Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leon Live - Rolling Along Like Thunder
This is the man who co-wrote "Blues Power" with Eric Clapton, penned "Delta Lady" which Joe Cocker immortalized and Leon later toured with Mad Dogs and Englishmen, wrote "Superstar" with Bonnie Bramlett which Chris Farley and David Spade parodied the Carpenter's version in the movie "Tommy Boy" (Don'cha remember ya told me ya love me bay-bay). He worked with Phil...
Published on February 12, 2000 by bob

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performance, no bass player?
His performance, and even the bands performance is at least 5 stars, but the mix is poor enough to make you crazy, especially considering that this is supposedly "remastered". The main problem is the complete lack of low frequency throughout the entire recording. The highs are a bit shrill and at times the background singers are recorded poorly, but this would...
Published 1 month ago by J. Barrett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leon Live - Rolling Along Like Thunder, February 12, 2000
This review is from: Leon Live (Audio CD)
This is the man who co-wrote "Blues Power" with Eric Clapton, penned "Delta Lady" which Joe Cocker immortalized and Leon later toured with Mad Dogs and Englishmen, wrote "Superstar" with Bonnie Bramlett which Chris Farley and David Spade parodied the Carpenter's version in the movie "Tommy Boy" (Don'cha remember ya told me ya love me bay-bay). He worked with Phil Spector during Phil's Wall of Sound years. He performed with George Harrison at the legendary Concert for Bangla-Desh in 1971. Leon is our unknown national treasure. This set was recorded in Long Beach, California in 1972 at a time when Leon was at his most popular. If you are a fan of gospel-tinged boogie woogie, this album will not disappoint you. Leon and his travelling roadshow are at the top of their game, and you can expect that a musician of Leon's caliber would surround himself with top-notch people. This live performance is tight and captures the essence of "Leon Live". The medley will leave you breathless. It's good time rock and roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHOOOO!!!, February 12, 2007
This review is from: Leon Live (Audio CD)
Leon Live is, without a doubt, the ultimate Leon Russell experience. Not only that, it is one of the all-time great expressions of American popular music. While it does not have the more detailed, polished sound of his outstanding studio recordings (the sound quality here does admittedly leave something to be desired), it captures Leon's manic energy as no other album can. The spirit of blues, gospel, and rock & roll are alive and kicking like a mule on crack in this incredible performance, which rivals Joe Cocker's Mad Dogs and Englishmen in its scope and power. It's all at once riotous, joyful, frenzied, sophisticated, heartfelt, and even spiritual. Many of the songs are played much faster than the originally recorded tempo, which could get tedious if it wasn't done so well by the band as a whole. To begin with, Leon's vocals have never been more gritty and raw, and his periodic blues ramblings about "my baby" and other topics turn this into more of a religious experience than a rock concert. He uses his signature wild screaming to kick the band into even higher gear when necessary (ie: on every song). His piano playing is unrivaled by anyone in the business. Nobody can boogie like the Master of Space and Time, and I believe he is the greatest rock pianist of them all. Just take a listen to the "Of Thee I Sing/Yes I Am Medley" for proof. As for the rest of the band, it is a first-rate ensemble if there ever was one, borrowing heavily from Leon's handpicked Mad Dogs and Englishmen band. Don Preston's lead guitar work is truly stunning, and I find it a crying shame that virtually no one knows his name these days. Carl Radle and Chuck Blackwell form a rock-solid rhythm section amidst the seeming chaos, and the gospel choir echoes every syllable of intensity thrown at them by the lead singer (be it Leon, Don Preston, Phylliss Lindsey, or Patrick Henderson).

