Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Mo Willems...!
I'm a big, big fan of Mo Willems' last book, "Knuffle Bunny," and was equally delighted by this new picture book about a little monster named Leonardo who wants to be scary, but only seems cute. Leonardo decides to pick on Sam, a boy he determines is the most scaredy-cat kid in all the world, but after he succeeds in making Sam cry, Leonardo realizes he may have actually...
Published on November 26, 2005 by DJ Joe Sixpack

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's all about the tuna salad.
Mo Willems, Leonardo the Terrible Monster (Hyperion, 2005)

I have to admit, I'm a little (but not much) outside the suggested reading range for this book, which according to author Mo Willems is 3 to 36. Alas, I was 37 at the time I read it. I will attempt not to let this affect my judgment in any way.

Leonardo is a monster who's incapable of scaring...
Published on December 20, 2006 by Robert Beveridge


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Mo Willems...!, November 26, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leonardo, the Terrible Monster (Hardcover)
I'm a big, big fan of Mo Willems' last book, "Knuffle Bunny," and was equally delighted by this new picture book about a little monster named Leonardo who wants to be scary, but only seems cute. Leonardo decides to pick on Sam, a boy he determines is the most scaredy-cat kid in all the world, but after he succeeds in making Sam cry, Leonardo realizes he may have actually hurt the boy's feelings, and tries to make amends. A gentle parable about playground cruelty, this is also a beautifully laid-out book, with a bold, expansive use of empty space and clear, easily understood imagery. The serious emotional message is underplayed in favor of a playful tone, and will delight small children... You'll have a lot of fun trading "BOOS" with your kid after each reading. I enjoyed this one a lot, and it's frequently requested at storytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the monster scare the kid, January 1, 2006
This review is from: Leonardo, the Terrible Monster (Hardcover)
Pick up a hardcover copy of "Leonardo the Terrible Monster" and take a gander at the bookflap. Scan your eyes downwards and take special note of the suggested reading level. This, I must say, is a bit of calculated picture book brilliance. It reads, "For audiences as young as 3 and as old as 36". Now I once experienced the supreme pleasure of sitting amongst several hundred librarians and teachers in the New York City Arts and Humanities Library to see Mr. Mo Willems speak. My friends, you have not lived until you see a hundred or so middle-aged female librarians swooning over Mr. Willems' dapper good looks, his off-the-cuff remarks, and his instant rapport with any crowd. He is also, as far as I can determine, probably 36 and herein lies the beauty of the little note on the bookflap. Any yahoo could write that awful and almost obligatory statement that proclaims, "For kids between 3 and 103!!!", with a sickeningly saccharine smile. This book, on the other hand, makes the cut-off 36 and from there on in "Leonardo" proves to be a consistently surprising and sublime little tale.

Meet Leonardo. Leonardo has a problem. As any child familiar with the concept of monsters knows (or who has seen "Monsters, Inc", anyway) the job of that particular creature is to be scary. In this respect, Leonardo fails miserably. He just ain't a fright. When he attempts to do so he earns patronizing looks of the awww-isn't-the-little-fella-cute variety. Other monsters either look or act in a disturbing manner. Not our Leo. Fully aware that he needs a plan of some sort, Leonardo decides to locate, "the most scaredy-cat kid in the whole world" and frighten the bejeezus out of 'em. Sam is that kid. When Leonardo attempts to scare Sam it seems at first as if it has worked. Sam is, after all, in tears. The kid, however, claims that Leonardo's sorry excuse for a scare was not the source of his tears and then proceeds to outline exactly how horrible a day he's had and why he's been on the brink of tears ever since. Leonardo is moved by the little boy's story and resolves there and then to become Sam's friend. For a moment it looks as if the two little guys walking off holding hands will be the last picture in the book, but this is a Willems title after all. Though they're definitely buds now, the book admits, "that didn't mean that he [Leonardo] couldn't try to scare his friend every now and then". The real ending of the book? Sam joyfully running after Leonardo after the monster really has scared him a little. Happy ending for all.

