Customer Reviews


2,109 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,341)
4 star:
 (432)
3 star:
 (113)
2 star:
 (74)
1 star:
 (149)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


131 of 135 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inexpensive entry-level amplifier
I have been using the Lepai amp for almost 2 years. There are good and bad things that I noticed. Below is my summary of the Lepai mini amp:

The GOOD:
1) This amp is really inexpensive. If you cannot spend more than 20 bucks then you may want to take a close look at this amp.

2) The sound quality albeit at low volume is pretty decent. This amp...
Published 8 months ago by Correy Samper

versus
162 of 192 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Note the power supply voltage
This amplifier is shipped with a 12 Volt power supply. If you are somewhat knowledgeable then you can do the math and figure out that given the 12 Volt supply voltage this amp can deliver without an excessive amount of audio distortion:

- 2 x 18 Watts with 4 Ohm speakers, and
- 2 x 9 Watts with 8 Ohm speakers.

If you further look at the current...
Published 7 months ago by Martin Lange


‹ Previous | 1 2212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

131 of 135 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inexpensive entry-level amplifier, December 27, 2013
This review is from: Lepai LP-2020A+ Tripath TA2020 Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier with Power Supply (Electronics)
I have been using the Lepai amp for almost 2 years. There are good and bad things that I noticed. Below is my summary of the Lepai mini amp:

The GOOD:
1) This amp is really inexpensive. If you cannot spend more than 20 bucks then you may want to take a close look at this amp.

2) The sound quality albeit at low volume is pretty decent. This amp uses the TA2020 chip set which does offer quite low distortion at low volume.

3) The amp has tone controls so you can fiddle with the sound to some degree.

The BAD:
1) You'll be hard pressed to drive a pair of low-sensitivity or 8-Ohm speakers to decent volume with this amp. With an 8 Ohm speaker, you get clean sound to around 5 Watts only. If you crank the amp up to 10 Watts you'll already hit 10% distortion. With 4 Ohm speakers you can get up to 10 Watts per speaker. In fact, the wattage rating of this amp (2 x 20 Watts rms) is truly false. The power supply that comes with this amp gives 2 Amps at 12 Volts. At a power efficiency of 90% you'll get 2 x 10 Watts rms at the most. However, if you have some fairly small speakers then you may be fine. Otherwise, spend a little more and buy another amp.

2) The enclosure of this amp is fairly bulky and not exactly high quality. I opened up the enclosure and found that most of the interior is empty. What a waste of space! Also, there are some gaps and areas where Lepai could have spent a little more attention to detail in terms of quality. The knobs are fairly basic too and tend to come loose.

3) The rear speaker connector easily snaps out of its socket and doesn't accept thicker speaker wire easily. So You'll have to stick to fairly thin speaker wire.

To summarize, if you really cannot afford more than $20 on an amp then the Lepai is a decent choice. But don't expect the amp to drive larger speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 192 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Note the power supply voltage, January 8, 2014
This review is from: Lepai LP-2020A+ Tripath TA2020 Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier with Power Supply (Electronics)
This amplifier is shipped with a 12 Volt power supply. If you are somewhat knowledgeable then you can do the math and figure out that given the 12 Volt supply voltage this amp can deliver without an excessive amount of audio distortion:

- 2 x 18 Watts with 4 Ohm speakers, and
- 2 x 9 Watts with 8 Ohm speakers.

If you further look at the current rating of the power supply then you can figure out that in fact the maximum wattage is 2 x 10 Watts regardless of the speaker.

