in RAID as data drives (that's in addition to the small SSD with the operating system); and another 1TB disk as a backup drive.

HARD DRIVE BAYS

Although it has only two 3.5" drive bays, two more (four in total) 3.5 drives may be installed into the 5.25" bays, one into the card reader bay, the other into the slim optical drive bay (along with the slim optical drive, instead of replacing it). No adapter is needed, because the 5.25" bays have special holes for screws to mount the 3.5" drives directly. Taking out and inserting back the 5.25" bays are as simple as pressing a metal spring.

There are enough power connectors for four hard drives, but you will need to provide your own SATA cables. I think it came with only one SATA cable (perhaps two? I don't remember).

ETHERNET PORTS

If you need to run it as a server, especially if you wish to configure the server to run as a router (instead of using a separate NAT router), you may need a better multi-port ethernet adapter. Intel i350-T2 it is a good choice, or you may want to try the cheaper Intel PRO/1000 Pt Dual Port Server Adapter ). If you are getting the cheaper Intel PRO/1000 Pt Dual Port Server Adapter, carefully read some of the reviews of that product to figure out how to update the adapter using unsupported drivers for i350-T2, for otherwise you could have boot image failure issues. This is very important if you don't want to waste tons of time.

But if they don't need it as a server, the computer does have a built-in Ethernet port, and would be good enough if used as a regular desktop computer.

ISSUES EXPERIENCED:

1. Virtualization configuration: the BIOS of the machine by default has the Intel virtualization technology disabled. If you would like to run virtual machines (virtual desktops) on this machine, you will need to enable it in the BIOS.

It took me quite a bit time to figure out what the problem was and how to fix it. The startup screen passes the BIOS setup quickly without displaying a clue on how to enter into the BIOS menu. Turned out it is the "F1" key (not the usual F2 or F8) that you need to press as soon as the computer displays the first image.

Besides, in the BIOS menu, it isn't obvious where the virtualization toggle is located. Again took me a while. It turned out to be under "Advanced" > "CPU setup".

2. Another issue I encountered is quite odd. When I used the optical drive to install the operating system, the install failed with an error message saying that files are corrupted. But I knew that was not the case, because the same disc was used to successfully install the same operating system on other machines. So I ended up creating a bootable USB flash drive to install the operating system instead of using a CD in the optical drive.

But with a failed partial install already on the hard drive, things could become messy from that point. To ensure that computer would boot from the USB drive instead of going into the botched partial install of the Windows, the BIOS settings should be changed to specify a strict order of boot devices. Because I did not initially figure out how to enter into the BIOS settings, I ended up doing it the hard way. I took out the hard drive, connected it to another computer, completely reformatted the hard drive, and reconnected it back to the ThinkServer. After that, the computer automatically boots to the bootable USB flash drive that contains the operating system.

To avoid the above problem, I would suggest that you use a USB flash drive to install the operating system from the very beginning, giving no chance for the optical drive to mess up things.

I have used the optical drive for other purposes since then, and have not encountered any similar problems. So the optical drive itself seems fine.

OTHER COMMENTS:

The computer is quiet. One could build an even quieter custom PC using very special coolers and fans, but this server computer is doing fine with the seemingly ordinary parts, far quieter than an average consumer PC.

The power supply is weak, but as long as you don't plan to run a very power-consuming video card, it should be fine, even with multiple hard drives. I use a UPS as an external power supply, which, to a server, is necessary. So I don't need to be picky on the quality of the internal power supply.

Overall, the server computer is very well made. Even the wiring is of satisfactory quality.

I honestly can't find any serious fault of this server computer, especially considering the price.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on January 24, 2014
A pair of Crucial CT102472BA160B 8GB ECC UDIMM installed in this Xeon server & 1 piece of Kingston KVR16LE11L/4 4GB ECC UDIMM installed with a pair of the original Hynix 4GB in the i3 server make up a total of 16GB & 12GB RAM in my Xeon & i3 TS140s. Both boxes have 2-port NIC card Syba Dual LAN Ports (SD-PEX24033) installed, running Win 2012 & 2012 R2 servers with Hyper-V hosting a few win2012 / 2008 servers & Win8.1pro. Both are configured with Raid 10 and 4 Hdds installed in each server using the existing hardware with add-on screws. (Initially I tried out with Raid5 configuration but the Raid driver performance was disappointing with constant high access rate on the hdds.) The Xeon server is used on production as a domain controller setup with DNS & WSUS roles as well as a DVR recording video streams from 10 IP cameras 24X7 over the home office LAN. Remote login is installed so it allows me to see the real time surveillance monitor display when I am away from home. The i3 server is used for training & development to upgrade my skills in servers and networking. The Xeon is a 4-core with a better GPU so it handles video/graphic better than the i3 and noticeably overall performance increase of at least 15% than the i3 & maybe higher in other categories. These are very good servers due to their low cost, durability, easy expandability and good functionality including low power consumption and whisper quietness.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on July 12, 2014
I've been using Windows Home Server 2011 on an HP MicroServer (N40L) for a few years now. It's been working very well - silently humming along, backing up my home network of PCs, serving videos, giving me remote access when I need it. I've been slowly increasing my demands on that box - running Plex to replace Windows Media Center, and running BlueIris to manage a handful of IP cameras brought it to it's knees. With a Passmark just under 700 (Athlon Turion) it was never really powerful enough to do more than serve files. Unfortunately, the CPU is soldered to the mainboard and there's no way to upgrade it.

