Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
$5.99
Sold by 2swellguys.

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Amazon.com Add to Cart
$7.55  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Includes (What's this?)
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Leona Naess
 
See larger image
 

Leona Naess

Leona NaessAudio CD
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)

Price: $7.52 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by cdgiveaways and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, Feb. 2? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 11 Songs, 2003 $4.99  
Audio CD, 2003 $7.52  

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Samples
Song Title Time Price
listen  1. Calling 3:45$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  2. Don't Use My Broken Heart 3:51$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  3. He's Gone 4:15$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  4. Star Signs 4:53$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  5. Ballerina 4:48$1.29  Buy MP3 
listen  6. Dues To Pay 5:05$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  7. Yes, It's Called Desire 3:23$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  8. How Sweet 3:57$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  9. Home 3:44$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen10. Christmas 3:43$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen11. One Kind Of Love 3:57$0.99  Buy MP3 


Amazon's Leona Naess Store

Visit Amazon's Leona Naess Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Frequently Bought Together

Leona Naess + Thirteens + I Tried to Rock You But You Only Roll
Price for all three: $22.01

Buy the selected items together


Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 16, 2003)
  • Original Release Date: 2000
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Geffen Records
  • ASIN: B0000C52ET
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #292,002 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Amazon.com

Leona Naess’ third album takes a turn away from the radio-ready veneer of 2001’s I Tried to Rock You But You Only Roll in favor of the more austere arrangements of producer/multi-instrumentalist Ethan Johns (Ryan Adams, Rufus Wainwright). Less immediately ear-grabbing than the previous disc, this self-titled record nonetheless sinks in deeply after a mere handful of plays. Naess’s songs are closely observed and occasionally diary-like: in "Star Signs," she recounts her reading a former lover’s horoscopes, while "Dues to Pay" draws parallels between career and romantic hard knocks. Whether aiming for Tom Petty-style folk-rock or surrounded by a small group of string players, Naess’s voice remains a truly affecting instrument, wistful and full-voiced at once. Hurt or not, you know, she’ll get by. --Rickey Wright