Some other reviewers have suggested swapping the power supply with another one that has higher current to boost the power rating. However, since the supply voltage is fixed it wouldn't help at all if you are driving 8 Ohm speakers. You are still limited to a maximum of 9 Watts. To get more wattage, you'll need to look at another amp. Below I have listed some of the more popular mini amps on Amazon. I have ordered the list according to their cost. You can see the power supply voltage of each amp and the maximum wattage when driving 8 Ohm speakers:

- Lepai LP-2020 ($17): 12 Volts - 2 * 9 Watts @ 8 Ohms
- Amphony 200 ($69): 36 Volts - 2 * 20 Watts or 1 * 80 Watts @ 8 Ohms
- Topping TP20-MK2 ($70): 14 Volts - 2 * 12 Watts @ 8 Ohms
- Dayton Audio DTA-100a ($96): 24 Volts - 2 * 30 Watts @ 8 Ohms

I hope my review will help in your amplifier selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


488 of 612 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little amp - UPDATE - August 2011, January 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lepai LP-2020A+ Tripath TA2020 Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier with Power Supply (Electronics)
This is a sweet little stereo amp based on T-amp chip technology. It is clean and powerful for its size. It comes with a wall wart power supply, but could also be battery powered if one desired. There are input connections in stereo RCA jacks and a 1/8 inch (3.5mm) stereo plug for mp3 players, CD players, video players, etc.

There is an actual power switch instead of a pot-based switch as on similar models previously offered by Sonic. There are also Bass and Treble controls, which can be quite handy in tailoring the sound a bit to the speakers and space.

I am using these for small PA applications and for desktop computer sound. I have plans to create a small guitar amp setup as well. I have used 6 of these in my "day job" and was so impressed I started buying them for home.

I have driven spot monitors like Carvin PM5-Bs and even JBL 10 inch 3-way studio monitors with these and similar amps, and they work very well, especially for small areas. One of these and a pair of Carvin monitors make for some pretty great desktop computer sound. (Until your cubicle neighbors complain, anyway.)

I haven't done any actual power measurements, but they are claimed to put out 20-25 watts per channel into 4 ohms, and my ears agree that those figures are probably accurate. I have only run them at 8 ohms, and have been pleased with the sound. I currently use one of these and JBL 10 inch 3-way studio monitors to provide computer sound for a 42 person classroom, and the sound is pretty amazing for a $20 dollar amp.

If you are looking for a small power amp that is light weight, takes up very little space, and sounds really good, look no further. Give these a try, I think you'll be impressed, too.

Oh, Parts Express is also great to do business with.

UPDATE: August 2011

In the interest of clarifying the power output capability of this amp (which has caused some contention - see comments), I am re-producing the stats for the TA2020-20 chip from Lepai's own spec sheet, which is freely available on the web.

"The TA2020-020 is a 20W (4ohm) continuous average per channel Class-T Digital Audio Power Amplifier IC
using Tripath's proprietary Digital Power Processing (DPPTM) technology. Class-T amplifiers offer both the
audio fidelity of Class-AB and the power efficiency of Class-D amplifiers."

"Class-T architecture
Single Supply Operation
"Audiophile" Quality Sound
0.03% THD+N @ 10W 4ohm
0.1% THD+N @12W 4ohm
0.18% IHF-IM @ 1W 4ohm

High Power
25W @ 4ohm, 10% THD+N, VDD=14.6V
22W @ 4ohm, 10% THD+N, VDD=13.5V
13W @ 8ohm, 10% THD+N, VDD=13.5V

High Efficiency
88% @ 12W 8ohm
81% @ 20W 4ohm
Dynamic Range = 99dB
Mute and Sleep inputs
Turn-on & turn-off pop suppression
Over-current protection
Over-temperature protection
Bridged outputs
32-pin SSIP package"

"APPLICATIONS
DVD Players
Mini/Micro Component Systems
Computer / PC Multimedia
Cable Set-Top Products
Televisions
Battery Powered Systems"

The diagram with power to distortion curves is even more instructive, and I will try and add a jpeg of that so people can judge for themselves if Lepai is lying about the specs.

Are they fudging a bit calling this a 20 watt per channel amp? You could certainly make that case, given that they are quoting those specs at 4 ohms and 10 percent distortion, which is more distortion than most people would find acceptable in an audiophile application. Is Lepai pushing it a bit? Yes, but no more so than most consumer amp companies, or virtually ALL computer speaker makers, none of whom quote accurate specs for their systems.