So let's take a look at this book. Prior to "Leonardo", Willems was a fan of the square and the long horizontal shaped picture books. There are lots of theories out there that talk about how the shape of a children's title determines the kind of story it is. By and large, books (like "Leonardo") that are long and vertical tend to be far more interesting artistically than their square or horizontal brothers. Certainly this is Willems' most beautiful book to date. The cover looks like an old-timey wanted poster, or perhaps playbill for some penny-dreadful theatrical production. Inside, Mr. Willems make great use of space. The font is beautiful and ornate up until Sam's two-page explanation about how much his life sucks. At that point it becomes blocky and bold. Figures sometimes fill entire pages and sometimes, as when Leonardo is shocked or miserable, they take up just a tiny bit of room. It's clear that there is a very careful calculation behind each picture that determines where a figure is, how much space he or she takes up, and where the words on that page should go. Though I have great respect for "Knuffle Bunny", love the "Pigeon" and am appreciative of his instructional books like "Time To Pee" and "Time to Say Please", this is Mo's best artistic work to date. The title is just as much about what Willems doesn't illustrate as it is what he does illustrate. It makes for a gorgeous read.

Mr. Willems once worked for "Sesame Street", so I found his return to the monsters-are-scary concept especially amusing. He knows his child audience and knows it quite well. In a picture that features a monster that is far scarier than Leonardo, we meet Tony who is said to have 1,642 teeth. An note attached to the bottom of the page, however, reads, "Note: Not all teeth shown". Why put that on the page? Because Mr. Willems knows perfectly well that if you draw a monster and claim that he has 1,642 teeth, your child readers will all count those teeth and cry bloody murder that there are only 148 in the picture.

Now I need your help. Remember when I said that I saw Mr. Willems speak in NYC? Well at that time he mentioned his best beloved and universally applauded (not to say Caldecott Honored) book, "Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus" and its subsequent spin-offs. In the course of the discussion, Mr. Willems confided that the pigeon now appears in all his books, regardless as to whether or not that book is about him. In "Knuffle Bunny" it appears on someone's shirt. And supposedly it can be located in "Leonardo, the Terrible Monster". Now I have scanned this book from tip to toe. I've inspected each and every page with a fine tooth comb. I've meticulously culled every last stroke of the pen in an effort to find the deceptively simple fowl and I cannot for the life of me locate him anywhere. If you do happen to find the pigeon I want you to write a review of this book on Amazon and tell the whole wide world where to find it. Honestly, it's killing me not to know. Otherwise, there is nothing is this book that is objectionable in the least. It's lovely to view, has thick pages that will stand up to a lot of wear and tear, contains a story that is hard to resist, employs a great color scheme and font, and is just an all around joy. A monster must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leonardo the Terrible Monster, August 24, 2005
By 
Stoupa "judytin" (Falls Church, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leonardo, the Terrible Monster (Hardcover)
I'm visiting my grandchildren, Louis (5) and Katherine (2). I brought Leonardo along as a gift. In the three days since I arrived, we've read it at least 10 times. We love Leonardo, we love Sam, and we love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, March 7, 2007
A Kid's Review
My name is Monica Iravedra and I am 7 years old.

My English teacher read this book to us in class and I thought it was the greatest and funny.

My favorite part was when Leonardo made his first friend.

I recommend this book for all kids.

I also like this book by Mo Willems: Edwina The Dinosaur Who Didn't Know She Was Extinct.

I hope you like it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's all about the tuna salad., December 20, 2006
This review is from: Leonardo, the Terrible Monster (Hardcover)
Mo Willems, Leonardo the Terrible Monster (Hyperion, 2005)

I have to admit, I'm a little (but not much) outside the suggested reading range for this book, which according to author Mo Willems is 3 to 36. Alas, I was 37 at the time I read it. I will attempt not to let this affect my judgment in any way.

Leonardo is a monster who's incapable of scaring the tuna salad out of anyone. (And if nothing else, the phrase "I'm going to scare the tuna salad out of him!" is worth the price of admission here.) This makes him, of course, a terrible monster. Leonardo hatches a plan: find the scardest kid he can and scare him. He finds a possible target, and... well, that's a spoiler.