I discovered this server from the reviews at WeGotServed and WindowsHomeServerShow. People really seemed to like it, and after doing some comparisons, I understood why.

First off - from a CPU performance standpoint, this can't be beat. With a Passmark of just under 7000, it's 10x more powerful than the current HP server, and actually just a bit more powerful than my quad-core i5 desktop computer. This machine has enough power for everything I want to do with it today - and a lot of headroom for what's next. And if I need more power, the CPU is upgrade-able.

Next, there's enough space inside to easily hold 4 hard (2 dedicated 3.5" bays plus 2 5.25" bays that accommodate 3.5" drives). Adding 4 hard drives + the included slim optical does fill up all 5 available SATA connectors on the MoBo. It does look like you could possibly squeeze in another slim 3.5" or 2.5" SSD if you really wanted to, but you'd have to add another SATA board. Which is something you may want to consider doing - as there are no eSATA ports on the back. I suggest the StarTech PCI card that has 2 eSATA ports externally + 2 SATA ports internally.

RAM- I took out the DDR from my HP box and put them into this box. WHS only supports 8Gb, so no advantage right now to putting any more than that in.

And now for the best part ... I decided to be optimistically adventurous and move the 4 drives from my existing server ... to my utter amazement it booted. I used the Lenovo CD to update the drivers, and after doing a couple of license reactivations, I was fully operational in about an hour.

Over the last few days I've been amazed at just how quiet this server is - about as quiet as the MicroServer. I think it will draw some more power vs the previous server, but hopefully not so much that it will be painful when I get the electric bill.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 23, 2014
Normally, I don't like buying electronics if I haven't at least seen them in person, but this tower was by far the best deal for what I was looking for. Taking the plunge and buying it was well worth the effort!

As detailed in other reviews, this machine is so quiet that you might wonder if it's on. Judging by my electric bill, it has very low power needs even when running 24/7. There were absolutely no driver issues or hassles when I installed Xubuntu 14.04 (64-bit) on it, and it handles virtualization very smoothly. Perhaps the one weakness is it being ill-suited for gaming, but I'm using it as a workstation for graduate school and don't generally play games anyway.

In the two months I've had this tower, it's performed exactly as I hoped it would. Hopefully the next few years will prove its reliability.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on January 12, 2014
We install these at client locations all the time. They make for a fantastic entry level server. Make sure you get one with the Xeon if you are going to be working it hard. The i3 can't keep up on certain applications.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on January 16, 2014
This is a fantastic bargain, picked up for a song and dance (well below the $399)!

Very pleased, out of the box I noticed some differences over the i3_4130 option:
1. half height dvd drive instead of 5 1/4"
2. additional fans in the 5 1/4" expansion slots

I doubled the memory (took the matching 4GB ecc DDR3 1600Mhz ram I pulled from the i3 version I bought previously), and added a 2.5" seagate hybrid drive. Here is what kill-a-watt says:

Idle: 23.4 watts
Load MAX: 66.4 watts

Haven't gotten it all set up yet the way I want but it is very speedy, snappier than i3 version, and my AMD bulldozer 8120, we'll see how she does once I get a video card in here on some games, i expect CLOSE TO i7 4770 level CPU performance IN THE APPS I WILL RUN as they are very similar CPU's (no HT on the xeon, but this whole machine cost less that buying just that cpu). (HT stands for Hyper Threading, not half tomato or Hawaiian tangerines or any other type of fruit like a banana)

Great build quality, far exceeding that of an entry level PC. Have recommended to friends, relatives and colleagues. Their sales have been increasing! I would chose this every time over a not sure what you are getting bare bones combo or bundle from TigerDirect, at least here you know what you are buying, rather than amazon shopping Russian roulette!