I have been told by tech support for a well-known, widely sold PA amp manufacturer that they considerably over-spec their amps - their 120 watt amp can only be driven to 80 watts; if you go beyond that they WILL fail (which ours had done). Yet, they still sell the amp as a 120 watt amp and no one sues them. Lepai is not fudging anywhere near that badly, and they publish the actual specs for all to see. Carvin is the only company I have found to be truly honest about amp specs (although there may be others). Lepai at least gives one the specs so one can see how much they are fudging.

Are there applications where 10 percent distortion IS acceptable? Certainly. Some small PA and background ambient systems would be fine with that level. Obviously, listening to pristine recordings of orchestral music would NOT. A great deal depends on program material, speaker quality, and application. For most applications, 10 percent is not acceptable.

Again, I run these amps at 8 ohms through efficient speakers (Carvin PM-5B and JBL studio monitors), and find them to be very good performers FOR THE PRICE. I would not recommend running them into 4 ohms, unless you intend to keep the power level down.

At 8 ohms, per their device curves, you can hit 10 watts per channel and stay near or under 1 percent distortion - which is the definition of "High Fidelity" by international standards, and beyond which the normal human ear cannot discern any further lowering of distortion, according to some. At 4 ohms, you can get close to 18 watts per channel and still remain under 1 percent. Is it fudging to call an amp that produces 18 watts per channel at 1 percent distortion a "20 watt amp?" Not by much, and certainly not by the usual standards of most manufacturers. NOTE that with the stock power supply, 12 volts at 2 amps, you could not possibly get more than 12 watts per channel, if it were a perfect world (which it is not). A beefier supply would be required to get closer to those rated specs for the chip in this amp. Personally, I would call this a 10 watt amp, not 20. More and more vendors are adding the channel outputs together, rather than giving the per channel output, which has been standard practice in the stereo world.

Even so, I find these to be very useful little amps, and will continue to buy and use them as long as they are available. If you cannot afford the rather modest price to find out, then don't risk your money. If you want a good performing amp for the price of a few lattes, then go for it. I think you will be happy with these. If you are looking for an amp for your Home Entertainment system, I think you will want something with a lot more power. These are small amps for small jobs.

Also, if you have a power supply failure, which I did have with one of these amps, Parts Express has very good replacements for a very good price. Parts Express is a very good vendor, and I have bought from them for many years. I bought all 7 of the amps I have used from Parts Express.

Still highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 133 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just be aware of power supply requirements, March 15, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lepai LP-2020A+ Tripath TA2020 Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier with Power Supply (Electronics)
This is a clean sounding amplifier with only the controls one really needs. So its great for my parents who don't have the frame of mind to fiddle with too many controls. However, be aware of power supply issues.

1) I bought two of these at different times from Amazon. Both did not ship with power supply - even though they claimed to include them. Amazon has not corrected the product description even after I told them about it.
2) The shipped power supplies were to be a 2 amp one and a 6 amp one in the second case.
3) If you run this amplifier from a 2 amp power supply - here is some news for you. The theoretical max watts your system can deliver would be 12X2 = 24 watts - However, since the amp is running around 80% efficiency - you can get approx 24X0.8 = 18 watts max from this amplifier (best case scenario) or around 9 watts per channel. The problem comes as you drive the amplifier harder. The power supply voltages will start dipping, and as it does so, the amplifier will distort. So your clean sounding amplifier, won't sound so clean after all once you drive it past 7 - 8 watts.
4) To really use this amplifier with low distortion at high volumes, you should use a switching powersupply that delivers 12 to 13.5 volts at 4 amperes. 6 amps is a bit of an overkill, but recommended if you will be using 4 ohm speakers.
5) You cannot use this amplifer with an un-regulated transformer type powersupply rated at 12 volt. Their no-load voltage can be anywhere from 15 - 20 volt and can even be dangerous if connected to this amp - since the supply capacitor is rated at 16 volt.
6) Don't forget the log relationship between perceived loudness and watts - a 100 watt amplifier is only double the loudness of a 10 watt amplifier. So this amplifer does fine to fill up a room with sound using reasonably high efficiency speakers (I am using Bose 301's). Just don't expect to pump your subwoofer with it!
7) There are two LED's inside. Not sure why only one of them lights up (in both the amplifiers I purchased).
8) Its tone control implementation can do with a bit of improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