It's a cute little book, nothing earth-shaking (except for the tuna salad line), but a quick bit of fun to read to the kids. Pull a copy out of your local library before laying out the cash to see how your kids take to it, but I think they'll get a kick out of Leonardo. ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...And my book has been Maurice Sendakized.", February 26, 2007
Few authors have the panache shown by Mo Willems in his introduction written on the book cover:

"YOUR PAL MO WILLEMS PRESENTS"

followed by the book title, but Mr. Willems has a well-placed confidence in his rapport with kids. Willems somehow grasps the soul of a toddler, and his writing and pictures appeal to this age group at a very deep level. His writing and pictures are so tuned in that he seems like a real friend; a friendly, somewhat goofy friend that you want to keep.

Here he gets to an issue close to any youngster's heart--Monsters! KIds are afraid of the monster outside and (on another level) inside, and they frequent their nightmares and fantasy play. The always creative WIllems takes this fact and turns it inside out: What if there were a monster who was bad at what he did, who couldn't scare even the most timid "scaredy-cat?" Here, that cat is a "poor, unsuspecting" boy named Sam, shown in the lower lefthand corner of an otherwise blank 2-page spread). After woefully comparing himself to more scary monsters (which gives Willems a chance to draw a few), Leonardo vows to scare the "tuna salad" out of him. (This phrase is a surefire laugh magnet.) Leonardo succeeds in making Sam cry ("I did it! I've finally scared the tuna salad out of someone!"), but Sam makes other excuses for his tears in two-pages of crowded (and slightly difficult to read because of Willems' low contrast colors) testimony, including references to a stolen action figure, a stubbed toe, and a pooping cockatoo. Sam's list of bad times draws Leonardo's sympathy, and he decides that "instead of being a terrible monster, he would become a wonderful friend"--although he reserves the right to playfully scare Sam once in a while.

In his famous "Pigeon" series, Willems uses a minimalist illustration style that plays casual and easy. Here, he apes the "monster" designs of Maurice Sendak ("Where the WIld Things Are") either as homage or because he couldn't do better. I'll call it a tribute, because Willems also draws a monster that looks like it came out of "Yellow Submarine." He's also a master at typeface, putting catch phrases that require emphasis
(like "tuna salad") in contrasting font colors. In a side joke that adults will appreciate as much as kids, Willems draws "Tony," the monster with "1,642 teeth" and then asterisks it: "*NOTE: NOT ALL TEETH SHOWN." The humor is about as sophisticated as it gets with toddlers (one step up might be the great "Mr. Lunch" series). This is a surprisingly effective and touching story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poor leonardo, March 1, 2006
By 
Mike (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leonardo, the Terrible Monster (Hardcover)
(I have to write reviews for a class I'm in so here's mine for this book):

Poor Leonardo is terrible at being a monster. He doesn't have 1,642 teeth like Tony. He isn't big like Eleanor. And he isn't `just plain weird' like Hector. Despite his best efforts, Leonardo cannot scare anyone and it makes him very sad. Hope returns to Leonardo after he comes up with the idea of trying to scare the most scaredy-cat kid in the whole world, Sam. However, Sam has other things on his mind and after his latest failed attempt, Leonardo makes a big decision that will impact his monster-ness. The drawings in Mo Willems' simply-illustrated picture book do wonders to effect the mood and emotion of the characters and the feel of the story. Though each page contains a simple line of text, the pictures tell the real story. The use of space and perspective allows the audience to feel as small and defeated as Leonardo as he struggles through all of his failed attempts at being ferocious. Children will love following Leonardo's attempts at being scary and adults will root for Leonardo and appreciate his final decision. The book is said to be for audiences `as young as 3 and as old as 36' but the feel created by Willems' gentle illustrations and simple text will guarantee to adore audiences well into their golden years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leonardo, not the ninja turtle..., April 26, 2006
This review is from: Leonardo, the Terrible Monster (Hardcover)
This book is about Leonardo, the terrible monster. He thinks that he is so terrible because he can not scare anyone like the other monsters. He doesn't have lots of sharp teeth and he isn't really big or weird looking to scare people. He decides to find a scared little boy and scare him even more to prove himself as an acceptable monster. Leonardo finds Sam. He scares Sam so badly that Sam started to cry. Sam explains to the monster why he has had an awful day: because his toy was broken by his big brother and he stubbed his toe and a bird pooped on his head, and anything else bad you could imagine. Then Leonardo starts feeling sad that he made Sam's day even worse, so he "made a very big decision." (I love that line!) He decided that he would no longer try to be a terrible monster, but he would become a wonderful friend instead.