Highlights of the album are hard to put a finger on since the whole thing is so great. In fact, the only song I could do without would be Phylliss Lindsey's vocal feature "Some Day." Her voice is just too screechy. Otherwise, the album is built around several show-stopping medleys, including Leon's famous rendition of "Jumpin' Jack Flash/Youngblood," "The Mighty Quinn," and the aforementioned "Of Thee I Sing/Yes I Am." "Stranger In A Strange Land" and "Out In The Woods" are also superb. However, none of these lengthier pieces quite equal the 3 minutes and 54 seconds of sheer hysteria that is "Delta Lady," which appears close to the end for obvious reasons. I listen to many different styles of music, including a lot of hard rock and some heavy metal, but every minute of Leon Live rocks harder than any of that stuff. His passion, spirit, energy, and southern charm make this one of the most definitive collections of big band rock ever made. Honestly, words cannot describe how awesome this album is. It's no surprise that Leon Russell was the biggest live act in the world at the time it was recorded. Don't buy this unless you are willing to let Leon show you some REAL rock & roll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great live CD, June 15, 2006
By 
COMPUTERJAZZMAN "computerjazzman" (Cliffside Park, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leon Live (Audio CD)
Leon Russell is one of those white guys that have got soul. And his live stuff from the early 70's is the best Leon stuff to listen to. People don't realize what a true musical talent Leon is, any kind of music he plays, he plays great. This is a great, rocking, CD and if you like Leon Russell, you will love this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The BEST!, December 17, 2002
This review is from: Leon Live (Audio CD)
Some live recordings fall VERY short of the experience itself. This is not one of them. Although the experience of a live show is always better than hearing it at home, 'Leon Live' is as close to THE real thing as I have heard from any artist. Not only is the sound itself one of the tops EVER, all of the swoops of the Leon journey from the time are felt here. Editted, perhaps. But you would never know it. This one is a MUST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leon!!!, July 9, 2005
By 
J. Jones (La Canada, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leon Live (Audio CD)
Mr. Timothy J. Mcalpin really hits the nail on the head. His summary of what the album meant to those of us who were in our mid to late teens at the time is right on. Leon is right up there with Jerry Lee, Little Richard, James Brown and all of the really great rockers (most of whom he played with). I was in Long Beach for one of the shows that the album was cut from and I have yet to see another live show that measured up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEON CAN SING!, October 5, 2001
This review is from: Leon Live (Audio CD)
Being a huge Joe Cocker fan, I found myself introduced to Leon Russell on Mad Dogs and Englishman. I don't know how it is that Leon isn't more well-known today! These songs are amazing. His voice has a very clear, sharp, yet subtle edge to it that is a pleasure to listen to. Without a doubt the best song on this album is the 16 minute long JUMPIN JACK FLASH/YOUNGBLOOD MEDLEY. The gospel, soul, rock and roll in this song makes you scream to the music at the top of your lungs! Long Live Leon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't take the "poor sound quality" complaints too seriously, August 5, 2007
By 
J. Mutch "Some Guy" (Cambridge, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leon Live (Audio CD)
The sound recording really isn't that bad! This concert recorded in August, 1972 is of similar sound quality to the Woodstock soundtrack or the Grateful Dead's self-titled live album from 1971. There is A LOT of energy here, incredible passion, great musicianship..in fact it's kind of a farewell to Leon Russell's most well known period in music..when he had a big band of musicians backing him. Leon Russell changed his sound after this album. If you liked Mad Dogs and Englishmen, and The Concert for Bangla Desh you'll like this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unheralded Classic!, June 4, 2004
This review is from: Leon Live (Audio CD)
I can't rate this record highly enough. This was originally a 3 record set, and it rocks from beginning to end. Leon is one of the last of the great rock and roll pianists. He was in Jerry Lee Lewis's band for a while, and it shows. Great combination of rock, blues, gospel, and country.....While he has a number of great records, this is his best. Hands down, one of the best live rock albums ever. He's still great in concert, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars leon russell live, June 26, 2007
By 
This review is from: Leon Live (Audio CD)
classic sounds by an expert musician, mixes new with rock and jazz blends with a touch of the south creole style, hard to find in any other musician. The blend of his classic keyboard working the chords that blend with his own original southern twists make this a clssic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars leon's at his best live, February 7, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Leon Live (Audio CD)
i first heard leon russell live on my brothers george harrison album for bangladesh. he blew me away. not being able to find that on cd, i was pleasently surprised to find this here.the jumping jack flash, youngblood compilation makes the purchase of this cd worthwhile on its own.if you like southern rock at all, check this one out. i can't understand how someone this good can go so unnoticed by the public at large.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Leon Live
Leon Live by Leon Russell (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.