Update:

-Works flawlessly with a Radeon 7750 2GB video card getting all power thru PCI express bus.

but also

-Works with an aftermarket Power Supply of equal or higher watt/amperage ratings on the respective +12V1, +12V2, etc. rails, with at least one 4pin 12V connector for the motherboard, and a $15 Lenovo 14pin to 24 pin power supply adapter cable (do a web search for the adapter - ships from hong kong).
-With the power supply added it runs very well with my Radeon 6850 as a gaming platform, and the card runs a bit cooler (5 degrees C) in this case than my other machine, so the airflow is good.
-With the Radeon added it now runs ~45 watts idle, ~55-60 watts on things like Netflix or Hulu streams, and up to 160 under load thanks to the power hungry video card, and older 72%+ efficiency PS i had laying around.

Will try playing around with running linux and some Virtual Machine's on it in the near future...

Knowing the limitations of this box to start, this is an outstanding deal when priced in the low to mid $300's!
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 8, 2015
I was going to buy a NAS (Synology or Asustor or QNAP all make very similar stuff, though it seems Asustor has the most bang for buck when you look at price to CPU power compared to the others, ie the 5104T is a 4 bay with a somewhat decent Celeron quad core CPU for $500) but changed my mind and decided to get this box and make my own NAS instead due to cost/performance. It's a NO BRAINER when you calculate it.

You will pay a LOT of money for a NAS that has a good CPU - a LOT. Most are Atom or ARM or Celeron, just low end, low passmark scores. This is a fact and despite what they say, they will NOT transcode properly.

Enter the TS140. A bit over $300 for this server grade box that has 4GB ECC RAM, E3-1225 V3 quad core CPU and 5 onboard SATA ports. This will transcode ANYTHING you throw at it without sweating. The bang per buck of a "real" NAS versus making your own is severely skewed. Yes, a real NAS requires no time to setup and is all plug and play and would consume a bit less power, but I'd rather spend the time on a box like this to customize how I want it knowing that I spent a fraction of what a real NAS would cost and literally 50x the performance.

I wont give any advice on which exact software to use or whether you should run ESXi and VM's or just load as bare metal bc you can do anything you want with this box. If you DO run ESXi and want to do passthrough (this box supports VT-d) you WILL need a second SATA controller (LSI highly recommended, cheap, used on eBay etc) for datastore to hold the VM's so you can pass the Lynx High Point AHCI controller to your NAS VM for the RAID volume. In order to pass the Lynx through you will also need to SSH into the ESXi and edit your passthru.map with a very simple line bc the passthru is not supported right out of the box on a default install (with ESXi 6.0). Very easy to do, takes 30 seconds.

If you want to add more RAM you have to get UDIMM (unbuffered) ECC DDR3 1600Mhz 240pin. Crucial makes a stick that is about $80 that works and you can combine it with the stock (Hynix brand) 4GB to get up to 12GB. This will also run the box in dual channel mode when you add the second stick. Worth the $80 to take it to 12GB and yes you can combine 4GB and 8GB together without problem.

By itself with no hard drives, this box is V E R Y quiet, damn near silent. The only sound you will are your spinning disks once you install them - the box itself is freaking QUIET.

I'm not aware of another machine at this price point with these features and this quiet.. you literally cannot part your own box together at this price point either. Foot print is nice and small. The Intel AMT works perfectly once setup and you can control this at BIOS level and use the Intel software plus VNC viewer to console. My rig now runs totally headless with just eth cable and power cable plugged in.

Awesome rig, awesome price.

I'm a huge nerd and have been tweaking on PC's since the late 80's so all of the setup and such is not difficult for me, but it can certainly be challenging if you are a "noob". Patience is required but the results are worth it. Anything you need to know about setup can be found via google search and all software is open source aka completely free.

You could certainly spend $300 on a NAS and it will be Ron Popeil set it and forget it... The problem is you will be lacking substantial horsepower and will chug when u try to transcode, unless you spend mega bux on a NAS box with a respectable CPU.

Enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on June 14, 2014
I love this computer. I added memory, a hard drive and a solid state drive. It is super quiet and fast. It is a shame that the average person can't buy good computers pre-loaded with a great operating system. If more people tried it, they would never buy Windows or pay the extremely high premium for Apple MAC OS.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 2, 2014
This is a fabulous value, especially for the price. Probably the best computer system I've ever owned. I didn't even really need xeon, but for the price it was almost silly not to get it -- this CPU could perform well for years. This is a really well built system, it's pretty quiet (I keep it in my bedroom next to the cable router), and hardly uses any noticeable power. It runs FreeNAS / ZFS so well, and has never crashed yet. With FreeNAS/ZFS, we've lost power several times due to storms and no data is lost. The machine just reboots automatically and sits ready to do its business whenever I call on it. I added 20GB of Crucial ECC DDR3 1600 dram (2x8 + 1x4 to pair with the pre-installed 1x4), which has worked great too - again I don't even really need it, but it was so cheap as to be silly not to get it, and more ram always improves system performance (especially for ZFS). I plan to expand this out to do media storage/serving as well. I am super pleased with this box (ps, my laptop is Lenovo too!).
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 87 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.