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's time for YOU to discover Leona Naess November 2, 2003
Format:Audio CD
This self-titled album is the third release from Leona Naess and represents another wondrous work from a lady who is, in my opinion, the most promising relatively unknown female recording artist in music today. If you liked Leona's first two albums, there's NO QUESTION you'll like her third. If you've never heard Leona's music, then it's time you did.
As evidenced by the eleven captivating songs on this new album, Leona Naess has the potential to be a superstar. This young lady is an enormously talented musician: she writes fantastic songs with infectious melodies and moving lyrics; she projects a beautifully rich alto voice; and she plays her own guitar. Leona Naess is an authentic singer-songwriter, not one of today's manufactured artists created and mass marketed by a major record company.
It seems such a short time ago that I discovered Leona Naess when buying her debut album, Comatised. I was so impressed with her debut that I had to get her sophomore album, I Tried to Rock You But You Only Roll.
As much as I enjoy those previous releases, Leona's third album is her best overall work to date. Compared to her last album, this disc contains less emphasis on production and effects, allowing the listener to hear and recognize the depth and scope of Leona's pure musical talent. All the tunes on this album are infectious, ranging from frolicking and rhythmic to slow and introspective. Leona's voice is constantly charismatic. Nobody sings a soft, plaintive melody better than she does. Despite her youth, Leona continues to show the confidence and poise of a seasoned vocalist.
Lyrically, Leona again emphasizes her favorite topic: love, with all its attendant simplicities and complexities.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk of Fancy Cars and Wounded Love Scars September 16, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Leona's debut album was quite promising, showcasing a sensitive songwriter with a knack for delicate ballads (with a few rockers thrown in). Her second album "I Tried to Rock You, But You Only Roll" was a vast improvement, with a more electronic and upbeat approach.
Leona returns with her most heartbreaking and revealing album. She keeps the instrumentation rather simple, yet keeps the biting wit that many songs on her second album had. Leona's talent shines through on each of these 11 tracks, and her focus improves vastly with each album.
The sound is crystal clear, allowing the words and music to be natural and golden. She even puts a little growl into certain words in "Star Signs"
My favorite songs are "Don't Use My Broken Heart" and "Yes, It's Called Desire" Leona makes you feel rivers flow within, and packs your mind with her wordplay and double meanings. Buy immediately!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the risk... December 18, 2003
Format:Audio CD
I recently heard Calling on a local radio station and liked what I heard. I was hesitant to buy the album only because it's hard to know what you'll get based on one song, but I was encourged by some of the reviews I read. I only received the CD yesterday, but it's been playing nonstop since then.
Frankly, I've gotten out of the chick music scene. While Tori remains my all-time favorite musician, these days I'll take Black Rebel Motorcycle Club over Sarah McLachlin or Evanessence over Suzanne Vega. But every once in a while, I found some "chick" music that still moves me. Most recently, it was Miranda Lee Richards and now it's Leona Naess.
I don't know that I can add to the other reviewers descriptions of Leona's voice or musical style. I'll just say that if you've heard any of the songs off of this album and are still skeptical, take the risk and buy the CD. It is definitely worth it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is why she's my favorite. November 17, 2003
Format:Audio CD
I have been hooked on Leona Naess since I heard her first album a few months ago, and now I own all three of her works. I never purchase albums, preferring to buy singles from iTunes. For Miss Naess, however, I do make an exception, and I'm grateful to her for her simple yet resonant lyrics and her inviting voice which takes you in with all confidentiality.
Leona doesn't tell you what to feel, and she doesn't lay it all down for you. Not in so many words, anyway. Rather, she paints a vocal impression of her experiences and people and how they affected her heart and mind. There's just something about Leona's music that is refreshingly personal, lacking in bombasticism, and overflowing with the rawest of emotion, good emotions, emotions that we can empathize with.
Buying this CD is like buying a cup of coffee for someone whose tale in itself will repay you a thousandfold.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a rainy day! July 5, 2004
By Rebecca
Format:Audio CD
I love Leona Naess, she is so down to earth and it shows in her music and even in the presentation of this album, which is surprisingly girlie pretty by the way.
As one reviewer pointed out, she does not have the strongest voice, but I think it's pretty in an erethal, light sort of way, and her voice suits the mood of the songs. These songs, for me anyway, mirror what I am thinking some of the time when it comes to relationships and so on. When I think of a voice speaking to me, it doesn't ever sound like Mariah Carey. So Naess is perfect.
For the most part these tunes are slow, very floaty. A lot of the tracks are Leona and maybe a piano, guitar,drum or something. It's folksy mixed with ballad. If you are looking for THE CD to play during a:
Rainy Day
Finals Week
Day off
Writing Session
pick this one!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars great cds
Love this cd! Vocals and lyrics are phenomonal and so heartfelt. Bought everything from Leona. Everything about this artist is just absolutely amazing. Read more
Published 13 months ago by Renee
4.0 out of 5 stars It's only been pain lovin' you
It's safe to say I don't much think about Leona Naess amongst the great female artists of her time, and that I don't much feel compelled to hear a great majority of her albums. Read more
Published on October 7, 2006 by E. Kutinsky
5.0 out of 5 stars Leona love...
This album is definitely in my top 5. It's not the soft lull of her voice, the perfect instrumentation, or the simplicity of it all--it's all three. Read more
Published on June 10, 2006 by Janet Dickinson
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, captivating
Leona Naess is an unbelievably talented, original singer/songwriter. Unlike some other reviews of the song, "Calling" is a near-perfect pop ballad, in the vein of Joni Mitchell or... Read more
Published on February 19, 2006 by inhighspeed
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully soothing
beautiful....reminds me of norah jones but with more tenderness and sensuality......lovely music to fall asleep to
Published on November 14, 2005 by F. Nido
1.0 out of 5 stars some people shouldnt get record contracts
this cd is pretty awful,you wonder why leona even got the chance to record a cd, one of the worst songs ever is Calling,, it sounds like taunting from elementary school kids on the... Read more
Published on October 17, 2005 by music fan
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
she gains all the recognition she deserves with this release. E.J. deserves extra credit for the smooth outcome. Beautiful.
Published on February 14, 2005 by Christian
4.0 out of 5 stars A Suzzy Roche Wanna-be
While on hold waiting for Comcast to take my call, I heard "Calling" in the background. Could this be Suzzy Roche being played in public? It sure sounds like her. A lot. Read more
Published on April 21, 2004 by Richard Goldberg
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous!
I can't say enough of about this CD. Up until 2 months ago I had never even heard of her, but my best friend mixed a CD for me with her song "Home" and I had to run out... Read more
Published on February 14, 2004 by Kate
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but shows growth.
Leona Naess' debut, Comatised, nearly put me to sleep, so I skipped her second record. Good reviews brought me to listen to this third record, and its eponymous title does seem to... Read more
Published on November 29, 2003 by D. Mok
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category

cdgiveaways Privacy Statement cdgiveaways Shipping Information cdgiveaways Returns & Exchanges