240 of 303 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, April 24, 2011
This review is from: Lepai LP-2020A+ Tripath TA2020 Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier with Power Supply (Electronics)
Currently running Pandora via Netflix, through this box, into old Dalhquist speakers.
Sound is simply astonishing. No distortion, strong warm base, a little muddled in the middle (but hey, it cost less than $20 on Amazon), runs cool, very loud at 1/4 volume.
I'm a techie, having build many amps over the past 30 years, including tube amps (Dynaco 70).
- There are plenty of amps that cost 10x this, which don't come close in terms of sound quality.
This is my first review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very low build quality., August 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lepai LP-2020A+ Tripath TA2020 Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier with Power Supply (Electronics)
First one I received had a stuck volume knob. Okay, no problem - amazon sent me another one without any fuss. The next one just plain didn't do anything. Turned on, but didn't affect volume, bass, or treble in any capacity. Tried many different configurations, checked my power supply, even looked at solder joints and connections - couldn't get it to work. Very disappointed. I can understand one faulty product, but two in a row? The "QC Passed" sticker on the back is obviously a joke. Hopefully Amazon will accept yet another return...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mixed results, June 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lepai LP-2020A+ Tripath TA2020 Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier with Power Supply (Electronics)
Two months ago I bought the same item and was extremely satisfied. The amplifier was more powerful than I thought so I went ahead and bought three more expecting the same results but not one of them came close to the first I bought!!! Very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 87 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Putting 2A label on 1.5A AC Adapter, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lepai LP-2020A+ Tripath TA2020 Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier with Power Supply (Electronics)
After reading some of the other reviews I checked the ac adapter right away. It had a label marked Lepai AC ADAPTER OUTPUT: 12V 2A. I could see that there was another label underneath, so I peeled the silver Lepai label off and the black label underneath was marked TennRich AC ADAPTER OUTPUT: 12V 1.5A. I checked the amps on the adapter and it was 1.5A. That is why the amplifier is underpowered. I posted a picture of the adapter. Right now the picture is at the end of the list of pictures. It's just bad business to falsely relabel a product! I will try and contact the company and see if they will ship me a real 2A adapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


131 of 167 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Throw away the AC adapter!, November 26, 2011
By 
Mojave Bob (Warsaw, IN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lepai LP-2020A+ Tripath TA2020 Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier with Power Supply (Electronics)
For the first couple of weeks, I hated this amp. Connected to my Denon speakers, it has terrific sound, and seems well built, but it had this nasty buzzing sound that drove me up the wall whenever the amp was on but nothing was playing loud enough to drown out the buzz. If you read the reviews on this amp, many, many people complain that there is no power adapter included. Then, you will find some comments that they are including a Vonage power adapter with it now. You will also find some complaints about an annoying buzzing sound. Well, my friends, the buzzing noise comes from that Vonage power adapter. If you provide your own 12v power supply, it works great and has very clean sound. I thought about returning this unit, but I can't get anything comparable for even twice the price, and 12v adapters just aren't very expensive. In my case, I had one just sitting around, and was delighted with the result. The amp is a keeper, the Vonage power supply is a tosser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worked nicely for ten minutes, December 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lepai LP-2020A+ Tripath TA2020 Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier with Power Supply (Electronics)
Sounded just fine but within minutes began to momentarily cut out with an audible click, then after about ten minutes it died completely.
Replaced it with a Pyle of the same rating (for more money), didn't have time to risk getting another defective one. Thankfully Amazon's
easy return policy makes such things relatively painless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.