Mo Willems has such a charm about his books! He doesn't use that many words in his text, so the words that he does use are really important and carefully chosen. I love the colors used in his illustrations in this story. They are soft sage greens, lilacs, pinks, yellows, and browns. It looks as though he has used pen and ink and possible paint of some sort. He highlights different words of the text in different colors to place emphasis on certain words. Willems also uses a lot of blank space (it is not white space because it's colored). His use of the blank space helps to create a sense of movement in the story. The reader can see the progression of the movements of the characters as they turn the pages. When Sam is telling Leonardo all the reasons why he crying, the text is thick and bold and covers the entire two page spread. I think this does a great job at allowing the reader to really hear the child as he is upset and telling everything that has gone wrong that day. Another quality picture book by Mo Willems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My brother's cockatoo pooped on my head!, July 25, 2006
This review is from: Leonardo, the Terrible Monster (Hardcover)
Another reviewer said she loved the line that Leonardo made a "very big decision." I love that line, too, as well as the entire list of reasons Sam spews regarding why he's crying. One of them is that he "slipped in the bathtub while trying to wash out the bird poo that his brother's cockatoo pooped on his head." I'd cry too!!!

I read this book and put myself in the shoes of my [...] (who loves it, and has memorized and recites the list of reasons why Sam is crying!!!), and between the words and the pictures, it is a stimulating and lovely book. For instance, when Leonardo makes his "very big decision", the picture of Leo is enormous!

This is an incredible book. Thank you, Mo!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leonardo, The Terrible Monster, April 26, 2006
By 
This review is from: Leonardo, the Terrible Monster (Hardcover)
Poor Leonardo is the worst monster the monster community has ever seen. He is unable to complete his monster tasks. He tries harder and harder to be the monster he should be but nothing works out for him. Good thing because he has another profession he must take on....the wonderful friend profession.

"Leonardo, the Terrible Monster" is a book that is perfect to engage in while talking to students about friendships and being courteous to those around them. This book, in size, is huge. The pages have a lot of space on them showing the true appearance of Leonardo, as a small monster. The language used in this book is language that a lot of children use. The class could pick out the words that are common to what they say. Also, the kids could all draw and name their own monster that could be put in the book. The students could brainstorm reasons of why Leonardo is such a terrible monster before the book is read. Then we could see if the class hypotheses were correct. For kids to work on their writing skills, they could name the little boy that Leonardo becomes friends with and write their own story about him. They could also write the sequel to this book, telling about Leonardo's life after he decides to be a "wonderful friend" since he is a horrendously bad monster. Another activity to do with this book is to ask kids about the things that go on in the book. The students could talk about the problem (Leonardo being a terrible monster) and the solution to that (changing his profession to being a full-time friend).

This is one of my favorite children's books. I really like it because the pages are really big and Mo Willems uses the big pages to go along with the illustrations. You can really sense the size of the characters in the book by the enormous space that is on every page. "The story is told predominantly through the illustrations." (Temple et al., 2006) When reading the title of this book, before I read the book itself, I thought the book was about a monster, Leonardo that was terrible, meaning mean. I was definitely incorrect. Leonardo is really a bad monster, bless his heart! He is so cute though. I love him and I love the little boy that he befriends at the end. I also love the dedication in this book. Most all of Mo Willems's books are dedicated to Trixie, his daughter. The dedication in this book is so adorable. It states: FOR THE TRIXTER, MY OWN LITTLE MONSTER. That is so awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Leonardo, the Terrible Monster
Leonardo, the Terrible Monster by Mo Willems (Hardcover - August 23, 2005)
$17.99 $13.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.